Deuces (2016) Poster

(2016)

User Reviews

Review this title
12 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Very bad acting and plot from the start
rodriguez-alfonso17 August 2018
When I saw this film available on Netflix, I ran to check the reviews on imdb and the trailer. Did not seem that bad, despite the mixed opinions on it, and I thought I could give it a try. The plot is known, but so badly introduced, the characters so badly drawn, that I could not stand the whole show and I had to end it. Despite this fact, I can tell you I saw a good deal of it and its bad as a movie can be.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
More False Reviews..Shame on IMDb> Since Amazon Bought it..
Ladybbird-269-94514618 June 2017
Disgraceful, that since AMAZON bought IMDb, & CLOSED Sincere reviews/comments on a movie such as this, BEFORE its' INTERNATIONAL release dates.. What is the point of posting a review any more on here. I used to post my thoughts before..& AFTER I HAD PAID to see the movie FIRST.

This movie is NOT on general release until 16 August 2017.

I have not seen it yet..BUT I am so angry that I am reading more FALSE REVIEWS by folk connected to this movie & others, in their efforts to promote them, that I have started this thread.

SIMPLE as that.. ALL about money folks..
13 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great Movie!
fiftycentqueen7 July 2017
First of all...To Ladybbird....I'm not sure why you're saying false reviews. Not sure why you haven't seen the movie, but it was on Netflix for about 5 months. This movie is not going to theaters. It will be on BET July 10th. The info here about general release is false. Anyway, I saw the movie on Netflix about 3 months ago, and I must say I loved it. I've always. Been a Larenz Tate and Megan Good fan so when I saw they were in it I was already excited. Great story line, and perfect climax. Tune in on BET on July 10 if you haven't seen it.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Some Plot Holes, But Decent Overall
guidegoldblatt13 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
When I first started watching Deuces, I wasn't sure how much I was going to like it, since this is a well-trod genre. In the end, I have to admit it won me over. I think the plot is good (if a little clichéd), the actors did a good job selling their roles and were likable, and the movie moves along at a brisk pace. Definitely not The Godfather or Citizen Kane, but worth watching.

My main complaint with the movie is that it never really explains how Jason Foster, the undercover police officer played by Lance Gross, develops such strong relationship with Deuces, the crime lord played by Larenz Tate. They seem to become best buddies at the drop of a hat.

Other than this complaint, I enjoyed the movie and liked the ending (though totally unrealistic).
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Is this Menace II Society Part 2
Luke_Dawg30 December 2018
The reason I believe this is 'Menace Part 2' is due to the fact that O Dog got out of prison after getting arrested in Menace and changed his name to Deuces and started a crime ring making tons of money. Makes sense since O Dog has aged and was from South Central in this movie like he was in Menace. You may disagree but don't you think it's a possibility?
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Commercial property, like Donald Trump stuff.
nogodnomasters18 March 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Deuces (Larenz Tate) is our protagonist bad guy. He murders, deals drugs, runs a bar and wants to get into commercial real estate. He also respects women. Jason Foster (Lance Gross) is the undercover cop who is tasked to infiltrate the group. . . and his sister (Meagan Good) is Deuces woman.

They opened the film with a nice Iron Butterfly cover and then they dumped on it by having someone rap over it. That set the tone for the whole film. The script wasn't worth making.

Guide: F-word. Sex. No nudity.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Mini Power
davidonka24 February 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Felt like I was watching a mini version of tv series 'Power' with little switches here and there. First of all you have 3 major actors on Power (Rotimi, Lauren Tate, La la Anthony) playing on this film. Both storyline is drug and crime related. Ghost on 'Power' falls in love with a Secret Service Agent who's assigned to take him down. Deuces on 'Deuces' becomes best friend with an undercover cop assigned to take him down. Ghost on 'Power' becomes successful and wants to walk away from drug business. Deuces on 'Deuces' becomes successful and plans walking away from drug business. Both characters have estate business as one of their retirement plans. Dre on 'Power' (played by Rotimi) snitches on Ghost. Face on 'Deuces' (played by Rotimi) snitches on Deuce. I could go on and on. The fact that I already saw all seasons of 'Power' before seeing 'Deuces' made it real hard for me to enjoy BUT IT IS STILL A GOOD MOVIE and worth watching.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Loved it
mdalexa-1296914 December 2019
Took one star because I don't condone the illegal activity but loved the cast and story. Appropriate ending.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Deuces
vanessamichellepowell1 September 2017
This was a great surprise. Awesome movie, the script was well written, Larenz Tate, Megan Good, and Lance Gross, along with Rotimi (from Power) and other actors Were AWESOME. A great mixture of suspense, action, love and drama. An absolute must see! I want to find out how to buy this to contribute to my movie collection. Jamal Hill is a great producer-doing great work--I now an official fan.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Larenz Tate & Rick Gonzalez--THEY GOT ME GOOD!!
tyojacqueline10 May 2017
Deuces has a phenomenal cast, I've been waiting for Larenz Tate to make a come back on the Big Screen! There's no doubt that the actors as a whole made this film come to life. I enjoyed the rivalry and unrest between Larenz Tate and Rick Gonzalez. It would be great to see them work together again, their chemistry kept me engaged and unprepared for the climax. Here's to another copacetic film filled with crime AND suspense by Director, Jamal Hill, that kept me guessing and wanting for MORE!
2 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Superb Movie
ddbears26 April 2017
A coworker recommended I watch this movie because they knew I like anything Larenz Tate and Meagan Good features in, and I must say I loved it. It was a great cast of actors in which they all were superb. I was a bit puzzled at the end though, but you would have to watch it to see. I am a huge fan of all the actors and wish them much success and keep those great movies coming.
1 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Dope
kemboiroby1 September 2018
High rocking especially when the undercover police join the family of drug dealers
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed