One Mississippi (TV Series 2015–2017) Poster

(2015–2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
35 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Yes...just. Yes.
mattbryantcheney14 November 2015
Please God keep making this show. And by God I mean Amazon. You have a proved show runner in Louis CK and the best long form stand up since Carlin in Tig Notaro. Give the show air and it will bring you awards. This will bring meaningful story and gut laughs to the masses. One Mississippi reads like beautiful, delicious creative nonfiction that you know has truthiness but is just enough fiction to temper the impact. How often do people actually deal with real suffering and pain in comedy? What else in the pilot class has this depth? Also, I just want an excuse to listen to "On the Bayou" as often as possible. Tig Notaro is funny, like really funny, but she's also one of the most important storytellers of her generation.

Please Keep Making This Show. Please and thank you.
40 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Sad
clarks5810 September 2017
The show is well done but rather sad, as I like to say"if I want to deal with reality I will go out the door"

But if you like this type of show it is worth watching.

One thing I do get tired of hearing is said by a previous review in that anybody who doesn't like it needs to grow a brain ,how sad we are not allowed in this day and age to have conflicting views without being called stupid by the self righteous.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Deadpan Brilliant
peffs-110 September 2016
Brilliant scripts serve and the foundation for this pitch-perfect melancomedy that is the best series released in years. Working from the essential premise of tragedy + time = comedy, but only in expert hands, the production team and actors deliver standard family sitcom clichés in a completely new and "audience respectful" way. It's pure comedy professionalism at its best. A mom dies, a cat gets out, the crazy relatives come over, dating fiascos occur, but none of these tropes unfold with bad laugh tracks, phoned-in-performances, or predictable dialog. Gorgeous pauses of reflection, like setting up a song choice or waiting in a room, become moments in their own right, waiting for the next connection where characters figure out how to get through life together with soft clicks of human empathy. The audience can enjoy the moment without loud or overwrought performances substituting for drama. Laugh internally or externally, it's your choice but you will laugh even if it's just out of recognition. And refreshingly, Tig Notaro embraces her physical self in all forms - scarred, sexual, tired, embarrassed, intertwined and separate - both literally and figuratively. We rarely get to see that from women's roles on screen let along cancer survivors. Bravo, too, to the amazing cast. The real heart of the conflict and soul of this series isn't romantic or health struggles but Tig's evolving ties and confusion relating to her family particularly her step-father who's always called Bill. Jonathan Rothman is unbelievably perfect as Bill delivering the "dad" performance not as a silly or troubled social misfit or OCD outcast as so many shows are doing these days. His quiet tension and reserved paternal love is the perfect balance to Tig's neediness left in the void of her mother's loss, the loss of hugs and rocking in her lap for comfort. You keep hoping both of them could just learn to love the other just as they are ... and then they do, in small ways, even for just a moment, sometimes by asking about tuberculosis. Bonding moments come in strange ways. One Mississippi reminds us to grab them however they come.
27 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One Mississippi was an unexpected Gem!
paperdoll7811 September 2016
I've never written a review before, so you'll have to forgive me for keeping this brief.

I was looking for a show to "binge" watch while doing some mundane work on the computer and I kept seeing this popping up on Amazon Prime. I thought, what the heck, I'll give it a whirl. I've never heard of Tig Notaro, but she's captivating on screen. (And I had to google her when the show was over) If you enjoy a show that's a bit more drenched in reality, with a slice of dry humor, you'll love this. Heavy, but not overly so. It's got a perfect balance and the only disappointment was that there was only 6 episodes! I wanted more!! I hope Amazon delivers and gets a season 2 sooner than later!
22 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazon Please make 100 seasons of this
phagunocd10 September 2016
This show is absolutely stunning. It is a genius masterpiece that takes you on an emotional roller-coaster ride like none other. I thought Louis CK owned the entire Dark Comedy Sitcom genre but man Tig just took it to a whole new level. Each episode leaves you crying one moment and laughing out loud the next. The dialogues, the comedic timing, the imagery and cinematography, editing and the music, everything is just SPOT ON. I have no idea who those other people are whose brains are perhaps not yet fully developed who gave it less than 10 stars. This show deserves an Emmy and if you are someone who is into shows/movies that have a lot of depth and multiple layers and cannot be contained in one "genre" so to speak then this is the show for you. I highly recommend this!!!
18 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Season 1 = Very Good; Season 2 = Not Good
asc8520 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I gave this a "6" rating, because I would have put Season 1 at a 7 or 8, but Season 2 is about a 5. And for me, that's a big difference.

Season 1 was very interesting, and certainly unique. It explored the death of Tig's mother, and her being sexually molested at a young age. Despite all that, it had its moments of understated humor, and John Rothman as the anal-retentive step-dad stole most of the scenes he was in.

So what happened in Season 2? Where to begin. First of all, as others have already noted, there were quite a few anti-Trump references in the show, which seemed wholly unnecessary. Secondly, Notaro's character became much less likable. Thirdly, they gave more emphasis to the supporting characters this year (her brother, and the aforementioned anal-retentive step-dad), and quite frankly, they weren't very interesting. Fourthly, the first season had a lot more "fantasy sequences" coming out of Tig's fertile mind, and this season, there was very little of that. Fifthly, the show had far fewer funny moments compared to last year. Finally, and most importantly, the main story arc of the series was whether Tig's sound engineer on the radio show (Stephanie Allyne, Tig's partner in real life), would come out as a lesbian and be with Tig. It was all very, very predictable.

At only six episodes per season, you can blow right through them, which is what I did for Season 2. Because I assume Season 3 will also be 6 episodes, I'll give it another chance. But now it is on a short leash.
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Finally something original!
rt-594939 September 2016
I am so stoked to review this TV show. Although I don't particularly like shows best on one's sexual preferences, this one does not let that get in the way of the story - so far. How refreshing.

The characters are so perfectly drawn and played. The frail main character battling cancer is not looking for sympathy but faces life with dry humor. The cold detached stepfather is somehow sympathetic as well. The truth in the events are so very attached to reality, and laced with solid humor that does not try to be funny, just is.

I cannot recommend this enough to anyone who is sick of the usual claptrap we have been getting in most comedies.
16 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Disappointed show
zzr-1381225 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I can tell what the production intends to do. Trying to shock audience and added some gentle comedy. For me it is just not funny, not touched, even a little annoying and uncomfortable for me.

The story is also slow, I am sure if you miss many episodes, you still would catch up the story. Actually there is no story at all, the whole show just describes the awkward and unpleasant situation by the unreal conversation and annoying scene.

I can tell what the production intends to do. Trying to shock audience and added some gentle comedy. For me it is just not funny, not touched, even a little annoying and uncomfortable for me.

The story is also slow, I am sure if you miss many episodes, you still would catch up the story. Actually there is no story at all, the whole show just describes the awkward and unpleasant situation by the unreal conversation and annoying scene.
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
so human, so authentic, so very very funny.
mjuliamorris30 September 2016
I had heard her brilliant breakthrough stand up routine several years ago on the radio while driving alone. It was amazing in both its originality and its sheer funniness.

This series is a natural outgrowth of that set. I only found out about it when she was on the James Corden show tonight. I really really really like it. I am binging the whole season, I do hope she makes more. the acting is so authentic. You laugh in recognition of all of these human moments: Nutty friends and relatives, pain, joy, inappropriate thoughts at solemn times, secrets, love, confusion, responsibility,

She completely captures the wonderful counterposition of hysterically funny and ineffably sad that is the human condition...like a fart in church at a tragic funeral or when the principal danseur in a ballet get kicked hard in the testicles by a mistimed grande battement and lets out a big oof in and otherwise exquisitely beautiful and sad pas de deux. It an Amazon Original series and worth your time.
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Just not for me? Which is weird
nicki-h-harris28 August 2017
I have never laughed at anything Tig has done and while I appreciated the years of the comedy through the cancer as I have had cancer, I still did not laugh or come close. I think there must be fans out there obviously! But I don't know them, I have never met them, and being in the gay community I think that's odd. So maybe there's just fans of this work I have somehow not come across yet? Anyhow, never laughed, and probably never will. Sorry? Just not for me. Never will be I can tell because I really need to laugh so I moved on.
13 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The fiction contains the truths we dare not speak about being human.
andrew-3645211 June 2016
I wasn't sure what to expect but wow .... gritty, sad at times bitter, but always loving, touching and funny, it is really just about living and understanding and surviving the curved balls life throws at you and strangeness of human nature. To create something as great and as deeply personal as this took enormous courage, I had never heard of Tig Notaro before watching this but now have tremendous admiration for her.

Amazon deserve much recognition for bankrolling this series in these times of declining viewing figures no network broadcaster in the USA or UK would take the risk to green light this potentially controversial show. Amazon Originals have now given us some remarkable TV series including this and detective drama Bosch and allowed other quality drama such as Ripper Street to continue after it was dropped by the BBC.
14 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Just beautiful
KohakuAmber25 September 2016
I kept seeing the banner ad for this on Amazon Prime but it didn't really appeal to me when I read the synopsis as I lately want to watch things that are uplifting or exciting to take me away from it all but the yellow wallpaper on the show cover image intrigued me as I felt it surely must be a nod to Charlotte Perkins Gilman. It certainly is. I'm so glad I've started watching this series, I've watched two episodes now. It's just beautiful. I find Tig mesmerising. I hadn't heard of her before so after loving the pilot I googled her; One Mississippi is a kind of fictionalised version of her life. It's so delicate and raw and very funny. It is actually uplifting too. The soundtrack is wonderful. If you want to watch something complex, beguiling and different that's life affirming and will make you laugh out loud choose this. Gorgeous.
9 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not Interesting
thruppence3 February 2016
I found nothing of interest in this pilot. It wasn't funny (I didn't even smile). It was not sad. There was no message that I could see. A couple of the characters were too oddball to be credible. I was never into this movie, only observing from outside. If the pilot were picked up, I would not spend another half-hour watching. I am not sure what number rating I will give this movie at IMDb, but the word I would give it is Boring. Now I have to write enough to give IMDb the required ten lines of text. I really do not understand why they require this, because I have nothing more to say about this movie. I am not a professional critic, just some guy trying to share his opinion (looking at the other two reviews, I would say I am in agreement to a large extent with them in giving this movie a poor review).
19 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Solid NOPE
rastunas23 September 2016
Cancer isn't funny. Being a comedian with cancer doesn't make you funny. Being a female comedian with cancer doesn't make you funny. Being a female lesbian comedian with cancer doesn't make you funny. Cancer isn't funny. Should I remind you that cancer isn't funny?

By the way, don't capitalize on your illness, it's gross, should I mention that cancer isn't funny? Humour IS a great way to deal with pain and suffering, but cancer isn't funny.

If you can't be funny, don't try to be funny using a crutch (especially cancer).

Don't use your predilections and your Illness as a basis for a TV show, it's cheap, disingenuous and it makes you worth far less as performer with an opinion or a point.

Oh and in case you forgot somewhere along the way, cancer isn't funny.
21 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Dark humor, but we can all relate
irenemase30 September 2016
My mother recommended this show. The setting is local life in coastal Mississippi, with all the family problems that go along with it. Tig comes home to deal with her mother's death as a sick and broken woman who seems lost in life. She finds a chance to reconnect with her family and community as she comes to terms with a difficult childhood. In a quest to learn about who her mother really was, she finds out more about herself. The fact Tig is struggling with cancer and other illness brings a grounding sobriety to the awkward situations she faces in the vibrant community. I love that the city of "Bay St Lucille" so closely resembles a real coastal city in Mississippi. The only problem I have is there needs to be more seasons to watch.
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ground breaking Great
homeoflesley14 September 2016
Like most, I was looking for something to escape the everyday, I found it in One Mississippi. The realism is very intriguing, but more so is the ease of how each episode comes across. Writing and making it work on film is a talent, and there's lots of talent here. I had not heard of Tig Notaro before, I had no expectations. I wasn't hooked at first, but that soon changed. Notaro is true to herself, while portraying the angst of human nature, dealing with a haunting past and walking into an uncertain future, she brings it full circle in this dynamic and funny series. I applaud Amazon for taking this series up, and hope it continues, because I will continue to watch!
8 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Funny and brilliant, heartfelt while confronting difficult topics
swilliky18 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
When I heard that Tig Notaro's series was coming back for a second season, I put it at the top of the list for me to catch up and watch. I burned through the first season laughing out loud at every episode and the quirky behavior f Tig's family. In the first season, Tig returns to Mississippi from Los Angeles to attend her mother's funeral. The second season sees Tig returning permanently to live with her stepfather Bill (John Rothman) whose strange habits grate on her nerves but also amuse her. Her brother Remy (Noah Harpster) still lives upstairs and struggles with his dating life. Tig also has a new romantic interest, her coworker Kate (Stephanie Allynne). Kate is not sure of her sexuality and reluctant to date Tig.

Even Bill, who lives such a strict lifestyle, has met someone he can bond with when he has a medical emergency on the elevator and Felicia (Sheryl Lee Ralph), a woman who works in the same building, escorts him to the hospital. Remy finds his best opportunity to meet someone is at church and first, he attends a Vietnamese church where a nurse he met at his Civil War reenactment attends. However, when another performer says something racist, Remy doesn't stand up for her, and this is a major infraction in the time of Trump. Remy attends another church where he meets Desiree (Carly Jibson) a loud single mother with some interesting opinions. Remey and Desiree hit it off and she moves in almost immediately.

Check out more of this review and others at swilliky.com
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Loved it but then
SurvivorsEdge10 July 2019
Made it all the way through season one giving it an 8 star. Season two, instead of including political characters (that were completely different than mine in season one) are now just mocked. Shame, I enjoy differences and her great humor, but now it's thick with politics.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's rare that something is as good as you secretly wish it would be …One Mississippi is that good.
melanie-706-67728229 October 2016
It's rare that something is as good as you secretly wish it would be …One Mississippi is that good.

It's tender and dry and soft with a touch of weirdness in the most cherish-able way and, is basically an incredibly satisfying encapsulation of all those parts of Tig Notaro which her fans so adore.

I love that it can't be put into a specific genre or category - again, just like Tig. I almost think of it as a mosaic of sorts because you can feel how much care and thought was put into each tiny spec.

I've seen Tig act in a couple of other things where I felt her "Tig-ness," wasn't really showcased much, if at all. One Mississippi works for her in every way. I was constantly reminded of how much she 'lets people in,' as both an actress and just as a person with a life story. The character of the stepfather Bill and the actor who plays him was also a knockout.

I'm sorry that it's only six episodes, however, it seems to speak to the integrity which is palpable throughout every bit of the show. There's not one moment of fat (again, just like Tig).

If you're a Tig fan, you've just hit the mother load.
6 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Loved it.
TequilaMockingbird6317 February 2017
Have you seen ONE MISSISSIPPI? I binged watched the entire season one last night and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND it. Inspired by comedian Tig Notaro's life it's a smart, intermittently hilarious, well-written comedy (dramedy) that's occasionally a downer with intervals of great deadpan jokes. The show has everything! death, cancer, intestinal disease and a missing cat. I'm a Tig fan and great to see Shira Piven directed episode 6 of season one. Also, the executive producer is Louis C.K.

I can't wait for season Two!
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I don't get it
whysoserious-2679519 February 2019
Boring as f. Everything on prime with a good rating is complete garbage. I normally love dry dark humor but this is horrible dull and nothing about it is original. The comedy they use is heavy liberal and has been overplayed a million times. How much is amazon paying for these ratings? I haven't found one good series on amazon yet. But I'm still searching and hoping I can find something worth catching my attention.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love every second of it
benstoy-2310917 September 2017
In the middle of season dos, love this woman to bits. People behind the show include Louis C.K. and Diablo Cody which should give you a clue. The vibe morphs from unspeakable irony to naked ignorance with occasional eruptions of Tim Robbins. Instead of canned laughter, the Buddha guffaws out loud. If Tg Notaro lived nearby, she'd have to get a restraining order to keep me away. Have to laugh, she's the anti-Southern belle...
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
PopCultureThoughts.Com (Season 2)
popculturethoughts7 February 2019
It's hard to pinpoint exactly why this second season of Tig Notaro's rather unique Amazon show doesn't flow as well as the first, or why it doesn't register as much. Perhaps it's that the first season had a sharp focus (namely, a series of tragedies that brings Notaro back to her childhood home and reconnecting with her hometown), whereas this one feels more meandering. Over the course of six episodes, the audience is hard-pressed to discover anything new or interesting about these established characters, and a late-season arc involving sexual abuse (including a none-too-subtle reference to Louis CK, also a credited producer here) feels clumsy and awkward. Additionally, although the show developing romantic subplots for all three of its ostensible leads (Notaro herself, John Rothman and Noah Harpster) is a nice touch on paper, the execution leaves a lot to be desired - Notaro's goes round and round endlessly, while Rothman's feels like a writer's construct rather than an organic connection. But it's Harpster's that takes the cake, introducing Carly Jibson's Desiree like a wrecking ball but then refusing to develop her beyond a series of quips and off-hand comments. Overall however, Notaro herself is an engaging performer and she shares warm, effective and lived-in chemistry with off-screen wife Stephanie Allynne, and there are some engaging moments here and there. It just doesn't add up to much, and the season ends on a whimper without registering much more than a few smiles here and there.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't waste you time with this show.
ken6612 November 2017
8 min. was as long as I could watch the 25 min. pilot. I found myself bored and uncomfortable. Tig Notaro is about as interesting as a paint chip and where the subject mater, cancer could have provided for dramatic (even funny) moments I was only reminded of how painfully sad losing a parent to cancer is.

I decided to give this show a try after seeing Tig Notaro on Sarah Silverman's new show. Again I couldn't watch all of Tig's performance because she is so boring. I know this is harsh but it's true.

Somehow this show was renewed for a second season. I have no idea why. There is so much overlooked talent out there and this person gets a show? I am baffled as to who would pay to produce a full season no less a second season on this show.
3 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
such a shame
jcampen-385609 September 2017
Season 1 was wonderful. Unfortunately, losing an election has ruined this show. It is in full tantrum mode. The first episode started with an engaging fantasy sequence of Tig's imagination running wild when another character takes her by the hand to lead her into a party in progress. But from that point on, there was nothing but negativity.
3 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed