The Accountant of Auschwitz (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
11 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
A very skilled docmentary
proud_luddite1 July 2018
Oskar Grönig was a member of the SS and a bookkeeper at the Aushwitz concentration camp during World War II. In 2014 (when he was ninety-three years old), he was tried in a German court for being an accessory to murder. The details of the trial and related histories are recounted in this Canadian documentary.

Director Matthew Shoychet and writer Ricki Gurwitz are clearly skilled as their film has all the elements of a great documentary including solid footage - some going back to the Holocaust itself, clever title devices that summarize history as they juxtapose the footage, and the inclusion of all sides of the debate. The debate, of course, is whether Grönig should be on trial due to his advanced age plus his past efforts to fight against the denial of the Holocaust in the 1990s.

Some of the post-Holocaust histories include German trials (in the 1950s and 1960s) of those who were directly involved in the murders as well as the trials in later decades of those, like Grönig, who were captured and tried as accessories.

Another praiseworthy element of the film is the many intelligent interviewees. They provide great insight on many discussions including various views on forgiveness (which follows a very surprising event during the trial) and how the phrase 'never again' has ended up as a sad failure considering the genocides that followed the Holocaust.

By the film's conclusion, it is evident that even though the Holocaust ended over seven decades ago, it remains a real-life drama that can still cause shivers and bring out the best as well as the worst in people. It has obviously brought out the best in the creators of "The Accountant of Auschwitz".
18 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Prosecuting History
reidandgenene6 April 2019
This is a worthwhile addition to the genre of Holocaust documentary. It deals not only with activities of Gronig (the epynomous 'Accountant') but also the difficulties of prosecuting war criminals in their 90s. The movie also discusses the changed legal basis for recent prosecutions in the post-Demjanjuk years.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Had potential to be a very interesting documentary, spoiled by lack of research and authenticity
alex-brisbourne14 January 2019
To have access to the trove of information, including much in the public domain from interviews and the trial of the 'Accountant' is a documentary film makers dream. But in this work, it is spoiled by scant regard for basic journalism and documentary makers 'Rule #1 - trust but verify' sources statements. That the subject was not even spoken to in the making of the film, nor statements included being second-source validated, was a real distortion, leaving the otherwise exceptionally interesting subject an Emperor with no clothes
19 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An interesting documentary on prosecution and responsibility
Elijah_T29 April 2019
For the record, I saw this immediately after Nazi VR (2017).

This was a very interesting documentary that went into court cases I never heard about and brought up an important question of who should be held responsible for atrocities. Hell, it'd make a great spark of classroom discussion and debate even.

One of the best things The Accountant of Auschwitz does is provide different sides of the argument. Who should be prosecuted (accountants, guards, executioners) and to what degree? Should anyone be forgiven? It doesn't really tell the audience how to feel. It just thoroughly informs and leaves the conversation entirely up to them.

There's an event that really caught me by surprise (the lady). I wasn't sure how to feel about it at first. While the act was understandable-ish, the prosecution should definitely continue. Now that I think about it, it reminds me of a documentary called Long Night's Journey Into Day (2000), which examines 4 out of 7000 cases that were brought before South Africa's Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) since 1994 "to mediate between those seeking amnesty from apartheid-related crimes and the families of their victims." The TRC's restorative justice method is a stark contrast to the Nuremberg's Trials' retributive justice. I highly recommend watching both within the same week and asking yourself which is most appropriate for South Africa's apartheid and Germany's antisemitism.
10 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Alan Dershowitz is in it
Hansen2920 July 2019
I stopped watching when I saw Alan Dershowitz appearing. His hypocrisy in connection with his support for actions of the current US President and Jeffrey Eppstein is complete.
10 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fascinating Psychology
adammargaretrae27 October 2019
A really fascinating look at how a criminal can truly make themselves believe that they are innocent. Wonderful documentary. A must watch.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
So exited, I can.....
BenmoDellaDetta6 June 2019
So exited, I can't barely wait for the rest of this tv show....... The Bookkeeper of Lubyanka, and I hope we don't have to wait 75+ years for The Accountants of Abu-Ghraib and Guantanamo Bay.

If we want to truly remember, respect and honor , we have to keep in mind that crimes against humanity are not just reflected in numbers. ONE is the lowest denominator, and is equal with thousands and millions when we talk about crimes against humanity and war crimes.

Fun fact: Non members of International Criminal Court: USA, Russia, China, KSA (Saudis), Libia, India, Pakistan, Cuba, Israel, Turkey, Vatican........... and a few more hypocrites.
12 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Entertaining
vmanson-4901716 July 2019
Overall entertaining but after the end you have the feel like the documentary is overly biased
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Courageous survivors seeking justice
maccas-5636719 July 2019
RIP Eva Kor, who passed away this month, age 85. This was a fairly pedestrian documentary until Eva made an appearance and seemingly turned it on its head with her act of forgiveness.

The Accountant of Auschwitz is a lot more than just about Oscar Groning, the title subject. It focuses on the prosecution of war criminals in general, touching on some past cases and the lack of justice for survivors. The complexities of bringing former Nazis to justice is explored in depth.

The real emotional punches come from the interviews with survivors. They are remarkable people and represent the countless Holocaust victims with dignity, respect and courage.

I remembered seeing Oscar Groning in the 2005 BBC documentary - and immediately wishing that the smug man would somehow be brought to justice.

Even if you have seen Holocaust documentaries and films in the past - this will still hold your attention. It left me wanting to hug the nearest person and spread a little kindness in the world.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
They will never learned it!
samsungserkan4 July 2019
Such documentary films are good and should be slightly better covered. What bothered me about this documentary and I don't think it's right is that a German lawyer travels around the world to invite witnesses and persuade them to make the long journey to take part in a 94-year-old Nazi's court. Pay attention to the rise of protests of opponents and supporters The city has benefited, the country has benefited with their restaurants, Pubs,hotels, even a local car dealer and the brand has benefited. Justice is different. An old man who is guilty and has watched large or small people being murdered where he may have participated invites his victims to his feet so that a court hearing can take place. They will never learned it the "Germans"
1 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
why now
linnekevancelst31 January 2020
Look i think its horrible what happend back then. But is it really necessary to do this. are u going to trial every nazi on this plannet? yeah i know he did wrong but it wasn't only him u know...
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed