Instant Family (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
439 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Review from a real foster parent
sarahjanebella4 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I almost never write reviews but after seeing some of the reviews from ppl talking about how fake it is, and how the foster system isn't like this, or they should've had their own kids, or it's all PC BS, I feel like I have to write this review. I'm a foster mom. Been licensed in 2 different counties, been through the classes and all that twice. This movie is very accurate. It is a Hollywood film and they did add some cheesy lines and jokes, but it doesn't diminish the movie. The classes are like that, they do have adoption fairs like that and the 1st few months of any new placement are SO HARD. If anything this movie doesn't make it look hard enough, but it's supposed to be entertaining. If they made the foster stuff any more real it would be a documentary. Coming from a foster parent, I really liked this movie a lot and would recommend it. To any other foster/adoptive parents reading this, you may want to view it first before you show it to your kids. *Spoiler Alert* There is a part of the movie where they talk about giving the kids back, which is totally real, I've had that talk, but it could be very upsetting to a child to hear that.
181 out of 200 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Some people are obsessed with their crazy politics!!!
flicklover18 November 2018
I just got back from seeing Instant Family with my daughter and we both really liked it. Truthfully it is a very sweet feel good move about Foster parenting and adoption. I wasn't going to write a review but I read one review particular that just blew me away with its stupidity. It claims that this film is a bunch of Pro-Trump propaganda!!!! That couldn't be further from the truth. It is a very funny endearing film. It is about a couple that decide to be Foster parents and bring home 3 kids, yes they are Hispanic. The film deals mostly comedically with situation, but also has some heartfelt drama. It is as light as feather and very enjoyable. For someone to see this film as anything but what is, a heartwarming family comedy is beyond me. BTW I am Hispanic and there is NOTHING offensive about this film.
227 out of 264 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
As someone who was a foster child...
sorvis_gilneas7 March 2019
I've literally NEVER reviewed anything before. I've never felt I needed to...

That being said - As I was a foster child this hit me square in the face. It was one of the hardest movies for me to watch. Its depiction of how the kids act is 100% accurate. Its one of the hardest things to see and admit now - Being that I'm older.

This movie needs more attention and I hope that my rating helps with that. It needs to be watched by all... I was laughing AND crying (I'm ex-Navy and a very stoic person).
107 out of 122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Better than 10 stars
danielchannels17 November 2018
First, let me say that my wife and I go to the movies every Friday. We see a LOT of movies. We usually agree about how good or bad a film was, and we both agreed on Instant Family. It's fantastic. I wish I could give it more than 10 stars because the current score of 7.3 is really not doing this film justice. It's simply a perfect movie. My wife and I cried a lot, laughed a lot, and left the theater happy. Based on a true story...they did a wonderful job of re-telling it for the screen. Reminds me of Wonder, which was also underrated. If I could vote for the Oscar's, it would've been Wonder last year and Instant Family this year. I don't even need to see the other contenders. Wish movies like this would get an Oscar nom... but it's usually the serious dramas that get them. Wahlberg should be very proud. He produced it and co-starred in it. Very happy for him. Hope this means more films like this and less violence in the future. Please go see it and give it your review here. It will help get the word out.
262 out of 331 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Extremely Well Written & Hilarious
ymyuseda16 January 2019
Rating 9.4/10 I saw this movie today in Malaysia and it was just really well written. Dialogue and genuine care of the characters makes the experience so enjoyable. Best acting performance to all the characters in this movie ! Heart warming inspired in real events ! To director Sean Anders you did a great job !
138 out of 175 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Really funny, feel good, genuinely great movie
madisonlboehm16 November 2018
Instant Family is an instant hit. It was so fun to watch. I found myself actually laughing out loud during the course of the movie. Usually, I don't like movies where everything ends up okay but I liked this one. As a child who's experienced adoption and family court, I felt like this movie, albeit a little dramatic, saw how it felt to be a part of the system. A great movie!
95 out of 121 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
4 Strokes and You Got A Family!
parkerdolezal-8342916 November 2018
Mark Wahlberg did great but the real talent is in that Russ guy! Go get em Russ!
148 out of 206 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Unexpectedly Great
Josef Tura-216 November 2018
I didn't expect much walking into this movie, but I have to admit I was floored by the extremely nuanced and heartfelt themes of this movie. It's not the fluffy comedy that the posters and trailers might lead you to believe
100 out of 137 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Enjoyable Happy Feel-Good Movie
sweidman-2801616 November 2018
Instant Family Review:

Instant Family is comedy based on the true story of a married couple, Pete (Mark Wahlberg) and Ellie (Rose Byrne), who decide to foster three kids and they must face the challenges that come with it. This was a very enjoyable happy, feel-good movie. The story was very interesting, yet predictable, that made you feel for the people. Both Mark and Rose did a good job. Isabella Moner as Liszt, the oldest child, was probably the best part of the film. She brought so much to the table and gave it all she had. She was also in the recent summer movie sequel Sicario: Day of the Saldado and she did well in that too. The other two kids, Gustavo Quiroz (Juan) and Julianna Gamiz (Lita), we're very good child actors. Octavia Spencer was hilarious and amazing as always. This movie had some great humor. It could also be serious and knew how to switch tones well. It was a little bit long, just about two hours, and I felt that some scenes could've been cut out. Also we didn't know much of a background for Pete and Ellie so I didn't feel as strong as a connection for them as I wanted to. Another thing is the trailer kind of showed the whole movie with some stuff taken out, which I've seen a lot of trailers doing that lately (Welcome to Marwen). This is a very enjoyable film and I think people will like it. It probably won't make as much money with Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald coming out and many more, but I would recommend it.

My Grade: B+
80 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A blessing in the skies
orliesgirl_2817 November 2018
What a great film! This movie is so funny and has such a good story. Great cast. Loved that Russ guy. So funny. His wardrobe was on point. His jeans were High and tight. Try it out! Makes you want to be home here now!
103 out of 144 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Proof that Critics are paid to say Whatever
believeinflight17 November 2018
Absolutely hilarious movie with elements of depressing, sad, funny, and downright how do you not laugh. Perfect film. Critics that dont like it literally have been paid to say otherwise or do not have any hearts. Probably funniest movie ive seen in 10 years. No way someone could not like this movie or find humor in it. I call BS.
96 out of 139 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You guys are doin' good
ericmmarkham27 November 2018
If Hollywood has a belt, this movie is the buckle.

Speaking as someone with no neuropathy issues whatsoever, big, thick happy and sad tears were streaming down my face the whole time. I had never seen so many tears. Good tears, fun tears, happy tears; I like that.

Todd Segway stole the show in his scenes. Whether it was Girl-boy-girl, Boy-boy-girl-boy, whatever.

Highly recommend seeing this film, so let's get physical at the movies.
67 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Tom Segura goes full throttle in a show stealing breakout performance
raggingbull25 November 2018
This was a surprisingly terrific and hillarious film that I enjoyed from start to finish. The story it tells is one that people of all ages and backgrounds will enjoy. What makes this film special though are the comedic performances from each and every actor. Every single one of them is at the top of their game.

Director Sean Anders has delivered his best work with "Instant Family" and I eagerly await his next picture. The true winner of this movie though was standup comedian Tom Segura, who delivered maybe the most captivating supporting acting performances in a comedy since Steve Carell in "Anchorman". Mr. Segura is a true master of his craft, as his clinically sociopathic personality mixes with comedy to create a perfect cocktail. Perhaps the only flaw of this movie is that Segura was not given more screen time. I look forward to seeing Anders and the acting champ working together again soon, and I predict that the best is yet to come from Mr. Segura, who is sure to have secured a place as a future leading man in Hollywood comedy.

Go see "Instant Family" while you have the chance. Just try it out. You'll love it.
64 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
THIS is how all comedies should be!
TheTopDawgCritic16 January 2019
Loved everything about this film. Non stop laughs and outstanding performances, directing and crazy writing! A must see! A well deserved 9/10 from me!
43 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The best family movie of the season.
gabyalvarezmalo17 November 2018
From watching the trailers I assumed this was going to be a silly comedy movie. Walking into the theater I wasn't expecting much, the movie delivered so much more than I could have expected. For starters it had good cinematography, it had some really good shots. You don't usually get good camera work in movies like this. It's also the rare type of movie that gives you a good laugh while at the same time makes you tear up a bit. Lots of family movies come out around November and December for the holiday season, and I think so far this one is the best one. Not only is it funny, it teaches a very good lesson about family and gratefulness. It was amazing the lengths this couple went through to protect their children even if they weren't they're biological parents. And the fact that it was based on a true story made the film so much more meaninful. It also sheds some light on the foster care system in our country, I hope that it encourages more people to foster and adopt children.
41 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A pleasant surprise
dzaglin17 November 2018
Director Sean Anders has been known to make some very raunchy comedies so when hearing about his latest project I was wondering how this would play out. I have to say I had high expectations for this movie as it dealt with a heavier subject matter than any of his previous films. The best part about Instant Family is that it is inspired by Anders' real life family, and they always say "write what you know".

He definitely knows what he's writing here, and doesn't shy away from making audiences both laugh and cry while watching this family come together through some not so easy circumstances.

As always Mark Wahlberg is the macho man father we all know and love, but here we are able to see a different side of him. We are able to see some real emotion come from Wahlberg and it doesn't feel forced. I'm sure having a few children of his own helped with that while prepping his performance.

The real surprise in "Instant Family" is how funny the film is, and for the families watching it's no where near as rude or raunchy as Anders' previous work. There are a few risqué scenes here and there, but that's to be expected when dealing with teenagers. However these scenes are ultimately believable and aren't that over the top to bring down the feel good nature of the film.

Overall Instant Family was a real surprise, a light hearted comedy which shows the struggles some families go through in order to become one. The supporting cast of Tig Notaro, Octavia Spencer, and the always perfect Margo Martendale make Instant Family a true family treat. Hopefully director Sean Anders continues along the line of light hearted comedies as this may be his best film yet
34 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
What a pleasant surprise!
FrenchEddieFelson1 March 2019
Well acted and sometimes moving: the duet Tig notaro and Octavia Spencer, the whole main family (parents, kids and grand parents), the others foster parents, ... What a pleasant surprise!
14 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
True Depiction of the Foster System
libra830217 November 2018
Let me just say that we are in the thick of the foster care system right now with a set of 3 siblings in our home. Tonight I took our 12 year old to see this. She loved it. We both laughed and I cried buckets but we both were able to see, understand, and agree on both sides. Her big takeaway..."I'm not like Lizzy!" I don't know what kind of thoughts were planted in her head with this movie, but from the parent side, every piece is so true. Can't wait to own this movie!
37 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fabulous family movie!!
gillgrey14 January 2019
I've never written a review before, but after reading the critics awful mean reviews, I had to clear some things up... This movie is fantastic. I took my two step sons (11 & 7) to it, thinking it was going to a daddy's home type comedy, and was blown away. I cried and laughed the entire way though. I was a bit concerned when I realised the heavy subject matter, and how my boys would handle it, but they both walked out saying how much they loved it, and they couldn't wait to see it again. For all the people out there claiming that this is a Hollywood version and it glosses over the reality of the fostering world - calm down. Of course it does. And it does so for an excellent reason. It's a family movie, and no one is going to take their kids to see gritty documentary on the sometimes scary and horrific dramas of this world. By delivering the important message that this movie does in this 'hollywood' way makes this movie and it's themes accessible for the younger generations, and in our instance it immediately started that dialogue about these types of situations in the car ride home. I believe this movie has really opened their eyes to the real world in a great way, and hopefully will help them to realise what they have in front of them. I think the balance between the reality, and the PG comedy is balanced perfectly. The chemistry between Marky Mark and Rose Byrne is amazing, and both of their natural humour, hilarity and talents as actors shows in the way I'd be brought to uncontrollable sobbing, whilst also not being able to stop laughing. It's a rare movie that can deliver that, and to so be family friendly as - hats off!! Go see it. With your kids, and I promise you that you'll all walk away from it with zero movie choice regret.
29 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A family entertainment with sufficient laughs.
Fella_shibby10 March 2019
I saw this with my teen kids n 6 year ol nephew. This is a very clean family entertainment with enuff laughs n family moments. Honestly I got pulled into seeing this only cos of Wahlberg n Byrne. The film is based on a true story about a married couple who adopts three kids n one being a teen, parenting becomes difficult.

All parents love to c their teens transition into a happy, successful young adults n the job ain't easy but if u have somebody like grandma Sandy (Margo Martindale) then it helps.
16 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Very average
torndownunit-507-42948727 February 2019
It's not very often I feel the need to review a movie I found average, but the reviews here are so skewed in both directions, I thought I'd contribute. If you have an experience with adoption, you might have a soft spot for this movie and that I could understand. But if not, it's just very very average. It's mildly funny, work ok on a dramatic level, and is watchable. I have an open mind, but I just can't agree with any review calling this movie 'hilarious' . It's just watchable basically. It tries too hard to teach some sort of life lesson, and it's running time is too long for what it is.

Approach it with realistic expectations, and it's probably a good movie to zone out to. But the reviews on here stating how hilarious it is definitely made me expect something else. It's just an average drama/comedy.
37 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Instant Family moved me in so many ways.
janetimms14 January 2019
I laughed, I cried tears of happiness and sadness, I loved, Instant Family.
21 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Best Family Movie of 2018!
FilmBuff2010202219 November 2018
At first, i didn't expect this too much because i think is gonna be those kind of family movies that will bore me away. I was wrong, this is one of those family movies that is heartwarming, funny and entertaining. The cast did a great job on their roles and the director did a superb direction. A must watch for the whole family!
30 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Wonderful Surprise
edcochran17 November 2018
I have to admit that I didn't expect anything great from this movie. Wow, was I surprised. I laughed, I cried, I had a great time. It was funny, but also very moving. The theater broke out in applause at the end. Very enjoyable.
29 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good Enough
pennyelenabooks7 March 2019
Instant Family wasn't bad. I expected a boring story, but they managed to create a sweet, emotional story after all. It was a nice, not over the top, presentation of a how a family is created. Plus, the performances were good.
12 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed