My Mother and Other Strangers (TV Series 2016– ) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
16 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
When love comes along
KathleenK2221 February 2017
This is a lovely, thoughtful story. It is about a family in Ireland during the Second World War who have to contend with an American air base being set up adjacent to their quiet little village. The mother is the main focus of the story who is married to a simple but good man but she yearns for more. An American soldier who is in charge of maintaining a good relationship with the village lights a fire within her. The other characters such as her daughter add to the tale with her wakening to love and all it entails. The son is the narrator looking back across the years and told through the eyes of a child. As can be guessed the main theme is love with all its complications. There are other colourful characters like the townsfolk who struggle to deal with the American presence. The ending suggests there is more to come as we still need answers for the husband and the pub and the mother and the American.
37 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The heart wants what it wants.
fastnicolasklin2 February 2018
To begin with the scenery is beautiful. I love being able to feel like I am part of the community there. Until this movie I didn't have any idea about Ireland and it's part in the Second World War. A somehow interesting plot with some good actors and a wonderful village in Ireland. Could have been better, could have been worse but in the end you won't regret it.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Story & character development fell off abruptly....but still hoping for more
katrenco20 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Another show I happened upon by accident when channel surfing and was, rather inexplicably, immediately drawn into. While I looked forward to each episode and am hoping for more, the show is rather shallow in ways that make is also somewhat unbelievable. The show does a good job at first with introducing and developing the characters, then suddenly takes a gigantic leap, into the abyss, leaving its viewers wondering, "Huh??? How'd we get from there to here?" A woman, introduced as conservative, level-headed, intelligent, responsible, solid, in a long-term marriage, with 3 children, goes from mildly attracted to another man, from growing interest to innocent flirtation to outwardly proclaiming her love for what amounts to a stranger, a member of the military from another country, ready to throw her family and life aside for a man she's basically spent zero time with and had only casual conversations. Still, even with its head-scratching gaps in story development, I keep searching for information on whether or not the show will be back, very much hoping there's more to come, knowing I'll be sorely disappointed if there isn't.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Mysteries of Love
Delibero26 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
10 ********** rating. SUPER SPOILER ALERT 2 I understand Suzy Gallup's reasonable opinion about not wanting her daughter to watch the antics of a potentially adulterous couple but this compelling relationship between "Ron and Rose" is not about a one night stand for physical pleasure etc. and their passionate affair has not yet been "consummated." Each of the main characters is satisfying the pent up emotional and depressed needs of the other. Barry Devlin is a brilliant writer and the follow up to the passionate kiss on the road has not yet been aired. Hopefully, for all concerned wisdom, experience and love of family will prevail over the irresistible passion of fanciful love.

Teenagers should watch this show and the subject should be discussed if they are willing to do so of course. Our kids know that adults and parents are not perfect but they might not know that falling in love is not always expected or avoidable. Married people that wish to remain loyal to their spouse and family need to be keenly aware of the possibility and know when to stop interacting with a co-worker, a neighbor, a "liaison officer or married woman" etc when the unexpected attraction becomes more than the usual friendly banter. If it does, it is difficult to stop because it is exciting and emotionally gratifying to continue. As Rose said,(paraphrased) "I tried to tell myself that not seeing you was for the best." The Captain replied, "It was for the best." Their virtuous, rational sides know it is wrong but they failed to stop their interactions earlier when it would have still been hard to do so but easier than later. The outcome hinges on which love will prevail over the other. Rose's love for Michael and her kids or for the fanciful "Yankee Heathcliff."

In a world with an overabundance of hate and violence, it is bizarre to me that loving another person can also be so destructive and life altering. It is a subject worthy of a family discussion as are many other elements and story lines in this brilliant series in Moybeg. (ie. The fabulous Hattie Morahan should win an Oscar and Vera's story starting before she was married would be a great Fiona Button series by itself. 2 great actresses at their very best)
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Could be a 1. Could be a 9
ekath9 August 2017
I love everything about this series... except the conclusion. I sympathize with the main character, but it is not only particularly sad but also not completely believable that she'd leave her husband in such a way- which would also be leaving her children. Adultery ruined the whole plot line because the parallels that were beautifully wrought throughout the series are destroyed and the supposed strength of character that was at her core was undermined.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Beautiful cinematography, but main story is about adultery
suzygallup31 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This movie got really great reviews on Amazon and is rated PG, so I thought it would be pretty wholesome to watch with my 16 year old daughter. I was very disappointed to find that the core of the story is about two married people that apparently fall in love. This is just not what I like to see. It made me feel bad to watch a woman make choices that would devastate her good husband and children. I hated the thought of her hurting them all. I once saw "Bridges of Madison County" and also disliked it very much. If you like stories of adultery, then you might like this. Everything else about it is gorgeous. The acting, the scenery, the costumes, and everything are high standards. Just not the story! So disappointing because I LOVE Hattie Morahan as Elinor in Sense and Sensibility.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Yanks
Prismark1012 December 2016
This five part drama set during the second world war in rural Ireland follows the fortune of the Coyne family after a US air force base has been set up nearby.

Narrated by the grown up son, Francis, the focus is on Rose Coyne the displaced Englishwoman, A loyal wife, mother of three children who has left a glamorous and educated world behind to be in Ireland with her husband Michael who runs a pub. Michael might run a few scams but he is a decent man and but the dullness she feels in her life hits home when she encounters the thoughtful and educated US air base liaison officer Captain Ronald Dreyfus.

At first they have casual chit chats, the Americans are seen as being brash and their presence in the village meets with resentment from the locals and it is Captain's Dreyfus's job to smooth things over. Over time both feel passion for each other which they try to keep in check as both are married.

This is a nice twee drama, not very original and rather predictable. The final episode hints that there is more to come, I think the story should had stopped at the fifth episode.
17 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
It Shouldn't Work, But It Does
frt-9813530 September 2018
I found this programming surprising and even shocking. The shock is that, alone among British TV productions, it actually casts Americans in a good light. Let's face it, British BBC TV is virulently anti-American. The left-wingers control BBC just like they control CBC, PBS, etc. I've already given up watching many of the most egregious anti-American shows, like Foyle, and grit my teeth while watching others. No worries with My Mother and Other Strangers. The Americans are shown as friendly, courteous and helpful while villagers are often mean-spirited, stupid, and dishonest. They whine and complain about the American airmen who are risking their lives to preserve Moybeg's way of life and very existence. Astoundingly the show even has an American actor playing an American instead of the usual Brit with a bad accent. (Unfortunately, they cancel this out with Kate Phillips and her absolutely horrible accent. I guess two Americans in one show is too much for them). Still, what a breath of fresh air. Of course, this is not a typical British production. It is Northern Irish, not English, and the writer is 70 years, so he has more perspective on history.

Surprisingly, the program is also an engaging drama despite its soap opera elements (including Poldark style music). Syd Field, author of the classic screen writing book, sagely observed that scenes are never good or bad; they either work or don't work. This program shouldn't work but it does. The tone, mood and pace are seductive and Hattie Morahan is just great as a earth mother woman of hidden strength and toughness. She's Mrs. Miniver who isn't afraid to threaten to shoot someone. It also succeeds in the most basic, yet difficult aspect of drama by making you believe that you are watching another time and place that actually existed. Granted, the plot has some glaring discontinuities that leave you thinking, "where did that come from?", but adult TV is so rare that it is easy to forgive.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Didn't care for this series
aujouret-0373710 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The first four episodes were fine. I was enjoying the story well enough. But by the final episode I did not like the main two characters at all. I have discovered that if that happens, I'm done. The main character Rose's husband, Michael, is going to lose the family pub and is trying to talk to his wife about this. His wife runs out of the house into the arms of the married American Captain that she has a crush on. The husband, Michael has just given her an engagement ring as he never could afford it when they were young. Rose has a teenager and two younger kiddies. The American Captain has a mentally ill wife who has just tried to commit suicide. That is the end of the story. What is the point? Love can not be denied? Love is more important than anything or anyone else? I just ended up feeling bad for the kiddies, the Captain's wife and Michael. Rose and the Captain are making bad karma in my book.
9 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Watched it last time around
debkamaine22 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Oh no -here it comes again on PBS-darn. Sunday nights are a good night for shows, but they're giving us this again. I didn't like it and agree with comments about the actress' bug eyes, they bothered me the first time. She always looks in shock. I've seen her before and liked her, but this overuse of a facial expression she does was too much. No, I don't want to see a married woman who thinks she's too good for her husband fall in love and leave (if my memory is correct) her family. I don't want to watch it again, it was difficult the first time. You watch hoping that a family won't be broken up. This is narrated by the son as if it were fond memories --strange. Why not title it, "My Mother's Affair?" I don't know about other strangers.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
This is set in Northern Ireland
kjvelpan25 March 2019
Correction to Chrissos above. This is set in northern Ireland part of the UK and therefore at war.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Beautiful Images of Airplane and Ireland
zolazona17 July 2017
However, the story was leaden with its pacing and I had difficulty staying interested in the story. Maybe it is because after I got it in my head that the lead actress had too many tics with her popping eyes and mouth twisting that it became too distracting. But that is my problem, not hers.
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Worst Of Masterpiece and Oh Those Bulging Eyes!
chrissso28 December 2018
The only thing good about this 5 X 60 mini-series is the typical production values we find in modern BBC Masterpiece productions. This looks and feels like Northern Ireland in the 40's during WW2 and that is commendable. Beyond that everything else is downright horrid! Seriously, the story is remarkably weak in historical context ... especially when you consider it's unique and intriguing setting (Ireland was neutral during WW2).

Worst of all ... the lead character ... the bug-eyed Rose Coyne ... as played by Hattie Marahan. Dear God, did Marahan over act the part (watch for the non-stop bulging eyes and you will know what I mean ... she acts as if everything is horrifying). This is honestly one of the worst performances I have seen on Masterpiece and I couldn't help but wonder why the director did not intervene???

Sadly, it is nothing more than a silly soap opera ... that features a lot of bad acting & directing & writing ... and it's easy to understand why a season 2 never occurred. Twas a merciful "cutting of bait."

3 of 10 stars in respect of the production values
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
6 Stars, but could have been more
lawnmorgan23 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This well acted, beautifully written series was well on its way toward an 8 or 9 star rating from me. For 4.75 episodes it was going well, and then it drove off a cliff. That last .25 took it down to a 6.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Lead Actress
karlakutsch16 May 2018
In response to zolazona, glad I was not the only one who noticed her eyes popping, mouth and facial tics as they were distracting. Will have to watch check out something else she has been in to see if this is the norm or just this series. And yes, a rather abrupt ending so if there is no more it is up to our imagination.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Dreyfuss in New Canaan - I don't think so
seggerman30 July 2017
Most of the Connecticut suburbs northwest of New York City up until nearly the end of the 20th century were operating under what was referred to as a gentleman's agreement. Jewish families were kept from moving into certain towns - New Canaan being the WORST of these. No way would a family names Dreyfuss (Jewish, or Jewish sounding) would be shown houses in New Canaan at that time. He would either live in a nearby city, like Stamford, home to one Lieberman family, whose son should have been vice President, or Westport, which alone among its neighbors allowed Jews to live there.
2 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed