Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
704 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Here we go again
lee_murcutt21 July 2018
In a world that has gone crazy, it was so nice just to sit back for 114 minutes and forget about real life. Transport yourself back to a simpler time and of course to the wonderful music of ABBA. Throughout the movie you go through all the emotions yet once it had finished you just want to sit there and wish you could do it all again The whole cast looked like they had as much fun making it as we did watching it. Everyone did their bit although Lily James was outstanding as the young Donna. It's one of those rare films as you leave your seat and enter the real world you do so with the biggest smiles of your face.
199 out of 282 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
If you liked the first "Momma Mia", you'll love this one!
andersond-266-14628721 July 2018
I spent 90% of this movie with a huge smile on my face and 10% trying not to ugly cry. Wonderfully cheesy and lovely!
284 out of 408 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Doesn't have the same charm as the original
liveyanne1 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Mamma Mia was my favorite movie growing up. It came out when I was 10 and my friends and I learned all of all the songs. Going into this movie, I was expecting to absolutely love it. However, minutes within the first scene of the movie it was revealed that Donna had died. This really upset me because Donna made the entire first movie. And they didn't even bother to mention how she died. Next, we get to the flashback scenes of young Donna. This I love because the fashion is beautiful and Lily James is wonderful and has a good singing voice. I really like how she sang the original songs but the newer songs were just meh (I don't see people getting into them). At first it doesn't really make sense how she meets the three dads because during the flashback in the previous movie they look way different. The current time scenes were pretty boring and just revolves around everyone being depressed about Donna. They could have done so much more if they had kept her alive. The movie overall lacked much of a plot or direction and you knew exactly what was going to happen (other than maybe Cher arriving on a helicopter?). Ultimately, Mamma MIA, Here We Go Again cannot match the charm and authenticity that made me and everyone else adore the first movie but I still think it's worth a watch.
124 out of 174 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Take a chance on this one!
grilices18 July 2018
So, ten years after "Mamma Mia!", here we go again! I must say that I recognize that the first movie is not a great movie but I really like it. This time, after watching the trailers, my expectations were really high. I watched the movie yesterday and now I can say that I loved it. And it is way better than the first one. The movie shows a young Donna, played by the amazing Lily James - that looks great in this movie and, oh!, she is a great singer! It is really funny to watch how she met the "three fathers", Sam, Bill and Harry - and also must say that Jeremy Irvine, Josh Dylan and Hugh Skinner are great too. At the same time, since all the scenes from the young Donna are only flashbacks, we see how is Sophie's life, after a tragedy in the family. Yes, we have another party here, so the plot is basically the same as the first movie. But this movie knew exactly what people like in "Mamma Mia!", so everything here looks fine and it's really enjoyable. This time everyone can sing properly, even Pierce Brosnan. And the choreographys are beautiful, especially the one for the song "Dancing Queen". Just to finish, I need to say that the end of the movie is a beautiful surprise. Everyone that liked "Mamma Mia!" will like this movie. And I think those who didn't like the first movie should give a chance to this one.
199 out of 293 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pure Escapism
andreamars29 July 2018
I'm at a loss why there are so many poor reviews of this film. But everyone is entitled to their own opinion. I loved it from the start. Lily James was outstanding as young Donna. Yes it was a shame Meryl Streep didn't play a bigger part but such is life. Take it for what it is. There were a couple of songs i didn't know so it may have been better keeping to the well known songs, however they did fit in with the script. It was a rollercoaster or emotions. Laughing and crying in equal measure. Julie Walters was as fabulous as always too. I loved it and will be watching it again as soon as i can.
88 out of 129 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
I was definitely cheated by you, Mamma Mia 2
Kira_bella20 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
So... I went into this movie LOVING the first one and happy they were making a second. I left the movie ... um... empty? Okay, I love the idea of them going back to when Donna was first pregnant with Sophie and her journey, however... like none of the events actually added up to the story of how it all happened in Mamma Mia when Sophie found her diary. Literally none of it.. at all. Also WHY WAS CHER EVEN IN THIS MOVIE?!?!! Her character did NOTHING to the plot and it just was kind of stupid the movie would have been better without her since, again IN THE FIRST FILM (did you guys just not go back to the first script before planning this?) her mom was presumably DEAD (cut to the scene after Donna and them sing Super Trooper and are in her room and Donna says "somebody up there has it in for me, I bet its my mother" ... POINTING TO THE CEILING LIKE HER MOM WAS DEAD). I just am disappointed. I feel like Cher was just in there to sing Fernando cause that's...all she did. I loved who played young Donna, Lily James, though she was sweet. I don't know, this movie just didn't have the same feel as the first one. Although, I did cry in the end and I know I wasn't the only one that did cause I heard the sniffles in the theater xD that last scene was very touching. But um .... that's about all I got. Loved the original cast and the young cast (although it would've been HILARIOUS if the guys dressed like in the first movie when Donna had flashbacks of them hahaha). The songs are decent, also the replays of the classic hits were great. It was just ... kinda there. Probably won't see it again, I'll stick with the first movie.

Also, these are JUST MY OPINIONS, if you see it differently awesome I'm so happy for you, I just feel like... they had a chance and they missed the shot. It wasn't a complete miss in my opinion, the story of how Donna met the guys and how it all happened just didn't really add up to how it was told originally and that kind of bugged me. I get they were going completely back and creating a whole new story, however, they made an "outline" of how she met them all when Amanda sung Honey, Honey ... so ... and I just again don't get why Cher was even in this. It just made zero sense. If she wasn't in the movie it'd be 5 minutes shorter, that's it. Maybe I'll see it again once it comes out to video and watch them back to back and have a different reaction, but until then ... I'm empty.
238 out of 387 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Utterly dreadful
kriegerg6926 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Meryl Streep reportedly didn't want to do a full role, so she only appears for a few minutes near the end of the movie. They basically explain that Donna has died...without Streep, this film never should have been made. It even has a very downbeat, lackluster opening instead of the dynamics the first film had in its opening...and that was a bad sign to start off with. Technically, it's very well photographed (albeit much darker-looking than the first film) and technically accomplished, but that's not enough. Musically...they used all the good and well-known songs in the first movie, so this one uses much lesser ABBA tunes, and unfortunately reuses several songs from the first film...that gets very tiresome very quickly because the viewer (at least I did) wants to hear songs not used the first time around. The only two standouts were "Knowing Me, Knowing You" and the song "Waterloo" (only heard and performed during the first film's end credits) but redone here as a big production number. Half the movie is spent on flashback scenes to Donna's past using younger actors as the characters. There was also absolutely no need for Cher to be in the film, as she adds nothing...nada...zero...to the story...only reason is so her character can sing the song "Fernando" (not used the first time around). She's accompanied by Andy Garcia, whose only reason for being there is he plays Fernando, giving a very weak reason for Cher's character to sing to (and with) him, and there's no reason for his character to be there either. There's also really weak reasoning for Rosie and Bill's breakup to be part of the story, rather odd considering they got together near the end of Mamma Mia. Most annoying was how there was no mention at all of Harry Bright's (Colin) sexuality...in Mamma Mia, it turns out he's gay and ends up with a handsome boyfriend, but that gets thrown right out the window with no mention of his being gay or what happened to his partner from the first film (except for some brief hinting at in the flashbacks with the younger Harry). Personally, I would not recommend this movie to anyone. Stick to the first movie because it's a continual feel-good time and is much more fun. Mamma Mia 2 is almost depressing to watch.
63 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Waste of time and money
ikizdevran-882-25468424 July 2018
Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again fails to bring anything new to the table. It is made purely based on the success of the first film. Hollywood tend to do that a lot. When a film becomes successful, they make a 2nd film out of it, which lacks pretty much everything. First of all, if you want to go to see this film because Meryl Streep is in, don't bother, because she has a scene of 5 minutes in the end. She just sings two songs and that's pretty much it. She is in the front row of the film poster, she is the main image of the final trailer, because production company uses her image to attract audience. These kinds of tricks can be seen a lot, while advertising substandard quality films. Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again has one purpose, and that is to make more money by using the fame of the first film. I failed to understand why they even bothered making a sequel when everything was wrapped beautifully in the first film. Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again is written and directed by Ol Parker. I said written, but I really don't know what he has exactly written, because in the means of story there is nothing.

The people in this film are like from a different planet. They live in a parallel universe or something. There is no one ugly in the film. Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again is all about beautiful people, their artificially created problems, fake tears, sadness and meaningless joy. They are all very successful, their secret bonds don't have a resource. We don't know why those characters love each other so much, but they do. The film takes place five years after the previous events. Donna is dead. Sophie (Amada Seyfried) takes over the hotel and builds it from zero. While they prepare for the grand opening, we go back to 1979, where everything starts for Donna. She is claimed to be a free soul and an independent woman, but someone must tell the writer of this character that having one night stands with handsome men on your way to Greek Island is not independence. Young Donna (Lily James) is presented to be a very different girl, but when you watch her behaviors, she is pretty much superficial. She falls in love with a man, gets depressed after he leaves, and in the very same day, she has sex with a different guy because she is very sad. Sophie and her problems regarding the hotel in the present day are told in parallel with Donna's youth and her story, how she met Sam (Pierce Brosnan), Harry (Colin Firth) and Bill, (Stellan Skargard) how she moved to the island of Kalokairi and how she built the hotel.

Young Donna's friends Tanya and Rosie, as well as her lovers, Harry, Bill and Sam, are played by actors and actresses who have nothing to do with the actual characters. They all look very different. The story takes place in a Greek island but the film was shot in Croatia and Shepperton Studios in Surrey England. Set up of the sequel is pretty much similar with the first film. There is a song for every situation. The story was created based on the situations in those songs, and there is a song for every character, problem and situation. That's the reason why I said there is no story. It is time for a sad song, a sad situation is created. It is time for a joyful song, and something happy happens. There are very few scenes that can be compared with real life situations. Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again is a complete waste of money and time. I had a good taste in my mouth after the first film, but now that is all gone thanks to this useless film that was made just because of financial matters.

The strongest point of the film is its songs. It is satisfying in the means of music. You get to hear songs mostly from ABBA, as usual, and Arrival. After all, Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again is also a musical, but even so, some songs are really bad for my taste. When I Kissed the Teacher from Arrival is one, for an example. Just to be able to sing this song, they created a graduation scene. This is what I meant when I said, circumstances are created based on the songs in the film. I have never seen such a thing in my life. I haven't seen an acting performance worth mentioning. This film was released on July 16, 2018 in Hammersmith Apollo and on July 20, 2018 in the United Kingdom and United States. It has 114 minutes of runtime and made with a budget of $75 Million. With a forced story and meaningless characters, Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again is a film that I will never watch again. Having actors and actresses in the film just because they look beautiful shouldn't be a criteria while choosing your characters. This sequel is so hopeless that even the presence of Andy Garcia and Cher couldn't save it.
107 out of 169 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Why?
redb3822 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I felt really let down by the creators of this film. Why would they make a movie without the main character because they had killed her off already. The film was depressing. I may be the only one that has this view...
195 out of 319 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Money, Money, Money
Prismark1023 April 2019
Mamma Mia! Here We Go Again is a musical sequel that has a stretched story focusing on the young Donna and how she encountered her three men. Even though we did see those scenes in the first movie.

The film starts with Sophie (Amanda Seyfried) refurbishing her Greek island Hotel. Donna has passed away. Sky is in New York learning the hotel business and things do not seem to be going well between them.

For the grand opening of the hotel in honour of her mother, Sophie has invited her three dads and her mother's best friends.

The main part of the story is seeing the young Donna (Lily James) travelling through Europe after graduating at university. Some of the scenes switch with that of Sophie.

It required three writers to come up with the story concept. The story is admittedly thin. The new songs are ok. Cher just looks odd when she makes her belated appearance as Sophie's grandmother. She looks like someone who has just turned up for the pay cheque and decided to do an album of Abba covers out of it.

The Abba songs keep it entertaining but this movie stinks of a cash grab.
16 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Not even close to the original story
sunisfun-9937220 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
First off, the reason the first movie was so great was because of the great story and actors. So killing off the Donna was in poor taste. Also, going back in time to young Donna didn't look at all right. They went back in time while in modern clothes and hairstyles. Stories didn't match even a little with what was told in the first movie. Basically, mostly same actors, same songs, different movie with different story unrelated to the first. If it had been portrayed as being many years later it would've made more sense. Maybe. But it was portrayed as being only five years or so later. Not very long. Everyone was/looked too old to be only few years later. Just wasn't as good as first one. The energy was better the first time
143 out of 236 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Oh god, what have they wrought?!
GerryofNorVA18 October 2018
I wanted to like this, I really did. I love ABBA music and I'm a dude. But seriously, I could not stomach 20-mins of this female fantasy musical. It gets a "3" rating from me because the production values and casting were top notch, it's gorgeous to behold but ugh, the plot, the painful singing, the unrealistic situations, just tortuous, sorry, but I did try.
24 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Here we go again: a total disappointment.
margozubova22 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
First Mamma Mia, even if not the greatest movie ever, is my forever favourite, so I was very excited to watch the second part ever since it was announced. Sadly, I was disappointed from the first few seconds, when it became clear that Donna was dead - something that was done out of poor taste in order to create a sad backdrop for the second part, when they could have made it better and more complex by actually having Donna in it. The entire scene of graduation in Oxford just set the bad-taste tone for the whole movie going forward. Apparently, in a need of a story writers locked themselves in for 5 days to come up with it and it seems as such, everything is rushed, million plot holes, things do not add up. Donna's mother is dead in the first part, the way Donna meets Harry, Sam and Bill is totally different to original, characters are nothing but cliches and used to comedic purpose more than anything. If in the first part songs created a story, this time around it was just random singing of third tier ABBA songs to make money off the famous names. Everything is either overly comic or overly dramatic, but in a bad taste, rather than tasteful.

While it was nice to see the original cast, it feels like they were there just to mourn Donna, while young cast just didn't get properly written characters. Not even gonna say anything about Cher - she was just a big name for audience attraction and her dumb character did not deliver on anything. Did not believe her one bit and its a shame that they wasted such a good actor Andy Garcia just for the name Fernando.

Mamma Mia 2 is nothing but a money making excuse of a film. The only scene I actually did enjoy was closing song, knowing that I get to go home after it.

Shame. I love Mamma Mia but this was a complete disservice to the original.
146 out of 243 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
"Harry Headbanger" a pathetically desperate virgin?
rob-8027220 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Why did they change the backstory? All the flashbacks contradict the original. WTF?
110 out of 181 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
not what was hoped for
karen_oglesbee25 July 2018
I like the first film and we looked forward to the second. It has some funny bits but overall has lost the feel good factor expected. The first half was very slow and it jumps too much between times. The songs aren't as well known which doesn't help. There was really no need for the loss part could have just had donna away somewhere and flown in with cher at the end. The plus part was super trooper as it felt like the first film's happy vibe as I hoped the whole film would.
83 out of 139 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Over-the-top, melodramatic, cliched and fantastic.
mignonnebusser29 July 2018
Feel-good film of the year. I cannot get over how good this movie was. It was the most entertaining sequel I've seen. Point. There was a portion in the middle of the film where I laughed after every line said.

This is a humorous, light-hearted film that gets you addicted to the feeling of being young; having no plans and being okay with the uncertainty of it all.

A aesthetically beautiful film that captures the heart of the disco eva of the 70's. Costumes are beautiful - especially that scene in the orchard when the girl wears that orange skirt. Gorgeous.

A film to watch with your mum, ganny and best friend. Go into the film with a smile and leave laughing. Don't expect to learn life lessons - just enjoy the silliness of the Mamma Mia universe.
47 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Never been so disappointed.
katy_charlton22 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I've waited months to see this. I love Abba and I loved the first movie but this just felt like a money grabbing cop-out. In short, the movie was down-right miserable with the current day cast all being completely maudlin over Donna's death. The songs were lackluster, the plot had more holes than a lump of cheese and the laughs were few. The only saving grace to this movie was the fabulous double act that are Christine Baranski and Julie Walters who stole every scene they were in. I'm hugely disappointed by this dreadful follow-up. We came out feeling empty and depressed.
89 out of 158 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Sweetness Lost!
caroleharnoff22 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Major spoiler alert...a big reveal comes early on in the movie, and to me, casts a very somber hue on what should have been light and frothy entertainment! Yes, there are some fun moments, a delightful Lily James as young Donna, Cher and Andy Garcia's Fernando is priceless. But to me, there was a dark shadow over the production that should not have been there!
64 out of 111 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Here we go again
karolinejen12 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
There's so much wrong with the storyline in this movie. The movie in it's self wasn't so bad, but the story doesn't add up to the storyfirst movie. In the first movie they say Donna sleeps with Sam, Bill and then Harry, but in the second one she sleeps with Harry, Sam and then Bill? Second of all, Donna says someone has got it in for her, that her mother WAS a ray of sunshine as If she's dead. Then she appears in the second movie, like she's awoken from the life of the dead? Third, you get to see a photo of Donna when she meets Sam, Harry and Bill, none of them has the style in the second movie simular to the costumes they have in the pictures in the first movie. And Sam is supposed to announce that he's engaged, not that Donna sees his picture and runs away. There's so much in the second movie that doesn't add up.
15 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pure joy, perhaps my new favourite movie
leobrodin21 July 2018
This movie is two hours of great music, great acting and great scenery. That is all there is to it and nothing more is needed to make this one of my favourite movies ever, up there with Shawshank Redemption. No amazing twists or thought provoking situations here. Just two hours of pure uncontained joy in an unusual case where the sequel beats the original.

Lean back, sing along with the rest of the audience and go with the flow.
88 out of 163 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Intolerable, miserable and downright brain-damaging
Louis_Bacon20 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Choreography is extremely lame (sometimes it's just some "waving" and that's for like 3 of the songs), especially during the Waterloo segment, where they all look like a high school theater musical gone wrong. Songs are just re-hashed from the original, with nothing different to make it watchable. Actors are flat-out incompetent, especially the younger ones and Cher (give her the Razzie already). Script is... well, there isn't one. It adds NOTHING new to the original story. We still have no idea who the father is and no new information that could make this go forward in any kind of way. Streep is in this as a freakin' GHOST for the very last musical number.

There is NO reason for this to suck as much as it did. I expected average, at the very least boring. But this is an insult to ANYONE, even fans of the original will be pissed by how this brings NOTHING new and barely makes any sense.

Avoid this movie. Re-watch the original, but please do not give this movie any credit for doing anything.
101 out of 189 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved it!
tonje_thor21 July 2018
I would not say that this is a good film, but I really enjoyed it anyway, it's a film that makes you laugh, smile and let you have a good time!
39 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
will not watch it again
rosalindsmith-8503624 July 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I went to the cinema really happy to see this movie and left feeling drained emotional and tearful and not happy. I didn't see any trailers about it other than the one shown in cinemas before. Didn't realise that Meryl Streep wasn't in it as a major character just for 2 minutes at the end in a dream sequence with daughter at the church for the baby's baptism. I liked the actress playing young Donna and she had a good voice. The dancing and singing was good and enjoyable. New songs like "I kissed a teacher" was not appropriate. Pierce Brosnan also sang well this time although poignantly as he was singing about missing Donna. I cried all throughout this movie. laughed at the Titantic Spoof moment on the boat. On the whole the people in the cinema were all ages from 19 to 80 yrs old and it was quiet except for those two moments of brevity. A lot of the people agreed with my evaulation of the movie and were disappointed. I looked up in Google and saw reports that Meryl doesn't do sequels and was thrilled that she was handing over the baton to the younger unknown actors.She said she didn't want to dance and sing again as she did it before. So I wont't be buying this on DVD or streaming it on Amazon even if it was free to watch I definitely would not watch this again.I will stick to the first movie as that left me feeling uplifted and happy. This is the reason I rated it one star which I rarely do.
66 out of 120 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
It will make money but it shouldn't
draymany27 July 2018
What a terrible let down. Really wanted to enjoy this movie but just didn't. Both myself and my wife watched it until the end and both felt the same RUBBISH. A real opportunity missed no spoilers but they did something unforgivable. You will agree if you bother to watch but I can not recommend you do as I am sure most people will find it a massive let down. Shameful.
52 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hollywood at its worst...
The whole thing is so bad that was almost embarrassing to stay in theater till the end...
54 out of 99 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed