That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime (TV Series 2018– ) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
22 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Adorable
invisibleunicornninja19 October 2018
This anime is absolutely gorgeous. Not only do all the sets and characters look unique and perfect, but the actual animation is very smooth and looks great. The story is interesting, as well as the characters. I don't understand how this show keeps a vibe of being so sweet and pure and innocent when there are several semi-graphic scenes where people (and other creatures) are murdered and there are a lot of sex jokes thrown in there, but it works. Before you start thinking that this show has a tonal problem, it doesn't but its a bit odd.

Yeah as of now like a season has come out and it is amazing. The characters are great. The settings are great. Everything is great. This show is flawless.
24 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
How to Make an Isekai Work
inuclearcreeper6 November 2018
We're up to 6 episodes right now and I can say this anime is consistently beautiful and lively show. Something you don't see from a lot of animes with great pacing to boot. It is rare to even find an anime that made me want go out of my way to read the manga. Also finding there is a Light Novel to read and you can see from the manga it heavily improves apon the source showing how anime should improve the source.

Ok let's get on to the main character in short are very expressive and a joy to watch. Rimuru's voice fits perfectly and for a slime it's(slimes are genderless) expressions are pretty wide for a slime. We even see how Rimuru effects the world and how he interacts with others. Also just to note It's an overpowered protagonist but isn't the most powerful in the land yet.

The comedy elements work very well when melded with Slime's story and characters but remember comedy is subjective so not everyone will interpret it the same. From my experience it had me laughing out loud at certain adult jokes and character facial expressions. Other characters definitely have their momments and the interaction between characters are just great.

This may be a light heart comedy at timed but it can get dark. From some isekai I've seen it can be hard to go from light to dark moments but slime pulls it off without out it hinder the anime it's self anymore and I would get into spoilers.

In conclusion, That Time I got Reincarnated as a Slime is a joy to watch. The animation and voice acting improves apon the source material. The characters interact well and in themselves interesting. It can get dark at times and does it well. I also hope you all will found this review helpful and enjoy the anime as much as I have.
16 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Why can't I stop smiling?
deathgurl-894215 December 2018
Currently my #1 anime, I can't stop smiling! Something about it is just perfect, and I'm one to get bored easily. I hope that everyone watches it, because it's just amazing.

WATCH IT!
15 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Most Refreshing Anime Out There!
rmacias-3398314 January 2019
This anime really spectacular and I truly hope they continue it since its just this perfect balance of comedy, adventure, action, its light hearted, no annoying troupes, its just damn its just so damn good. I early await more and can't wait to own the full series and pick up some merch of this series.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
That Time I Got Reincarnated as a Slime
Tweekums3 April 2019
Satoru Mikami, a 37 year old office worker's, life is cut short when he is stabbed in the street... he is then reincarnated in a fantasy world. Here he is a slime, the lowest creature alive, however he has the ability to learn the skill of any creature he devours. He befriends the powerful dragon Veldora, who has been magically sealed away and gives him the name Rimuru Tempest. When Rimuru leaves the cave he meets various beings who he gradually befriends. As the series progresses his status quickly rises, as does that of the creatures he befriends.

There are numerous anime series that feature ordinary people who for one reason or another find themselves in fantasy worlds; most are fairly interchangeable but a few have that something different that makes them stand out... this is one of the latter. The story starts well and Rimuru is a fine central character; he may be very powerful, after gaining many new skills, but he is keen to make friends and forge alliances rather than the usual more confrontational stories. That doesn't mean there is no excitement though; many enemies need to see just how strong he is before they become friends. The series also provides some good laughs and has a general feel-good quality. The animation is impressive as are the character designs. Overall a really fun anime that I'd definitely recommend to fans of the genre; I'm looking forward to season two which is due to air in 2020.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
My Hero Academia was my most recent Number #1 "feel-good" anime, but now it needs to share the first place!
sarah_cze15 February 2019
Like the title says, this is an absolutely brilliant anime. It's an interesting premise right from the start; the characters are well-written and adorable in their own ways & not a single one (even the "bad guys") is unlikeable. I can't say much about the storyline yet since it was mainly about introducing the most major characters and allies/enemies, except that it's going in a great direction.

This anime makes you laugh, it makes you smile and maybe even makes you cry.

At this point it shares the first "feel-good anime" place with the recent My Hero Academia. Maybe it's even slightly ahead? You should really give it a go!

Other animes that I'd rate 10/10 and you should check out if you haven't seen them yet:

  • Violet Evergarden
  • Land of the Lustrous
  • Ancient Magus' Bride
  • Darling in the Franxx
  • Noragami
  • B: The Beginning
  • Devilman: Crybaby
  • Avatar: The Last Airbender
  • Little Witch Academia (also a pure feel-good anime!)
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wooow
joshuaberkley15 January 2019
Up to episode 12 and already the best show I've seen since my hero academia came out. Love it
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So Much Fun!
jamesdaish3 January 2019
It just knows how to make an Anime funny and really really Badass episode after episode. Really enjoying it.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
One of the best
abodpoper8 February 2019
This anime shock me from the first episode anyone watch anime have to see it 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Slime = Fantastic
maxenen23 April 2019
I'm on episode 14 and am about to watch the end of it. I really like the series so far though I have one request: Please stop having the guy walk around like a lollicon little girl. It's creepy. Thanks.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Lighthearted yet exhilarating
mepawlewicz29 March 2019
What a fun show! I was a little skeptical at first, because of convenience of Rimaru's creation, but once you get past that it's just fun. It's like a cross between a video game, dungeons and dragons, and a peppy fun animated series. Combines a lot of my favorite things from anime type shows.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A refreshing summer breeze in anime format
tech_tie17 March 2019
It includes the necessary tropes you'd expect for it to fulfill its purpose - only a few annyoing clichés are included.

It's a feel-good anime with a bit o' tension and plenty of breathing room in between those moments.

The animation is par for the course and nothing really stands out - be it egregious or good.

The characters is where the real meat's at, because they're organic and believable. Their motives and and actions have sound reasoning behind them - don't expect the next Death Note from this though.

The music's alright but at the same time not really memorable.

The only qualms I have with this are the occasional spoonfeedery and the noticable quality drop towards the end as they rush past arks to quickly tidy up the story (presumably to set up the next season in the last episode with a cliffhanger).
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great
questforsix19 March 2019
This show is just fun not to dark or gritty just fun.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely breath-taking!
Hearts-Content15 March 2019
I had been awaiting the anime upon release, the art style is so remarkable! When I had seen the first episode I had already known it would be a hit! Just recently I picked up the light-novels as I was very fascinated that lots of things were left out. Anyways the only thing I have noticed that I want to let the other users know this may be a bit selfish but, the ending is way too plain. You'd think that it's a comedy and action-packed anime but the ending was disappointing. Anyways if you had taken your time to read this thank you! -Ashley
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Exciting, humorous & uplifting. Prefect anime for beginners and veterans alike
dayc-6454113 March 2019
I have to say as a veteran anime buff, (some would say otaku), This anime is a must watch. I was hesitant to start this one as the story of a man being pulled into a fantasy world has been overplayed. HOWEVER!!! This anime's adaptation of that genre makes it one of the most lively and positive I've ever seen. My fiancée and I always look forward to watching it come out! Our taste in anime is so different that it's hard for us to find one in common however this one definitely does it for us. Please let there be a second season!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pleasant, feel-good anime done well
chacham7 July 2019
Pros: Decent animation, decent story, decent characters, likeable characters, light humor

Meh: Anything not important to the story is glossed over or lacks detail, story is childish

Cons: None

I just watched the first season and enjoyed it from the first episode. The main character is just plain likeable. He's easy to identify with, and root for. As he is a human from "our" world, you imagine acting the same way he does in a foreign fantasy world, and that seems somewhat believable.

The story itself is kind of childish. You know the hero will always win in this way or another, and yet it is fun to watch it happen. So many people just trust each other for no reason, but you take it as part of the story. There's always this wonder of what will happen next, like a daydream where everything goes your way.

The graphics are nothing special, but decent. There's just a little cgi here and there, but it blends in well. The music is nice too. Overall, everything in the story is decent.

In general, some stories always make you want more, other are episodic and can be put down at any time. This one falls in the middle, where there are no real cliffhangers, but you still want to see the overall goal come to fruition.

If pleasant, feel-good anime is your thing, definitely worth the watch.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very well done Isekai series
Irishchatter23 April 2019
I have to be honest here, I cried when Satoru died on the first episode and then he became a slime to fight off monsters from the other world. Like honestly I hope that's what we like to see our loved ones experience when they leave the world. As well as myself of course lol!

I know I'm getting way too deep here but this anime was very entertaining, funny and even magical. Definitely recommend this anime to Isekai newbies !
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
That one slime who is OP
Rupucis23 November 2019
One of the most interesting anime series I've seen. Has its own unique script and humor.

Mostly Isekai is filled with beautiful characters. Either as fast-gained friends of the protagonist, or simply harem. This isn't one of them. The protagonist is a slime. Who would want to be in another world like a slime?

The story starts quite simply and, at first, even a little boring. Slime (later called as Rimuru) is in a new world, with no feelings, no vision, nothing. At the same time, gradually, the protagonist understands what is going on around and is evolving, gaining new capabilities and starting to get to know the world in which he is now.

The main character in itself is interesting and likeable. Other characters are mostly monsters, and only a few stand out with something unique and are memorable.

Already in the first episode, we seem to know Rimurus purpose as a protagonist. At least at first it seems that way. Then there are additional stories that are interesting about themselves, but often do not connect to the main story. It certainly didn't bother watching this series in any way, but I think a couple of scenes were rather meaningless.

In general, this anime is very good. The story is very simple. I got a laugh and I enjoyed the story. I recommend that you also watch this.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
DAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAMN!!!!!
Wolfkin199330 September 2019
The headline puts it lightly, this series takes the "Friendly Monster" notion to a whole new level, "several monster races working together for a better future". That aside our Protagonist Satoru Mikami/Rimuru Tempest is a loveable, yet believable character, who is a logical thinker (though that trait is lost when he's around Elves) & quite merciful to those who choose peace over destruction, but he's no pushover. The other races in the series each have their own unique quirks, capabilities & powers (even standard humans) & can easily back Rimuru should the need arise. (Although one 'particular' support character can be a bit endearing when viewers first see him). The series is nicely paced for its 23 episodes (with three bonus filler episodes for total of 26). (Bonus point from me for being one of the few anime to have Lizardmen as allies instead of enemies). Its well worth the watch & I look forward to more of the series from "8-Bit Studios" should they choose to continue the series.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best anime
aleksandar-873794 January 2020
Best anime of the 2019!!! And the caracters ar super cull.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
could have been much better
kuldeep-440237 November 2019
It has good start it will get a bit boring as story proceeds. basically no there character development for the protagonist you u will get the feeling like he is some god.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Too many tired tropes and no sense of urgency make for a mediocre series.
badcgishark6 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I was interested in this series after hearing so many good things about it and, for the first six or so episodes I was really enjoying the series. However, by the time I reached the end of episode 15 or 16 (When Slime decimates the Orc Disaster), I lost interest in the series for numerous reasons.

The biggest problem in this series is that Slime is so OP and all major characters have ridiculous plot armor. I was greatly anticipating the battle between the orc army and the lizard army, but it was so bland. The war scenes were so boring and Slime and company made everything seem like a joke. I understand that most anime series have super OP main characters, but it just becomes boring.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed