The Righteous Gemstones (TV Series 2019– ) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
90 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Very funny and smart comedy
cartsghammond19 August 2019
I've been waiting for this show ever since the sneak peak image of the cast released a couple months ago and frankly, I am not disappointed, Danny McBride is hilarious and so is the rest of the cast. There of course will be some negative reviews on here saying that it's anti Christian propaganda, but I don't see it as that at all. This is a satire on how power of any sort can be corrupted. HBO has landed another great comedy, excited to keep watching.
78 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Phenomenal show already - Maybe cause I love the cast and type!
UniqueParticle19 August 2019
Every scene is great and much of it is funny! I noticed it got hate already, that's unfortunate, I love anything with Danny McBride! "Party Man" lol I love that line and I am excited for more of this silly show.
55 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Righteous Gemstones
jms_mckelvey20 August 2019
Love it! Been waiting for a few months to watch. It didn't disappoint. It's a caricature of these Television Televangelists. Which we've all seen through out the years. Exaggerated? Yes, but we all know they line their pockets with the weak minded. And tax free as well. I'm a big fan of Danny McBride. And I hope it gets picked up for a 2nd season.
43 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Premiere was great!
niceguy9518 August 2019
Fortunate enough to see premiere early. It's a winner. Not only funny but also engaging story. Danny McBride Jody Hill and David Gordon green are a dream team. Encourage everyone to watch it live each Sunday at 10 on HBO
57 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Hilarious!
ssalas1919 August 2019
Great cast! Loved the first episode and if it's any indication of the entire season, then you know it's a great series. Great HBO series as usual.
42 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Baby Billy!
chrisarnett-513254 September 2019
Baby Billy is the best character in years! The story is actually very good. The comedy (which I was thinking I may grow tired of Danny Mcbride's shtick) was so funny! Easy material to draw from, but it doesn't shame the religious viewer.
22 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I didn't know what to expect, then, BAM! Instantly hooked!
bushowit21 August 2019
NO SPOILERS HERE!! Just wanted to say I was expecting less and was so surprised at the 1st episode, I need to watch episode 2....in fact, my wife and I can't wait to see what happens next. The whole production quality, cinematography and sound, as well as the quirky characters that add some dark humour to this original storyline. Love it!!
28 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Funny as hell.
ksbolen3119 August 2019
I just don't know why Dermot Mulroney isn't listed in the cast ? Love him ,a dhe seemed to be a leading figure
34 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I'm still laughing!!
GeekGirl1922 August 2019
Check your religion at the door and enjoy this hilarious, irreverent comedy!
24 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Holy Mackerel... Whatta Show!!
dan_slentz26 August 2019
Incredible clever writing! Funny beyond belief. VERY well produced! And the acting is TOP NOTCH!!! John Goodman is phenomenal (and looking fit), and Danny McBride and Adam Devine are hilarious and just a hoot to watch (as is, honestly, the whole cast)! Everything about this series makes for a great show! If there's only one complaint, a half hour is NOT enough!! Awesome show!!
19 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An emotional roller-coaster!
dgabi-124 October 2019
I've never thought a comedy series would make me cry so much, just love those moments when you get a funny joke now and in 5 minutes you get an strong emotional moment, the cast is amazing, the filmography, the sets the soundtrack is also amazing (Misbehaving). The righteous gemstones is one of the best comedy series running right now, well done HBO, can't wait for season two!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Cassidy Freeman and her Amber Gemstone ROCK.
The_Tropics19 August 2019
Loved Cassidy Freeman on Smallville and then on Longmire. Her subtle sinister style of humor as Tess Mercer was fantastic. So glad that she's a part of this!! Her comedy shines right away in the first episode. I really hope she is given more comedy to deliver.
20 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Original And Hilarious
MellowStello21 August 2019
Wonderfully talented ensemble cast! Everyone brings something to the table.

Danny McBride never fails to deliver, in my humble opinion.

I'm always pleasantly surprised by how enthralling McBride HBO productions can be. Like Vice Principles and Eastbound & Down, this series packs a comedic punch while also maintaining a shroud of mystery around the main plot.

I've been a fan of Danny McBride since before Hot Rod and Land of the Lost, but he's really becoming a decorated professional. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
23 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Another masterpiece
raphaelgabrielkeller19 August 2019
After Eastbound and Down and Vice Principles an other masterpiece. The level of production and comedy might be the best I've seen in years. Can't wait for the full season
24 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
They did their homework
theytookallthegoodnames26 August 2019
I grew up in a megachurch, both my parents were pastors. So I was super curious how this show would play out. So far, the first episode was dead on. You can really tell that Danny Mcbride and crew researched or experienced these things personally. I could not stop laughing, they nailed it. Just finished the second episode and I like that it's already branching out a bit. Great show.
17 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
CAN'T WAIT to see this!!!
jadis79918 August 2019
We've known about greedy, decietful televangelist for DECADES. It's time we can at least laugh about it. Having JUST watched "The Family" I feel like this will something of a continuation of American seeing what's under that layer of "profitable American Christianity". If you can't tell the difference between REAL Christianity and PROFIT, can't realize it's a organized religion just like everyone else's... This show ain't for you. 🤣
53 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ten stars
mattketcham-9212819 August 2019
Danny McBride knocks it out of the park. The next HBO show.
22 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wow they took it to a new level!
tonyaennis22 August 2019
I absolutely love this show, it's rare for me to automatically like a show too... this show made me laugh so hard, say oh no, and yell oh my god and holy s*** pretty loud while my husband was sleeping!!! Love the satirical nature of it all.
15 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love it!
nurse_lgg20 August 2019
It's funny and the characters really mesh. It's good to see a show about mega churches and the loosely based goings on. Love this show!
13 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious
loganthomasdrums1 September 2019
Probably closer to realism than comedy.. but holy hell it's comedic!
14 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Yep, I rated this...
grakky27 August 2019
..... a 10!!! As someone else mention it is funny as hell! Cast and acting is superb. Attention is paid to the tiniest little details making a huge addition to the overall immersion, can't wait for each new episode!
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Rare Gem is Danny McBride
danielwestnc23 August 2019
Rarely, do I watch a premiere that is so funny yet so borderline gangster at the same time. This show has all of the cliches you might think for a family that has made a fortune off the unknowing masses of lost souls. Every series that Danny has done has been very clever, and I am sure this series will deliver the same unabashed idiocracy of his previous series. Most times, people never know their own ironical existence, so in steps Danny right into the roles of those people like an old glove... Bravo, Danny, for bringing in one the biggest kings of comedy of the last 40 years.
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Look...
mindfre4k19 August 2019
This show is hilarious and i've always enjoyed crime/comedy so if you're a fan of fargo or something similar you're gonna like this. ( detroit don't take everything so seriously and celebrate what the lord has given us)
17 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
So Funny! And Edi Patterson is so great!
faxanadonts2 September 2019
The Foot Fist Way and Eastbound and Down blew me away, and from then on I knew I had to watch anything written or created by Danny McBride. Just because of who he is, everything that flows from him is funny. I get the same feeling from Edi Patterson. Every line from her in this series is so fricken funny! Her demeanour and the way she delivers lines has something that is never not funny. I love that she is in this series in combination with Danny McBride (and also in Vice Principals). The combination is just fantastic. Thanks for another great series!
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Winner from HBO
gags73030 August 2019
We have a winner from HBO with this show. Written & created by Danny McBride the show has humor from each character and their quirky personalities. The family job is that of basically a modern day televangelist TV show and mega church. Instead of only seeing the wife accompany the preacher with this show we see almost the whole family involved in the Church and its events. John Goodman plays the preacher and founder of this mega church and we have each child fighting to be the best in their father's eye. It seems when the father is not looking each child has a way of screwing up everything from not only their own life but the family business as well. John Goodman is a surprise addition to this cast and he deliverers with a character just as good as when he was in the Big Lebowski (almost). With only 6 episodes this year I hope HBO is going to give it a season 2 as they really need unique and original content especially since Disney+ is on the horizon and they always have the threat of the ever present Netflix with new shows almost weekly lately. Give it a watch it won't disappoint
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed