Tucked (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
14 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
Had it's moments
muamba_eats_toast17 May 2019
There is a good idea behind the film and generally the lead 2 were likeable however it did have the feel of a TV movie in my opinion and the rest of the cast didn't seem to be on the same level. There were moments I was really buying into it but others where it was misfiring. With a few changes from the writers and an increased running time could certainly have been better then ending especially seemed rushed which is suprising given its short lengths and the powerful scenes that could potentially have been had at the weeding leading up to it and following. Still not a bad film but not enough to stand out for me.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Everyone needs a little faith.
Red-1259 October 2018
Tucked (2018) is an English movie written and directed by Jamie Patterson.

The film stars Derren Nesbitt as Jackie, a straight man who performs as a woman at a nightclub. He's not just Jackie, as he tells us. He's "The one and only Jackie."

Within the first few minutes of the movie, we learn that Jackie has a particularly aggressive form of cancer. His physician tells him to ease back a little, but naturally that's exactly what Jackie doesn't want to do.

Enter Jordan Stephens as Faith, a new performing artist at the club. We're never sure if Faith is straight or gay, and that's the way he wants it. He's very talented, and he certainly could be successful, especially after Jackie takes him under his wing.

There's a subplot about Jackie's estranged daughter, which is predictable, but works well enough. Actually, the entire film is fairly predictable. We know the beginning and we know the end.

What makes the film work is what happens along the way. It helps that the acting is truly outstanding. We learn to care about both Jackie and Faith and to care about exactly what will happen next.

We saw this movie at Rochester's great Little Theatre, as part of the outstanding Image Out, the Rochester LGBT Film Festival. It will work well on the small screen.

This movie has too few IMDb ratings to be meaningful, and I believe that I'm the first IMDb reviewer. So . . . you'll have to take my word for it that Tucked is worth seeing. Or, as Faith says, "Everyone needs a little faith."
12 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A for Idea, Concept & Acting, D for execution - it falls flat
scotartsproduction7 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
What a lovely concept & idea, and what fresh, committed actors. Some of the integral scenes where the actors flourished were really powerful. Another positive is that this is a good attempt for something new, outside the common McHollywood gay-gay-rah-rah tripe. Otherwise, it needs a lot of help.

This seems to be another victim of made-for-cinema TV melodrama is relied upon to carry the whole film. The main character is terminally ill.

Script: the dialogue is so illogical at times it completely throws any mood the actors worked to build. Basic time & place problems, chronology and believability. Young person arrives, is 21 years old, but somehow not old enough to stay on a coworkers couch? And then, the repetition - same sob story about the terminal illness and being abused by "dad", and "I'm not gay I'm straight" - it borders, I believe unintentionally, on misandry and internalised homophobia.

And how many times do you need a main character to fall on the floor, and how many fart, potty and pee lines do you really need in one film? It did not serve the film. Jackie's makeup told more of the life he/she lead that all the falling on the floor Reality TV nonsense.

And for all that's good and great in the world: PLEASE STOP WITH THE JERKY CAMERAS. No one is ever going to want to watch these films in 20 years - and what's with the manipulated screen proportions - aspect ratio? Dream sequences? Maybe. The entire film? no, please.

Second is the desperate attempt to pack the film full of every Pollyanna PC Pronoun cause you can find - we don't need the preachey lessons on gender and all that - we need to see these particular characters flourish in THEIR environment, as THEY are. Problem with this is - even the stereotypes are inconsistent and sometimes painfully misused.

And overall - there's just too much going on. A hot mess. The saving grace of the film were the incredible jokes and rough-trade delivery of them by the Jackie character. But once we get taken on the ride, the car runs out of gas.

It seems the filmmaker had a great concept, but needed a lot of help making it into a compelling script. And needed a director with a keen, scrutizing eye. And an editor to get rid of all the extraneous & unnecessary junk packed in there. Less is more. Let is happen. These actors were underserved.

I kept thinking all along that we had a young Jay Davidson emerging, and a fantastic, quirky new film to come out of indie land. Crying Game 2.0 - but this comes nowhere near. But it appears - for whatever reason - the decision makers strove to iron and choke every ounce of fresh air out of this film.

I'll be interested to see what comes next from this group. Drop the agenda, and just make the story. It's a good story.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A beautiful and powerful portrayal of love, loss & lipstick - highly recommend!
ScriptyMcScriptface7 April 2019
I was lucky enough to catch this film at the BFI Flare LGBTQI+ film festival and despite being intrigued by the synopsis, I wasn't fully prepared for how moving a film I was in for. This is a mesmerising, heartwarming & wry tale of friendship, family, gender fluidity, life choices and much more - all wrapped up in a superbly shot and exquisitely balanced story. The local setting and framing of the reality, mundanity and beauty of the leads' existence really shines in the directing and camerawork with some of the shots literally taking my breath away on the cinema screen. One closeup of a hairy knee through fishnets actually bought me to tears. The witty and nuanced script is superb and lifted even higher by Nesbitt on blistering form as the ageing performer, with Jordan Stephens holding his own in the emotional scenes as his young ward. The whole cast really sinks its teeth into the tale and those moments are great, but at its core, this is a vehicle for Nesbitt to show why he should have had many more lead roles in his brilliant career and thanks to the director, Jamie Patterson, he finally gets that moment and runs with it. All in all this is a beautiful, timely, unique masterpiece which I can only hope gets the wide audience it deserves. Highly recommended!
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Very watchable first half
cekadah30 September 2019
Then the second half becomes a sentimental mess with Jackie finding a path back to his estranged daughter. This is where the story becomes predictable.

Otherwise the relationship between the characters 'Jackie' & 'Faith' keep the plot going at an entertaining pace. There are no 'heavy social issues' tossed upon you - the viewer.

It's just a story of an elderly man dealing with his career & health and its effect upon family and new found friend.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
better than torch song triology....??actually mmmmyess
ops-525353 April 2019
Well, i did not expect an outcome of these proportions of a film of this genre. its about an elderly man, who has loved to crossdress for well over 50 years, and has been in the entertainment business as a drag queen for many of those years.

we are all invited in from the day he gets the ticket to neverland from his doctor, and how he is battling through the last path of life ,the good and the bad.

you wont believe it but this film made me laugh like never before, and at the end nearly crying my eyes out. its tucked full of jokes and real drag humour on stage, and will engulf you for the rest of your life because the message are so brilliantly acted out by derren nesbitt that im sure your toes will culr themselves in your sucks, and with a fresh and juicy language tells the drag'sters way of life and thinking.. you are really acting like an oscar candidate mr.nesbitt,believe it or not......

the technical product, are basically near perfect, and the make up and dress department has done a great job. what haunts me a little are some of the close up camera angles , but thats just a few times, and wont shake this tenner into a niner.very well done indeed, as mr. nesbitt would say....

so the grumpy old man thinks, wether you are gay, strait, crosser, transvestite,lesbian or dragster, religous or atheist, watch this movie, it will crush your heart, and most surtainly crash your thoughts about a dragsters life. its a ten with a recommend
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Simple, un-sensational, beautiful
ella-4823 May 2019
Have just been to see this at my local Picture House. What a thoroughly satisfying experience it is. A simple tale, told in a no-nonsense, non-exploitative way.

The two central performances (Derren Nesbitt as Jackie and Jordan Stephens as Faith) are utterly believable from beginning to end: no off-the-shelf 2-dimensional character tropes here, just REAL human beings dealing with REAL life.

Because of its subject matter, there is plenty of potential in this story for things to get horribly mawkish, but they don't. Yes, there are moments of intense emotion (take a packet of tissues with you - you'll need 'em), but the drama always steers just the right side of good taste on that score - i.e. genuine emotional power, yes - sentimentality, no.

Another thing I really appreciated was the way in which the growing dynamic between the two was portrayed. Writer/Director Jamie Patterson skilfully avoids trotting out the old cliché of "they can't stand each other to begin with, but learn to love each other - awww, bless". Nope: in this film, the interaction between the two is completely believable from the get-go. This, for me, is the main thing that makes this story so satisfying.

Other thoughts: nice to see a story in which a hetero cross-dressing character is treated with respect, at a time when society as a whole seems to have almost forgotten such people exist!

The only aspect of the script that left me a bit perplexed is this: at the start of the film, Faith tells us that they are gender non-binary: i.e.they don't regard themself as being either exclusively male or female. I was surprised, therefore, that throughout the whole story, Faith seemed entirely happy to be referred to by everyone as "He". I would have expected Faith's preferred pronoun to be "they". At one point in the story, the nightclub MC was seen doing a whole comedy routine about societal attitides to "new" pronouns, so this detail struck me as anomalous.

Other than that, though, I have nothing but praise for this small but damn-near-perfect gem of a movie.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Doesn't (quite) drag....
CelluRob23 November 2019
This proved to be quite an engaging look at an ageing drag artiste and a young, aspiring one - how they become friends and deal with terminal illness and reconciliation. It is clearly done on a budget and the drag stage scenes seem to rehash jokes that were popular while Noah was building his Ark. Both leads are good, though and it is not overbearingly sentimental. Not a complaint I usually make, but this is a little too short. The ending is upon us without us really having had too much opportunity to develop the characters more. Worth watching but don't expect too much.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Engaging performances in a unique and moving story about gender, age and loss.
Hobes837 April 2019
A film that left me both lifted and moved at the end. This odd couple story delivers characters with depth and empathy and, refreshingly, an honest view of Brighton and the characters you can find there. Highly recommended!
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing!
sdiazbravo6 April 2019
An amazing story about friendship and about sweet and hard moments in life. Clever script and marvellous acting. The photograpy is great. The main caracter is particularly interesting. I love this film and I highly recommend it.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Tour de force by Derren Nesbitt
malcolmgsw19 May 2019
Nesbitt has always been one of my favourite actors.However I never expected to see him in such a role.He is onscreen virtually the whole time and totally dominates it.In the end rather sad and touching.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Poignant Story of Regrets and Recoveries
This movie is one of the most charming movies I have watched in a long time. It provided a tale of missed opportunities, sorrows and hurt. However, there is recovery. I am satisfied that the movie ended on a happy note, especially after a decade of regrets and pain that the main character, Jackie, had to deal with. Time heals all wounds, and we all can begin again as long as we make the effort to fix the mistake made. Superb acting. Wonderful storyline. Glad that I have a chance to view and enjoy this precious gem of a movie. I don't remember ever seeing this advertised at the theaters, however, Tucked far surpasses many of the movies shown in the theaters today. Good viewing indeed.
1 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Absolutely amazing film
Boristhemoggy22 September 2019
Someone else said this was a flawless feel good film. I'd not say that I'd say it was pretty melancholy and maudlin at times, however the story is real, and there is humour and sadness and joy and everything thrown in. The two main actors convinced me 100% that they are in fact cross dressers as they were so good at the role, but Derren Nesbitt who I haven't seen since the 60's, blew me away with one of the best performances I've seen this year. If he is not oscar nominated for Tucked then that is the final nail int he coffin for me that proves they are fixed. Amazing performances, amazing film.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
We need more movies like this 👍
rambla-6511517 May 2019
Beautiful movie ! Absolutely brilliant ! Everything in the movie is just spectacular & stunning from directing acting everything just Beautiful, i love it and I wish there is more movies like this 👍
0 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed