A Silent Voice (2016) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
113 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
This movie isn't a romance. It is a drama about depression.
rti9-929-58031 June 2017
Despite revolving around a girl who has impaired hearing, the film has as protagonist Shoya Ishida. He is a bully during his childhood, but when he becomes the victim of bullying himself he grows into a depressive teenager who loathes himself. He starts to understand Nishimiya's solitary world. Both Ishida and Nishimiya end up becoming teenagers who deeply despise themselves for all the burden they cause to their families and how painfully difficult it is to try to make friends.

An interesting scene happens when a girl confesses her love to Ishida and he is unable to comprehend what is happening. Some people might say he is too dense to misunderstand what she is clearly doing, but what I see is Ishida hates himself so much he doesn't believe anyone can love him. The concept of a person actually liking him is so alien it doesn't even comes as a possibility in his head.

Another interesting scene is when Ishida is leisurely walking and talking with some people and he asks himself if that is really OK. In his head, he has no right of being happy after everything he has done and caused. Despite trying his hardest to redeem himself, he still thinks he is worthless and unforgivable.

Don't go into this movie expecting a romance. It is a redemption story.
142 out of 150 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The consequences of bullying
TheLittleSongbird23 November 2017
Have always been a big fan of anime, particularly Studio Ghibli and Miyazaki without restricting myself to just them (some of my favourites are actually without either involved).

Any film dealing with bullying and its consequences deserves to be applauded for the effort. Bullying, often stemming from something that should be a non-issue but turns out to be an easy target for bullies (for examples if your parents disallow you to play a popular video game for obvious reasons, if you have a posh accent, if you listen to and perform classical music, if you have a physical or social disability, false rumours spread about you, if you were a hard-worker rather than somebody who messed about and disrespected substitute teachers) is something that is very much relevant still and has damaging effects, it is an issue that needs to be addressed and acted upon much more than it is. This is coming from somebody who suffered merciless bullying myself in school, for all the above reasons apart from the first (in my case my school did nothing about it too), and nearly a decade on it has damaged my confidence/self-esteem, made me feel worthless and made my already bad anxiety worse despite getting a degree in music and singing regularly.

So as one can probably tell, 'A Silent Voice' really resonated with me on an emotional level. At the same time, it also really made me think and see that there is much more to the issue, the bully, the witnesses and the victim than one would tend to perceive. 'A Silent Voice' also turned out to be a very good film in its own right. It isn't flawless, some of the supporting characters are under-explored and in a few cases inconsistently and one-dimensionally written and some of the story jumps around and doesn't always feel complete.

Despite being over two hours, didn't think it was too long considering the number of characters and their stories. If anything, perhaps 'A Silent Voice' would have been even better as a series which would have solved the problems.

On the other hand, 'A Silent Voice' has an awful amount to recommend. Great isn't a strong enough word to describe the animation. Rich in meticulous background and character detail, atmospheric and ethereal in colour schemes and alive to nuances in its use of settings and character gestures and expressions, it becomes a character of its own and there are some memorable images throughout like towards the end. The music has whimsy, haunting beauty and understatement, while not overbearing the drama and letting it speak when needed. The song is catchy.

The writing is thought-provoking and contemplative, doing it in a way that will make bullying victims and those who bullied alike identify with what is said. A lot of it is remarkably insightful, and even when the film was really resonating with me it taught me a lot about an issue that isn't as black and white as perceived. The story has its issues but has a strong emotional core, with the truly powerful and touching ending leaving me shell-shocked.

Not often does one find themselves rooting for a bully as well as the victim, 'A Silent Voice' is one of those rarities. The voice acting is dynamic.

In summary, not perfect but very well done. 8/10 Bethany Cox
54 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The silent beauty of a Silent Voice.
lukesaner26 January 2018
A Silent Voice is an emotional and beautiful movie that almost anyone can relate to in some shape or form.

The story is both heart wrenching and heartwarming, as it tackles many issues such as bullying, social anxiety, depression, and suicide. Many of the characters deal with some or all of these issues. The issues the characters deal with in the past ultimately lead them into becoming what they are in the present movie.

There are many characters in a Silent Voice with some shining more than others. Shoya is a great main protagonist who (unlike most movies) is battling something much bigger in his life, his past self. The other main character Shoko is outstanding. You can really genuinely feel all her emotions just through her facial animations alone. Other notable characters I enjoyed were Shoya's best friend Tomohiro (who brought a nice comedic presence to the film) and Shoko's little sister Yuzuru. My only problem with a Silent Voice is with a couple of side characters who show up once and a while, but don't really contribute as much to the film - this is only a small nitpick though.

The majority of the music in a Silent Voice is played only by piano making the film take a more somber tone. This makes a lot of scenes feel more peaceful and calm contradicting what many of the characters feel deep down inside. The song titled "Lit" is a beautiful piano piece that I believe would make anyone emotional, when listening to it. So I enjoyed a lot of music in a Silent Voice with a couple of songs that really stood out.

The animation in this movie is absolutely gorgeous. There's a firework scene that is beautiful, it definitely is the animation highlight in this film...it's breathtaking.

In conclusion, I absolutely love this film. Everything feels so genuine and the characters feel so real. It really feels like there was a lot of love and care put into this movie and it definitely shows. This movie made me cry and I can almost assure you that it will do the same to you. Final rating 9.510
16 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Masterpiece
alecnia22 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
To begin with, a friend of mine recommended me this movie. At first, I was skeptical about it because personally, I'm not a big fan of Anime type of movies but I decided to give it a go.

The movie is beautiful to look at. The movie is hand-drawn, and the outdoor settings and backdrops are breathtaking.

A Silent Voice is a film that had me hating throughout the first act, realizing I was wrong throughout the second act, and on the verge of tears throughout the third act, due to how well this movie does a complete 180. The story is powerful enough to have many in tears in the final sequences. Therefore, for me, "A Silent Voice" is a true piece of art.

This movie is definitely worth the time and the awards.
61 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I felt like crying for no reason..
D0M1N4T1NG1 December 2017
The visual storytelling is powerful and effective soundtrack, you don't even need to read the subtitles to know what the characters are saying. But I felt sad for that girl. There is a huge shock in this movie. How people change. How much a person can be loved. As a teenager I have much more things to learn. Probably If I'll have time I will watch it twice. Even I fall in love with ANIME after watched this.
26 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Masterpiece
minhazhimu8 April 2018
This is one of the best animated movies I ever watched.
41 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A healthy dose of drama that we never knew we needed.
solahuddeen20 May 2017
A Silent Voice or Shape of Voice is a beautiful drama film about a guy who struggles to redeem his past that tackles heavy themes such as bullying.

Apparently, there are a lot of characters in this 2-hour long film. And quite a number of them I believe didn't develop to the maximum as the film concludes but it was suffice enough to convey the message that the film desires to.

However, huge compliments should be given to this film for the amazing build up before reaching its climax which is realistically intense, powerful and heartfelt that will leave you on the edge of your seat with your jaws dropped. You might as well cry, too.

The only technical thing that I didn't like in this film is that some scenes have unusual tones that don't match well with their focuses (most probably because of cultural differences). It was really odd for me.

In a nutshell, I love this film for tackling heavy themes and also for its healthy dose of drama. I believe it might be better if it's made into a series. XD

Thank you for your time!
48 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Must Watch Movie!
vincentkatie16 June 2017
Another, fantastic, Brilliant work of art by Kyoto Animation alongside Trigger studio, MadHouse and of course Studio Ghibli and many more theses are the studios that lead the anime world, In my opinion. Koe no katachi or A silent voice is honestly one of my favorite anime alongside Spirited Away from the animation alone is brilliant, when I first saw the trailer I feel in love and knew it was going to be up there as one of my favorite but actually seeing, the story is well done, follows the Manga well, the Manga characters are explored a lot more in depth then the movie but the movie is like 2 hours 10 minutes long it would be difficult to add 7 volumes worth of content into that time frame but Kyoto Animations did the manga justice, I would recommend the Manga author/artist Oima Yoshitoki its a brilliant Manga I would beyond recommend the anime its doesn't matter what one you read/watch first the movie covers the main bulk of the manga. In my opinion one of the best movies, it has sensitive subject matters but deals with them with respect and such a beautiful message when you watch the films I would also recommend looking more into reviews and other views on it and theory's they really make you...Smile :)

Story. 10/10 As I said before sensitive subjects, well executed though.

Animation. 10/10 Its Kyoto Animations...I will leave it at that.

Music. 10/10 Yeah brilliant the opening was unexpected but not unwelcome, the tone change that happens after the opening was brilliant and the music throughout was fantastic.

Characters. 10/10 (As I said manga goes in more depth but the movie goes into the characters quite well you feel like you understand motives etc.) Also I bow to the voice actress of Nishimiya Shōko (Saori Hayami)just beautiful.

Enjoyment. 10/10 I'll be honest I cried, like four times but that is just me I get emotional with my anime but still didn't stop me loving this anime in fact I love it even more. listen I just cant get enough of this anime just. WELL DONE!
33 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Probably The Best Anime Film Of 2017
kjproulx16 October 2017
When it comes to anime, I don't find myself watching nearly enough in order to form a list of favourites, but even if I had watched everything under the moon, I still believe A Silent Voice would make the list. This is a spectacular film from start to finish. Keep in mind, this can be a very tough film to sit through for multiple reasons, and that is exactly what I'm going to dive into throughout this review, because I feel that a few precautions should be taken when going in. Here is why A Silent Voice deserves to be seen by everyone, even though it won't please everyone.

At its core, this film is about a new student that comes into a school, who just so happens to be hearing impaired. Ishida, the school bully, taunts her to the point of tears, for audiences as well. Without ruining the impact of certain scenes, I'll just say that his actions were quite Risqué. I found myself absolutely hating his character, which was very frustrating, due to the fact that the film asks you to sympathize with him on multiple occasions. After growing up and leaving his harsh ways in the past, these two characters reconnect, forming a highly unlikely bond. A Silent Voice asks for your acceptance almost too often, but trust me, if you're in the forgiving mood, this film turns out to be extremely powerful. So that's the warning I must give you, that if you're not ready to be forgiving of a terrible actions, I'd wait until you're in the right mood to watch this movie.

Throughout Ishida's transformation from a bully to a kind-hearted human being, it wasn't just the dialogue that impacted me, but the visuals surrounding him. Every time he would pass by other people that knew him, they had X's on their face. When this aspect comes into play a little later in the movie, I'd be lying if I said it didn't move me. From beginning to hate the film for displaying a very unlikable character, this story really does a great job at winning you over, especially through it's silent, visual storytelling in the background, foreground, and even anytime that it makes it blatantly obvious.

When a movie makes you wait for it to be really good, it can be a pretty frustrating experience, but I see something different when reflecting on this film. It's all about redemption and how forgiveness is everything when you truly want to become a better person that what you were in the past. Evil is all throughout everyone, but you're not supposed to act on it. This is one of the message that I feel the movie tries to convey and I believe it's a wonderful lesson to everyone. The themes presented throughout this film are taken very seriously, so I don't think it will appeal to a younger audience, but I think older teenagers will be the perfect demographic here, for the lesson it's giving.

In the end, A Silent Voice is a film that had me hating throughout the first act, realizing I was wrong throughout the second act, and on the verge of tears throughout the third act, due to how well this movie does a complete 180. With a powerful story, a final sequences that will have many in tears, and an overall film that is worthy of awards, I can't recommend this enough. That being said, I can't get myself to give this movie a perfect score, due to the fact that I think it took a little too long to win me over. I found myself disliking the movie throughout the majority of it, until my eventual realization, which is my one warning, so I feel I won't be alone on that. A Silent Voice is one of the best movies I've seen so far this year.
22 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Koe no Katachi short review
phanthinga15 May 2017
2017 is a good years for anime lovers around the world because after Kimi no na wa one of my favorite anime movie of all time we have a chance to witness Koe no katachi a anime that not only is the best example why we love anime but also can connects with each of us in a very personal level.Seriously i can't tell how many time my mouth open wide with pure shock and exited when some of the scene in the movie can relate so much to me and my life from just a little boy to a full adult today.The characters is very likable and very realistic from my view point when they deal with a lot of hardship in life that when from just a small decision to something that can literally change your personality and make your regret for the rest of your life.The anime also balance the comedy and drama very well so when a important scene happen you can easy follow and feel the same emotion of the characters.I bet after this anime anyone can learn a valuable lesson about life and can change to be a better version of yourself.Now had to read to manga right the way so you guys after read my review better buy a ticket and see this movie ASAP
29 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Masterpiece
Reckno6419 July 2019
I love this movie so much. It's one of the best animated movies I've ever seen period, I cried much more than I'd like to admit. And now it's even more sad after the tragic fire that claimed 33 lives last night at Kyoto Animation. I am still at a loss for words over it. My condolences and best wishes to the whole company and I am praying for a speedy recovery. Stay Strong KyoAni, we all love you. <3
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Sorry if this movie review is bad I did it for my English class
firestorm-296259 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
One of my favorite movies of all time is koe no Katachi which is a Japanese animated film. I love this essay because the animation is vibrant and beautiful , the characters are fun and loveable, and the plot is quite different. The movie is about a group of grade schoolers who recently had a new student join their class but there is one problem, she is deaf. The class at first doesn't really interact with her much because of her disability and some downright don't like her. The main character in the movie named shouko is just a kid who hasn't yet been taught manners. Everyone in the class thinks he is hilarious, he is the one who harasses shoya the most by doing all sorts of terrible stuff to her. But one day he takes her hearing aid and ends up hurting her. Even though she endures all of this, she try's to be friends with everyone. Everything then comes to a stop when the principle comes to discus that shouko is being builled, and shoya is the one everyone blames even though he wasn't the only one. Shouko ends up transferring away, and the class turns against shoya. He ends up being the most hilarious to most hated, it's like night and day for Shoya. Everyone treats him like how he treated shouko telling him to get lost. He then goes on with his schooling with no friends which totally changes him, he becomes quite, introverted, and unsociable.

This movie is great because it is such an emotional movie that shows you that you should treat everyone you meet with kindness. It really humbles your ego by showing how this boy was trying to be funny but in the end no one liked him. You go from hating him to almost feeling bad for him. Even though he did all this cruel stuff to her I felt bad because everyone makes mistakes in there lives. Some mistakes are being then others which means the punishment is greater. Shoya ends up going to sign language school to try and make amends with Shouko and himself. I really liked the fact that he realizes that he messed up bad and try's repent for his sins. This movie really makes you think before you say anything in life becasue the decisions you make can drasticly affect your life for the better or good.

The animation of the movie koe no Katachi is so spectacular. The colors of this movie are very vibrant and warm even though most of the story is quite sad. This movie because of its animation has won best screen play in Japan.

Many of the characters in the movie are easy to get attached to and well put together. Each character is very unique and has its own place in the story. Without these characters the movie would have been quite bland.

The story is quite different then most storylines but I am glad it was like this because it truly puts you in a roller coaster of emotion. The movie tackles the topic of mental health, well being and as well as redemption. I feel this is a topic lots of people can relate with. This movie shows us how devastating depression and anxiety is to someone, and how even though this people have depression or unhealthy mental they are still trying to find redemption for there actions.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This movie was wonderful
svndellons10 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I rate A Silent Voice a solid 9.5/10. I'd recommend to for it's beautiful animations done by Kyoto Animation and the beautifully written story by Reiko Yoshida. The poster art may come off as a romantic anime movie, but I think it would be more accurate to describe it as a modern tale of heartfelt moments and tragedy. The main character of the story Shoya is shown as a playful boy, but after Shoko, a deaf girl, transfers into his elementary school. He finds her disability disgusting and starts to bully her. The bullying eventually gets to the point where she has the adults involved and eventually transfers away. However, during the time in between these two events and after Shoya gets bullied. He recieves his karma for his actions more and more before he realizes he might not have any friends. I would recommend this movie to others if you want a sad, but heartfelt movie. I would rate this movie a 9.5/10 and not a 10/10 for one reason. I was disappointed that the part where Shoya visits his elementary school and confronts the teacher about his past, from the original manga, was left out of the film. To refute a certain critique, who says many things have been left void, I say do you not see the story line. Although the beginning skips a bit in time, the rest of the film goes in chronological order. If you are asking what were the other characters doing during their time away from Shoya and Shoko they were doing their own things. This is shown when everyone is shown watching fireworks, revealing to your surprise they have a life out side of the story. This certain critI rate A Silent Voice a solid 9.5/10. I'd recommend to for it's beautiful animations done by Kyoto Animation and the beautifully written story by Reiko Yoshida. The poster art may come off as a romantic anime movie, but I think it would be more accurate to describe it as a modern tale of heartfelt moments and tragedy. The main character of the story Shoya is shown as a playful boy, but after Shoko, a deaf girl, transfers into his elementary school. He finds her disability disgusting and starts to bully her. The bullying eventually gets to the point where she has the adults involved and eventually transfers away. However, during the time in between these two events and after Shoya gets bullied. He recieves his karma for his actions more and more before he realizes he might not have any friends. I would recommend this movie to others if you want a sad, but heartfelt movie. I would rate this movie a 9.5/10 and not a 10/10 for one reason. I was disappointed that the part where Shoya visits his elementary school and confronts the teacher about his past, from the original manga, was left out of the film. To refute a certain critique, who says many things have been left void, I say do you not see the story line. Although the beginning skips a bit in time, the rest of the film goes in chronological order. If you are asking what were the other characters doing during their time away from Shoya and Shoko they were doing their own things. This is shown when everyone is shown watching fireworks, revealing to your surprise they have a life out side of the story. This certain critique continues on that the character developments were dull. What was dull about the characters? They each had their own personalities and ways of thinking. Yuzuru was a caring sister who wanted to help her sister after hearing of her sister's troubles. Ueno was bit of jerk, but showed she really did care about Shoya by trying to help him make up with his old friends to go back to his good old days. Their are many other characters that were flushed out, but I do see how a character such as Toshi Mashibasa was not really flushed out as a character, since his segment with Shoya from the original works were not adapted, but overall there was definitely character development that you either missed or ignored. This certain reviewer continues tries to point out Shoko's confession to Shoya that she had feelings for him was a stupid moment for Shoya. Have you actually understood that it was hard for him to understand her. I could see how the translation seems weird since it was a misunderstanding done with Japanese word play, but it is quite simple to understand that she spoke in way that it was hard for him to understand. You also say if he accepted her confession it would have prevented Shoko's attempt at suicide, but do you really think it was because of her failure to convey her feelings at that time, rather than the argument that essentially revolved her and Shoya split the group of friends? The reviewer continues on that they were disappointed that Shoya and Shoko did not become a pair. I personally don't see the proper argument for this at all. I do see how the poster art is misleading, but I thought it was shown this was not a love story when he could not understand her confession. The movie gives it that one scene and is it. They are just close friends. This reviewer continues on that he promised god that he would face his disasters and this was frustrating to them since he broke the promise. He did eventually come to terms with everyone when all of the X's on their faces fell off. The movie shows he has extreme trust issues with the literal X's illustrating how he views people his age. This reasoning was even shown during his montage to a high schooler, when he was bullied by his closest childhood friends. He was isolated, beaten, and was talked badly about to others ruining his own reputation. His closest friends were something he couldn't think of as friends and caused him to be traumatized. Your argument of the promise is no stronger than a New Years resolution, but instead of losing weight it was a promise to overcome his past trauma ique continues on that the character developments were dull. What was dull about the characters? They each had their own personalities and ways of thinking. Yuzuru was a caring sister who wanted to help her sister after hearing of her sister's troubles. Ueno was bit of jerk, but showed she really did care about Shoya by trying to help him make up with his old friends to go back to his good old days. Their are many other characters that were flushed out, but I do see how a character such as Toshi Mashibasa was not really flushed out as a character, since his segment with Shoya from the original works were not adapted, but overall there was definitely character development that you either missed or ignored. This certain reviewer continues tries to point out Shoko's confession to Shoya that she had feelings for him was a stupid moment for Shoya. Have you actually understood that it was hard for him to understand her. I could see how the translation seems weird since it was a misunderstanding done with Japanese word play, but it is quite simple to understand that she spoke in way that it was hard for him to understand. You also say if he accepted her confession it would have prevented Shoko's attempt at suicide, but do you really think it was because of her failure to convey her feelings at that time, rather than the argument that essentially revolved her and Shoya split the group of friends? The reviewer continues on that they were disappointed that Shoya and Shoko did not become a pair. I personally don't see the proper argument for this at all. I do see how the poster art is misleading, but I thought it was shown this was not a love story when he could not understand her confession. The movie gives it that one scene and is it. They are just close friends. This reviewer continues on that he promised god that he would face his disasters and this was frustrating to them since he broke the promise. He did eventually come to terms with everyone when all of the X's on their faces fell off. The movie shows he has extreme trust issues with the literal X's illustrating how he views people his age. This reasoning was even shown during his montage to a high schooler, when he was bullied by his closest childhood friends. He was isolated, beaten, and was talked badly about to others ruining his own reputation. His closest friends were something he couldn't think of as friends and caused him to be traumatized. Your argument of the promise is no stronger than a New Years resolution, but instead of losing weight it was a promise to overcome his past trauma
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Everyone Deserves A Shot At Redemption
CinemaClown3 October 2018
Everyone deserves a shot at redemption at least once, especially if they are already repenting the wrongs they have done to others in the past. A Silent Voice ruminates on the issues of bullying, how it not only affects the ones directly involved but those around as well, and how the path to forgiveness is more complex than it seems.

The story of A Silent Voice (also called The Shape of Voice) concerns a high school boy who deeply regrets his elementary school days during which he bullied a deaf classmate to the point where she moves away. Shunned by his friends and living a life of a social outcast since, he tries to make amends by finding her & apologising.

Directed by Naoko Yamada, the film is narrated in non-chronological order which at times is difficult to follow since the segments aren't properly arranged. The themes of isolation, bullying, loneliness, companionship, peer pressure, regret & redemption are addressed well but the story still needed a more compact structure to deliver the desired impact.

There are times when it becomes a bit repetitive, it definitely runs a tad too long and it struggles to juggle with so many characters at once to the point that we have hard time differentiating some of them or what role they played in the event that its plot is weaved around. The animation is wonderful, voice acting is serviceable, and it's got some emotionally powerful moments in store too.

But this would have been a far more involving & emotionally rewarding experience if it had kept its focus on Shoya & Shoko for the most part. The supporting characters are given far more attention than required, making this film overlong, plus they don't even play that big a role in the final outcome either. All in all, A Silent Voice is going to impress many folks but had it trimmed the fat and streamlined the narrative, that number would've gotten some serious boost. Worth a shot anyway.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Good and Excellent
fastesmanalive1 June 2017
I cant say too much, but the movie is very nice and make me so sad. It's better than Kimi No Nawa/Your Name in my opinion. Suicide, social anxiety, bullying, disabilities, depression, none of these are played as anything overly dark, dramatic, or tragic. It's just portrayed as real. Which they are.
23 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A touching and affecting story of one's struggle for redemption
MrDHWong8 November 2017
A Silent Voice is an anime drama film directed by Naoko Yamada (K-On!). Based on the manga of the same name by Yoshitoki Oima, it is a touching and affecting story of one's struggle for redemption.

While he was in elementary school, Shoya Ishida, in an effort to fit in with his fellow peers, teased and bullied a deaf girl in class named Shoko Nishimiya. However, this backfires on Shoya and he ends up being shunned by the other students as Shoko ultimately ends up transferring elsewhere. Now in high school, Shoya has felt constant remorse for his actions and attempts make things right with both Shoko and the classmates who ostracised him.

Poignant and beautifully animated, A Silent Voice is not only a well made anime film, but also an interesting commentary on the state of one's mental health and well-being. This film will likely strike a chord with anybody suffering from depression and/or anxiety who wish they could find a way to fix their past mistakes. Also, despite its serious tone, director Naoko Yamada still manages to insert some humorous and quirky comic relief at appropriate times, much in the vein of what was seen in K-On!, her previous work. The Japanese voice acting is solid, however it is Saori Hayami as the voice of Shoko Nishimiya who stands out the most. Her performance as a deaf girl was highly convincing and never seemed exaggerated or too comical. I have not yet seen the English dub but I plan to do so in the not-to-distant future.

I rate it 8.5/10
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing anime movie.
huy-5680825 January 2018
Just one word fantasic.i cry everytime i think about nishimiya :(
21 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The first anime film I've ever watched
anh-9494610 March 2019
And I think I found a great film to start on. I liked pretty much everything about it. The two main characters were both very well developed and were placed inside of a great narrative. This movie gets very sad at some points. It's very emotional effective although I didn't cry. (Keep in mind no movie has actually made me cry as of yet). I genuinely didn't know where the story was going. It's not like there were a bunch of twists or turns, I'm just saying it wasn't necessarily predictable. Also another thing that impressed me was how defined the side characters were as well. I liked all of them and they all had unique traits, except there was this one guy who just came out of nowhere and wasn't interesting in the slightest. Forget his name, but he had red hair. The one problem I did have with it wasn't really the movies fault it's just that the version I was watching didn't have subtitles for the sign language. So that was annoying but over the film still works incredibly well. Oh I also forgot to mention that the animation is beautiful. This movie is just on the verge of being a 10. It's 94% though.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Koe no Katachi is criminally underrated
AltizGremlin25 January 2019
Makoto Shinkai shadowed this movie so hard it seems that Koe no Katachi lost its capacity to shine; he did a good job and all, but this is just one step above on every aspect. Doing an adaptation of another amazing work, inserting several manga inside a single movie of that quality is really hard, and only a few people did that throught history. Naoko Yamada is still the messiah anime needs but not the one weebs want. She's Jesus and Batman combined, and Liz and the Blue Bird will probably suffer of the same thing.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A film that will make you cry, angry and full of hope
Irishchatter17 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I tell ya, this was one of the hardest anime film I have ever watched. I was literally so angry at Shôya and Ueno for throwing away Shoko's eight hearing aids (nearly nine when Ueno did try again to throw away Shokos hearing aids). They really were such bullies that if either of them were my children, I would definitely give them great punishment that would wake them up for the rest of their lives. I actually was really glad that Shoyas mother took money out of his bank account and paid Shokos mother. You would definitely feel sorry for Shoko, she was so badly picked on because of who she was as a deaf person. I don't know anyone personally who is deaf but unfortunately, I am sure bullying regarding deaf people exists and its just not fair for them because they didn't ask for it. It really is sad the world we live in.

I was even glad this wasn't a romance this time, normally I would say the main characters should be together but in this film, it would be better off to not have Shoko and Shoya to be together romantically. I mean, I really wish Shoya didn't have to meet him again for the way he treated her, although I feel sorry for him that he is thinking of suicide, so is Shoko. It is definitely not a nice feeling when you bullied someone, you are full of guilt and you meet them again with regret hanging over you. That's why I think it would be better to not have the pair of them meet together again.

Its a really good film too despite its very sad concept. It really does wake you up to wanting to help someone who is bullied and is in need of support from a friend. Bullying always needs to stop, please help someone who is in need of help folks <3
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Better then Your Name
WeAreLive21 January 2018
I know a lot of you would disagree with me but this movie is by far better then Your Name. Look I know Your Name is 2017's best anime movie but I have to disagree.

Personally I think this movie shows teaches you how to deal with bullies, not to go into depression of killing your self and how you can seek redemption of your past mistakes.

This movie even explains to you doesn't matter if you are deaf or blind there is always help and places you can fit into.

Long story short you must watch this movie.
28 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A tale of redemption for a boy when he meets the girl who he bullied.
janirudh-6294815 August 2017
This is the first anime I am reviewing. The story is really powerful. It is a story about relationships, growing up and redemption. Ishida who bullied a deaf and mute girl in school becomes the victim of alienation and ignorance in his subsequent years. He doesn't remember friendship and is on the verge of killing himself. Seeing the girl that he bullied in his formative years again changes everything.

This anime has a strong character development, we see a loner learning to live again and even make some friends. Don't get fooled by the cutesy looks, the anime has deep and dark undertones which are very prevalent in today's society.

Overall a great anime which shows it is never too late to forgive yourself.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Follow up to the success of the hit anime "Your name"
austin073126 March 2017
Following the success of "Your name" we now have the next successful anime that is currently sweeping the charts of Japanese and Asian box offices. "A silent voice" captures various mature and serious topics, packed into a wonderfully animated 2 hour feature. It deals with topics such as: social anxiety, fitting in, bullying, suicide, all such that wouldn't be expected in a teenage romance/drama anime that we were led to believe. No, a silence voice tries to capture a much broader idea with a reasonable amount success.

Though the film has been heavily marketed to feature the female protagonist, a deaf girl she really isn't the centerpiece of this film, this film really takes a much more in depth look at our male protagonist, a bully. This is quite a refreshing view from the lens of someone on the other side of most modern day films and takes an unconventional look from a very interesting angle, while sidelining the romance as a brief sub-plot. This film at its core is about trying to fit in and the notion of being isolated but it was also highlighted that it was very important for one to get over their own guilt and to quite literally put in this film "face the world again".

This film does best at capturing this atmosphere, the sense of mistrust and uncertainty towards others, the use of literal crosses on the characters that our protagonist encounters to represent his own lack of self confidence and fear of social interactions was a very good stylistic choice in my opinion.

This film is however flawed mostly in the development of character, many of the secondary characters and even in some cases the main characters are quite poorly developed, many secondary characters come out of nowhere and their motives are very much unknown to the audiences and sometimes plain irrational, I understand that it was a very important thing that within this group of friends each character represents their own flaws however because of this lack of development these characters grow to be rather irritating and distracting, detracting from the overall narrative at various times. These character flaws can be understood due to the fact that this is an adaptation of a manga series and it should noted that it attempts to cram in way too much information resulting in such complications.
31 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Jesus Christ
sarahelizabethparker12 July 2019
Jesus Christ, this movie is so sad, yet also strangely heartwarming. I was in tears throughout most of the movie. I found myself rooting for Shoko and eventually Shoya as well. I think this movie should be a requirement for children in school, as it shows the consequences of bullying and that there is redemption even for a bully.

Obviously, the writing in this is great, as well as the animation.

My only qualm with this movie was some confusion over the flashbacks. The way some scenes were cut together made it hard to decipher exactly what was happening or what had happened. This is a Japanese film so maybe this confusion has something to do with it being translated for English audiences? Either way, this confusion didn't hinder the movie too much and it was still very enjoyable to watch.

I would recommend this movie a hundred times over!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I was so into it, I was yelling at the screen for most of it...
austinlsweeney9 March 2018
A Silent Voice Is more than just a really good high school romantic drama. It is a captivating love story that deals with depression and friendship in a remarkably relatable way.

Without spoiling too much. I just really appreciate the believably of most of the film. Unlike Your Name where I found some parts to be overly cheesy or slow paced. A Silent Voice offers up nice character development and introduces a whole array of interesting side characters to the plot.

I do really like the idea of having a deaf friend. I've often thought about what that would be like and the whole learning sign language and writing on a book to communicate. It offers a-not often seen- perspective of that life. I found it quite invigorating and motivating to step up my own life.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed