Hilda (TV Series 2018–2020) Poster

(2018–2020)

User Reviews

Review this title
76 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Hilda is amazing for every age!
cakepops-4969522 September 2018
I absolutley love everything about this show! The art is amazing and so creative, the imagination that went into the show entirely is amazing! I had originally put this show on for my little one and instead i got caught up watching the show like a zombie with him. (No cleaning was done haha) It really is fun for all ages! It also teaches children and whom ever is watching it about compassion and communication so you can pull something educational from every episode. And let's be honest the world can always use more of that! And It always has something new in every episode that keeps you hooked all the way thru the entire season! I hope they create a second season!!!!!
83 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Cozy and close to home
saviodcruz-1765221 September 2018
The show is very lovely with beautiful art styles and has a sense of feeling like home when Hilda goes on those adventures you feel like your with her it is kiddish but something always interests you to watch more and I highly recommended completing the series and not only the art style but music like the theme song was really beautiful
51 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing
dixondroid27 September 2018
One of the best shows ever. The world is amazing, the characters are fun and dynamic. Brings out the child in everyone
26 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Holy Macaroni!!
grason-5869225 September 2018
Ohhh my goodness! When i was browsing youtube one day, I came upon a Netflix commercial for this random show called Hilda. I thought to myself "why not" and clicked on the video. And let me tall you, that was a great decision. This new Netflix original is the best thing I have seen is months. It is a beautifully animated and coloured and no matter what your age, you should check it out. It might seem a bit boring to some people but if you liked Steven Universe or similar shows, chances are you will like this. Its a bit more catered to kids around the age of 7 to 11 but even I still find it amusing. I find they did an amazing job bringing this old comic back to life in animation form.
32 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
For everyone
jbencker24 September 2018
This show centers around the girl Hilda who lives in a phantastical world featuring all sorts of creatures. Hilda is a very likeable character from the start: she is very brave, kind and always looking for an adventure but she isn't perfect. There are also great side characters like her mother, her friends David and Frieda and a number of mythical creatures. The show proves to be very imaginative as it comes up with many quirky and pecuilar creatures, putting a new spin on familiar concepts.

While the show centers around Hilda's adventure's it's also concerned with a lot of relatable themes like finding new friends, the question of what home is and family - which is represented by the heartwarming relationship between Hilda and her mother.

What stands out is the fact that there is no simple division in good and evil, the world Hilda inhabits is much more complex. Creatures that appear to be evil at first glance usually turn out to be anything but and conflicts always have two sides. Hilda, though, always manages to solve the conflicts with communication and compromise, offering a very positive worldview.

All in all it can be said that "Hilda" is a imaginative and intelligent show for both children and adult alike and I can only advise to watch it!
17 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Most Beautiful Thing That Happened In Animation Category Recently
rajifernando2 October 2018
This deserves all the praise. 30 seconds into the 1st episode, when that music hits with an amazing intro into the warm and cold mixture of calming colour tones to the not overly-simplified yet beautiful, sunday newspaper comic strip type art, unique and lovable characters...it's just perfect. The world she lives in, the people/things she meet, the plot...gotta give props to Luke Pearson for his books and Silvergate Media and Mercury Filmworks for making the pages come to life...this is such a treat. The interactions between Hilda and her mother makes it better.

This is more towards kids but you'll find yourself smiling at what they have to offer to the child inside of you. Some say it's Gravity Falls reborn... this show has so much heart. Try it. You won't regret it ;)
16 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Good character driven stories
kvothetraspie24 September 2018
Very good show, the animation is extremely well done, and the character designs are charming, the show is very light hearted but surprisingly so they manage to keep that tone while keeping the tension on the adventures, I felt the first episode was on the slow side, but I stuck to it and watched the whole thing, if you do too you will find out why its getting so many good reviews.

It has something to teach about people and relationships but its not preachy about it, respecting the audience to draw their own conclusions.

I think this is a great show for kids and adults alike, give it a shot, if you like well crafted character driven stories you wont be disappointed, Im looking forward to more seasons.
18 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best animated shows ever.
Gus2129 September 2018
Hilda brings out the best out of kids entertainment, and it pushes the boundaries as to just how meaningful and flat out amazing animation can be. This is a show for all ages, but especially show it to kids around the age of 8, they will remember it for years to come and it may just be a classic for them when they grow up. In a world full of bad things happening constantly, and even worse kids entertainment (i.e. the recent Netflix animated film 'Next Gen'), Hilda is exactly the type of show that might just teach kids a positive thing or two.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best animated show since Gravity Falls
red_cu3 November 2018
This. Show. Is. AMAZING! The visuals are just, wow! The story: intresting, mysterious, and charming. As an animator myself, I only dream the fluid-ness of the animation. Everyone who worked on this show is AMAZING! If you have netflix, this is a bingeable-must-watch show!
15 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Nostalgically British
rachelgallit26 September 2018
This charmingly animated series is a delightful tale of childhood adventure. Hilda freshly moved to the city from her magical creature-infested forest home, navigates both supernatural pests and mundane social interactions with her school-mates. Hilda is attended by her elf-friend, Alfur, and a small deer fox, Twig, as well as human companions Frida and David, all of whom lend constructive perspectives on the events while playing an assigned archetype role. While formulaic, as most children's shows will be, the episodes capture a whimsical air of adventure and discovery, as Hilda continues to defy social expectations and dispel prejudices against the magical creatures she is ever so fond of. An outstanding detail to me, among the minutia of a well-orchestrated animated TV short, is the character integrity. Each character maintains flaws and principals in an entirely enjoyable and realistic manner. While still learning from mistakes, core traits are not switched at the drop of a hat, as often happens to antagonists in oversimplified children shows. Hilda is produced by Silvergate Media, a company known for successful children shows such as Octonauts (2010-present) and Peter Rabbit (2012-2016) and as such it is little surprise that the show has such simple elegance.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful animation and story
stefanandrei-4389326 December 2018
It such a nice cartoon. The violence it kept to a minimum..... I love the voice actors ( especially the voices of Hilda and Alpha).....It a nice cartoon for all ages and I hope it will continue with more interesting stories.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
THIS SHOW IS THE BEST
charris-9359826 November 2018
I love this show! I love the character hilda probably more than my actual kid!!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best cartoon of 2018!
gustavpiasheinemann2 November 2018
There is no way to describe how amazing this animation is. First: Stylized animation, looking like a drawing. 2nd: Each story is unique, and almost no detail is forgotten in later episodes. 3rd: Every adventure happens in different places, thus, not getting sick. 4th: The chemistry between the characters is very good. 5th: Most characters are charismatic. 6th: The abiding is very good, as in the houses of the characters. 7th: The world where Hilda lives is very vast and large, mainly because of the Scandinavian ambiance. Thor liked this 8th: There are several mysteries, looking like Gravity Falls, but it's not even a copy 9 °: The characters are rememberable, each one having its importance in the plot, taking away those that only pass in the street and only speak few things, of course 10º: And some references to Brazil in episode 12 hu3hu3uh3
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing
matthiasknobelpiehl20 October 2018
This is wholesome and charming it's amazing. You've done it again Netflix. You've made another lovely show.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely beautiful.
greatsood-abhi9 October 2018
This show is absolutely beautiful. The colors and animation are great, and I thoroughly enjoyed watching the little adventure in the stories.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The blue-haired girl who talks to monsters
petra_ste26 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This lovely animated series, with its grace and magical realism, reminds me of the works of the great Hayao Miyazaki. It's ostensibly aimed at children, but adults can enjoy it as well.

Hilda (Bella Ramsey, also known as Game of Thrones' young Lyanna Mormont) is a spirited little girl inhabiting a world where mundane and supernatural coexist, so cities have walls to keep trolls out, magic birds fly over the town festival and ghosts can either haunt your sleep with nightmares or help you clean up your room.

Hilda and her mother (Daisy Haggard) move from their cabin in a wilderness where Elves and Giants roam to the city of Trolberg. The initially unhappy Hilda starts to enjoy the change and meets new friends, both other kids and magical creatures who manage to slip inside the apparently normal urban life.

Like its storytelling, the series' aesthetic is effective and deceptively simple, with minimalistic character design reminiscent of classics like Calvin & Hobbes and Peanuts, smooth animations and a color palette steeped in shades of oranges, browns and blues. It's a testament to the power of animation; this enchanting series would have been a garish mess if told in a CGI-heavy live-action version. Voice acting and music are perfect.

Recommended age: 6+. The tone is whimsical, lighthearted; magical creatures are mostly cute or comedic, like the rules-obsessed Elf or the supercilious Wood Man. However, a few more intense episodes may scare younger kids - I'm thinking Chapters 6 and 8, which are a notch creepier than the others.

After a successful first season with 13 episodes, Netflix has renewed Hilda for a second season.

8,5/10
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Everything you want from a show
hkgf-260282 October 2018
From the moment I first saw the trailer I knew this was going to be a show unlike any other. Watching it was one of the best decisions I ever made. From episode 1 all the way to episode 13, Hilda kept me hooked and wanting to see more. From amazing and lovable characters, smooth and breathtaking animation, a cast and crew that really brings the show to life and a feeling of nostalgia that you just cannot begin to comprehend. A lot of people are saying Hilda has many similarities to Gravity Falls and Over the Garden Wall. I don't. The show is first off based on Luke Pearson's Hildafolk comics that have been out since 2010, well before GF and OTGW ever aired. The shows are all original in their own way and I feel people need to watch shows without comparing them to others. It makes the viewing experience better and more enjoyable. Hilda is amazing in its own way. In some ways it did things better then Gravity Falls and OTGW did. I could go on about how amazing Hilda is but quite frankly, watching it for yourself and making your own decision on how good it is, is better then reading reviews from random people online. And be sure to read the original Hilda books as well. Luke Pearson's world will suck you in make you smile. Such is the life of an adventurer.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best
missocean30 September 2018
It was an incredible show to watch. I mean I can't believe they could put so much reality in this show. I hope they come out with more chapters. And this reminded me so much of a graphic novel
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Super Cute!
wickedmaryjane-5646526 September 2018
This is a cute little show that is good for boy or girl. I super enjoyed watching this with my 9 year old son.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent and entertaining
charles-bennett-610-3433927 September 2018
Its a series of adventures and really nicely directed and enjoyable also for the Adults !
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Mysterious, Adorable and Heartwarming in Every Right Way
elicopperman13 October 2018
Imagine what would happen if you combined the fantasy elements of Gravity Falls and Over the Garden Wall, and mix them in with both the practical humor of Calvin and Hobbes and the family and friend bonds of Laika's best works. You'd get a simple albeit engaging graphic novel turned cartoon series like Hilda. It's always good to stream new content on Netflix, because then you discover adorably wholesome gems like this.

Set in a world consisting of people and fantasy creatures, the series centers around a kindhearted and adventurous little girl named Hilda, who has lived most of her life in the wilderness, along with her mom Johanna and pet deerfox Twig. Upon moving to the city of Trolberg, she befriends two kids named Frida and David. With that said, a lot of the episodes center around the trio working out a situation regarding their scout activities, and this is where Hilda shines as the show's true star. She always knows the procedure whenever a creature like a giant, troll and even a raven is afloat due to her upbringing, but that does lead to her either screwing up or learning something different each time. It's always neat when children learn something new every day on top of what they already know.

In addition, the other characters all have their own pros and cons that work well with each other. Frida is a highly determined scout always trying to earn badges, but she tends to get too caught up in them and hates to face her own flaws. David can be easily frightened and anxious, but always tries to overcome his worries with the help of his friends. The relationship between the kids really feels genuine, as even when they disagree or even argue, they still work well with each other on their adventures and even develop based on what one thinks of the other. As for the rest, Johanna never minds the surreal creatures Hilda is around, but only when it depends on what Hilda is up to. As she wants what's best for both Hilda and her, the series' heart tends to bloom with their adorable mother-daughter bonding.

The last thing to really talk about is the wonderful animation, as the soothing color scheme helps paint the down-to-Earth feel of both the wilderness and Trolberg in a comforting aesthetic. If one is to recreate a setting with forests, city architecture and other wilderness features, they should definitely create it to resemble the real world, and this show does just that. Not to mention, the characters are designed in a simplistic cartoony style, which makes them look very appealing, even the more macabre ones. I know people get sick of cartoons that resemble the Cal Arts style, but this show presents itself as a breath of fresh air given how monotone the visuals are.

Needless to say, Hilda is a wonderful animated series that captures the innocence of childhood adventure through brisk story telling, relatable and endearing characters, and gorgeous animation. Whether you're a child or an adult, I definitely recommend giving this show a watch. It's one of the few cartoons nowadays that is able to invite its audience to join in the mystery on finding new characters and their curiously strange habits. I think if we can take away anything from this show, it's that like Hilda, we shouldn't put aide our childlike fun just because we are to grow up soon.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Delightful
ludicroustrumpet4 October 2018
The animation, the writing, the voice acting, the character designs, the cosy, cute world... All of it adds up to a gorgeous little show that emits an attitude and tone that every child should look up to. It's the perfect blend of story and morals, without the morals ever seeming over bearing or forceful. It is slow in some parts which may put off some kids, but theses moments are minor, and I'd expect the cutesy world and characters would only make up for it. Kids asside, I believe many adults will also enjoy this show for its adorable nature and genuinely amusing comedic moments. There are no adult jokes, but the jokes seem mature in a way many other kids shows seem to lack. Overall, I just think it's great.

Watch it, support it, spread the word, because shows like this are the ones people should be pushing to get another season.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sweet and heartwarming, with a unique atmosphere...
jessecarradine29 September 2018
So while scrolling through Netflix, a trailer for new show caught my eye. I love animation and this show looked interesting. I memorized the release date of it on Netflix and ended up finally watching it. The show is simply called, Hilda, and so far it's been criminally overlooked, yet highly rated by those who have taken the time to watch it. So after watching it what did I think? I thought it was incredibly sweet. The animation and art-style is quite nice, the storytelling surprisingly detailed, and the music drives the show along. It often isn't filled with action or dramatic tension, but instead a child's desire to discover fantastical creatures. This show is a little bit slower than the average animated TV, and at times the dialogue and acting feels a little too kiddish. But honestly, I was charmed by the end of the second episode. It's got its share of humor, but for once, I like that it didn't throw a joke onto sweet moment. It's different than a lot of other things I seen recently and I continued looking forward to watch another episode after work. Clocking in at only 12 episodes, less than 30 minutes each, its an easy watch that I'm still upset there isn't more. If you're someone who enjoys animated TV shows, I would recommend giving this a watch, its sweet and heartwarming... What else can I say?
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Adventure for a kindred spirit
moobert-0478426 September 2018
Hilda is one of the nicest characters I have seen in a while. Kind of reminds me of Steven Universe's character, but her kindness finds them in constant conflict. I feel like this is a karma type series. Hilda is a wonderful person, and good things/people come her way. Lots of life lessons included, and heart warming moments hit home, hard. The art work and color scheme are fantastic. Character development is in-depth, consistent and well done. The story never fell off. I watched the whole season in a day. I'd recommend this show to anyone. Can't wait to see more and check out the graphic novels!! What a treat!!!!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The Hilda's Adventure
muitolokoloko22 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Hilda's story is incredible, every character is amazing, every episode we know is new, different and intriguing!

This is a great series, which entertains us and makes us pass the time! However, I found the last episode weak to close this magnificent story, however you can have fun and enjoy every second!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed