Historical Roasts (TV Series 2019– ) Poster

(2019– )

User Reviews

Review this title
68 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Some people won't dig it
cinemafreak1327 May 2019
I get that some people won't dig it. Much of the jokes are written in an old school vaudeville style and it won't land for most modern audiences. There's nothing wrong with that. Not everything is for everybody.

But I love this, my wife loves it and my kids do, too.

Everything from historical rumors and less publicized facts are brought out and laid out in a way that sticks. Kudos to the staff on making this and Netflix for having the guts to distribute. I hope they make more.
55 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Loved the different styles of humor
kphelvie28 May 2019
Lots of bad reviews on this one. I have to 100% disagree with all the 1s and 2s. This was a wonderful idea and it was executed pretty well. I found the shots of audience members being unamused as part of the humor - you know cause humor is different for everyone and all that.... but yes there are episodes that are better than others.
36 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
If it were written and performed by a freshman improv group...
vnyand1 June 2019
... it may have been excusable. Instead what we got was an amazing premise, MC'ed by the Roast Master himself, from a platform that doesn't seem short of cash to throw around, that somehow managed to deliver the most flaccid jokes I've ever seen on a major platform (believe me, it's not the "vaudeville" format that turns me off). On top of rarely landing an actual joke, the show is frequently punctuated by shoehorned political soapboxing that even when I agree with the sentiment, is not what I watch a roast for (Et tu, Ross?). The only way I can accurately describe the low effort performances and lazy cliches is by the show's embarrassing resemblance to the minion memes your aunts share on each other's Facebook walls.
25 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disappointment at its finest
EddieBleak2 July 2019
The show fails at being a roast,and fails at emulating a roast. This show tries so hard that its painfull. Its like im back in school again, watching an annoying kid in class trying to crack wise in history lesson. Since they are all actors, the edge is taken away because its not a roast,its history based tryhard jokes,acted out as a roast. On the otherhand since they are just actors they can behave disgustingly because there is no reputation to ruin. I see three sleep deprevaed collage grads reading history books while high trying to make each other laugh. Thats fun and all, but don't make it into a series. Thats an SNL sketch at best,and unfunny one at that.its not funny, its lowbrow,and pointless.

As they say,everyone has a tv show inside them,and for most of us,it should stay inside.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It had potential...
sethompson-8077521 June 2019
Yes, the jokes are distasteful... but if they were actually funny, I could have gotten over that. The Lincoln episode had a chuckle or two, but the Freddie Mercury episode had none. The next episode's guest was Anne Frank, so I got out fast. Who wrote this garbage? I still think as a idea, it could be funny.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Comedy Can Be Hit-Or-Miss
jeremycrimsonfox28 May 2019
To the people who say this show is disrespectful: It's not. It's supposed to be a satire meant to make people laugh, especially since nowadays, politics have become too heated a subject to talk about peacefully. But then again, we live in an age where anyone can be easily offended by just one little joke to the point of sparking a controversy.

So anyway, this is a good show. This only gets seven stars from me because the jokes are hit or miss. Some joke I liked, others fell flat. But I was not offended by them because I understand this is meant to be a satire of the historical figures involved and a show that is supposed to poke fun at events both historical and current, which is supposed to be the aim of the comedy series. If you are offended by such portrayals, all I have to say is do not watch.
21 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst Thing I've Ever Seen
banjobenjo28 June 2019
I wasted 15 minutes of my life trying to get through the first episode of this show, hoping that it might make me at least chuckle. It proved to be the dumbest piece of garbage I've ever seen. Don't waste your time.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Half of a good idea
noway234-128 May 2019
The idea of doing a friars club style roast of famous historical figures AS other famous historical figures is actually a really fun idea. Getting a bunch of comedians, or comedian-adjacent-people, to put on an exaggerated character for half an hour can lead to a fun time and create some weird images. I would suggest that most people got interested in this by the trailer with a clip of Gilbert Gottfried as Adolf Hitler, it has the potential for great stunt casting and when it hits that potential it does something special. Seth Green as David Bowie or John Stamos as John Wilkes Booth are actual comedic highlights... everything else, no.

There are two big problems with this show, and one of them is Jeff Ross. I'm sorry, Jeff Ross isn't that good a comic. he has 5 jokes and edits them slightly for every roast and he is a horrible piece of casting. Its name brand recognition using a person with no brand recognition outside of this niche market of roasts and the fact that he walks out every episode and isn't a character just makes it a tonal mess.

The scripts were clearly written in an afternoon by two people who threw it together using set dressing and costumes that they borrows from a nearby community theatre. This is dumb but with some actual love, care and production values this could be something special. Instead it's just... mostly painful with sparks of brilliance that is begging to be let out. If they keep doing this, they need to put Jeff behind the camera, up the production values and work harder on the scripts... or, don't? Just, just don't make more of this.
13 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Unbelievably not funny!
enderlein-2535127 May 2019
Wow. Really missed the mark.

I am a roast, and standup comedy fan. I never miss a comedy special, or roast.

Was looking forward to see what direction this was gonna go, and boy they went the wrong way.

So cringe worthy I am still looking for my toes. Never laughed ONCE!

Admitted I skipped some parts, and didn't even bother with last two episodes. This is so bad it should have never aired.
43 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
One of the worst shows on Netflix
nsegel28 May 2019
The idea is good. Everything else, very very bad. Good actors bad script and staging
29 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Rough, extremely rough.
gregasmic27 May 2019
I do love a good roast, thus- in my lazy Memorial Day, I decided to watch this. I am now three episodes in and I can't help but feel embarrassed for this. The material just falls flat, sure I may have laughed a time or two, but those few and far between moments are overthrown by the cringe worthy humor, and not in a good way. Sure comedy has many tastes, but this is just not something I would recommend to anyone. The formula of a roast just doesn't work when the honorable guest is a comedian in costume. The roast formula works when the guest must sit there and be bombarded by embarrassing jokes and continue on. This is just rough to watch, and if you enjoy a good roast, look elsewhere.
19 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Not what I was expecting
hisnameisdistance1 June 2019
I tried hard to enjoy this show because I love CC Roasts of and Roast Battles. With the Roastmaster General at the helm, I thought for sure I would find some good bits here or there. Bruce Lee's speech in the final episode was probably the best attempt at sticking to the formula. Started with the other guests. After a couple jokes each, hit the main guest and then finishes on a positive note that embodies the true spirit of the roast. I think the issue is that they used characters instead of people, so it ruins the payoff for the joke when the person receiving it is just a character. One person insults Jeff but instead of using his character name he just calls him Jeff which made the joke sting and got an actual chuckle from me. Another thing that bothered me was that some of the guest roasters were just God awful. It's almost as if the producers hired some of the people because they fit the role and forgot to tell them they were supposed to insult each other.
12 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It was just bad
rubenhernandez11430 May 2019
The jokes were bad. Nobody really looked like they wanted to be there.
13 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not the least bit funny
nataletattoo27 May 2019
Turned it off 10 minutes into it. The premise seemed great but the delivery was awful. Using washed up 90s actors who bring poor acting and comedy won't prop up a show. If there was a negative rating I would happily apply. Only saving grace was John Stamos.
21 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Oh boy.. when they cant even get shots of the show audience laugh
rajathsp27 May 2019
This was painful too watch. Jeff Ross generally does good roasts, and the idea of roasting historical personalities is interesting with so much potential. But boy oh boy was this painful to watch. The poor writing is apparent when the show couldn't even find shots of the audience laughing. you could hear some cheers which were obviously from the production team itself.

Oh and yeah, Stereotyped Harriet Tubman being laughed at by white people, as well as typical lazy Trump jokes. ugh..

Netflix wasted their money, once again. Jeff Ross, do better man.
25 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not impressed
larrymphelps27 May 2019
Crass and disrespectful, which isn't in and of itself a problem... but it's just not very funny. Much of the material didn't have to do with the roastee... it was going at current social and political issues. Overall, not impressed at all.
34 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Roast Specials Officially Jump The Shark
genious-3541327 May 2019
While I hate that phrase, the roast specials really have hit a wall. There were some funny ones, but then when you begin doing them for Trump, Justin Biieber, David Hasslehoff, you know that the well is running dry. Roast Battle was kind of funny but it's roasting of a lot of comedians you don't even know so there is a lot lost. But this abomination - I don't know how it makes it on TV. Sure, it's netflix and they will put anything on there but this is really bad. And I will also say offensive. Not that roasting dead people and making jokes about them offended me. It's just how lazy it was, that it will insult your intelligence - Think about 80s slasher horror movies. This show is the Freddy versus Jason of Roast shows.
27 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
To write a joke or not to write a joke...
misanthropic927 May 2019
With all Netflix cash... and yet they couldn't be bothered to hire someone who could actually write a proper joke. I'll rather watch re-runs of Step by Step or Full House than this... clearly Netflix has so much money now that they are throwing them at anyone now.
23 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not bad
xmeax29 May 2019
First this is not real roast, its people playing historical people simulating what a roast with those people would look like so you lose that awkwardness of people getting sick burns live to their face. Having said that, it has some smart and funny burns, you might learn a few new things but this is definitely a relax and enjoy show, dont expect a lot from it, it has some dumb moments but also some edgy and funny ones.
13 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
I hate political correctness, but this show sucks
b-rick69028 May 2019
I saw Gilbert in the trailer and was hoping this show would be comedians writing jokes and "roasting" historical figures.

The show has its moments (Gilbert as Hitler is a big yes from me dawg), but it's like 25 minutes of painfully unfunny non standup comedian celebrities telling jokes someone else wrote, then like 5 minutes of good material performed by someone decent. This show definitely had potential, but I don't know why they did just get people like Dave Atell,
21 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Are they being serious with this one?
samhunterok27 May 2019
Wow... Saw trailer decided to watch an episode. OBVIOUSLY had to watch the Anne Frank one. This episode was less than good. 1. What were FDR's jokes about? 2. Why did 'Don Rickles' break into song in a random part of the episode? Come on. 3. The cuts to FDR's wife added absolutely nothing to this episode? Why did she do the same reaction like 100 times?

Netflix please take this show down. 1 star not funny
24 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved it!
dan-robards27 May 2019
Great lineup on every episode.A perfect mix of modern references and historical callbacks. Can't recommend enough!
24 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It popped up - and we loved it!!!
ecilafogg27 May 2019
Just take it with a grain of salt! Enjoy it and laugh.
23 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great watch for thick skin.
rockp6129228 May 2019
So as we all know Jeff Ross is one of those comedians with no filter whatsoever. And if you are like me, and alot of comedians and stand up enthusiasts, you go into this open minded ready for the worst and ready to have fun with it. DO NOT WATCH IF YOU ARE EASILY OFFENDED!!! Now to the 8/10 rating. I gave it 8 out of 10 because I do think its funny and creative. However some of it gets redundant and a little sloppy. Overall a great watch for a real fan of comedy. In the words of D.L. Hughley, NOONE IS EXEMPT FROM COMEDY.
14 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely hilarious!!!!
dmlpansy28 May 2019
For those who are complaining, apparently hasn't seeing the other roasts. All the episodes are funny, and if you did a little deep even thought provoking.
19 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed