The Beach Bum (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
178 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Pointless vulgarity
bogor-607762 June 2019
A gross misuse of pot, Van Morrisons music and white kittens
74 out of 99 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What was the whole point of this movie?
ochavillo29 March 2019
I watched this movie in hopes that it would be a comedy and have some context and relevancy of what is happening or going to happen, but this movie was completely obscure.

The pornographic content and all the radical behavior is not the problem, it was the story of the movie. There was none. If the goal of the movie was to have a movie about drugs and sex then you don't even get that in this movie. This movie is a complete failure.

A waste of time. I could have been reading a book rather than watching this film about a druggy write a book.
130 out of 182 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A Middle movie with no real beginning or ending
cupofsoulshow22 March 2019
Beach Bum is a movie about Moondog. He's a staple in Key West where he spends his days getting high, drinking PBR and occasionally writing. He's a poet by profession but dedicates all his time medicated. He has a wife that has a lover and a daughter that settled into marrying a man so dull he makes a Mormon seem exciting.

Beach Bum is director Harmony Korine recent attempt to highlight a character that colors outside the lines. If you're familiar with his work, you know that his movie pace can be belaboring such is the case here.

Matthew McConaughey playing a Stoner is not a stretch. Those expectations remain low upon viewing this movie.

Beach Bum has many issues. The movie boasts an all-star cast but grossly misuses them.

The concept for Beach Bum wasn't wrong; its execution is what was troublesome.

Moondog eccentric mannerism was only charming for an hour after that it became laboring.

Snoop Dog was also misplaced. One would think a movie that features weed as one of the themes and the charisma of Snoop would create magic on screen, but it doesn't. He's a limiting sidekick. One of the most dynamic artists of our time and he's lackluster.

Jonah Hill as Lewis Moondog's publicist also isn't very interesting.

I get that this movie was about celebrating Key West laid back way of life. The whole idea of tuning out very much exists there lamented among the thousands of tourists but it's not executed well.

Zac Efron pops up as a fellow stoner and luckily for him, this performance will hopefully be forgotten seeing that he just turned in a fantastic performance as Ted Bundy.

The bright light in this train wreck was Martin Lawrence. Lawrence hasn't made many movies lately. His comedic bone brings much-needed humor to a film that otherwise seemed in slow motion at times.

Director Harmony Korine has given us much better work. I understand what he was attempting here, but the bottom line is the movie got stuck in neutral and just became predictable, instead of giving us an insight to a character that is very comfortable in his skin Moondog became a caricature.

They're not wrong with going of grind, but a movie requires progression. You know a beginning, a middle and an end. We got two hours of a middle.

Matthew McConaughey at this stage in his career should not portray boring characters such as this; however, since his academy award, his roles have been stale. Gone is the young gunner from Texas that shook up Hollywood and in its place an artist that seems to have settled for an easy check. I am not giving up on McConaughey yet, but Beach Bum isn't the way back to memorable.
70 out of 96 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible movie
coolidgecheryl1 April 2019
Boring and pointless. No character development or plot.
56 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just a poor, boring waste of time
sukajack30 March 2019
I had high expectations given the caste but was stunned by the lack of anything - no depth of character, no humor, repetitive and annoying one dimensional (or more accurately, nondimensional) characters. No, this pathetic "stoner" was only able to live life his way because his wife was wealthy and for some unknown reason all those around him worshipped him and stolidly keep repeating how moondog was such a genius and wrote beautiful poetry. These proclamations were a flop - no glimmers of genius were ever visible. Wealthy hedonistic family with no sense of how most other people lived. The scene where an old man in a wheelchair was beaten and left unconscious while Moondog and his pal robbed him - and left laughing is inexplicable. Bizarre. Overall a pathetic movie
67 out of 96 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful
chrisagray-273992 April 2019
I have not seen a movie this awful in years. Skip this and save yourself some money and time.
66 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not everyone will enjoy it...but I did
DeadMansTrousers31 March 2019
Most people would agree with the statement that McConaughey does his best work in stoner roles, this is not a straightforward stoner comedy however so don't be disappointed if that's what you are expecting. Anyone who expects anything other than a strange arthouse film from Harmony Korine must not be aware of his style. There is lots to be enjoyed in this film including the humour, music, and supporting cast. It is worth viewing with an open mind, just don't expect Pineapple Express or Cheech and Chong.
68 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Is Matthew Mcconaughey okay?
laurenashleyxo2 April 2019
There is literally no plot to this movie and I cant believe Matthew took on a role like this. Zac Efron also comes out for .5 seconds and is never to be seen or talked about again? I'm mad I wasted time watching this 💀
60 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
No stars
lrdeiorio30 March 2019
This movie deserves no stars. It's a waste of the hour and a half. I can not believe so many big name actors were part of it and it was as bad as it was. I can't believe someone actually wrote this movie. It felt like someone followed Matthew around with an iPhone camera while he smoked pot. That's it. That is the movie.
62 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Horrid
Gordon-1112 June 2019
This film tells the story of a poet who lives a very hedonistic life in Florida.

I can't believe what I just watched. The characters are unlikable, and even repulsive. Their behaviour is consistently reckless and irresponsible. They live wasted lives, and they wasted my life too. The film is truly horrid, even though there are so many big names in it.
19 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Wasted potential
wise_turtle13 June 2019
McConaughey does his hazy best but I think these guys were so wasted they forgot they were making a movie.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Is this funny?
SnoopyStyle16 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Writer Moondog (Matthew McConaughey) is the beach bum. He lives a hedonistic lifestyle in the Florida Keys. His wealthy wife Minnie (Isla Fisher) is busy with their daughter Heather (Stefania LaVie Owen)'s upcoming wedding. Their friend Lingerie (Snoop Dogg) has a special weed plant. After the wedding, Moondog gets into a car crash which kills Minnie. She leaves her fortune in Heather's control. After yet another drug rampage, Moondog is sentenced to twelve months in rehab where he meets fellow addict Flicker (Zac Efron).

This movie leaves me with a lot of questions. Is this actually funny? Do I actually like Moondog? Do I actually care about Moondog? All too often the answers come back, "No". McConaughey is channeling his cool surfer dude persona. It's a good start but it stalls pretty quickly. None of it is pulling me in until Moondog gets dark for one second. He and Flicker stealing from the handicap guy is the first intriguing moment and then it quickly fades away. The shark attack isn't funny and is much too silly bordering on stupid. In the vein of Dumb & Dumber and Dude, Where's My Car?, Moondog needs to be fun and likeable to endear himself to the audience. The comedy would follow but it won't work if he doesn't work.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Wow
Redcutiepie2528 March 2019
Garbage... so dumb... I guess if you're stoned out of your mind then it might be mediocre...
74 out of 119 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Can't believe I watched the whole thing
jpr88828 June 2019
Wow, this movie was terrible. Nothing redeeming, interesting or entertaining unless you like to watch MM playing a drunk stoner. I guess, he's a believable stoner, as is Snoop, but there's basically no story. Just scene after scene of drinking and toking. Arthouse garbage.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Second half is so boring
movies35110 March 2019
I wish this movie was an hour shorter. The pastel and neon dizzying hedonism is artfully directed. However, when the film's pace begins to slow, it's like the lights coming on in a club. The characters then become annoying and boring, the plot holes more obvious, and the movie excruciatingly boring. The end is an interesting homage to KLF.
45 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Wanted to like this so bad, but the execution was terrible
jcollins-0398426 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I don't need much in my stoner movies, but I do need some laughs and authenticity. This one supplied neither as it depicted a world of white privilege empowerment, utterly formulaic and seen before many times as the hero spins in and out of his delusions of grandeur and "joy" that really mask his attempts at self destruction. One wishes him and his rich suburban wives would just go to yoga class and look for a meaningful way to have fun in life.
16 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Film Equivalent of Elevator Music
alexiosdemos12 June 2019
Painfully unnecessary the movie plays and your mind nearly instantly drifts to your daily routine or the jobs you have to do just like waiting for your floor in an elevator - more like a videoclip that is flatter than stale beer - 2 stars for some of the photography
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A challenge at times but worth the journey
ramirez13-28 June 2019
This movie is beautifully broken. It is strange, disjointed and like trying to recollect the events after a 10 day binged on the beach. It's wild, weird and very pretty in its own way. A complete mess that somehow makes sense. I definitely recommend sticking through it at least once.
24 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst movie seen so far...
iuliacirco10 April 2019
It's absolutely idiotic. A total waste of money if you go to cinema&pay for it. The actors are performing well, but the storyline itself it's stupid and senseless...
24 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This is not a comedy film! Unless I lost my humor! Bored to freaking death!
kwenchow12 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is about the life of a depraved rich guy called Moondog! Entire film full of boring conversation! I think the only good thing is almost every partying scene have nudity girl! And full of negative example too! Moondog rob a disable guy at the street! He even escape from a rehab center! He also trafficking drug! He should rot in the prison or die at the end! But instead he been present an award at the end! Only one barely funny scene! Captain Wack's leg bite off by a shark! Lol! I won't watch it if I can reverse time!
14 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Waste of talent
jonathanproell27 March 2019
I had the "pleasure" of seeing this movie in a sneak preview. Even though I'm a fan of Matthew McConaughey, I didn't like him (or any other characters) at all. There is basically no story at all. None of the characters change one bit. The motivation behind them is unclear to the point where I was convinced Snoop Dogg's character would turn on Moondog. There were a few okayish jokes in there, that's why it's not a 1/10.
40 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A fun movie, not for all but who cares I loved it
dimebagboltz18 June 2019
So many bad reviews? Heard of an arthouse film? Seen any other movies by Harmony Korine? Enjoy an awesome soundtrack? Enjoy top notch sceneray/directing? Jimmy Buffet or a Snoop fan? With a hillarious script.. the Martin Lawrence dolphins scene is a highlight amongst many.. do urself a favour, if you can watch a movie and not take it so seriously you are in for a treat!! Moondog rocks on!!
13 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Totally sucked
Tina_jeppesen21 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
2 stars just for Matthew M who can do much better than this boring character w no personality but a bad one I wouldn't wana hang out w this guy for more than 5 minutes. We live in Florida where this suppose to take place I told my boyfriend we could go up to any beach bar around here, pick out a 24-7 drunk & follow them around all day, -which is pretty much all this movie is, and be more entertained. Of course that would at least be realistic this dude has endless supplies of money weed & friends although he's not very nice, or cool, or funny & f-Ed up 24/7.... Doesn't care when his wife of 20 some years dies...then again she was doin snoop dog behind his back...as was he doin whoever & whatever he wanted also tho, and his daughter, her husband & zac Efron are unlikable characters too. I mean are we supposed to like or care about the people n this movie?? Because I didn't whatsoever & the only funny or good scene was dolphin boat scene which even coulda been done better in a lot of ways...."Wtf did we just watch" is all I could say when it was over.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Last Movie
ReadingFilm31 March 2019
Another post-irony prank. Remember in Spring Breakers how there was this trace of conscience behind it? Just enough to see it at social critique as the girls gradually drop out and return back to humanity or face the consequences of their actions, bringing forth some accountable artist at work behind it. Beach Bum hints at avenues where it might go there with the daughters tiredness and stoicism, the ex-wife's fate, and his legal repercussions; but any traces of lessons, growth or consequences are stomped to pieces moments later. Korine's artist commentary is strangely hidden in its excess. Every one of my audience walked out. It's so gleefully immoral that in this universe he's rewarded with the highest accolades society can offer because nothing matters.

"He just makes me so crazy." Constantly it makes fun of any kind of real authenticity people can have between each other. It's sarcastic Terrence Malick. It don't care about nothing. A canary in the cold mine in late stage capitalism where one has these infinite resources and distribution, to make fun of god. The court jester throws out his inhibition to mock the king, laughing while getting hanged for it. Problem with both this and Spring Breakers is they become the real deal, actual culture in the process of their critique. While works like this you can only see the meaning in the opposite. So the film's function seems to be mocking its own audience and their motives to see it in the first place.

Think of the performance art as the juggle of financing, banking, courting the industry to make this at all, reflecting the machine's decay against itself. You could hate getting dragged through the mud but it's pretty much the definition of iconoclast. Korine said, "These films mean nothing to me and everything." As in it's his way of chipping away and bringing down the structure from within. Its existence is an act in radical accelerationism. The end of the empire. collapse, civil war, the global digital juggernaut paradise-hell.

The ones not concerned with the world around them move the same direction except within delight.

Then the moral frame missing unlocks its true motive in reflecting the surrounding culture at war. Individual to a satiric extreme; laissez-fair 'life is fun, have a laugh, there's Moondog in all of us', while really believing the opposite. Bum is a pejorative. The film's conscience is not missing but inherent, and all the 'endearing' and 'feel good,' despite its endless evils and debauchery, are maybe being fooled by Moondog's charm, which might have been its actual prank.
33 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Waste of time
tjfall-1269430 March 2019
Anyone who gave this a review above 5 must be a stoner loser like most of the characters in the film. There are no redeeming qualities in any of the characters. This was just a movie about a fall down drunk and drug addict stumbling through their wasted life. Being so drunk you can barely walk is not funny, just sad.
30 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed