Duncanville (TV Series 2020– ) Poster

(2020– )

User Reviews

Review this title
29 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Nope
nina-9936619 February 2020
I tried with every breath in my body to like Duncanville. I can't. It was boring, not funny and just plain embarrassing
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hard pass
jburgettnd18 February 2020
It is trying way too hard to be hip and youthful but ends up being annoying. There was no plot development or character development no growth of any kind. It was bland and boring. The animation is just okay, it does not stand out in the least bit. My prediction is two seasons then it will be canceled.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Fox desperate to future proof the animation block.
icebutter60018 February 2020
Simpsons and Family Guy can't sustain Sunday night line-up forever ( they have been doing if for the last 20-30 years), which is why in the past few years Fox has been desperate to work a long-term replacement in. However Family guy and Simpsons were the result of an animation renaissance, and the shows are a product of art and talent. This isn't here in Duncanville, I don't know why Fox keeps using SNL alumni as the anchor for these shows (outside of SNL, no one really likes the cast).

Fox never should have NEVER sold American dad to TBS, and they should honestly take some notes from Comedy Central, Adult Swim and Netflix as these shows have had successful animated programs in the last 8 years. (South park, Rick & Morty, Bojack Horsemen etc).
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
No.
erikjw17 February 2020
Predictable plots, lame characters, bad jokes. Sorry guys, it's not working!
20 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Seriously...?
kristinpanter18 February 2020
Who are all these people that love this show? Boring storyline and boring characters with boring humor. Had to turn it off about halfway through.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Reviewing this so you can ignore the other review.
brandonl-8561117 February 2020
Who reviews it 1 star based off animation? Clearly they haven't watched the show. It's actually pretty funny. Other reviewer sucks
25 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Just ok.
ladymacbeth-0597918 February 2020
Nothing special as far as I've seen. Some of the jokes were good, the animation is consistent, and the voice acting was good. Will I watch more? Probably not. But it's definitely got potential to be something excellent in the future.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It's simple and goofy fun.
william-galbraith119 February 2020
It appears that every person who has one type of taste for animated shows are reviewing this one. It's not a superb show, yet, but it does the foundation to become an animation hit. The characters, while being mostly simple and nothing write home about, are witty and entertaining most of the time.

People that are complaining that there is no plot or character development are really looking in the wrong place. This is not that type of show, at least not yet it isn't. This is only the pilot.

Simply put, don't expect the next Rick and Morty or Big Mouth from this, mostly because it is neither of those two shows. It's entertaining enough to give a chance.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Damn...
drake_hellsing18 February 2020
This Show is trying to hard to fast. The pacing is like a small child on a mixture meth and red bull. Duncan's voice is to whiny. It's like their trying to hard to be edgy or the next Rick and Morty. I'm only on the pilot episode and I'm already turned off. I hate big mouth and I'd rather watch it.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just another political statement
mablakeyack19 February 2020
Left wing politically charged show with lame attempt to be youthful. Disappointing.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Boring
justinhuddilston19 February 2020
So boring. It's trying way too hard to be funny. The pace of the show is already way too fast.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Just finished first episode
danhollydasilva17 February 2020
Actually really funny. Very much enjoyed. Ty Burrell and Amy Poehler are great
9 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funny
jmullen-5712419 February 2020
Better than family guy says too short so will also say, better then family guy
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Good Fox show.
BoxwoodExpress19 February 2020
People don't take me seriously as a reviewer on this godforsaken site solely on the basis of me being 15 years of age. As a result, my attempts to bring positivity to widely hated shows that I happen to love like Bless the Harts and The Owl House get 'unhelpfuled' by millions of people. And I'm sure that will be the case with this show, since this show is also pretty hated, though not as much as fellow Fox show Bless the Harts.

Don't get me wrong, I like Bless the Harts, but I think I like Duncanville better, mainly because it just looks better than Bless the Harts in terms of art style. It's also more relatable to me on a personal level. As this show focuses on just one average teen that no one understands and not an entire family, this show is relatable to teens everywhere, and brings up stuff like driving and LGBTQ causes.

The only things I don't like about the show is that Duncan's little sister has a crush on him, which is extremely gross and creepy. Also, Amy Poehler as Duncan is trying way too hard to sound like a boy. That's about it for this review. Tune in for more reviews only on IMDb.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
To the 1 star guy who didnt watch it.
btbaxter17 February 2020
The reason Amy Poehler has anything to do with it is she created it and is a writer for the show. Dont give it 1 star cause your lazy and dont wanna bother with watching the show. It's good.
7 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Average & filled with Twitter talking points.
geekoutmetal19 February 2020
Its like a Hot Take of all them main talking points of blog writers over the past 4yrs in one show. It tries to be F is for Family for 2020. But doesn't even have a quarter of the humor or writing quality. It isn't funny, because all the jokes are memes. You could write a scene by scene of how the writer set around talking about which point to make set up within the confines of Duncan learning to drive. So many check marks covered in just the first episode. I don;t get the 1 or 10 stars. because its not worthy of a 10 at any level. Or a 1 because that would mean everything thing about it was useless. It wasn't. The voice acting is good. The art style works.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
God this show is awful
jdkean17 February 2020
Not even the animation is good as there's multiple mishaps that happen, especially before commercial breaks. The show isn't even close to any type of funny if you're over the age of 6. I made an IMDb account just to make this review, that's how angry I am at it.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Too much talent to be this bad.
deadser23 February 2020
Fox has done pretty well with animated shows over the years. Duncanville may be the one that ends the run, though. To be fair, it seems as though it was written with a much younger audience in mind than those who are fans of the network's other animated shows. It will probably do well with them, and maybe should have been aired on one of the cable kids' channels. Even though some talented people are involved, it just doesn't work. The pacing is so fast you'd have to have the attention span of a bird for it not to seem abrupt. The humor isn't very humorous (or original), and it just seems like it's trying way too hard. It's a big NOPE for me.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Enjoyable pilot waiting for more!
bugssponge22 February 2020
I can't wait for the next 12 episodes of the show. Pilot was good, and shows promise. Unlike Harts where it took time to get good, this feels good right off the bat and I hope they can nail it in the next few episodes.

Give it a shot see what you think.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pleasantly surprised
moneymom-7775517 February 2020
I think the humor and pace were on point. Funny enough to keep my attention and it was neat knowing Amy Poehler and Rashida Jones we're teaming up on this.
4 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Decently funny with imaginative tangents
stevewd-8228717 February 2020
Better than and similar to, The Harts. Like a previous reviewer said, the plot line is pretty predictable. Like the kids putting a giant tree stump in their house, only to find it's full of bees. Or when Duncan does an edible then flies out to go to Mars on the back of Skully, the hero airline pilot. I can't tell you how many times I've seen those old jokes. And the terrible animation as another reviewer said. I can barely tell who is who or what the heck they are doing. But despite all those awful 2 things that aren't true, it's pretty funny. I laughed out loud several times and was engaged and pleasantly amused for the entire show. And aren't that what sitcoms are for? Relaxing, letting the load off and having a good laugh?
3 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's funny!
cscott233117 February 2020
Don't know why people are janking on the animation?? It's freaking animation?? Has some great voiceovers! Just an amazing cast really. I hope Fortune Feimster makes an appearance somewhere down the road. I don't know why but I can totally see/hear her as a character, I believe this is only going to get better and funnier as it goes along. It already made me laugh a few times! Give it a chance and quit your b*tching.
5 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Seriously Amy?
lallie1303521 February 2020
This show has a great cast, what could go wrong? Amy Poehler. Dont get me wrong she is hilarious, however, she has ruined everything with Duncanville by voicing Duncan. With Amy Poehler voicing two characters that constantly interact it becomes super annoying. Plus the voice acting she chose to give Duncan is ridiculously annoying. He is the character I despise the most because of the voice acting. Again fantastic cast with great character choices(minus Duncan), potential storylines that hopefully wont suck further into the season, but Amy Poehler has ruined Duncan in Duncanville. Do not think I can continue this series just because of Duncan. Hard pass for me.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
2 stars for the casts
eviltyrin19 February 2020
I recognized some of the voices from characters like bex or whatever. But this show just seems like more of the same, like another sunday primetime nuclear family animated sitcom. Oooh but with modern references and character design. The jokes were about what you'd expect (think a more tamed Simpsons). As we've seen in the past these writers and actors do have talent, but I guess its just the Fox curse. I guess they realize that family guy isn't doing so hot, so maybe they're tryna softball in the next generation.

It just comes off as more of the same. South park, Bojack, these shows innovate and change up what we know. But I guess whoevers calling the shots for animation over at fox is just as daft as the ones they replaced. I'll watch a bit more to see if they unleash a little more talent to get past the pilot, but not holding my breath.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Comedy Gold.
nasdagoodshepherd17 February 2020
Tonight, I just watched the animated Fox series, Duncanville and it was pretty wacky and funny. The humor, the writing and the characters (especially Duncan, the main character himself) are all good, the style of the show sort of reminds me a lot like the style from Bob's Burgers, The Simpsons and Sanjay and Craig (even though Sanjay and Craig was pretty disgusting to watch) and I don't mind the style at all honestly. Hopefully Fox doesn't cancel thisnone and thank god Fox renewed Bless The Harts for a second season. Go watch this show, it's really funny. I give Duncanville an 8.5/10
3 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed