Set It Up (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
123 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Surprisingly funny and charming!!
atiyaahsan20 June 2018
I had seen the movie's trailer beforehand but didn't have high expectations from this one. I am happy to report I was wrong. The movie is funny, witty and thoroughly engrossing. I wasn't bored for a minute, thanks to the snappy dialogue and crisp editing and direction. I must admit I only decided to watch it cuz' of the big names like Luc Liu & Tae Diggs, and though both of them played their characters of A**hole bosses convincingly, but it's the primary couple of Zoey Deutch & Glen Powell that makes you fall in love with them. Even the supporting actors cast in bit roles like the coffee shop waiter, the elevator guy and the gay best friend played their roles perfectly. I found my self constantly laughing out loud. All in all, it was a very enjoyable film that all rom-com lovers will enjoy.
50 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Really Old School Romcom
richard-fieldhouse16 June 2018
Two ridiculously overworked personal assistants hit on the idea of setting up their respective bosses together in the hopes that the assistants will then get pushed around a bit less. At first they're surprisingly successful but a plot this ambitious could never run totally smoothly could it?

So the premise of the film is very simple and the plot also develops along predicable lines. About ten minutes in, I was getting concerned about issues of workplace bullying, but then I got caught up in the energy of the story and the characters of the two assistants, Harper and Charlie, played by Zoey Deutch and Glen Powell. Yes, they are bullied and yes you could definitely say that the male boss - Rick, played by Taye Diggs - is a bit of a two dimensional caricature. But this is a romcom, not a documentary, so who cares.

There are enough laughs and the characters learn a little about themselves and about life along way, and most of all everyone - all the actors - get stuck in and really enjoy themselves. Right from Lucy Liu as the female sports journalist boss, right through to the cameos by the elevator engineer and the assistant in the jewellers.

It's a very wordy script delivered at a terrific pace, perhaps particularly thanks to Zoey Deutch, and most people should really enjoy it.
53 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Much Better Than I Expected!
mkquinn912 September 2018
It has some fantastic one-liners and generally great dialogue and chemistry between the leads. I was especially happy seeing Zoey Deutch in a movie that deserves her. I've always found her charming, but her prior leads roles were in Vampire Academy and Dirty Grandpa, which didn't inspire confidence in her career.

The only things keeping me from truly loving this is that it's predictable in the end, and more importantly the score was an abomination ripped straight out of a Hallmark Channel original movie. It felt like someone flicking me in the face for 90 minutes.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Super cute...
krystalhupfer15 June 2018
.... there were definitely some places where it could've been funnier, but overall I enjoyed it. It was super distracting at the end when all the passerby's were staring, obviously meaning they couldn't afford to block side walks and hire extras. The Positive: I found myself smiling long after scenes had ended. Definitely a feel good movie.
45 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Get Away Film
lindojamila16 June 2018
This movie has a little bit of everything. It makes you feel good watching and the main characters are awesome.
32 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Love it!
sammybuzz-4544316 June 2018
This is a feel good movie and don't you watch it if you're a killjoy or a boring person....

Love zoey and I think her acting is superb for her age. She's going to be the next america's sweetheart..
30 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Vicarious lovin'
tributarystu15 June 2018
Zoey Deutch and Glen Powell reunite after the excellent Everybody Wants Some (2016) in this low frills, high-chemistry rom-com. There isn't much to dwell on here, as 'Set It Up' proves the ideal low-stakes Friday night Netflix watch.

Deutch and Powell play Harper and Charlie, two young and ambitious characters working for a very special brand of pushy, domineering bosses. When they realize their common predicament, they set out to...set up their bosses, in the hope that it will lead to quality of life improvements for themselves. In an ironic twist, the ones being pushed around leverage their insights into personal scheduling and personal preferences to ensure the mis-match ends up matching. As is usual for mischievous do-gooders, there will be fraternizing and moral conundruming. And it will be fun.

Any successful rom-com hinges on the compatibility of its leads. Luckily, that's not an issue here, with both potential couples gelling or not gelling just as intended. It's the energy of all four key characters that keeps the movie alive, thanks to the odd piece of witty writing or amusing situation. I think I only rolled my eyes once at some ultra-corny moment that could have been avoided, but beyond that, director Claire Scanlon works gently and fairly with her characters. Everybody learns an important life lesson by the end and, surprisingly, it's a lesson I relate to, although I've never had the issue of overworking myself in order to avoid pursuing my passions. There are other, more pleasureful ways of doing it.
22 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
It's like any Rom-Com you've ever seen
Jared_Andrews20 June 2018
Set It Up tells the story of-you're never going to believe this-a set up.

Two overworked and underappreciated assistants, Harper (Zoey Deutch) and Charlie (Glen Powell), serendipitously meet one night while working their typical late nights for their big shot bosses. After a brief exchange, they realize that they could give themselves more free time if their bosses started dating each other, so they agree to play matchmaker.

Their scheme begins with an initial meet cute that was less than stellar, but it was enough ignite a spark. The relationship is off and running, and Harper and Charlie guide their bosses along every step of the way.

Harper's boss (Lucy Liu) is mercilessly competitive and career driven, never giving a moment to consider her romantic life. Charlie's boss (Taye Diggs) is divorced, selfish and has some serious rage issues that are supposed to come across as humorous but are actually fairly alarming. They're far from an ideal pairing, but thanks to Harper and Charlie's "coaching," they hit it off.

Harper and Charlie spend more and more time together, becoming close friends as they successfully trick their bosses into falling in fake love, while they themselves possibly experience something real.

Let's be honest. Romantic comedies aren't ripe for spoilers because they're all predictable. This one isn't 100% that way, but you can probably guess where the story is headed.

Despite it's predictability and lack of originality, it's still mostly watchable. The two stars have natural on-screen chemistry, first as strangers, then as friends and so on. They're instantly likable individually and even more so when sharing a scene.

Although story isn't a strength of the film, the dialogue is quotable and the character development certainly isn't entirely weak. The bosses feel like trite phony concepts of successful movie bosses. They're abrasive, unfeeling monsters that inexplicably climb the success ladder without an ounce of people skills.

But the assistants feel like real people. They're competent yet flawed, courageous yet afraid, insulting yet caring. They mean well, even if they aren't always successful in their pursuits. Neither one is perfect, but they're a pretty much perfect set up team.

Ultimately, those two save what might have otherwise been a dull, run-of-the-mill rom-com. Thanks to them, it's one of the better movies of its genre that you'll find on Netflix.
26 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
They set me up.
rajnot3 July 2018
Pure Netflix movie.. watch only. if you have watched all the good movies and you wants to watch some movie and you don't really have any things else to do.. Good thing is this is not drag movie that will waste your time, it is up to point.. But its WTF moments in places that you have watched it in so may other movie.. So nothing new.. best to kill your time when you have no other option//
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
I can't believe Liu and Diggs actually read the script before signing
ACSpader3 July 2018
I'm an avid fan of fluffy, contentless films from this genre, so it's quite hard to find an example of it that's truly awful. But this film nails it! From the unrelatable, unlikeable character played by the usually charismatic Taye Diggs, the unrealisism of Liu's character falling for such an a**hole (from a meet cute which devolves in to 'oh no, a fat guy with no shirt on')- Glen Powell wasn't really utilised at all and came off like a bland Alan Ruck, and Zoey Deutch has a lot of potential, but this film managed to wash even her out. I watched it with a group and we just kept saying 'Oh no...' This film is basically everything that's wrong with the romcom. It would have been a million times better if they'd given Taye Diggs a character who wasn't disgusting, or Lucy Liu had point blank refused to date him- which was what we'd expected from the outset.
17 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Cute & Fun
jefrazier-955556 August 2018
I'm disappointed in all of the harsh criticism. This movie was fun and lovable. They set the tone for what to expect in the very beginning. "Over-acting?" It's a romantic comedy for crying out loud. I recommend this movie for the perfectly-delivered, witty dialogue. As an added bonus, the chemistry between Zoey and Glen was fantastic.
11 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Set It Up The Bomb
dylandesign17 June 2018
In two words: Cobbled. Together.

This Netflix original rom-com packs an ironic lack of chemistry. With the quality of an amateur movie project, each sequentil line and scene feels like it was shot repeatedly and had the best takes cut and stitched together, which results in conversations sounding completely unnatural, characters spouting punch lines where they don't belong, and a general lack of flow from each moment to the next.

Relationships between characters seem forced and unconvincing, especially the two main characters who work in the same building, yet had never seen each other before and now just drop in and out of each other's office space like they've been best buddies all along.

So far as laughs, unfortunately there is not much to offer as the circumstances in which the slapstick potty humour arises, is too far fetched to instil any grain of relatability to the audience. To put it another way, the writers seemed to borrowed tropes from the horror genre that make you think "no, don't go there, don't do that, oh god why are you doing that?!".
25 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Bad
neriofrio28 July 2018
Really a bad movie. I watched it all and now I feel like I wasted my time. Bad acting, bad script, bad dialogues, etc. Another Netflix mediocre film added to the ever increasing list of forgettable movies.
12 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
TERRIBLE. Waste of time.
lunaysol_lisa17 June 2018
The movie is about two doormats that don't have any respect for themselves, each working for a narcissistic loser. If they had any dignity they would have quit on day one of the job. The movie is not funny, it is over-acted, and it is painful to watch how the main characters let their bosses abuse them. One of them actually has the assistant make his son's elementary school science project. Just to give an idea of the kind of jerk this character is.
52 out of 117 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
No, no, no
jennifertrathan17 June 2018
I lasted 10 minutes before turning this off. I basically hated everything about what I managed to watch. The bosses were bullies and should have been reported and the assistants should have told them to get stuffed, walked out then reported them. Dreadful.
27 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
SO CRUDE
wardcircus1 July 2018
I love a good rom-com, even though they are generally predictable. I loved the premise for this story and watched it even though I got the gist of the whole thing from the previews. This was rated TV-14 so I was *shocked* to find SO MUCH LANGUAGE (f words a the c word) and inappropriate shots (a guy having sex saying "I'm coming!") and discussions in this movie. It definitely should have been rated higher and could have been so much better without the language and crudeness.

I loved Zoey, the young female assistant, I wanted to keep watching her and hope to see her in other stuff. I love Lucy Liu, too and the male assistant. Just wish the content would have been better. It could have been a fun, mother-daughter movie.
18 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Not very funny, over-exaggerated acting of the horrible bosses
tx-3094815 June 2018
The trailer looked promising to me, and reminded me of Horrible Bosses 1 & 2, which I quite enjoyed.

I also like three of the four main actors, as I already know them from various appearances (Scream Queens, Ally McBeal etc.). Only the actor playing the male boss was unknown to me.

Unfortunately, the movie was a big, big let down.

First, for a supposed comedy, it was not very funny, brining laughter only once in a while and moderately. This is the opposite of Horrible Bosses.

Another major negative relates to the bosses, and this is a key difference with the Horrible Bosses movies.

The male boss' reactions and talk are so exaggerated they are unbelievable. Of course, he has to be horrible, but he almost only appears screaming or so, yelling at people, and there is nothing that could make us feel he is a human. It is impossible to get immersed or willing to follow what happens to him, which is not what should happen.

The female boss is less exaggerated overall, although many times, she's also inhuman given the ovelyr-excessive reactions and talk.

In Horrible Bosses, bosses were real humans (acting badly). I wanted to know what would happen to them. They were also more present.

The two lead characters (the bosses' assistants) are OK-ish, although the way they accept what their bosses ask them to do and how they treat them is not always believable or relatable. While I liked Glen Powell a lot in Screem Queens, he appears rather transparent and superficial in this movie. Zoey Deutch performance and contribution was OK I suppose.

The lead assistants' partners are moderately present. The female assistant's boyfriend is barely visible, but the male assistant's girlfriend is somewhat more present.

Also disturbing to me, it is unclear whether the movie wants to be a romance. While many parts point to that, there is a significant amount of vulgarity, which is hard to reconcile with true romance.

At the end of the day, a promising cast and idea, but a horrible output.
42 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Meh
HereGoHellCome16 June 2018
I watched this movie because I saw Tituss Burgess was in it. He was in ONE scene! What a waste of talent. The rest of the movie is watchable if you have absolutely nothing else to do. It's very predictable and not that funny.
27 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I really loved this film because it is unlike the current trend of shallow chick flicks these days...
dennelasicat24 June 2018
After watching other films from Netflix and others that reached mainstream media (ex. Kissing Booth, Ibiza, Midnight Sun, etc)... all of which are shallow, annoying and predictable movies with little to no significant scenes. Scenes that make you think, or etch your heart. Set It Up may be a bit over the top with the crazy bosses in the movie, it still resonared with me because of its memorable lines. "You like because, you love despite". I absolutely loved the ending as it sort of tied up all loose strings into a perfect bow.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It is a wonderful movie.
sierraives22 June 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I really loved this movie. Although it is a classic Rom-Com, if you're into cheesy love stories this is a great one to watch. I really liked the unique story line.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A "Must Watch" light comedy.
Akshay_Patel198519 June 2018
As the title suggests, its a must watch light-hearted comedy that hits the perfect notes for a fun night with family or wife/girlfriend. Enjoyed the movie and ofcourse the characters were perfectly played by the actors. A huge shout out to #ZoeyDeutch who played her role marvelously ...bringing the whole movie together in a wonderful way.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
meet cute for the ages!
amorgenstern20 June 2018
So much fun. take it for what it is - a feel good funny rom com with lots of lines, witty dialogue, and surprising little moments. Great chemistry between the two leads, too. Thumbs up. Escape. watch it now.
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
you know exactly what you're getting
brownbear-4808926 June 2018
Okay, so this movie is so predictable that it's almost boring. But like...so what? It's funny, it's quick, it showed up on your computer for free. What do you want? Put it on while you're cleaning or folding laundry or nursing a hangover and have a great time. This is the most I have ever liked Zoey D and Glen is a certified hottie. and also LUCY LIU AND TAYE DIGGS!!!! just watch it. you know you wanna.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Loved it!
amberbarton-9263827 June 2018
I would definitely recommend this film! I think it is funny and can be watched again and again! I think Zoey Deutch who played one of the main characters called Harper was ace ! I would say overall it's a rather light hearted film , one that would be good to watch on a night to wind down from a long day . I loved the cast and the ending , it was really sweet !
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It was fun to see!
k_taco17 June 2018
I love it! It's a really good chick flick perfect for relaxing, I really enjoy it, it's intelligent funny, also I loved the actors and each one of the roles they played!
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed