The Windsors (TV Series 2016– ) Poster

(2016– )

User Reviews

Review this title
49 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
AS A MONARCHIST, I LOVE IT!!!
agrippaalexander29 December 2017
Truly hysterical, well written and beautifully acted. The writers have simply exaggerated what we already suspect: Camilla is a scheming bitch; Charles is a Dumb, Aristocratic Hippy; Pippa is a crazed Social Climber; William is Nice, Well-meaning but ineffectual; Harry is thick as a brick but a lovely person who needs mothering; Beatrice and Eugenie are desperate for cash but bad at EVERYTHING: Sarah Ferguson is desperate to get back in favour; Andrew is after £££ and Totty; Edward is utterly useless and will clean windows for cash! I'm a fervent Monarchist, but we Brits have a sense of humour -- especially about OURSELVES. The programme is great fun and totally harmless. I bet the younger Royals think it's great and the older Royals will never see it. I'm just disappointed there are only 12 episodes!!!
35 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Stick with it . . . Hilarious!
diedgecombe17 May 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Hilarious! An irreverent look at the royals with many familiar tropes. Charles and the 3 degrees, Edward and his thespian longings, and . . . Even more, Who knew that Kate was a traveler! Harry Enfield is wonderful as Charles, Hayden Gwyne makes a great Camilla and pippa is dastardly. Looking forward to more and future developments. . . I.e. Will fergie reunite with Andrew, will Edward get a real job, will pippa get it on with Harry, and who will succeed the monarchy? It's almost like game of thrones but without the violence, sex, and so far, no red weddings. However, there is still time for murder and mayhem and I'm sure the delightful Beatrice and Eugenie will instigate plenty of chaos and disaster.
38 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fun spoof on tabloids
neilandjo-120-34258712 June 2016
The charming comedic performances of so many of the cast makes The Windsors great fun, particularly Hugh Skinner as Wills. He is ably supported by Louise Ford's Kate, Harry Enfield's Charles, Haydn Gwynn's manipulative and dangerous Camilla, Katy Wix as Fergie and Matthew Cottle as Edward.

The writers take the tabloid profile of the royals and twist it further. (Camilla is obsessed by continuing her own bloodline, Wills thinks republics are fairer than monarchies; Harry is a sex-obsessed illiterate fool; and Kate and Pippa are gypsies, with scheming Pippa willing to seduce anyone in order to get what she wants - often Harry.)

Not deep, not probing, but funny and different. Worth a try at least.
22 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Horribly offensive, I loved every minute
Zerbey18 May 2018
Not since Spitting Image have we had a show the pokes fun at the Royal Family and British Government with such sharp wit and excellent satire. It's about time. Yes, it's incredibly offensive and disrespectful, but that's the whole point. I'm a proud monarchist myself, but the whole thing is so completely ludicrous and over the top it's impossible to not laugh out loud.

So nice to see Harry Enfield back at the top of his game, he's been sadly missed in comedic roles over the last couple of decades it seems (anyone remember Harry Enfield and Chums?). His larger than life portrayal of Prince Charles is nothing short of genius.Vicki Pepperdine as Princess Anne is another highlight, as is Kathryn Drysdale's re-imagining of Meghan Markle.
19 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great fun.
mxyzr6 July 2017
This is typical British humour at it's best. Great cast who deliver the excellent scripts with a straight face (and stiff upper lip.) I've just watched the first episode of season two and it's even funnier than the first series. The fact that we laugh at things like this is probably the reason that the monarchy survives in this country more's the pity.
29 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Loved it!
Michellemybell121 January 2018
It's been a long time since I've laughed as loud and as often as I did at this show. The caricatures of the royals were spot on, taking their foibles (as we all have) and stretching them into comic gold. It got to the point that all Fergie and her girls would have to do is appear on the screen, and I would laugh, knowing I would have a good time. The show is not perfect, but there's enough good stuff that I could coast through the parts that weren't, knowing a clever/funny scene was around the bend.

ERII, Prince Phillip, and the Cambridge kids' characters didn't appear on screen, but Phillip's curmudgeonly ways were represented in other ways, to great comic effect.
14 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Irreverant and closer to the truth than palace press releases?
guyau-399-6837223 December 2017
This show is hilarious and a great foil to the palace press barrage that the media regurgitates mindlessly, summed up beautifully by my favourite line of the series from Will (or is it Harry, they all sound the same to me): "I love riding around on bicycles, wearing chinos and jumpers, and pretending to be like ordinary people."

This is a merciless portrayal of the royals as a bunch of airheads, albeit mostly good-natured,but when your only real talent is being born (or marrying) into the right family, perhaps it's not that far off the mark. I'd like to say this is political satire at its best, skewering an anachronism that only undermines modern democracy, but really it's just making fun of a musty institution and its all-too-public characters. The impersonations are spot on and the irreverence is delicious.
12 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious
mcerceo7 September 2018
I am just beginning my rewatching of the entire series for the fourth time. Yes I run a full time business but this is my go-to entertainment staple to laugh and relax after a 16 hour stressful work day.
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant social satire
andrew4930 April 2018
Thought i had to write for the first time as the top user review was very negative for me to read and i think not representative of the british zeitgeist at all..reality tv has nothing on this programme..one step up from spitting image (which was very well observed and constantly amusing) the satire and amazing character observations are so spot on and humorous..who doesn't love the music and appearance of gold digger pippa, gypsy kates back story is inspired,and poor fergie so sympathetic and maligned by the the system..who could fail to be swept up by the portrayal of Camilla ..the machinations are very credible and laugh out loud.. it taps into the humour and psyche of british people.. amused by the foibles of the royals whether they support them or not and is definitely a spoof comedy with realism ..who could want anything more entertaining (but do some research first for full effect lol) still hoping for the next series meghan markle here we come!
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious
hassan_isdead17 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Great cast, great jokes and takes the p!ss (rightfully) at our antiquated system. The cast is amazing, and I especially love Edward and Fergie. but they're all hilarious.

The story gets a little wild but it has great dialogue and plenty of gags for repeat viewing.

You need to stick with it and fully watch it on All 4.

Can we have a real life referendum?!

10/10 Bring on series 2 please.

Hopefully we'll see the Queen and her foul mouthed husband in it!

Can we have a real life referendum?!

10/10 Bring on series 2 please.

Hopefully we'll see the Queen and her foul mouthed husband in it!
15 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sooo funny!!!
kellysmith_122 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I found this show about a month ago on Netflix & have already watched both seasons twice! I absolutely love it and just wish there were more episodes!

The characters/actors all do so well, I love all of them.

Poor Wills & Kate always trying to do "good" & act like "normal" people, Camilla constantly trying to take Kate down, Pippa trying to beat Kate in the social ladder, poor Harry is just plain stupid! I love Fergie, Prince Edward, Eugenie & Beatrice, Princess Anne, Charles and can't forget "Grandad Phil's emails!"

There are so many laugh-out-loud moments and one-liners each episode, it's so funny & clever.

There has been Royal news on tv this week since Harry & Megan are currently in Sydney, but I have no idea who those people are, they don't look like the Harry & Megan in this show and they are the ones I know!

Do yourself a favour and check this Show out!
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Fun
mwoodward-0178323 January 2018
My wife and I love this series, our favourite character is Princess Ann, she reminds me of Mrs Danvers in 'Rebecca' - we love her insistence that all things "must be incinerated!"
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Blasting Satires in every Breath
geomariageorge8 October 2018
Loved it through and through. Ended up binge watching. This was one of the best comedy satires I watched in a long time. Acting, direction, production were all 5/5!
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Windsors, like you have never seen before!
bettycjung30 December 2017
12/30/17. What a hoot! I loved it. This is the perfect parody about the royal family, and royal watchers would definitely enjoy it. Great writing and decent cast and good acting make this a must-see. Can't wait for additional episodes!
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Hilarious!
Kingslaay7 February 2018
This show is simply hilarious and in many ways quite well done. It never goes overboard and the jokes in some cases are not too stretched. The Royal Family is portrayed for what it is and the value it adds. The freeloading, excessive behavior and spending and absolute ignorance is funnily portrayed. While the Queen herself has led a dignified life those who surrounded her and came after her have lived anything but a dignified life.

It is great fun and a good laugh to poke fun at the Royal family but at the same time being somewhat factual and not overdoing it.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
'Carry On Reigning'
ianlouisiana23 February 2020
Warning: Spoilers
How Babs(nudge,nudge,),Sid,Kenny and the gang would have loved this as our social superiors are brought down to the level of an old - time seaside postcard (with extra swearing ) rooting around in the trough with the rest of us. One has the feeling that most of the Royals have no sense of humour(Their great grandparents liked the Crazy gang for God's sake). Here Andrew is a rutting boor,Charles a barely functioning idiot and Edward a simpering inadequate whilst Anne is a psychopathic misanthrope. Which is obviously an appalling libel. On boors,idiots,inadequates and misanthropes. Apart from BBC's'Question Time' this is the funniest show currently on TV.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Monarchy for what it is
bartholomewandersen10 October 2016
A hilarious reenactment of regal everyday life, mostly minor royals and their adventures in a world dominated by those who don't inherit splendour given by God, inshallah. You will be able to laugh at Harry, Camilla, Charles, Will, Kate and other British unelected representatives roaming in the UK before the Brits got their country back in June, expelling all of them. Oh, wait... Be ready for a serious dose of witty dark humour. Don't show it to your monarchist friends: they'll have you beheaded :) Kim Dzong Elisabeth forever :) Once seen, you'll crave the second season, which will be aired in 2017. Allah bless the Queen!
18 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hysterical!
clelekis-2627615 July 2018
Me & my husband are Americans and we love following anything Royal - it's a guilty pleasure - and we find this show absolutely hysterical, the writers and actors in this show are spot on with their satire. I hope this show makes another season, in fact it should be more well-known than it is because even if you don't have interest in the royals it's still hysterical and the characters are funny enough by themselves whether or not you are aware of who they are portraying (although obviously much funnier if you know all the royals). So witty and funny I truly hope season three will happen!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funniest British Comedy in years
dubwize17 January 2018
UK TV has been lacking in many regards. Not Since the 70's series of comedies have we ever seen such raw honest TV humour of this kind. The Windsors delivers clever secrets as comedy and delivers it on cue.

Hilarious stuff that never gets old. Contains so many truth GEMS amidst the comedy that most will "not get it". Those in the "know" will laugh their ass off.

I rarely vote anything a 10 out of ten.... but this is one of them. Check out The Windsors, the characters are more like the originals, it seems these are the real ROYALS... Love this series and can't wait for more...
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
It's bound to offend many, though it is quite funny!
MartinHafer18 December 2017
As an American, I have no idea how this series was embraced in the UK...but I would imagine that MANY folks were offended by it. After all, the show pretty much makes the British royals look like complete idiots...at best!

The show highlights the private lives of the royal family--specifically SOME members of the royal family. While Elizabeth and Philip are barely seen, the show has so far focused mostly on Charles, Camilla, Harry and WIlliam. In this crazy re-imagining of them, Charles is a complete idiot, Camilla is essentially Cruella de Ville, Harry is dumber than a stump and William is very nice...but dim. As I said, it is sure to offend many people who actually like and revere the royals.

Overall, my feeling is that you can't make a decision about this show until you've seen a few episodes. The first is a bit slow...and they got weirder and sillier later (particularly in the second season)...and as a result are a lot more fun. Provided you have thick skin and a lot of the weird, you should like this show.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Brilliantly acted comedy
ksdilauri24 February 2020
Being a fan of "irreverent" humor, I fell in love with this series and had to buy the dvd package. The overall score just loses a point due to occasional unnecessary f-bombs-which are diluting the quality of screenwriting in general. That aside, the otherwise-clever writing and brilliant cast performances raise this comedy above average. (Haydn Gwynne is a Camilla for the ages, and is perfectly paired with Harry Enfield.)
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Watch it for Harry Enfield!
the_headspace3 December 2019
Harry Enfield's Charles is pure comic genius, one of the funniest things I've ever seen on TV.

Every word, facial expression and reaction shot is comic perfection.

Every one of the actors is brilliant, though Enfield is a tour de force.

I'm not sure if non-Brits will get it, but this really is spot on!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Watch as an American, Laugh like the British just dont mess your pants like the scotts
MajBlade231 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
OF if your American the first rule of watching this show like a lot of British shows is listen closely to the dialogue since there is no laugh track or pauses like in a lot of american sit coms you can miss the best jokes. To watch this just pretend your watching Days of our Lives or General Hospital. Basically this is a set up of the royal family as a soap opera. Over the top story lines. The scheming wife the nutty son the innocent young marrieds. Oh yes Princess Ann by far the best. Saw her recently standing next to Megan with their toddler child who was acting up -the look on her face just made me ROFL because it was so much like on the Windsors. Now some jokes because this is very up to date on culture in Britain flew over my head. I had to look up the names of a couple people and a couple incidents , but most of it was easy enough to understand the humor. Its a mix of British sitcom and out right British craziness a la Monty Python/young ones Watching prince Charles face go beet red anyone talks about skipping over him for William (wills) is best part of my day
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Hilarious!
LeaDot1 December 2018
Not sure about some of the bad reviews. Lighten up and enjoy, don't take it too seriously.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Laugh out loud funny
adlion9425 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Few shows can actually elicit belly laughs. This is one of them. And for that simple reason, all other things aside, it succeeds at its primary task. It's seems to have borrowed quite a bit from Arrested Development, both in style, dialogue and storyflow. That is a fave of mine, so it's a delight to see the same quality of writing here in this show.

As an American, with a keen interest in British history and culture, I love this show. There are moments of raw anti-royal satire (such as when a character has an in-story revelation of how useless he/she really is). It took some online research to figure out who some of these real-life people are, and to which generation each springs. Not that true life matters to this absurdly fantastical show. Kate M is a gypsy while Camilla is a supervillain. I'll admit to never having heard of Pippa, Eugenie or Beatrice. I'm fairly certain there's a great deal of humor in the posh accents, as well. Though that will be obvious to natives of the UK. Simpy put, the way the characters speak is part of the hilarity.

99.99% of Americans will miss the pop culture references. A chip butty? Royal Knockdown? Also, references to English TV personalities are lost on Americans. Frankly, it helps to watch with subtitles. Between the accents, references and curious English expressions, an American will miss 25% of the jokes. Harry's illiteracy in the show is truly funny.

One thing all Americans have quite a lot of familiarity with is Trump. I was disappointed that The Windsors went easy on him. In real life, Trump is dumber than even your most dimwitted royal. But alas, the show simply made him out to be obnoxious and impotent. See Alec Baldwin for the ultimate impression of Trump on American TV.

Brilliant performances, inspired casting and snappy writing. This show has it all. Apparently, William and Kate actually enjoy watching it. But I doubt the real Charles would enjoy the parody. Cheers to The Windsors. A great watch.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed