The Runaways (2019) Poster

(II) (2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
30 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Beautiful film
beckyhigg27 March 2019
Such a beautifully told story, it had me gripped throughout. The film deals with some harsh realities with grit, grace, and humour; the children's performances are captivating, the scenery is stunning, the score is delightful. Well done Team The Runaways.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wonderful
jessikajenvieve13 May 2019
Was completely blown away by the script and performances. Perfect little movie that I won't forget in a hurry. No clever tricks, just genuine honesty. Some interesting music choices that added to the unique feel. Stunning long shots that were beautiful and not contrived. It was perfect and deserves a bigger audience.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
beautifully shot yet gritty film
helencardwell-9049713 May 2019
I can't recommend this film enough. It is meticulously shot to create a beautifully watchable piece of art, yet the subject matter is gritty and at times harsh. Three children making a journey alone with a donkey is a brilliantly funny concept, but the poignancy of the reason for their travels makes it all the more appealing. A wonderful story of life's cruelties, the resourcefulness of the young and of sibling love. The child actors are astounding, especially rising star Molly Windsor, and they are solidly backed by the big names of Tara Fitzgerald and Mark Addy. All in the best traditions of classic British film-making. Set to be a classic I'd say.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Classic children's filmmaking with a contemporary twist
dansumption13 May 2019
I saw this at a preview screening in Sheffield and was blown away by the story, the quality of the acting, and the beautiful use of the Yorkshire countryside - like an extra character in the film. It gave me a strong feeling of the classic British children's cinema of the 60s and 70s - stuff like The Railway Children, Walkabout, and the work of the Children's Film Foundation - in the way that the action is really led by the (incredible) child actors, and the sense of peril is really tangible and believable. I hope to see it again on general release, and really believe that in the future it will be regarded as one of the classics of the genre.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A beautiful film
daveymcc18 March 2019
I managed to see this at a pre-release screening, and I hope it goes on to a cinema release as it's one of the most beautiful films I've seen in ages... a lovely, lovely film. It deserves to go big... obviously made with love, gorgeous camera work, amazing North Yorkshire scenery and a perfect cast. Take your family and see it if you can. It's a family film, could be a modern day Railway Children, or Swallows and Amazons.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Touching, heartbreaking Brit indie film shot in Yorkshire in towns like Whitby
alyson-rhodes12 January 2020
Saw this little Brit indie gem of a film in Halifax in West Yorkshire on a wet Sunday afternoon; didn't know much about it before hand but so glad went to see it. The director Richard Heap and two of the teen actors did a Q&A afterwards. The story opens in Whitby where the trio of kids are being raised ad hoc by their loving but heavy drinking Dad (played by Mark Addy) and after a family tragedy and the return of their violent uncle the kids flee with 2 of the donkeys from their seaside day job onto the North Yorkshire moors escaping and on the run. The story follows their adventures and charts their emotional as well as physical journey. It is touching, heartbreaking, witty, insightful and packs a big emotional wallop. Catch it if you can.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Yorkshire- family adventure
zephaniah-4722314 May 2019
A lovely Yorkshire family adventure tale a script worthy of talented actors with Mark Addy, Molly Windsor, Lee Boardman and co. With a fascinating tale of adventure and journey the children naively take, with long range shots of the the stunning Yorkshire Moors. Loved the scenic shots of natural landscapes. Lots of twists and turns on the way as the adventure and endurance of the children's fate pans out with dark moments of truth and twists that are revealed in finding family truths. I was fixated by the children's characters and relationships, and the donkeys which added humour and empathy to the tale. Deservedly a great independent film which I hope transcends to a wider audience.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Filled with Northern Soul
katlouis14 May 2019
An amazing film and a captivating story. Filled with grit and warmth. Beautifully shot and the scenery is stunning. It's definitely a one to watch!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Superb heart warming adventure!
clairewarburton12 May 2019
Absolutely loved this film. Adventurous and heart warming. Loved every minute watching this. The scenery and music complimented the wonderful actors!

A joy to watch
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Incredibly mixed bag
sheagraham-0983817 July 2019
The runaways has some great parts to it, the lighting is amazing and the majority of shots are great, yet you have some of the worst transitions I've seen in a film, some scenes happen without really making much sense (namely the scene in the "nice mans" car and the end part with blite, like my god that scene was bad) the child acting can range from fine to absolutely awful (the worst offender being the boy child when he has a "stomach ache") characters can go from normal people with a few issues to enraged psychos, then back to normal people. The tone of this film is very weird, it could do great as either a light hearted family film or a harsh, sad and adult film, but inside the runaways decides to try both at once. We go from scenes of children sitting in a bar listening to some lovely songs to them being attacked and getting into full blown arguments, there's even a scene where when the father dies, they cry about it and get very sad but then just decide to paint his nails and go buy some fish and chips. The Runaways could be a great movie but it seems as if it isn't sure what it wants to be at times, combine that with some poor acting and jarring scenes/transitions and you have an incredibly mixed movie which just ends up just being a bit disappointing and forgettable
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One to watch over and over and over....
kathmardles12 May 2019
Heartwarming, heartbreaking, awesome characters, brilliant acting, stunning Yorkshire scenery, oh and donkeys, can't forget the fab donkeys! Loved every minute!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
9/10 emotional, adventurous and a great film
benstorey-6569012 May 2019
I went to see this film at a preview screening in Sheffield and really enjoyed it. I am 15 and would recommend this film to my friends. My favorite actor was the girl who played polly
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Lovely Landscape
angie-stockton12 May 2019
Funny yet heart warming - beautifully shot film as well. The scenery is beautiful and one of the highlights of the film. It has everything a family film should have, adventure, love, loss and humour.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
must see
oharamarnie10 April 2019
A brilliant realistic film id recommend to anyone. Has a powerful intimate plot with relatable charecters and a beautiful setting.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very memorable, very Yorkshire, very very good.
pauljillpaula4 April 2019
I saw this in Manchester, beautifully shot, poignant, witty and memorable portrayals by the young cast. The big names didn't overwhelm the film, but added so much to it. Edgy at times, determined, grim and real. So the feel good felt real when it came rather than predictable. Like most of the best films, pitching the premise to a studio or distribution suit must be hard, until you see it. Enjoyed it very much.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Peace & Tranquility as Storm Brian Raged
keiththompsonla18 February 2020
We had this film to open our new Village Film Cinema The Screen at The Hut in Goathland. For our very first film it played to a packed house despite the best efforts of Storm Brian to wash us away. It ticked all of the boxes that we were promised it would & so much more, watching scenes of places that are close by to where you live was a joy on a miserable winters night. Everyone enjoyed it, tears, laughter & murmurs of appreciation all in good measure. Hopefully we've set the bench mark with this movie. If you get chance to see it do so, you won't be disappointed.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Quirky 'Brit' movie
claspersue18 February 2020
Interesting storyline with great performances, especially from the children. A bleak story but lightened by some comic interludes. Fabulous showcase for the Yorkshire scenery and the donkeys added an interesting dimension. I loved this movie and would recommend to all.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great British Movie with fantastic atmosphere and scenery
jamesjhyde16 February 2020
Emotional rollercoaster with great performances from the young actors who in conjunction with the writer capture the spirit and humour of childhood.

Great views of North Yorkshire and the donkeys really add to the story. A must see.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Incredible Donkey Journey
ade-407081 February 2020
Saw this film tonight at Hebden Bridge Picture House, with the surprise bonus of a Q&A with the director, afterwards. A moving film that will appeal to family audiences of all ages. A low budget production that succeeds in breaking through the limitations imposed by this stricture. The strong storyline is immersive from the get-go, with the haunting background of a family mystery, played out during a donkey trek from Whitby to Leyburn. Good story, Good cinematography, Good cast, Great acting from the 3 younger stars of the film. Slight criticism ....maybe 10 minutes too long?
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Unexpected and refreshing and lovely donkeys
abhgg1 February 2020
I went to see this film feeling very lukewarm about what to expect but was gripped . Funny and shocking in places, it rambles along just as the runaways do. The film succeeds in making you suspend disbelief as you surrender to the magic of it, as if made in a time before mobile phones and social media. Molly Windsor is magnetic as the teenager holding everything together.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Scary and delightful at the same time
richardwoodcock1 February 2020
Warning: Spoilers
This lovely film tells the story of three children - two sisters and their brother - who run away from Whitby with a couple of donkeys. They're looking for their mother, and trying to escape from their deeply unpleasant uncle. They walk across beautifully-shot Yorkshire landscapes, encountering quite a few difficulties on the way.

I was reminded of Kes and Detectorists, mixed in with a bit of Dickensian darkness. Recommended.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Darker than expected but in a good way
matt-9307722 January 2020
I saw this in London. It reminded me in parts of some of Ken Loach's films. A story about survival I think. Some great scenes and music. Molly Windsor is superb as the elder sibling, as are the other children. Refreshingly different film. Think it is probably a 12, but 12A is wise. Go see it whilst it is still in cinemas, the Yorkshire scenery is a beautiful backdrop.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
modern adventure film
suzanneandcharles30 August 2019
Beautiful scenery and great actors. Cracking adventure story
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A must watch real life film.
ireneday23 June 2019
A good dramatisation of a 3 children in single parent familly whose lives change dramatically when their father suddenly dies. Young actors performances are amazing, A thoroughly entertaining film that gets you involved in the chilfren's up and downs. Showcases Yorkshire's amazing scenery shown at it's best.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved it!
rtomlinson-1295612 May 2019
I highly recommend this film. It is a heartwarming, original and unique story with great actors, beautiful landscape and music. You will find you feel every emotion while watching it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed