The Fix (TV Series 2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
85 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
So far so good! + EDIT May/20/19
TheTopDawgCritic19 March 2019
I'm a fan of Robin Tunney from The Mentalist days, and glad to see her back.

Directing was spot on for the pilot, and the writing so far has some nice twists building up. The pacing and editing flow nicely. Casting was also spot on, and Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje's acting is very convincing.

So far this looks promising, only time will tell. It's an 8/10 from me.

EDIT May/20/19: Well, just finished the season (and series) finale, and although not as bad as the G.O.T. finale, it was still underwhelming. A lot of melodrama leading to an unsatisfying end. Nevertheless, great directing and acting, just lazy writing towards the end. Had to drop my rating score from an 8/10, to a generous 7/10 - mostly going to the cast and directing.
46 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
I'm trying to like this series...
valerieking799 April 2019
Had high hopes for it, but minus a few moments here and there, it continuously feels over-scripted and over-acted - which is somewhat forgivable... especially if a show isn't meant to be taken too seriously, but it feels like they want to be serious drama and keep falling short. Sometimes it takes me a few episodes for me to connect with characters, but every time I watch this, I want to like it more than I actually do.
20 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
How much can a human being cringe?
anne024 March 2019
The writing/dialog and plot are so cringeworthy and clicheed - I understand more now that I see who the writers are. Very much a cheap paperback. Join in at a fourth-grade level and maybe it will be fun to follow some of the story.
34 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Absolutely positively terribly TERRIBLE!!!
ryanduchak16 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Are you kidding me with this terrible garbage? Got to 5 episodes and I just cant bear it anymore...

The "mole" gets found and NOT ARRESTED AND CHARGED IMMEDIATELY???

The daughter sets evidence on fire and she gets no charge at all?

The son gets arrested for a false crime and can't be the star witness anymore??? What?!!???

And the acting... the terrible, terrible acting...

I cannot stress the word TERRIBLE enough here.... it's simply terrible!
15 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Cringeworthy tv
jtags-840593 April 2019
I watched because it was Robin Tunney from The Mentalist. I now wish I didn't. The story line is not even close to being believable and parts of this show are just pure cringe. Not wasting any more of my time.
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great twist on a story we think we know
isabeldrean19 March 2019
Marsha Clark and her writing partners Elizabeth Craft and Sarah Fain really took a spin on a story we know so well. They are keeping us guessing. Fantastic cast, great writing, surprising payoffs! Can't watch to see if Savy is guilty as he looks or if he's telling the truth. Will have to keep watching to find out!
25 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Strong pilot with twists about a case we think we know
ayletiae20 March 2019
The Fix delivers an interesting pilot. Marcia Clarke obliged, there are some parallels with the case of the victims Nicole Brown and Ronald Goldman and it is interesting to watch what the pilot is doing with these. However, the plot get more complicated, some suspects are already presented and twists and interesting criminal behaviours were already present and showed that the rest of the story will be something quite different from what we are expecting. The actors were great and quickly presented but with enough to understand their life and motivations. The pilot offers a solid beginning and I hope the rest of the episodes will deliver quality writings, strong full characters and unexpected but realistically turns. I'm curious about what the rest of the show will deliver to the viewers.
15 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
UGH
mtk-9133716 April 2019
Robin Turney is beyond obnoxious with her overacting and trying to make a sexy face while delivering her lines. The only saving grace is her costar. All other characters are like wallpaper...just hanging there. So disappointed.
14 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Ughhhh.......
barbdelorme15 May 2019
Can't get past the bad acting, horrible writing, and especially the lead actresse's constant fishlip pose with her mouth!
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
at least they ended it before it got canceled for a second season
rogerazzopardi22 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Watched all the episodes. Series has been cancelled but at least they made an ending. Was very dissapointed how all ends up. It felt like all is a waste of time.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Over the top and unrealistic
w-5518521 May 2019
Watched entire season for some reason and felt disappointed ... totally unrealistic final episode
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Another Marcia Clark mess
fjmetro23 April 2019
The failed prosecutor is trying to win the O. J. case in fiction- ugh - cast is 5 stars, script and plots are 2 stars - 2 episodes and I'm done
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
REALLY wanted to like this show
kayjay-8435626 March 2019
Keep trying to watch whole thing at once, keep falling asleep, going back and trying to plow on through. Can't make myself sit through more than a few minutes before I want to snooze or shoot the tv. NOT entertaining to me in any way. Tired story line, not believable acting. Writers could have made this so much better.
14 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
doesn't make sense
jackthereck19 March 2019
This shouldn't be a series, it makes perfect sense as a movie but not a series. Don't think may people will watch after first few episode unless it is one small season with an ending
22 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Everyone except....
The lead character Mya makes this show almost unwatchable. Her facial expressions are distracting and she's not a very good actress. If it wasn't for adewale, the show would be a total dud. This show just screams of Marcia Clark's narcissism.
16 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
I wish I could rate this higher but
tbfran228 May 2019
This is nothing more than wish fulfillment on Marcia Clark's part. It's gross, it's insulting, and it's nothing more than a cash-in. The cast is the only redeemable part of this series.

Face it, Marcia. You couldn't prove it beyond a reasonable doubt.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Cliches galore
emdille19 March 2019
It makes perfect sense that this show would be created and guided by Marcia Clarke. It is as oversimplified and cliched as her career as a prosecutor. Give it a pass so it will go away.
26 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Another Crappy Prime Time Wannabe!
cncconcepts20 March 2019
The acting is substandard to say the least. Trying desperately to look as if they're in FX series show but boy is this terrible.
17 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Lead female ruins it for me
cdesantis53028 April 2019
What is the big fuss about Maya? She is not a particularly good lawyer yet everyone raves about her. She lost a big case but her former co-workers want her back so she can lose it again? She is arrogant and self-involved yet she has 2 men over the moon for her and of course she has a stalker. The press and the public can't get enough of her This is Marcia Clark's narcissistic image of herself. What an unlikable character.
10 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The Worst Acting
charahrens30 April 2019
It seems like the actors are judging reciting memorized lines. The worst acting I have ever seen on the small screen.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not worth wasting your time watching
synchrotherapy28 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The shows writing sucks. The whole thing is weak. When is Marcia Clark going to move on? Her attempt at writing a tv series is weak at best. Yes, this is yet another take of the OJ story with very basic and slight changes to names and events. OMG when is she going to move on. She lost that trial years ago because she totally screwed up and didn't do what she needed to do. Now she can't move forward and is using the story to rehash over and over again to prove what ..I'm not sure. But we are sick and tired of hearing about it. Stop trying to float your career along on the wings of those poor people's death. We know OJ did it! MOVE ON!!!!!!! LET IT GO!!!!! Stop living off their deaths and your regret and guilt.

The show is not worth watching.
11 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The Jury is still out deciding if this series will have a short trial or long trial (season)
Ed-Shullivan19 March 2019
Since the story takes place in Los Angeles I will cut the series some slack with the over the top hype that seems to exist between a L.A. lead prosecutor named Maya Travis (Robin Tunney) and a Hollywood mega movie star named Sevvy Johnson (Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje) who was accused of murdering two girls. The first trial took place 8 years ago, and the one-time A-lister Sevvy who was found "not guilty" has lost a lot of his Hollywood status and now he is suspected of brutally murdering his current girlfriend.

So Maya Travis who left L.A. after the first trial had found Sevvy Johnson not guilty, is asked to come back to assist the original prosecuting team from 8 years prior to ensure nothing gets overlooked this time around.

As I stated earlier it is hard to accept that an L.A. county prosecutor who lost this high profile case and comes back to L.A. eight (8) years later wearing a denim jacket and a baseball cap would have people staring at her in the airport as if she was well known? I don't think so. To make this episode even harder to fathom Maya Travis is surrounded by dozens of paparazzi trying to get the scoop on her thoughts of how she will be trying this second murder case against Hollywood movie star Sevvy Johnson.

As this was the pilot episode, I am optimistic that subsequent episodes may attempt to show that the L.A. homicide squad will also get some air time and try and gather evidence for Maya and her prosecuting team to use in court, rather than have Maya solve the crime all by herself "a la Perry Mason".

The jury's still out deciding if this series will have a short or long trial.
16 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Typical dragging on drama
w-5518518 May 2019
I like the show overall but I thought it would be better.. I think there is no need for a British actor playing the lead when he lives in LA and is a big star? Story hasn't moved much since episode 3 and now it's season finale. Show had so much potential.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Had high hopes but, alas, they are dashed!
fiona_r_lamb14 May 2019
I loved Robin Tunney in The Mentalist but in all honesty she is terrible in this. It's like she's forgotten how to act. Her mouth is open in nearly every scene and she looks up with blinding light on her - is this to hide her aging? It's just so weirdly filmed. All the Hollywood glitz and glamour just looks tacky. I also don't think Robin Givens or the two playing Sevvy's children can act either. In fact the only decent actor is Sevvy's lawyer - he really does smarmy well. Then the Atlanta lawyer walks in mid-series looking like a Dior cat walk model and, again, cannot act for toffee.

As for the plot it is SO FAR-FETCHED.

This could have been so much better in all respects.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Well done
matthewlinz21 March 2019
The first 15 min mediocre. Then it becomes a hell of a ride. Great show.
12 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed