"13 Reasons Why" Let the Dead Bury the Dead (TV Episode 2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
62 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
What exactly is your message?
mdcskills27 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The PSA in the beginning of the season and the reminder at the end of each episode is nice, but the characters are horrible people. They've screamed "justice" the entire series and in the end, they are all, including some adults, liars that framed the wrong person for murder. How is that justice? What exactly is the message you are sending to young people? Don't commit suicide, but lie your way out of murder? This season the writers were reckless in their message. I am so disappointed.
60 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good plot twist bad outcome
panokarav25 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Overall the show is neither great nor bad. That's mainly the reason why we sat and watched it in 48 hours of course. Nevertheless the ending seems to me disappointing. Alex didn't have a particular motive to kill Bryce and neither had Jess. The unfortunate destiny of Monty makes me surprisingly to feel sorry for him and simultaneously hate a bit Clay, Alex and the others. In my eyes whoever killed Bryce should have got punished. I mean in the end what kind of message does this show try to promote? That you cam get away with the murder of someone that has decided to change and improve? Poor
98 out of 110 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Disappointing!!
liedje_197930 August 2019
Didn't like this season at all. The only reason I watched this is because I wanted to know what had happened. But the ending was so disappointing. A lot of things didn't add up and where bad explained. The Ani character was so annoying. The whole season didn't make sense to me at all.
31 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Bad message for teens
WhenAmyMetSalad30 August 2019
The only person I felt invested in this season was Tyler. His struggle with being a survivor of sexual assault from season 2 was very real. Everyone else annoyed me honestly.

When a murder is committed even a vengeful one, regardless who it's against, the one who committed the crime needs to be punished end of story. Not by some rando off the street but by the authorities. If you think otherwise then Bryce and Monty deserved better and also deserved to be forgiven for their misdeeds. This whole episode felt like they were saying "It's okay to commit murder and cover it up as long as it's for a good cause". No that's never acceptable PERIODT.

The writers did an okay job of making me feel sympathy for Bryce even though I hated him because of what he did in seasons one and two. In fact kudos to the actor Justin Prentice for being so versatile and helping make the character feel multi layered.

If the Beast from Beauty and the Beast can be forgiven why not this monster? Well simply because the writers say so. They messed up this finale just like they messed up the last seasons finale by making the story feel less real. This season could have been cut in half and focused on Tyler's recovery and it would have been more entertaining and much better honestly.
29 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This was horrible
lopezelle26 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I have no problem whatsoever with Bryce Walker or Monty being dead let me make that clear because they were monsters and even though it broke my heart to see Bryce struggle with his fundamental evil and dying trying to do right, it still did not change that he was a monster but I'm having a problem with the Alex narrative, since the 2nd season Alex has faced little to no consequences to bad decisions because of who he was and how he tried to kill himself. Alex is a murderer. He is as bad because crime is crime, he ended a life. Getting him off for the sake of protecting the group was disgusting and sends a horrible message. I understand that in the real world, children of police officers do escape with things anyone else shouldn't and he's white but this was a horrible ending. Justice is justice and no matter what Bryce was in his life, he deserved that and especially his mother who was fighting for her son. I liked the other seasons but this was disappointing. They had so much to choose from and this is the disgusting end they chose. Alex feels righteous and supported so he will probably murder again, not to mention he's a drug addict now.
46 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Really disappointing ending
christianfuhrmann-9232028 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This whole show is about that happens to teenagers, from bullying, to rape to teen pregnancy and abortion. In the end it is murder that is being targeted, however instead of again showing and teaching how to deal with it it instead delivers the message "murder is ok sometimes"

Aside from the annoying new main character this really unethical ending ruined the show and its characters for me.
41 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Disappointed
asmattocks30 August 2019
The murder mystery surrounding the death of Bryce was intriguing, but in the end, I was disappointed. The season drug along and the ending was rushed. Ani was annoying. Who the murderer was and how it went down was dumb. The writers also need to stop using the F word every other sentence. They can't think of any other cuss words to use? So disappointed.
24 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Everyone seems happy at the ending except for me
l-23848-0909127 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I've just signed in to express my huge dissapointment. It's a fair suspense drama, but this season has drifted far away from its original course. At least for me, the first season actually gave me a lot of thinking about bullying. It is an important thing to face this kind of subject and to tell the truth and heal. But how on earth telling lies to cover up for the real murderer and plant it on someone else is okay, even if both of the people died are bullies. It is just the easier way but not the right way to do it and against what the show has portrayed. It is just hypocrisy
24 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Messed Up
kelliedaborn31 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Alex should go to jail. This was so messed up. Terrible writing.
20 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Oh Monty <3
ngfjunk26 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Ani is a monster. That smug, know it all, holier-than-thou, snitch framed poor Monty. Who does she think she is!? And the way she pouts and just oozes smugness all the while fraudulently perjuring herself, while orchestrating the fabrication of evidence and obstructing justice.

Fraudulent Ani has left a trail of destruction behind her throughout her time at Liberty. She has a list of victims as long as Hannah's filibustering tapes. People like Clay, who was lied to the whole season, or Jessica who she pretended to befriend while sleeping with her rapist. But that wasn't enough of course, because it was her own mother who got the exact same treatment. Her mother, she had to be dispatched because she got in the way of Ani's quest for righteousness. Fraudulent Ani's quest for righteousness was so low, that she was prepared to sellout Monty, a poor sexually confused domestic violence victim, by fabricating evidence to frame him for murder. Ani is the real monster, x10 worse than Bryce ever was. No emotion or remorse for her deception - she is a psychopath.

Neanderthals like her, taking justice into their own incompetent hands, are the reason innocent people go to jail. The know it all smugness "i know everything. I pay attention. I listen." No Ani. No. You ruin the whole show, and worse, represent the real absolute worst of humanity.

Ps: Really? Alex gets away with murder? Yes Bryce raped, but he's a person with rights. Alex and Jess cover up murder, proving they have no principles and no integrity. And the others are just okay with that...? What the.

Pps: Justin did NOT "let" Bryce rape Jess. Bryce made that decision and he, and he alone, is responsible for it. Not Justin's fault in any way.
38 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
As long as you have friends I guess...
dannehh25 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
( first of, Ani...so badly writen, so baldy acted! Why was she here, she hade no cemetery with anyone, she felt so out of place. It was just terrible! When you have so many characters that we already care about, why throw in her and just ruin it! )

What the hell was the message in the season..? That you can get away with murder? As long as you have friends? All of the kids, that we have learned to care about are now murderers in one way or another! How where the people behind this okey with this... and that the cop dad burned his sons bloody clothes in the end? I thought this was a show that hade real consequences, that we should learn right and wrong and to talk about this stuff. But no, let them get away with murder, that will give a good message to the kids!

And just for note, didn't what's the entire show! Saw episode one, half of episode 2 (ani was to annoying to watch) then I was skimming through the last three episodes! Just terrible...
34 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A really bad ending for season 3...
WNiiO8 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This show has always been about accountability. ALWAYS. But now, they've changed that theme and are take a more unrealistic approach to life, thus losing a ton of great conversation starters. This season had more of a Riverdale-esque writing, and I found that to be fairly horrible.

But lets talk about accountability, shall we? In season 1, everyone were held accountable for their actions, some more than others. In season 2, two people were held accountable, one less than the other. And I thought that in season 3, that theme would last, but no. Instead, in this season finale, they threw out that idea. They withheld information, they lied to the cops, they planted evidence for gods sake. They're supposed to be the good guys, but now I'm doubting they ever were.

I really disliked this season finale, but I loved the final episodes leading up to it. Just an anticlimactic mess that forgets what it's all about. Accountability. I'm not sure what message this season sends out to the people watching it, but it's not a good one. This season in total gets a 6.5/10, but this season finale gets a 6/10.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Am I the one on that found flashbacks confusing??
fletchervicky29 August 2019
I really enjoyed season 1, season 2 I found frustrating, season 3, although gripped, I often got confused with the flashbacks.

When the episodes are in present day, the clips are faded, where as when they show the flashbacks, the picture/scenes are normal. I found this was around the wrong way and more often then not, had to really concentrate on what was what. In season 1, Hannah had all her hair chopped off which made it easier to follow and it was long when it jumped back.

I know in this season in the present scenes, a lot of the football team had bruising caused from the homecoming, but sometimes it would jumped to Tyler who had bruises on his head which was actually a flash back.

I dunno, was I the only one confused as to if this was a scene before or after Bryce was killed or is did anyone else find the same thing? Give me a thumbs up if u agree. If not, maybe I need to stop flicking through my newsfeed while watching the show🙈.
16 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Disappointing
cara99-325-25346424 August 2019
Ive never really loved 13 reasons why though I did like season 2 I looking foreword to this season because i love a murder mystery crime story but this season kinda was kinda boring it the pacing was so slow that it got boring the episodes Could have been cut shorter and the new character ani she was okay at first but after 3 episodes she got a annoying why didn't they need her to commentate everything just show it instead of explaining it
28 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Important messages but bad continuity
susanacmpires26 August 2019
While there are important messages portraited, it feels like the series is being stretched out and starting to get a bit unrealistic. After watching season 3 there's not much expectation left for this series, unfortunatly.
15 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Better than season 2, it's good, ignore the bad reviews!
Vkp1225 August 2019
I don't get the bad reviews. I really liked the plot and the cinematography. Ani is the new girl, yes, okay not sure if I really like her, don't know why but I would like to be bad in season 4, and Clay hopefully find peace on another girl, not her. And for sure, I would like the real murderer to be punished. He/She (won't reveal who did it) might made a mistake, but he/she deserves to take a lesson, as everyone in this show has so far. I really liked the final episode, it was touching and emotional. Let's hope the final season 4 will be as good as seasons 1 and 3. Didn't really like season 2. Please watch it, it's good!!!
51 out of 89 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Ending made me like this s 3 more
treehugger-9562527 August 2019
I didn't like the beginning of the season and I still think it's not very realistic with the new character Ani just being accepted into their CLOSE circle of friends and sharing info and secrets since she was a brand new student at the school. Don't really like her that much. Was worried she might ruin the season. .. but by the end I ended up liking the season. But still not a real fan of Ani
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Let the Dead Bury the Dead (#3.13)
ComedyFan201030 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Wow. That was just awful. So we explore all the reasons people had to kill Bryce and then Alex does it because "he made his friends feel bad". What a great reason to kill. But apparently it is. Somehow the message I get from this is that its ok to kill as long as you kill the right people. Not surprising considering that Netflix is extremely leftist now and they love to promote the idea that violence is good as long as it is to the bad people. And bad people are the ones they themselves don't like of course. Sadly I think it ruined characters for me. I thought what Bryce did was horrible and deserved punishment. I also enjoyed watching him trying to be a better person even though I knew he will die anyways. And yet now I can't stand Zach, Alex and the rest that covered up for them so much worse. They don't even show any regrets. And amazing how Ani did all that. So she was ok with the murder of her friend whom she saw becoming a better person to go unpunished, covering for Alex whom I didn't see her be close to in any way. And yes, the only bad crime in the world is rape. This is the only one which people should punished for and get no forgiveness for. Even somebody who wanted to shoot you out of his own (understandable) anger can be your friend afterwards. Not surprising that show is so modern feminist that even that ugly nasty feminist turned out to be more than a message how wrong the movement is being dealt with today. So sad, the season was doing so well and then they managed to ruin it all with one episode. Hope maybe they will do something decent in the next one and Winston will force the truth to come out. Only I don't know how I will like watching it anyways now that I dislike the characters and think they are horrible people, doing the same as they did with Bryce in this season won't work as there are too many of them. And PS, Tobi's family seems to be doing fine. No life under threat. So I guess they can take their time and enter the country legally without fearing for their lives.
14 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Stop giving episodes 1 star just to spite the show
Splarke2223 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Right now everyone in the world is on episode 9, going onto episode 10 if they started binging the second Season 3 dropped. There's no way to have seen the finale yet unless you skipped ahead. So the fact there are 1 star ratings and a bogus review up already is petty and ridiculous. Don't like the show? Don't watch it.

Edit: After finishing the finale I am blown away. This season was a major step up from Season 2 in my opinion and the finale was extremely emotional, gut-punching, and shocking. The extreme amount of poor ratings and reviews I feel are unwarranted, but to each their own.
78 out of 154 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
How to get away with murder
MorakFR1 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I agree with panokarav review but my rating will be 1/10 'cause I hate injustice.

So here, they are sending the message that we can get away with killing someone. Alex should have been punished for what he did. Bryce was getting better and showing willingness to improve himself. And Alex simply killed him and did not get punished.

So, production here wants kids to know they can kill someone and if everybody lie with them, they can get away with it. BRAVO !
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Please stop
ashutoshaswaleho23 August 2019
Just finished the marathon, i felt they should've stopped right after the first season. No creativity's left to show.
56 out of 113 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't bother.
sammyb-9733925 August 2019
This whole season was trash. It adds nothing to the other 2 seasons and you're better off watching the first 2 seasons and leaving it at that.
20 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
*Honest Review*
csrpna-6656726 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I thoroughly enjoyed mostly everyone's storylines this season. As many have said, this season was a major step up from the previous one. With that being said, I'm disappointed with the outcome, & the reveal/motive. One of several people could have been chosen to be the killer, & the storyline would still have made sense, & been a better outcome. We hardly saw Alex during this season, & when we did he was always whining, complaining and angry at everyone. It just feels like the writers wanted to give him an interesting storyline, but in the process completely ruined his character. Also the redemption theme for Bryce & Monty seemed very forced, like they wanted us to feel bad for them; not a fan of that. Ani is by far the worst part of this season, & I'm sure every agrees with at least that. I really hope they really think the season 4 storyline through and give us something that makes sense, & is mind-blowing.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Failed at clear writing
philfeeley2 September 2019
I know that most see this as well done', and weaved together, but I have several misgivings about it that cannot be resolved. I will try to avoid any spoilers:

1. The purported transformation of Bryce into a repentant human being is completely ruined in one scene of the last episode. If the intentions of the writer(s) were to show that a sociopath can be reformed, they failed miserably.

2. Speaking of sociopaths, it is in the expert opinion of those who study them, that they cannot be reformed. Prisons are full of them. Hence the whole attempt to reform Bryce was doomed from the beginning.

3. They hid the "real" killer for the first 12 episodes, yet I don't know how "they" knew Bryce would be on the docks that night. So much detail was played out that I can't remember why "they" went there to meet him, or even how "they" knew he would be there. And it is not explained how Ani knew any of it - without being part of it. Another writing failure.

4. Worst use of biblical reference: "Let the dead bury the dead". If they had this "killer" in mind, why didn't they glom onto "them" from the beginning, instead leading us through 12 wild goose chases? 12 writing failures.

5. When will all their ruses crash and burn, exposing them all? Season 4 should play this out, and indeed it was foreshadowed.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
The shows a mess
calder_3128 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Overall I know this show isn't necessarily "good", but then again I finished this season in 2 days. Aside from the ridiculous format of this honestly silly 'mystery', It was just a mess. By episode 6 I honestly just felt bad for Bryce. He's a horrible person that I've never liked, but he was trying to change. I get he literally took out Zach's knee, even at the end he was no where near perfect, but making his "murder" like that honestly was sad. The tape didn't help, I feel like a redemption story could have been better than the direction they chose.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed