Bobcat Goldthwait's Misfits & Monsters (TV Series 2018– ) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
10 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Didn't expect much honestly
tomhollandfoolery14 July 2018
Most TrueTV shows aren't that great besides Impractical Jokers, but this new show Misfits and Monsters is exactly what they needed. It's awesome so far and i can't wait to watch more, the plot for the first episode was really great and so was the animation and gore. Love it.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Can be a great show, if it keeps the first episode's style
jimmygarcia-8937523 July 2018
The first episode was great; the acting was good, the animation was really good and emulated Hanna-Barbera-esque animation pretty well. The second episode was a political satire, and I wasn't terribly fond of it. My main complaint with these two episodes is their endings. The first episode's ending felt complete, but was far more dark than I thought it'd be. It was okay. The second episode's ending felt incomplete, and it left off at a weird place. I did not like the ending. I'm fairly certain they won't continue or expand upon the two subplots, which makes good endings even more crucial.

I also think that, if this show wants to gain a following or a fanbase, it needs to be really damn good. Each episode takes place in its own universe with no connections, and this is established several times in advertisements for the show, meaning a constant story is, by definition, impossible. That means there's very little to theorize on and think about. To be completely honest though, I can't imagine that working up a fanbase is the goal of a TruTV show.

All in all, the show is okay. If it stays to the style of the first episode rather than the second, it could work.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
ok one thing is sure its unpredictable
bigsuperbro-4957515 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Okay so i dont watch trutv that much except for jokers but this is one of those shows i like i admit but storys are unpredictable like ok i watched 3 episodes none of them the same as the other so it was a animated monster to a mermaid to a horrific camp experience but this is not for kids 'no matter how kid friendly it sounds' i really cant stress this enough it has so much swearing and some are very sexual and violent but if you like weird humor and changing plots this could be the show for you
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hits more than it misses
michael-wilson-172-73265224 September 2018
Clever take on the genre! Bobcat has shown he knows how to direct...both in the world of stand up comedy as well as episodic television (solid writing as well).
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
In some ways good but the politics is clumsy
pattayapoet21 July 2018
The first episode was okay, Seth Green is always watchable, but the idea is well-worn and they didn't do anything new with it. It was well executed, so, that gave me hope that later episodes might be somewhat more innovative.

The second episode went right over the cliff. I am not an American but even I found the desperate appeal for left-wing approval clumsy. I mean, sure, by all means, attack Trump, but why not be smarter about it, why alienate the majority of your potential audience?

My guess is that Bobcat Goldthwait is deeply conscious that most of his Hollywood peers associate him his old standup persona and is more worried about signaling virtue to gain their approval than addressing his audience with respect. This probably will gain him fleeting critical approval but he has lost any part of his audience that were already tired of the relentless propaganda. I suspect, for this genre of show (relatively expensive to produce), you cannot get renewed if you alienate your viewers like this.
10 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Sporadic & Inconsistent Entertainment
Tiberius27-126 July 2018
Well we're 3 episodes in to this show that looked full of promise and since 2 out of the 3 were just so so, it's looking like this is going to be one of those flash in the pans unfortunately and that it will soon be gone.

One MUST lay the blame (Or credit) squarely upon the shoulders of Bobcat Goldthwait. This is his baby just as my favorite series of all time The Twilight Zone was Rod Serling's. But to belabor the obvious Goldthwait is no Serling and this show is no Twilight Zone.

It' s fitting that the premiere episode was half animated because the show itself is a lot like a cartoon, exaggerated and nonsensical without any pretenses of actual reality. It's a fun house mirror version of an anthology.

I differ from some others in that I didn't like the premiere but did like the second episode. The third was mediocre as well in my opinion and the previews for the fourth show no signs that it will be any better. One wouldn't imagine that Goldthwait just wanted to extend his 15 minutes of stand up comedy fame with a disposable Goosebumps style show but the proof is in the pudding and he obviously wasn't going for depth or meaning. If it stays at this mediocre level I predict that we'll never see a second season of this show and probably never hear from Bobcat Goldthwait again either. Hollywood loves a winner but this show isn't one and neither is he for making it.
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Yawn
saiken-303415 September 2018
Poor man's Twilight Zone that waits until the 2nd episode to get overtly political.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
More liberal propaganda.
ColtPython8220 January 2019
So here we have ANOTHER show full of liberal propaganda. A show that has chosen to once again alienate more than half their audience by making the same Hollywood claim that all middle class/lower class Americans are ignorant and need to have their hand held by the elites, celebrities, and MSM liberals. If you're a Conservative/Libertarian I doubt you're going to enjoy being told you are beneath the self righteous leftist celebs, but if you're another NPC who loves being told how to think and react this show's for you.
3 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best thing on TV
darobin-2209124 August 2018
Great show, witty, great guest stars, wonderful plot lines. I tune in every week waiting to see what's next
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
boring white people stuff on TV for kids age 5 to 8
AziziOthmanMY5 October 2018
This show is goosebumps at best. lots of known cast doing this show for easy cash grab. tonnes of left wing crap in this show. parents avoid this yet still be a great viewing for kids.
2 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed