"Chernobyl" Open Wide, O Earth (TV Episode 2019) Poster

(TV Mini-Series)

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
53 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Hard to find the words.
groverallover21 May 2019
The acting and the writing are so pitch perfect that you forget you're watching a miniseries and actually feel like you're watching real life.

As a 15 year old boy in 1986 I have memories of this in the news but here I am at 49 really learning about the tragedy that was Chernobyl.

Amazing miniseries.
180 out of 183 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Cementing itself as one of the finest shows of our generation
roloman-7860621 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Jesus, what an episode. The first two were quite fast paced and gave you the scale of the devastation, then they changed paced this episode to remind you of the impact on small scale(the individuals suffering). This is how you make quality, grade A television.

And the final scene. 5 minute prior the wife is sitting next to her husband holding his hand, and this point is driven home when they show the same husband being buried in steal and surrounded by cement. No common folk at the time understood the impact of this disaster and it's sickening.

This is one of those shows that somewhere in the back of your mind, you know you're watching one of the best shows ever made. But during the episodes, I just feel overwhelming existential dread. I had to stop this episode half way thru and go take a walk to make sure the sky was still there and the air was still clean.
189 out of 194 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best episodes of TV I've seen in a long time.
liederman21 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Where to begin. This show is at the pinnacle of masterful filmmaking and this episode is truly jaw dropping. The visuals, acting, props and sets are all some of the best I've seen in ages and proves that you don't need over the top lavish imagery to emphasise the consequences of this catastrophe and the dread that comes with it. The bleak colour palette and haunting soundtrack is also incredibly powerful. Even a simple shot of concrete filling up a grave is incredibly powerful and honestly sends shivers down my spine. Additionally, this is some of the best use of makeup and prosthetics I've ever seen and those radiated bodies were more disturbing than most horror films! This episode also brings up incredibly complex issues with the Soviet Union and the problematic role of the KGB during this disaster. There are layers upon layers upon layers of depth and complexity here that I'm sure will be fully explored in the next two episodes. This is TV at its finest and has made me forget the disappointing ending to GOT. Can't wait to see where this goes next.
197 out of 207 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Masterful historical drama
riccardomantio21 May 2019
Haunting atmospheric hypnotic it's not often you watch a show and as it unfolds , you realise you are watching something very special . I must also add the fusion of despair horror camaraderie etc makes for a great of at times tough watch . Please watch a masterpiece in the making !
39 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Episode
mustafarafee21 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The Episode was quiet and terrifying and OMG the makeup is so great that I felt the pain of the firefighters...... all of these things makes it one of the best TV Shows I have ever seen.
52 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Now you look like the minister of coal !!
mpboylanjr-5403821 May 2019
A review from someone who actually viewed the episode first. Another great episode . The facts about the nuclear disaster are well known, and the aftermath is far worse than imagined. The people still do not know how badly the radiation will effect them, but the longer time passes the more they are seeing just how sick this is making people. The government decides to call on their comrades in the coal mining industry to help stop the reactor from leaking radioactive waste into the water table that will poison it pretty much forever around the whole country. Plans are in action to cool the reactor before it totally melts and kills the miners whom are pretty much doomed in the foreseeable future anyway. This is a spectacular mini series , and yet another award worthy one from HBO. Acting is incredible and the writing is great. Very informative and fact based.
93 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Breathtaking
samadabbasi21 May 2019
After being devastated from the disappointing finale of you know which TV show, this episode really has cheered me up.

The acting was once again superb by everyone and the perfect cinematography makes it even more stunning and thought provoking. It literally makes you feel the situation of people effected by this in the real world, when the actual events happened.
113 out of 124 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Fantastic Episode - A Masterpiece in Every Way
EpicBlender21 May 2019
There are so few shows that are put together so perfectly and in a way that completely grips you and keeps you glued to the events unfolding. Everything from the writing, directing, acting, editing and set design is done so beautifully and accurately. This episode portrayed the authenticity of the aftermath of what happened to the firefighters and any and all who were at the disaster site. Every scene is as gripping as the previous. Also, as a person who escaped Czechoslovakia in 1968, Chernobyl shows how the insane asinine Soviet system worked and how the KGB was everywhere and watched everything. The actors and actresses are 100% in character and bring validity to every moment. This episode showed us how people die from acute radiation exposure and it is done in a way that show remind us all what our nuclear world can be if we as a society forget its unstoppable power. Fantastic work on this episode and an amazing miniseries!
45 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
the most uncomfortable hour of television ever
maxglen21 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The show up to this point had already been unflinching with it's depictions of the events of Chernobyl but this episode is the emotional peak of the show thus far. this episode follows 2 separate sides of the story, the recruitment of the miners and the irradiated firemen and power plant workers in Moscow. the miner's story although tragic in it's own right, 100s of men given 6 weeks to mine out what all together ends up being hundreds of meters by hand in the worst of conditions imaginable all the while irradiating themselves, somehow ends up being a story of hope. The men are steadfast in their duty and walk into the danger with spirits high, almost every scene with them is inspiring and sometimes even enough to put a smile on your face. On the other hand we finally see the true extent of radiation poisoning, and it's more devastating and haunting than I could have possibly imagined. The makeup in these scenes is incredible, the best I've ever seen in fact. Each time I saw one of the victims I thought like it couldn't get any worse and I couldn't have been more wrong. This show was already not for the faint of heart but this episode pushes even the toughest to their limits I think. Once again the series continues to be outstanding in all aspects, acting, writing, cinematography, effects, costumes, props... the lot. I feel extremely lucky to be able to see this masterpiece unfold week by week as it airs. I'm giving "Open Wide, O Earth" a 9.7 out of 10
40 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Stunning
denniyquellhorst20 May 2019
Simply amazing. Do not find any words to describe this episode right at the moment. It is making the series whole as I never seen it before in the entire history of series. The acting once again on the highest level possibly, especially the visual effort was astonishing. All in all, a flawless episode of an amazing series so far. Hope, the last 2 episodes reach the exact limit or even go ahead.
77 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Breathtakingly horrifying
oasis122 May 2019
This is 10/10 quality and has been in all 3 episodes. Stunning! Absolutely stunning
18 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Unbelievable
stephenl-0939321 May 2019
As disappointing as game of thrones was HBO throws this absolutely magnificent tv miniseries our way. Horrific and beautiful episode. Can't believe this is a true story
40 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing
faisalazizi1422 May 2019
This Show has portrayed The Chernobyl catastrophe is a brilliant way. Great story telling by HBO
22 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Spectacular performance
Piltil24 May 2019
The living room or wherever you choose to watch this episode ceases to exist about 25 minutes into this episode. WE become the miners, we want to follow this shift-boss into certain death, just... because..

This is the most brilliant performance I have seen on screen. Alex Ferns interpretation of Glukhov is captivating to say the least. Seldom do one-liners or facial grins alone make the hair on your arm stand. This Glukhov will. Considering the year this happened, this man or any of these men could be your father, brother, your friend. It's amazing the way they portray silent and obedient bravery shown by these miners in 1986. There is something epic about this episode. Something beyond our everyday toils and troubles
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
the final scene
dalexandrupopescu21 May 2019
The final scene of the episode is brutal and brilliant at the same time. The atmosphere created in the series is incredible close to the reality of that time in any east European country. A very sad reality that is, based on lies and fear.
31 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Incredible show never have I watched a show and thought this deserves oscars
jamesraymondwallace22 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
People moaning about the English accents why not everyone knows the story to the degree this show is telling it the science behind it the attempted cover upps the sacrifice people made to save millions of people is incredible outstanding acting writing ect just enjoy how good this show is with the truth it tells turning into one of the best shows I've watched
16 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Miners....
KatieL21426 May 2019
There are no words to describe the emotions experienced while watching this series. The scenes with the miners really gutted me though.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great
shamilzaid20 May 2019
A great episode as we all know from the last two episodes so expect the best
39 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The makeup and SFX team need THE HIGHEST AWARDS
fshardlow30 May 2019
Honestly, if you've seen the episode, you know what I'm talking about. Utterly disturbing sights to see. Utterly incredible effects and makeup, shockingly dark and realistic.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best
zainkassar28 May 2019
Best Short Series in TV History Focus on the disaster accurately and beautifully .. Make the scenes merge with the events and sympathize with the characters
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Another great episode
chillyacademic21 May 2019
Overall another great episode with uniformly terrific acting, compelling writing, and immaculate production quality.

We got some much-needed levity in the form of coal miners who were bused in to help with ongoing cleanup efforts.

While previous episodes depicted the USSR as a bumbling bureaucracy, in this episode we got a real sense of the menace of living in an authoritarian state and the ever-present danger if you ask too many questions.

The depictions of the poor souls whose bodies were destroyed by radiation were heartbreaking and staggering.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Uncomfortable yet compelling
muamba_eats_toast5 June 2019
Extremely good television truly horrific and uncomfortable to watch whilst equally as compelling.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Terrific
matiasbockerman24 May 2019
This is eye opening series. Very horryfying, and scary with stunning directing and acting. This very episode was maybe too disturbing, but sometimes truth is. Highly recommended to everyone, but spesially those who don't know anything of this horryfying disaster. Very well done HBO.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beutiful
mmkk-5572921 May 2019
The series makes your attention to it from the beginning until the end of each episode and these are the episodes that I have ever seen on TV. Actually, the incident is tragic but taking you out was wonderful.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Perfect
hassanukiy24 May 2019
Perfect serie from all sides from the directory.. Informations.. Cameraman.. Just perfect
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed