The Curse of La Llorona (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
413 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
Seen it all before
Run-of-the-mill cliche horror with jump scares you see coming a mile off. The characters make baffling decisions and the ending is poor. You may have some fun if you go in with extremely low expectations.
78 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Could have been good
embracing_silence23 April 2019
The legend of La Llorona is a very interesting story that had potential to become a good movie. Unfortunately, this one suffered from showing the monster too much.

The plot wasn't bad. It would have been more interesting if they showed more of how the legend started, but they had a good idea to go with. What really didn't work for this movie was showing La Llorona too many times, to the point that she wasn't scary. What's always creepy in movies like this is not being able to see their face until the very end, which they had a perfect scene to show her, but by then it was too late.

If you like the Conjuring universe/horror movies, it's a fun watch, just don't expect anything special.
42 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
The Curse of La Llorona cries itself to sleep with ineffective jump scares and a repetitive plot.
TheMovieDiorama6 May 2019
"The Bad Spell of My Sharona". "What's the Capital of Arizona?". "I'd Rather Be in Barcelona!". The metaphysical entity that has now manifested into "The Conjuring Universe" has certainly had its highs, mostly with James Wan involved, and lows. "The Benefits of Swedish Krona" may just be the lowest point that this franchise has dipped to. It's rare, especially for me, for a horror film to be completely ineffective yet director Chaves (his debut!) releases a relentless amount of jump scares that were both predictable and tamer than a domestic cat. A case worker uncovers a dark secret involving a weeping ghost known as La Llorona who haunts families and takes children. It comes as no surprise that she starts experiencing her curse.

"The Woman from Oklahoma" is frustratingly poor, mostly stemming down from the atrocious writing. The expositional script is nearly absent of any character depth for both the titular ghoul and Velma (forgive me, but Cardellini will always be my Velma). The loose connection with "The Conjuring Universe" is that the father, who explains the entire motives of La La Loner, is the same character from the original 'Annabelle'. That's it. The amount of exposition, for a plot that really doesn't need any whatsoever, is atrocious. And yet, somehow, we practically have no idea why La Macarena is stealing children and how she came about doing this!? All these pathetic explanations and no frickin' depth.

Cardellini was sensationally good. Seriously she saves the film from being the worst of the year (thus far...). Displaying a range of emotions for her children and a ridiculously commanding presence. Sweet lord, I love her. But Velma clearly needed the rest of Mystery Inc. to satisfyingly unmask La Diploma. When Chaves decides to unveil the ghost in the opening sequence in her full form, it leaves little to the imagination. This therefore results in every jump scare (and there are many...) and suspense-driven camera movements to be ineffective.

There is some ingenuity used in various scenes, the umbrella scare was minimally chilling and the long take following Velma throughout her house was well executed. But it's not enough to differentiate itself against every other generic horror film one could easily find on Netflix. The quality and effectiveness that mostly exists in this cinematic universe is not present at all! Predictable right from the bloody start. Velma's children make so many stupid choices that she should've just given them to La Lymphoma. Do not get me started on that doll sequence as the girl reaches out for it on their porch. There's plenty of choking. Eggs explode blood!? Lord, take me now!

Cardellini deserved better. Way better. It started off with an interesting approach on child abuse, but no. Should've known it would throw that out of the window. What should've been a decent mainstream horror turns out to be a supernatural disaster. "I'll See You in Roma" wept its last tear.
61 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Was Expecting More And More
ymyuseda22 April 2019
Rating 6.9/10 It's definitely not as good as conjuring or annabelle. My expectations aren't too high just based on the reviews we're seen but overall it really wasn't bad. There were several scenes really did create the atmosphere. In the end it's another run-of-the-mill horror film despite having a great story !!
217 out of 285 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Flat, boring and filled with clichés
Jimztah2 May 2019
Honestly I'm surprised with all the good scores in the user reviews. I'm surprised as this was easily one of the worse movies I've ever seen. The acting was subpar, the plot was so incredibly flat and easy to guess beforehand, the dialogue was futile and almost like something a writer threw together in a day or two.

If it wasn't for the decent effects, the mostly atmospherical suspense and the children's surprisingly decent acting I'd give this an even lower score. It's that bad. Don't waste your money on this like I did.
36 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Absolute garbage
spetrech-762061 May 2019
I haven't seen a horror movie this bad in a long time. Every single jumpscare is predictable. The ending is predictable, just like EVERY other horror movie. No plot twists. The whole movie is rushed because they wanted to focus on the final battle against evil. Don't waste your time watching this trash.
39 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The Curse of La Basura
schamarande28 April 2019
We were lucky to watch that movie in teen-free premises, which allowed us to focus on the story without suffering jumps, screams and laugh at their own jumps and screams, and repeat. That let us realize plot and twists were not part of the original budget. I guess all the money went to la llorona herself. The room was full of adults, we all laughed at how bad the acting was at times, when the tropes were too obvious... by the end, we were pissed we had not received money to waste two hours of our time.
43 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The weeping woman is alot scarier than this.
grimreaperrr22 May 2019
I actually ended up falling asleep it's shame how unscary this movie portrays the weeping woman. What a waste of my time but at least I caught up on sleep.
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't believe positive reviews this film is the worst.
whitemanfromtowne27 May 2019
The stuff they are calling horror nowadays is just HORRORble and nonsensical. Just going after the shocking effect to thrill the audience does not make a story good by a long shot. There needs to be some everyday common sense on how one reacts to things that don't make sense. But whenever I thought the story would become smart, it became more and more asinine. The sh...t thats being produced nowadays being called horror is a travesty to the genre. Gone are good ole days of great writing. DONT BELIEVE THE POSITIVE REVIEW. This film is the worst.
39 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It's hell...of an atrocious movie.
Hongwaree_Raitao7 May 2019
The curse of La Llorona dissapoints in every aspect. The cast is so cheap, and the screenplay so poor. The writers did not put any effort to develop a smarter story, with deep stuff or something. You will only find a sad, generic and pathetic attempt to scare people. La Llorona will make you cry... for the wrong reason.
33 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Welcome to Conjuring Empire!
hilaryswank201119 April 2019
The Conjuring Universe consumes successful horror film icons and devices, such as demons, possessed dolls, exorcists, evil dead, zombies, anti vampire tools, Kurt Barlow-like makeup in the Salem's Lot, The Amityville Horror and now James Wan consciously consumes local monster tales, ghost stories of the world as part of his own Conjuring Universe.

The Mexican folklore is not an exception from his ambitious imperialist list for Conjuring Universe. Delocalisation in the blockbuster film project which depicts the local legend is a serious issue aesthetically.

La llorona is said to be the wandering spirit of a woman who murdered her children after her lover betrayed her by marrying another woman. Spurned by St. Peter until she could bring the souls of her children with her to the Gate of Heaven, she roams the earth, crying, "¡Ay, mis hijos, mis hijos!" Her appearance is said to be a sign of impending disaster or death.

This La llorona film is not the first one in film history. The first one was La llorona (1933; 73min.) which made when Mexico film industry started the sound film making during the golden era. You can see full movie from Youtube.

The Curse of La Llorona (2019) is nether a spin off nor reboot of this tale. La Llorona is just the Nun in this Conjuring packaged film to scare people as a spooky house device. However it follows basic plot of the tale formalistically that La Llorona seeks other families' children to be sacrificed for her own victims, her two children. The official story of this film is below:

"When Anna Garcia (Linda Cardellini), a social worker and widow raising her two children in 1970s Los Angeles, is called to check in on one of her cases, she finds signs of foul play. As she digs deeper, she finds striking similarities between the case and the terrifying supernatural occurrences haunting her family. Enlisting the help of a local faith healer, she discovers that La Llorona has latched herself onto Anna and will stop at nothing to take her children. La Llorona, also known as the Weeping Woman, is a female ghost in Latin American folklore who lost her children and causes misfortune to those nearby. As she searches for them, she takes other lost children, making them her own. Anna turns to mysticism with the help of a disillusioned priest to fight the evil entity."
  • Warner Bros. Pictures and New Line Cinema


In short, the entire plot is that a social worker Anna Garcia 's children become targets of La Llorona after she mistakenly interrupted exorcism of Patricia Alvarez (Patricia Velasquez) which done for protecting Patricia's own children. The twisting plot is strikingly remarkable that Patricia Alvarez turns against Anna and asks La Llorona to get her children for revenge. It is psychological aspect of this La Llorona film.On the contrary, La Llorona itself is emotionless and mechanical, as the result, there is no emotional interaction with any roles in this film.

What other critics mentioned is high dependencies on jump scares; Kurt Barlow-like make up of La Llorona (The Nun is the same); lack of further in-depth approach to the interesting creepy story; anti vampire tools (cross, bible and holy water) for dealing with the monster; the creative tendency to create cinematic spooky house attraction etc..

There is one thing has to be mentioned is the unique character of the ex-priest, La Llorona hunter Rafael Olvera (Raymond Cruz). He makes Anna and her two children as baits to attract La Llorona for creating a chance to get rid of the evil ghost once and for all. His passiveness during the crisis of Anna's family is something new in this kind of exorcist film.

In general, audiences who want to enjoy spooky house attraction must see this film. However, horror fans who seeks in depth psychological horror drama based on the unique Latin American folklore should see the La Llorona (1933). The Curse of La Llorona (2019) should have explored the psychological aspect of La Llorona instead of creating a spooky house.
51 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't bother
nimitz54128 May 2019
Just another 2019 money grab flick. Don't waste your time. Bad acting, bad story, bad cinematography.

Very unoriginal story... thanks again hollywood..
21 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Absolutely terrible.
mrsmia-9663721 April 2019
A bunch of loud yelling and screaming. A plot that has been done to death and just a mess of a movie. Period.
80 out of 123 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It was a waste of my money and time
goody-0393822 May 2019
When i knew that it was in the conjuring universe I immediately wanted to see it and I knew the curse of la llorona previously so it made me wanted to see it even more, my brother and i went to see it (my brother is a huge fan of the the conjuring universe) We had high hopes for it and oh boy was it disappointing. The negatives: Let's start with how they didn't take advantage of the amazing story basically they told the story in about two minutes and that's it,they did mention it once or twice afterward but it didn't do justice to the story. Second thing to talk about is the jump scares, the movie consisted of jump scares (With the examination of the first of thirty minutes) after that it was either a jump scare or the music leading to a jump scare. Third thing is that the movie is a cliché, you have your cliché kids that will get everyone killed to get their toy and your cliché church that will tell you that they can't help you but they'll send you to normally a ghost investigator but this time it was a shaman and many more. That's all i have to say if the movie did anything good it was that it made us laugh.
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Absolute tosh!!
njpk96 May 2019
Rubbish!! Starts with an OK story and starts to build it then regresses to how many jump scares can we fit into an hour and a quarter!! predictable and boring, if you like substance then stay away from this film!! I can only think all of the people rating the film 10/10 were asleep for the whole film as an hour and a half's sleep is the only thing that would have been worth doing throughout it!!
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Disappinting
wotix5 May 2019
Jump scares and cut and paste horror is not good enough - :( Please do better Hollywood
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A real disappointment.
sbweightman16 May 2019
The film starts off ok with a good setting and premise, but after about halfway through it becomes a generic jump scare fest with no real horror or surprises. The story doesn't go anywhere, the characters don't develop, the acting never excels, and by the final act, it all gets a bit silly. The only scary parts are the odd jump scare in the first act - there's no creeping sense of dread or tension, no political commentary, and no originality.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Lazy storytelling. Everything you don't want in a horror movie to be
princesschristy28 April 2019
Was yelling wth throughout this movie. Expected far more from these producers. Don't waste your time or money.
17 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Choppy and doesn't make a lot of sense, but passable
jtindahouse22 April 2019
If I were a schoolteacher grading 'The Curse of La Llorona' I would pass it, but absolutely minimally (I believe in America they call that a C-). It did just enough to keep me from hating it and nothing more. The film started off with a semi-decent opening scene. It wasn't overly long but it did enough to set the tone for the movie. Then the tone drastically changes in the next scene, then goes back to trying to be scary in the next, then everything is back to normal, then scary again. This continues for quite a lot of the movie and it really made it hard to stay in the suspenseful mood the film was trying to achieve.

The problems with the spirit were very distracting by the end of the film. Very rarely in films like this does anything make a lot of sense, but at least they're not usually as in your face as they are in this film. A spirit that can seemingly do anything, can also only walk through one door to enter a house? An embarrassingly bad piece of writing there. The rules just seemed to be made up as they went along to fit the story.

The film's biggest strength is, as you might imagine, 'La Llorona' herself. She is suitably creepy. She was also used a lot which I liked. Often in these Conjuring universe movies the title character goes missing for large parts of the movie. That can't be said here. The film relies on a lot of jump-scares, some of them are actually done very well and caught me off guard. 'The Curse of La Llorona' does just enough to get by, but there are worse things you could do than going out to see it.
15 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Dreadful
mariomaster332 May 2019
Exclusively jump scares and loud noises. No intuitive plot elements or camera work, one dimensional characters, and pretty much everything else a decent movie needs. This was the most cookie-cutter horror I've seen yet, and that's really saying something.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
As poor as a horror film gets.
sala15118310 May 2019
Horror films are extremely weak and it's rare to get a decent one today but this would of been a bad film in any era. The comical 'hammer and nails' spoken just made me laugh and the child actors were also quite in the film. Every time I was expecting something to happen in did, it played right into the arms of horror films gone before so many times. I expect this film to be liked by 13-19 year olds but for me this film gets a 4/10 rating and that's being slightly kind to it.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Should be called LA GRITONA!!!
lionel-0328920 April 2019
This movie should have been named the La Gritona or nagging/yelling woman. I was falling asleep during the movie buy the dang Gritona kept waking me lol. Movie sucked period!!!!
64 out of 120 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not the nun 2... Or is it?
I loved the nun and this was okay. But I do wonder if I saw this first would I feel the same. Or would I love this and hate that? My point is the formula of getting my attention here to shock me over there is getting old. You can call almost everyone before it happens. And sorry but drowning a few kids should not make it an R rating this is a PG-13 movie at best. I think the drowning was meant to shock a lot more then it did with me. Not a horrible movie. But I was disappointed.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
what a big no horror for a horror movie
fonnyhariyanto12 May 2019
This horror movie not making me jump scare at all, very predictable and i'm get to used with the same evil makeup. the acts of the children i'm sorry to say that not like scaring children at all. the sequel perhaps? for me no if no improvement from its story and the casts.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
So typical. Genuine Horror enthusiasts will hate this
kopuntm26 May 2019
First movie ive ever walked out of a cinema for. Jump scare after jump scare that were all predictable! Lasted about 45 minutes before walking out. 2 stars are for the loud as hell noises that give a little life to the movie.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed