Distorted (2018) Poster

(I) (2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
66 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
Hmmm
brockleyavenue23 June 2018
If there is a movie that is not convincing, this is one of them. I am a little surprised at Ricci being in this, and not surprised that Cusack is. What ever happened to Cusack, are these the only parts on offer to him these days? The movie starts off OK, then folds beneath your eyes. In fact, I was laughing from when Cusack entered the scene. I am blaming the director and editing on this. He is just terrible. The scenes with him are trying to empasise intrigue and mystery and ended up a shambles. Really, I can't say much more, becasue in reality, the movie dosen't deserve it. I'm giving 5 stars for Ricci's sake.
49 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Completely unwatchable
iamlegionwermany29 June 2018
Tacky, cheap, complete let down. Badly rendered CGI, horrible sets, the first half an hour is enough to let you know you've picked a dud. How this is above a 5 on imdb is beyond me
50 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful
charlottefoy-0757813 July 2018
Nothing positive I can say, truly awful. Bad acting, poor plot and I literally didn't care what happened in the end! Don't waste your time
40 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Psych 101
rowens-3862229 June 2018
The movie itself wasn't terrible but whomever wrote this movie DOES NOT understand the difference between Bi-Polar disorder, and schizophrenia. Christina Ricci's character is schizophrenic bordering on paranoia.
41 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Seizure warning
lonniew30 June 2018
I don't have seizure issues but if you're sensitive to flashing bright lights then you might be in for a nasty surprise..

Having said that, i really didn't enjoy this that much, it was a time killer, but at the end of the day I'd rather have my money back. Nothing special about it, the scoring was decent but the movie itself wasn't that entertaining.

If you're bored and nothing else is available, go ride a bike instead :) I only give it two stars because Christina Ricci is in it.
31 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Disappointing
Foutainoflife31 July 2018
This is supposed to be a movie that is full of suspense and mind control but it just doesn't make the mark. Christina Ricci comes off very cold. I think that she plays most of her roles in that way but in this she is also trying to portray mentally unstable and super paranoid and I just wasn't feeling her at all. Which is unfortunate because I have enjoyed her in so many things. I was expecting John Cusack to have a larger role and he ended up with maybe 5-10 minutes of screen time. He's been a bit iffy for me since I watched Cell. I only felt moments of intensity during the flashing scenes. I'm just a bit disappointed.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
The rating is really Distorted !
MplusA9228 June 2018
To watch or not to watch ?! That is the question you probably think about right now, so let me guide you through this review :

First of all it's less than 90 minutes movie, so you may think they will pass fast regardless the quality of the movie, nevertheless i played it in 1.5x speed to be able to finish it and it wasn't a good experience at all.

I think psychological movies are the trend now so everyone tries to make them but this try is unsuccessful. And this is not an excuse to show a couple living in the best looking apartment in the world moving to the second best looking apartment just to overcome their psychological problems.

The story is quite acceptable but it wasn't written nor platted well, the music is really annoying so you may like it if you depend on music to merge with the atmosphere of the movie, and the acting is the weakest point.

Apparently they were low on budget, and we can see that clearly from the low class actors, the weak level of photography, the black and white poster which looks ancient, and the most fake baby bump you will ever see.

Finally, it's less than average movie with an idea that was delivered in a very bad way, it will give you something to wonder about throughout the movie but you will not be excited about it specially with the lack of real suspense though the Mystery/Thriller genre.
35 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad, just really bad
bwdude3 August 2018
I can remember a time, when the ratings on IMDB were an indicator for the quality of a movie. Those days seem to be gone.

Nowadays, I have to read through all reviews and check the distribution of ratings to get an idea, because the rating alone seems to be fake most of the time. Sadly I was blinded by this one, maybe because I really like John Cusack.

Unfortunately, Mr. Cusack seems to have devoted himself to the absolute worst possible roles in the absolute worst possible movies lately. I can't remember the last time I liked a movie with him in it.

This one is a new low, I don't know where to begin. The non-story, the amateurish production, the laughable CGI, the missing direction, the incredibly bad acting all around, the wig?? Really, pick any one of those and it will be enough to skip this pile of garbage.

Dear Mr. Cusack, remember Martian Child, Grace is Gone, High Fidelity or even Identity? What happened?
16 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What in the name of
sweet-alibis10 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Whoever decided to put Christina Ricci in a blonde wig needs to be immediately cast out of any major decision making during the making of any movie from this day forth. This movie was the mother of all tin foil hat conspiracy theorist nightmares, besides giving me a terrible migraine from the random fast flashing light scenes that Ricci's character kept facing, it also had John Cusack running around looking like he just robbed a 7-eleven and was on the run from agent Smith.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Horrendous. Ratings clearly manipulated
imdb2-55 July 2018
Without exaggeration, this is a horrendous film. It's as if a 3rd grader had an idea that was about some science experiment with a mumbo jumbo describption about impacting minds. All you need is some really cool flashing images of horrible things, lights and weird stuff to add to the mood as if they would have any impact on the purpose of the experiment. Then draw it out for 90+ minutes. The ending... laughable and painful in its awkward amateurism. It's just par for the course.

Seeing Christina Ricci's name was a surprise. John Cusack has been associated with D films over the past several years and this is no exception. I have no idea who has been helping him select his projects but this is yet another to add to the "what were they thinking" pile.

PS - I don't think they did too much research on the true nature of psychological problems. It would have helped a great deal if they had.
30 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
high tech glitches
ferguson-621 June 2018
Greetings again from the darkness. Being startled awake by a nightmare is disconcerting for all of us. When that dream is strobe-like with flashes to a personal tragedy, the horrifying images carryover into daily life, impacting one's mental stability. Such is the new-norm for Lauren (played by Christina Ricci) as she attempts to recover from a disaster of which we are only provided glimpses and hints until later in the film (although it's pretty obvious). Lauren admits to being scared to rejoin the world - she hasn't even been able to resume putting her art on canvas.

Director Rob W King (HUNGRY HILLS, 2009) teams with writer Arne Olsen (whose work in the 1990's included COP AND A ½, RED SCORPION, MIGHTY MORPHIN POWER RANGERS: THE MOVIE) in an attempt to deliver a high-tech psychological thriller ... a sub-genre that has yet to be successfully conquered, cinematically speaking. Lauren and her husband, played by Brendan Fletcher, decide the best move for her sanity and their marriage is to move from the city to the suburbs. They choose The Pinnacle, a luxury condo with ultra high-tech and modern amenities so extreme it's known as "the smart building".

Typically having a building be the villain doesn't work out so well from a story-telling perspective, so of course, paranoia and conspiracy theories are dwelled upon. An obvious choice of the "Beautiful Dreamer" song is repeatedly slipped into scenes to cause Lauren further queasiness. As she becomes increasingly suspicious, and convinced evil is afoot, she crosses paths with a mysterious dark web figure played by John Cusack - a character so predictable that he whispers in conversations, wears a black hoodie, and works in a secret computer lair. As others try to convince Lauren her medications for depression are either too much or too little, Cusack feeds her the age old line ... you aren't paranoid if they are watching you.

Christina Ricci has been acting since she was 10 years old, and here she performs admirably in a film that, bottom line, doesn't deliver. The movie has the vibe of a cheesy TV show, kind of a rip-off of "Westworld" or "I, Robot", though it does tease us with the possibilities of electronic hypnosis and manipulation through subliminal images. Our ever-increasingly digital world, and the dangers that come with such power, are a real world problem that, for whatever reason, just hasn't transferred well to the big screen yet.
44 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
It's a terrible shame
jerote-559493 July 2018
Really sad to see Christina Ricci and John Cusack in such a terrible movie. Acting is too awkward. CGI (if it can be called that) is the lousiest I have ever seen. Editing was terrible. Continuity was pauper. Not really sure how this even got to be 6.8. I'm giving it 2/10 because I like Christina an John. The rest is a NO-NO
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Dull and Uninspired
garrity9923 June 2018
Even though Distorted runs for less than 90 minutes, it succeeds in sending the audience to sleep in the first half hour. The premise sounds promising but the delivery is completely uninspiring with dull characters and plotting. Do not waste your time with this drivel - it's title lives up to it's name.
32 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Feels like a bad TV movie..
seenbeing-167-98349528 June 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Alright, alright, alright.. why am I disappointed? This movie is weak. Character development - none. Fear inducing picture - none I feel sick as to the flashy images - check. Ricci's movie husband meehhh Plot execution meehhh I didn't care for anyone - check What is the problem.. it's slow not good slow, in their minds safe slow.. terribly nothing intriguing is happening slow. Cusack sweet zombies. Egg shell walk of a movie. Almost as a private footage of a real movie. Feels like a tribute to something. Camera meehhh.. Her husband's character still annoys me. And most importantly what a put off for me is a short duration (under 90 minutes).. Ok, you see where I'm going, late for work. Bye.
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Looked Promising Failed to Deliver
hevverreeg-331-39249327 October 2018
The description looked intriguing but it didn't live up to the expectation. I was mostly bored and the story wasn't interesting. It started slow and didn't explain things like why everyone scratched their neck or the significance of "Beautiful Dreamer" playing a lot.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
It's just boring
dana_ciurtean14 July 2018
The movie's idea sounded interesting, rating was good, so I thought about giving it a chance. I was luterally scrolling to imdb new movie list trying to find something else to watch while watching this. It's just boring, slow action, not interesting enough intrigue. Waste of time!
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Poorly Executed
dwangu20 August 2018
What an absolute waste of airtime. This movie was executed as though it was a high school film project. The premise was great but the execution was dismal. Don't get me started on the annoying image flashing and light flickering, that technique is so old and really doesn't add anything except increase my anger and annoyance at this already bad film.

I haven't seen Christina Ricci in a while so perhaps that's why she took this role, John Cussack on the other hand needs to pay anyone he can to have all traces of this film removed from existence to protect his legacy.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Terrible
sherry-anne-morrison26 July 2018
Well, that was a waste of my time. Ricci can do better.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
WORST MOVIE OF ALL TIME
MihirDaDude15 July 2018
This is the first review I'm writing after over 5 years on imdb. Just so that I can save mankind from watching this abysmal movie. This movie is an absolute waste of time
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Stupid
gardenlane-836-66971710 July 2018
Absolutely nothing in this movie is interesting or realistic. Very disappointed in John Cisak. He is usually a sign of a good film.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
So bad...
ckmotorka14 January 2019
I can't believe I watched the whole thing. Awful acting, ridiculous story line, pointless. They don't even bother to the tie up loose ends with poor John Cusack's character. The end was one of many "whatever" moments. Don't waste your time.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Overrated. Don't watch!
sepetcenk10 July 2018
Don't look at the trailer or poster of this film. You may recognize the actors and wanna watch the film. Don't. IMDB rating is fake because nobody gives more than 5 star to this.
14 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
complete pain
aidanmitchell-184132 August 2018
This is one of the worst movies if have ever had the displeasure to ever lay my eyes upon. everything in this film ultimately fails in every department. The acting is god-awful most of the actors barely emote and are completely stone faced throughout. the set pieces (its almost a joke to call them that), its basically two rooms and the rest is a terrible green-screen. costume design is laughable John Cusack looks like and escaped convict with his 14 year old edge-lord hoodie. the plot makes no sense and there is so many plot holes it would make Swiss cheese blush. The outcome of it all is an ending that will leave you so dumbfounded that you will begin to pull out your own hair, as you're trying to figure out what the hell you just laid witness to. the movie from begining to end is boredum incarnate as the plot goes nowhere and so do the characters. the shot composition is abismal as well, shots that almost rival samurai cop but with just a more expensive camera. The only reason this has a 1 out of 10 is because you dont get the option to give a fat 0 for a film. Clear example for movie creators on what not to do when making a film. do not watch this garbage unless you're a msochist and you like to hurt yourself.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
B movie
Gordon-1120 July 2018
This film tells the story of a woman who is paranoid of her new home.

The film starts off mysterious and suspenseful, but as time goes on it becomes more unbelievable. The ending even becomes ridiculous and far fetched. The constant quick flashes of unnerving scenes got to me as well, and I often had to close my eyes for fear of taking in to much negativity. It is a sub-par B movie, and I feel sorry that Christina Ricci is in it.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Good story idea poorly executed
gav_c4 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The idea behind the conspiracy of subliminal messages is good, but unfortunately the errors, weak acting and just how they they made what could of been a good story outright boring is what let this movie down.

The movie lost me when they was looking at the new pinnacle apartment and Russell said to Lauren 'what do you think to the place?' And she replies 'no one deserve to live like this'. I'm like hello have you seen the house currently live in.

Only watch if you are truly fed up.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed