Love You More (TV Short 2017) Poster

(2017 TV Short)

User Reviews

Review this title
16 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Amazon drops another ball...
ohnotwentytwelve17 January 2018
How a company with all the money in the world, literally, could pass on picking this pilot up to series is beyond me. Courageous, hilarious, well cast, and with a lead in Bridget Everett who could carry an entire season on her own, Amazon has yet again proven cheap and incompetent with their decision making..

I've yet to see a comedy weave such sensitive subject matter in a more humanized, proud way than this one pilot episode did. I shouldn't have to mention again that Bridget Everett did an amazing job, and deserved to have a full season. Anyone that watched this knows that. Jeff Bezos and his billionaire friends apparently didn't.
15 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I loved it more!
pcpete-147841 December 2017
I stumbled across the pilot of this new Amazon Series (or potential series) and thought it hilarious but wonderful too. It's about a woman who is big in every aspect of her body, personality and life. She has a fascinating sex life for one thing, and a really interesting role as a caring human being - looking after brilliantly envisaged and acted characters in a care home for Downs' people. It's funny, quirky, shocking and moving, sometimes all at the same time. It's great to see a portrayal of what seems a real (if unusual) and strong woman in a non-clichéd way. I really hope Amazon turn this into a fully fledged series.
13 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A must see
jaynegreer23 November 2017
One of the best original funny, poignant series I've seen for ages. Seriously hope it makes it past the pilot. It's hilarious, well written, deals with sensitive issues fantastically, I speak from experience. Left me wanting more LOVED IT. Highlights reality in a cringe worthy, yet humorous way. I was glued to the TV waiting for the next bit.
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bawdy and full of heart
mstar-5911014 November 2017
This show is hilarious and everything that I love about Ms. Everett herself. It takes you on a journey of laughter and brings you to a place of warmth. You will see things you don't normally see on TV. I'm so happy as well that they hired a wealth of special needs actors! Amazon please order a full season!
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Someone produce this!!!
Craig-883-72660312 March 2018
This has to be produced as a series. The pilot was fantastic and shows so much potential to become a classic. Come on Amazon...
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Could see Everett and Brewer going for the Emmy!
rossdanbruen10 November 2017
I knew Bridgett Everett from her cameos here and there and her outing in her own show did not disappoint. I like her unique perspective and that the humor is not pretentious. What's more, this show delivers the pathos you'd expect from contemporary premium comedies with a fresh take on the classic trope of lovable ragtag students (in this case, young adults with down syndrome). I could see Bridgett Everett and Jamie Brewer going for the Emmy! Looking forward to see more.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved it!
carolynbm16 January 2018
This show is unique and fresh. It is hilarious! I was upset to learn that Amazon passed on this show. I really was looking forward to seeing the complete season. I hope Netflix picks it up or Amazon changes their mind and picks it up again. Keeping my fingers crossed.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It can't be cancelled
samwilkes-5371723 April 2018
This show was a witty, entertaining breath of fresh air in a culture of neutered sitcoms. The fact that this show was cancelled proves that the golden age of television is dead and we should all read more. I have lost faith in humanity more specifically the hacks responsible for this egregious travesty.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hope this gets picked up
laroche-chris24 May 2018
Awesome and amazing and hilarious and refreshing and touching, I'm bummed amazon didn't pick this up. Here's hoping another channel does
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Definitely not a show for the kiddos, but...
mstarkrn729 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I loved it!!! I enjoyed seeing a real portrayal of a single woman in full command of her own decisions in life. Woman should feel more empowered to pursue their sexual desires without being judged. The lead character's balance is phenomenal. She's such a compassionate advocate for her developmentally challenged clientele. Plus, seeing how she turns the page regarding her roommate made her even more lovable. I look forward to seeing additional episodes, hopefully very soon!!!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The potential is there
Horst_In_Translation16 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
"Love You More" is a live action short film that runs fore over half an hour and was directed by Bobcat Goldthwait and starring Bridget Everett as the main character, a big girl with constantly changing sexual partners who works at a home of Down Syndrome patients and occasionally gets caught by them too while in the act. Everett and Goldthwait also contributed as writers here. Other known cast members are Loni Anderson from WKRP in Cincinnati and Jamie Brewer from American Horror Story. As for this one here, it is an Amazon original, so a trial episode and if enough people will like and watch it, then it could be turned into a recurring series. Despite some dramatic moments too, it's all about the comedy for audiences I must say. You will maybe not burst into laughter, or maybe you will, then good for you, but there were several fairly funny moments here and there. A solid touch of music too and I probably enjoyed this one for its lack of political correctness. This one you will see right away at the start with the first pick-up scene. You could maybe compare the approach to Grace & Frankie, but slightly superior. Everett does a good job with her lead performance here and I can see her score some awards attention if this really gets picked up. We'll see about that. I also liked the Down Syndrome people story line and references. This inclusion does not just feel for the sake of it and the "too good for me" quote was pretty hilarious.Overall, this one gets a thumbs-up from me now and I'd certainly consider watching regularly if this gets continued. Check it out.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The Bra Drama (small spoiler!)
annshirley28 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I guess it's the typical American film industry's way to always have a laugh at those poor big boobed women in their beige ghastly bras... Seriously...? I'm afraid The Big Bra Drama pictured in the first episode was not subjected to any kind of actual market research. Dark Ages of horrible bras are over now, Dear Filmmakers, get over it. Women actually CAN buy A-K cup and 28-48 band size in most sensible online/traditional lingerie shops, in many colours and designs... No reason to drama. Or maybe the American lingerie market is really so very narrow? - in which case I apologise and feel sorry for all the US Karens... Nonetheless, I really like this show and I hope it won't end on the pilot. It's something completely different.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
I don't know.......
matthijsalexander16 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
.... what to think.

A series with down syndrome kids is of course a recipe for hilarity and has the potential of being full of adorable moments. Those kids by design and default bring an X factor.

BUT.....

At the other hand I find the fat nudity a bit redundant and I refuse to see it as courageous. I found most scenes not including the down syndrome kids off-putting and not funny at all. I found the 'musical moment' not quite suiting nor was it funny.

To their credit, they have created something unique and daring which does tickle interest. So, for now, based on the pilot a 5 but will make this a tentative opinion and certainly see episode 2 and 3.
1 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
More Gross Than Original
fleck05-485-20898118 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I love stumbling across a unique entertaining show... this is unique, but not entertaining and really disgusting. Is a character coming out as gay still a shocking twist? That TV writers still think most people care that someone is gay shows how far removed they are from life outside of their entertainment bubble. Everett does have a great voice, but is a musical piece about a girl's sad developing breasts really funny? Maybe to Harvey. Personally I was more curious about Anderson's character than anything going on with Everett, but I could never sit through another episode of Everett's unlikable character to find out.
1 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Obscene, pornographic, or lewd, or that contains nudity or sexually explicit images
fbp-1681325 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Love You More comes spoiled.

Amazon has "Love You More" available online, where it appears to have very good reviews. Closer inspection shows that the five star reviews are vapid, lacking substance. The few one star reviews are most clear on why they were not a fan.

Amazon deleted my negative review:

> READ CAREFULLY BEFORE WATCHING

> Saw this, before reading the critical reviews.

> What a mistake. The plot, story and such were

> lost in that scene... I was almost wishing she

> opted for the other guy...

> Looking at the positive reviews, it is unclear

> if they actually saw the show, as their comment

> are vapid and lack substance.

A friend, on my suggestion, also watched part of the pilot and left a negative review, which was deleted by Amazon.

The premise of the story is fine and some of the acting and directing is OK, but far from cinematic genius. The use of explicit sex, full nudity and distressing genitalia prop is inappropriate and simply vulgar. To grossly reinforce negative stereotypes of the obese, persons of color, small people, individuals with special needs is monstrous.

Amazon has in its guidelines that "Obscene, pornographic, or lewd, or that contains nudity or sexually explicit images", is inappropriate and will be deleted. Yet they put this sort of vulgar pornography up with no warning and deceptive reviews.

This work would benefit from about 90 seconds of film on the cutting room floor...

If Amazon would provide an honest rating of "PORNOGRAPHIC" expectations would have not been so off.
1 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Who could possibly have greenlit this?
modernart24 December 2017
Just the first 10 minutes were among the most offensive and just plain flat and unfunny moments ever. Amazon, you offer us this while Netflix brings us the Crown and Stranger Things? Are you frigging insane???
0 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed