Dororo (TV Series 2019– ) Poster

(2019– )

User Reviews

Review this title
33 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
4 episodes in, Dororo is shaping up to be one of the best anime this decade
popcar231 January 2019
Dororo is a great anime about a child that was born with a terrible curse and his journey to defeat the demons that cursed him. It's a great mix between realism and old japanese folktale, and a great mix between action, drama, and mystery.

Everything this anime does is shockingly well. The animation is smooth, the writing is great, and most importantly the atmosphere is unparalleled. The world is immersive and deep, and while the main character himself can't speak a word it's incredible how much you're able to feel for him and everything he's going through. There's a constant sense of mystery in the air that keeps every episode fresh and with good pacing, and the demons themselves are very creative and make for great fights.

Overall, a pretty damn amazing anime that's a breath of fresh air from your run of the mill action anime thanks to avoiding every cliche that's plagued the last two decades, which is ironic considering the source material was made half a century ago.
35 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Gonna be one of the best anime's in this decade.
andersolstad6 February 2019
This show contains everything you would want in an anime
24 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
one of best anime
hemnfaraidoon3 February 2019
One of great anime in 2019 all anime fan must watch this one
19 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome anime great start to 2019
jonwake-2230215 January 2019
Can't believe this is a 50 year old anime... But man this anime is so good loved the first episode great start to 2019
20 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just What I needed...
kenway-5688026 January 2019
A remake of 1969... one of the Classics Anime... its A must watch for all anime fans
16 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of THE BEST ANIME of This Decade
kbokyere13 February 2019
Dororo leaves me speechless. I've been waiting years for an anime of this caliber to arrive. Everything about is is engaging, from the very real emotion to the smoothly animated combat. I've found myself in awe in how everything is perfectly executed.

I WANT MORE!
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A refreshing-sad yet encouraging take on samurai themed anime in decades
angelicanaomi9610 February 2019
I've been always fascinated in samurai themed anime like the classical Rurouni Kenshin, and Dororo brings back those feelings but in a whole new level. It's heartwarming, filled with emotions and meaning highly intact in us as human being. Definitely one of the best anime though its par on 4 episodes until now
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So awesome
stefanandrei-4389319 January 2019
Such a cool story.... I can't believe it based on a old anime from 1969....So interesting....I love it so much... I will start to watch the 1969 series
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Such a wonderful job by animator A+
xanaw21 March 2019
Dororo is an anime revolving a born baby which was sacrificed by his father to demons in exchange of power and wealth. The story begins with this child (in his teens) meeting an orphan child and together they embark on a journey to search and eliminate demon ghouls with the scope of retrieving what was taken from this teen as an infant.

The animation is spectacular. It shows the animators dedication in portraying the manga artist story in a simplistic yet stunning way adaptable to these days.

Recommended A+
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best anime of 2019
shadikn317 February 2019
Nothing will stand in this animes way. This is different from the live movie but way more detailed and more story and back story. OMG Um, it's the same but it's refreshed and it's new and it's special and i can't get enough. I'm so thankful i have something of this caliber in 2019.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Starts good but fails to deliver a proper story
MarcolinoPT14 November 2019
Like other reviewers point out, the first half is well structured. The story is compelling, the characters feel related and the viewer will feel amused. The second half starts awkwardly and keeps it that way through out the remaining episodes. It gives fillers where you don't need, introduces characters that don't contribute to the story and it actually starts to feel boring. The last 4 episodes conclude, in a certain sense, the story but I feel too much went on a short time creating an unsatisfying ending. I would recommend to watch this series but with mild expectations
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Incredible, unique story
carlasnewton10 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
You really grow to love Hyakkimaru (the protagonist), even though his only spoken 3 words in 10 episodes. His journey is one of the best I've seen throughout hundreds of episodes of anime. The story is just so good. I wish there were more. This anime is definitely a hit in my books.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A superb series
dennisdmcdonald19 March 2019
First, some words to describe this anime TV series:

-Sad -Emotional -Exciting -Mature -Terrifying -Grotesque -Artistic -Rainy

Consider that last word "Rainy." In many of this multi-episode series rainfall is frequent and casts a somber pall over the events that run through this medieval Japanese tale.

The lives, deaths, and redemptions of a handful of wandering characters play out against a background of demonic curses, warring factions of samurai armies, and poverty. One main character, a hideously disfigured young man - Hyakkimaru - who is cursed by demons at birth as a result of his father's bargaining away his life, grows up blind and wandering. He seeks redemption and revenge against those demons and the truth of his birth. He is befriended by a young thief - Dororo - who sees through his physical deformities and then accompanies him on his wanderings.

Each episode is a self-contained morality tale. Recurring struggles between good and evil are never clear cut. This is not a feel-good series but one where stress and conflict are constant. Suffering is palpable with little joy being expressed.

And yet... It's beautiful and ultimately humanely serious. For every bloody and nasty action scene or every tragic event there is also growth. People struggle. They also change. Chief among them is the young warrior Hyakkimaru as he tries desperately to claw his way back to normal humanity despite his deformities and tragic a lack of memory.

The animation is impressive. Hand drawn backgrounds replete with trees, forests, mountains, and rice paddies add gorgeous detail even when rendered in muted colors. Realistic character animation of richly costumed main characters contrasts sharply with the young thief who is surprisingly rendered in a "cartoony" style reminiscent of the original Manga author, Osamu Tezuka. Somehow the contrast of character styles works and helps to emphasize the almost classic appearance of the series' rural medieval Japanese setting.

Be prepared for an animated adventure that is simultaneously violent, hopeful, at times tragic, and ultimately beautiful.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Drops the ball 2nd Half. Unsatisfying ending
joelnova9322 August 2019
The first 12 episodes of Dororo are spectacular, but at the start of Episode 13, reality starts to kick in as the quality starts to go down, and you wonder how they are going to manage fitting in another 12 episodes in to resolve the conflict that was already so close to ending in the first half.

The 2nd half of the Anime does this poorly, as it feels less of a fluid arc and more of an episodic "monster-of-the-week" sort of affair, as the side adventures feel more like filler. All of it nearly became unbearable at Episode 16, when the show LITERALLY JUMPS THE SHARK. I almost skipped straight to the last two episodes, but Episode 17 was a change of pace and allowed me to finish the anime.

With all the down time Dororo and Hyakkimaru had in the show, it was really disappointing for the show's ending to feel rushed and uncharacteristic. It even ends with the closing outro theme instead of an extended epilogue. The story itself has such a great premise and it's no wonder it's been adapted so many times, but please save yourself and move along from this one.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An Masterpiece from Tezuka Osamu
lp_joker_rocker14 March 2019
Honestly I'm a fan of Tezuka Osamu creation. I watch the anime like Astro Boy in my childhood time, playing the PS2 games "Blood Will Tell" which I never forgot the story in it, watch the Live Action "Dororo" in 2007 with the hope Tezuka Osamu and teams can make the sequel because the story end in pursuing others 24 demons (im so terribly curious the ending), and last he brings the remake anime from 1960-an into our time with great story to tell about and outstanding graphics. Keep bringing the masterpieces sensei.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A quick review about Dororo. One of the most over-rated anime in recent years.
powerofberzerker5 June 2019
A very bad thing these days that's happening regularly is hype or better said over-hype. Dororo started with around 6 to 8 episodes of pure quality and pretty good story telling. The animation was very good. The characters are interesting and more then they seem like on the first look. The soundtrack is very appropriate and gives atmosphere and historic feel to the whole show. The many moral questions that the show asks and the natural flow of a long, perilous journey undertook by our 2 main characters also made it feel special. Action and art were solid. Pace was ok but a little slow. But as the show progressed, everything stayed the same or became worse. Both art and animation took a huge drop. Stories pace also suffered, moving too slowly and adding a lot of semi-interesting and semi-boring stuff. Characters are just too simple and there is not much to them nor is there much room for them to become better characters because of the pace. The show is very episodic and often there is a problem in a place nearby or village that seems strange or connected to demons that our 2 friends Hyakimaru and Dororo solve. The world is fantasy and historic looking Japan combined in one. Monsters are more or less Japanese folk creatures. Story and setting are dark and somewhat nihilistic. But as I said, the action and the whole journey and semi-episodic nature all quickly become stale and not impressive because of the production quality decreasing to such a point that some episodes look downright fan-made. The main problem I wanted to point out is the new nature of seeing 3 episodes of something and giving it a 8-10 rating because your are hooked and surprised by some shows quality. Animes like for example new Baki work much better in the sense where they can have passable to bad art and lackluster animation but its wacky nature and temper caries the show enough that your don't need much for it to be enjoyable while shows like Dororo are completely serious and epic and when they fail in some aspects in hurts the whole thing.
9 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A great anime
levidomm25 June 2019
It's an anime with a great start, a kinda slow middle (also there may have been a quality drop in the middle episodes), and a fantastic end. Still, it's enjoyable, we don't get a lot of episodic anime so please support this one.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Good but overrated
sadak759916 September 2019
I began to watch this show because is my favorite theme in anime: historical-fantastic (I am a huge fan of Mushishi). The story is original and the first 8-10 episodes are very good in both production quality and storytelling, and, overall, they achieve a really captivating atmosphere. But, inexplicably, the quality suddenly drops in the second half of episodes. The animation, which was very good in the first episodes, became lousy and amateurish, the storytelling was irregular, and the overall story stales. There are utterly bad episodes in every aspects (animation, script, story, but specially animation), as the one with the demon-moths and caterpillars or the one with sharks. Why, guys? maybe changes in the production team, fund cuts, tight deadlines, or simply the writers and animators get tired?

A really good show at the beginning, ruined in the second half and culminating in an unsatisfactory ending.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic
cmarino-2433224 April 2019
I was hooked from the first episode. What an amazing story.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great
randy-2655610 November 2019
The story is great and interesting. The animation is excellent
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Delightful
imuckenschnabl13 September 2019
Thrilling story, very good music, great animation, gripping characters Next to, Demon Slayer Kimetsu no Yaiba, one of the best anime 2019
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing
m_ahoujeiry29 August 2019
This show blew my mind This is my best anime for now after the promised neverland. 10/10
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A captivating story that could have been better
TVpotatoCat20 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This anime isn't perfect, but it was entertaining enough for me to keep watching it and to be curios enough to see how it ends. It definitely has good parts but also a few bad once.

The good once: The characters are deep and interesting. The human stories that are presented felt real, and so are the interactions between the characters. There is a strong feeling of wanting to know what will happen to the characters, how they will evolve, will they reach their goals. Also the relationship between Hyakkimaru and Dororo was very sweet.

The bad once: The fundamental of this whole series is illogical. This series is trying to sell that a person who has prosthetic arms and legs made out of wood will be able to walk, run, and jump like a completely normal person. It's trying to sell that a person without a spine can move normally, and have a prosthetic spine put instead of the real one. That a person with prosthetic arms can use the prosthetic fingers. Now, if it was somehow explained, like in "Full metal alchemist", it would have been completely okay. But it was not, and it seemed like it was simply expected from the viewer to accept that this is how reality works. It was completely stupid and didn't stop bothering me the whole time I watched the series.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the top anime in 2019
bubbles-563222 July 2019
This so far is one of the best Anime I watched in 2019. I never saw the original Dororo but am willing to watch and compare to the updated one. U really feel for the main character Hyakkimaru. I love the relationship between Dororo and Hyakkimaru, I hope they do a second season of this show.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Just Beautiful!
priyangshu-0447626 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The 2019 dororo is a pretty modified version of the original manga as well as the previous 1969 dororo. I like 2019 dororo better as it feels more right. Though i would say the last episode felt a bit hasty and incomplete but nonetheless it was beautiful. The last worlds of the priest to dororo that they have a rough journey ahead can be a hint for an upcoming season 2 but many says that as hyakkimaru got his whole body back and that last scene of dororo as a beautiful young lady reuniting with hyakkimaru ensures that the anime has ended for good. Honestly I'd love to witness a season 2 like the rest of all whole have watched dororo and I personally think that the chances for a second season, though faint, is not over!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed