The Fate of the Furious (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
549 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Cringefest - Stupidity level 11
satanclaw18 June 2017
This was painful. Action? Yes, but we're talking Physics that Sharknado would be ashamed of. Failure to understand or accept how reality works, even at a basic level. If you know the basics of cars, computers or physics, this will inflict pain to your brain.

No part of this movie made sense, it makes all 7 prequels seem like a real life documentary about cars. By far - Worst of the series. By going so far off the deep end, it made it too improbable for me to enjoy.
286 out of 396 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The worst movie of the series
stevemartis25 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This is my first review on IMDb and I'm only writing this because so many reviews are praising this movie! I knew it would be average but within the first 10 minutes I realised how horrible this movie was. From winning a race in reverse gear of a wrecked car to driving ahead of an army without a single bullet hitting them. I know this series has always had over the top action but this plain nonsense. As somebody else said in their review the heists didn't need cars in the first place. I only liked the action sequences between Dwayne and Jason, rest were unwatchable! I feel bad for the people praising this movie.
196 out of 281 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fast, Furious and Emotional...
ahmetkozan21 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The Fast and the Furious series began as a simple street adventure. He also loved this movie, which loves Need for Speed. The film has turned into one of the longest running series of movie theaters. It is necessary to make another addition to the new Fast and Furious films with the loss of an unfortunate traffic accident during the filming of former actor Paul Walker; Fast, Furious and Emotional...

Here's our thing; We have a very nice and poisonous cyber agent, played by Charlize Theron, aiming at launching a 3rd World War who is abducted by the Russian nuclear submarine and who does not know what to do and creating an environment of chaos. Dominic Toretto joins her own army because she knows who will come out. The rest of the team are confused but recover quickly and make Deckard, the bad head of the previous film, a forced partner. The rest is a big fuss and a big car pursuit sequence at the finals.

This time, F. Gary Gray... Before the film, it was a question mark for such a big budget, but the business that it reveals deserves applause. He has pulled the fastest and furious part that was drawn up until now. He is also successful in managing the player. He makes Charlize Theron both in love and hate, and Jason Statham is able to combine his ability to create disruptive humor with his fists. Speaking of punches, the film has close combat sequences that require as much choreography as we will see in a Jet Li movie, and these moments are more enthusiastically viewed than the car scenes.

Long story short; Fast and Furious 8, a Bond adventure for children of all ages. In warm Cuba it starts among the girls with mini skirts and ends in ice-cold arctic seas. Great budget, great adventure. If you look at the flowing text when the movie is over, you will see that the real heroes are the stunt team. Hollywood owes a lot to these crazy people. Watch the day and then download the soundtrack from Spotify because it is very successful and wait for the 9th movie. 8/10
142 out of 207 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A problematic re-introduction to the franchise
ryanmkincaid21 May 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The issues in this re-entry into the Walker-less franchise are too many to count. So I'll point out the problems in hopes that the next installment correct these gaping plot problems:

1. Deckard Shaw killed Han so now Dom forgives him for that? Hard to shallow.

2. The NYC sequence was horrible. First of all NYC traffic is absolutely horrible from sun up to sun down. Those birds eye views of semi empty streets is pure fantasy. The draw of shooting in NYC is what imaginary way will the director/writer/crew choreograph chase sequences in a metropolis where it's bumper to bumper car and foot traffic all the time. The production saying that they are filming in NYC proved that they really didn't need to film here at all because the sequence was unimaginative.

3. Following up the NYC sequence is the absolute absurdity that a hacker can remotely control hundreds of cars simultaneously. There are just not that many cars that are hack-able on the road. That sequence is at least 50 years off.

4. Dom naming his son Brian? Would have been better fitting to name him Paul. Brain is still alive in this universe. The characters even mention contacting Brian and Mia in the beginning of the film. It's understandable that the franchise would want to honor Paul Walker and his character but to name your kid after your "STILL- ALIVE" brother-in-law is forced. Had the character been killed off in the previous film then naming him so would be fine. Here it's reaching, and in the most imaginative way. Naming the son Paul, however, accomplishes EXACTLY what the franchise wants. Plus the audience is smart enough to get it.

5. Figure out how to reintroduce Lucas Black/Tokyo Drift cast back into the franchise.
15 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Beyond awful
svetlozar-8324510 June 2017
I liked the previous movies of the franchise. They were decent action flicks, exactly something you go to watch in a cinema with friends. But this? This is beyond awful, it's worse than a parody. Every line is a cliché, the acting is not even mediocre, the plot line is exactly like something a 12 year old boy has come up with.

There's no way the 10 star reviews are NOT paid. This movie is an insult to anyone who pays to see it.
159 out of 261 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
An insult to all those who paid money to see it
jedinichelsea20 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Be aware, plausible spoilers I do not know where to start. I thought that I'm used to the cheesiness of the FF movies, but this is......overwhelming. Its like they are making movies for people under 18 only. Whole movie is a load of random c***. Its so senseless, cheesy, unbelievably unrealistic, cliché- ish.....total disaster. They ruined good characters, like deck shaw. In ff7, he was terrifying hit-man. Here, they turned him into a clown who is afraid of his mother. Its ridiculous. Next, is it a bird, is it a plane? No, its......Luke HOBBS!!! My Lord, he is the perfect example of everything wrong in modern Hollywood. Awful acting, cringe lines, superhuman strength (they literally took it to the superman level in ff8) Cipher- theron is a brilliant actor in normal movies, but here they made her a joke. I would compare it to the thurman's poison ivy from 1997. Tbh, roman is the only lightspot. He really is funny, natural funny, not bad humour like others. He is the reason why I made it to the end.
107 out of 174 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Absolutely senseless
damnedwhatuser6 June 2017
One of the most stupid, senseless and ridiculous movies I have ever watched. I wonder only why would Charlize Theron play in something like that? Money must have been very tempting for an Oscar-winning actress to even think about that this could become a good movie with no story, no developing characters, not even a story but just lots of money thrown on some... well I must admit - good special effects. But not worth even a dime to pay for a ticket to watch it, not talking even about the waste of time.
145 out of 242 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Blockbuster-soap opera with elements of comedy
BiiivAL9 June 2018
Now, "Fast and Furious" is more like a Brazilian soap opera, where everyone knows each other and addresses names. After the death of Paul Walker, many, and I among them, thought that the film would be the last, but not the same. Producers and creators do not want to kill a chicken carrying golden eggs. Each film of the franchise brought a good cash and there was no rating below the seven. I watched this movie and I'm ready to share my impressions of the view and thoughts on this matter.

The plot of this film will lead our heroes to the most ill-fated places in the world: from Havana to New York and this time it is necessary to prevent the capture of the world from the charming and pretty hackershee with the pretentiousness and intelligence of the Joker, who talks about world domination and total control with philosophy on the verge of insanity. The action goes on increasing and reaches the boiling point at the time of betrayal, the team faced the most dangerous enemy, with its ideological leader. Not everyone can immediately understand what Dominic saw in that smartphone that immediately stepped on the dark side of the force. The main tie for the drama of the film is family values, which I welcome in any form and let the plot be compared with a soap opera, this is a new generation opera with steep wheelbarrows, well-chased pursuits with dashing tricks, bright and colorful explosions.

A separate article should mention the humor of the picture, built on the recklessness and absurdity of some decisions like rain in fifty cars from the window of a shopping center or "Niva" in the Atlantic Ocean with a submarine. While you are in the cinema your mind does not want to think about the logic and unreality of some tricks and phenomena, perceiving everything as a popcorn blockbuster with an element of situational humor and absurdity, especially well in the verbal skirmishes of Dékard Shaw and Luke Hobbs, in prison they are each other simply they continue to complain and they are no better, but it's so ridiculous! The main humorist was Roman Pierce. As before, he always sticks in curious situations, not without a caustic commentary and in itself he is a good comedian. It seems to me in my new capacity as the franchise organically exists and is fully capable to please the eye, if it does not think about the story logic and violations of the laws of physics, the eyes and the brain in such films have a rest, but here it seems to me the strongest concentration of the humor in the whole franchise and this share of self-irony and banter smoothes not all but many roughness, which for me personally is a good plus. The picture does not stint on the visual beauty and assembly, especially would like to mention that our localizers even translated the names of cities visited by the characters, and that's the solution when mounting the sea white reads "Havana. Cuba "seems to me a good decision, plus I will note the camera and composer work. Why do I evaluate them in a single segment, because often when we see a beautiful landscape picture, or just kinds of beautiful female beauty always comes music and some tunes well as memorable, and the camera in the moment of the explosion, chases and fights pulls out a general plan good angles , helping us to see in detail the environment or just enjoy the action.

Actor's work is not bad. Vin Diesel throughout his career earned three images with which he is associated: Dominique Toretto, Xander Cage and Riddick. Recently released a third film about the agent "Three X" and something he did not particularly like, the top five. Here he plays as if this is what he is, at the same time is the producer of the franchise from the fourth film. In our dubbing he speaks with the voice of Sergei Chonishvili, a strong dubbing actor with many roles in our cinema. Dwayne Johnson, once known as "Rock", wins Hobbs well. In our dubbing he speaks with the voice of Yuri Brezhnev, I do not often hear him, but his timbre is pleasant. Last which sounded: "The Secret Life of Pets", "trolls", "Straight Outta Compton" (director of nominal this film set the eighth "Fast and the Furious"), Ludacris and Tyrese Gibson as always good, their voices sound Alexander Noskov and Peter "Glanz" Ivashchenko, voices and types of actors, it seems to me, coincided.

As a result: Watch only in the cinema, because the spectacle is perceived well in the big hall and looking not particularly analyze the plot and enjoy jokes. The plot completely fits into the coordinates of "afterburner dramaturgy", and the visual emphasizes virtues, humor covers some shortcomings. I liked the movie, I'll appreciate it at eight points, take it as a popcorn blockbuster and enjoy it. All good and pleasant viewing!
129 out of 240 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Dominic Torreto just went rogue - a well done sequel a bit underrated
ivo-cobra820 August 2017
The Fate of the Furious (2017) in my opinion is a well fast paced a well done sequel. I just got this film on Blu-ray and I just finished watching it what can I say? I enjoy watching this film I had a fun a lot, I love this film to death and I like it a lot. I think is my number one favorite in the series Fast Five (2011) is still my number two favorite film in the series but this one just become my favorite number 1 film. Since Paul Walker died in November 30, 2013 both of the characters Brian O'Conner and Mia Toretto retired and the seventh installment completed the story arcs for both of their characters.

I think Vin Diesel who took over the movie without Paul walker did a great job I also finished him watching in his early action movie xXx (2002) pretty good movie. Dwayne Johnson was far way better than he was in Furious Seven. He had much more to do than in here than he did in the previous film that was my biggest problem in the previous installment. He was only in the beginning of the film and on the end of the film in the final showdown the rest of that film he was absent but in this film he had much more to do. Jason Statham is back as Deckard Shaw and he had much more things to do then he did in the previous film. Charlize Theron as Cipher was outstanding as the bad guy I liked her performance. Michelle Rodriguez as hot chick mom was really great I love her performance in this movie. Nathalie Emmanuel as Ramsey from the previous film is also in here. I love performances from Chris 'Ludacris' Bridges and Tyrese Gibson they were great.

F. Gary Gray did not do a bad job directing this film I thought he was good. I think this movie is a good action movie and way better than the new Transformers films and Terminator films. I rather watch The Fast and the Furious films then those I mentioned. Chris Morgan was excellent writer in this movie.

In this movie Dom and Letty are on their honeymoon and Brian and Mia have retired from the game-and the rest of the crew has been exonerated-the globetrotting team has found a semblance of a normal life. But when a mysterious woman seduces Dom into the world of crime he can't seem to escape and a betrayal of those closest to him, they will face trials that will test them as never before. From the shores of Cuba and the streets of New York City to the icy plains off the arctic Barents Sea, the elite force will crisscross the globe to stop an anarchist from unleashing chaos on the world's stage... and to bring home the man who made them a family.

Also the movie takes on icy plains off the arctic Barents Sea which are cars on the ice, that idea was from James Bond 007 Die Another Day but still the movie borrowed I have enjoyed this movie. Everyone in this movie did great I am so happy I have this film on Blu-ray.

I am not sure if hackers can hack into new cars and drive them during on the road with the computer I don't think that is impossible not with the technology was created in the decades, that's my opinion.

I wasn't happy that Charlize Theron's character escaped but I hope we will see her in the next installments. I hear there are 2 installments planed and the 10th will be last one in the series.

I don't think this movie is great or the best or better than Furious Seven I just think it is a good film.

I love that Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham put their sides behind and start working together. I love the prison escape and love that Jason Statham saved Dominic's son on the plain. Deckard kill Han but he pay for it when he rescue Dom's son. I love the chemistry between Dom and Letty they are still married and together that's awesome.

Scott Eastwood is also in this and even tough he isn't that great he is enjoyable in this flick. I also love the poster and the cover on Blu-ray about this film it think it is excellent.

This film get's a 10/10 I have enjoyed this film a lot the submarine was awesome and I am glad that the crew save the world again.
100 out of 184 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
"Fate" Is More Ridiculous Than Furious
timothyalanwilliams7 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I remember seeing the preview for "The Fast and The Furious" back in 2001 and thinking "That movie is gonna bomb! Who wants to watch a movie about street car racing?" Little did I know that a movie studio's idea of re-imaging the cult classic, "Point Break", with street cars instead of surf boards would turn into a box office hit and make Paul Walker and Vin Diesel household names. Diesel and director Rob Cohen abandoned the sequel, "2 Fast 2 Furious" with Walker starring and John Singleton directing. It couldn't match the success of the original and most thought the franchise was over. Then up-and-coming director, Justin Lin, attempted to breathe life back into franchise with a whole new cast on a new continent with "The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift". Although the film bombed at the box office, Vin Diesel saw potential and inked a deal with Paramount to get the original cast back together with Lin directing and shifted from just a street racing movie to more of a straight-up action flick. 2009's "Fast & Furious" was the revival no one saw coming and jump started the franchise...uh, so to speak. Each sequel after ("Fast Five", "Fast & Furious 6", and "Furious 7") got bigger, bolder, and, at times, to more ridiculous than furious. But each one dominated the box office and turned out to be quite entertaining popcorn flicks. After the tearful farewell to Paul Walker (who died tragically during a break in filming) at the end of 7, I wasn't quite sure how the franchise would move on. The bond and chemistry of Walker and Diesel were the key components of the previous movies' success. And I have to say, "The Fate of the Furious" suffers from Paul's absence. The movie is still full of action, and even more street racing and car chases than the last few movies. But that's no surprise with new-to-the-franchise director F. Gary Gray who took movie car chases to a new level in "The Italian Job". But even with those cool car chases, The Rock going toe-to-toe (again) with Jason Statham, and new villain Charlize Theron, "The Fate of the Furious" feels like it's running out of gas. If you are looking for a solid story line, this isn't for you. But if you just want some ludicrous action (pardon my pun), some amusing wise-cracks from Tyrese Gibson, and a hint of high-tech hi-jinks to save the world from a ruthless hacker then 8 just might be in your fate, Side Note: I am hoping that The Rock gets his own spin-off movie based his "Luke Hobbs" character, because he is becoming bigger than this franchise can handle.
26 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
the best by far nearest theater a quarter mile by car
gangstercobra20 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
wow just wow! It is the best one in the series to date. Yes the scene's were redonkuless and most really out there, but its a movie lol. The scenes lived up to the franchise name. it was a new beginning for the series. the car hacking scene was the most realistic scene. Also Deckard Shaw joining the team had a purpose just pay attention and u will know why. its to bad the rock could not come back but its fine idc he was getting annoying. it would be nice to see John Cena maybe play a marine or something maybe a seal or other spacial forces. or do a hot female cop other the what has been in the series more like Rhonda rousey style girl but got the bod too maybe tie her in with the late Paul walker (r.i.p) maybe play her as a friend Brian o-Conner maybe in his young years boost-in cars hey some ideas but the girl idea would be awesome and use the guy who played Tokyo drift as a potential boyfriend to keep the series going forever lol hey no need to credit me just make it awesome!
28 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Predictable and so much fun
utpal_das18 April 2017
The franchise did lose a bit of steam in between, but the last 2 installments were great.

Yes, predictable story, but you don't go to watch the movie for the story.

You go for the stunts and if you thing 7 was good, wait till you see this, equally good if not better.

Smart one liners, A M A Z I N G stunts, great photography or rather camera angles, you know what to expect and it delivers!

Great fun, really great fun, wont say throughout but the last 30 minutes are amazing.

This will not disappoint the franchise fan, that is for sure.

Okay this is a Vin Diesel movie, so the Rock and Statham takes a back seat but all is well, Theron plays a mean baddie, could have been a little more defined, nice cameo by Kurt Rusell, all in all bottom line is, you will like the movie if you know what to expect.
40 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good action flick for 15yos
ikari126 April 2017
The action is fine (although it is a Transformers, Michael Bay kind of action), but that script, oh my god the script is so cheesy... This thing about cyber terrorism where everyone is a hacker, but no one uses a mouse on a computer, they all just type in front of a holographic screen with moving images from a Star Trek movie. It is just getting old. Enough with the "lets hack into a network of satellites in 10 seconds".

The characters have no real spunk behind them, they just appear, because they have to. The motives of the villain are silly and unclear, the villains henchmen are targets for shooting practice. The last couple FF movies were much much better in terms of story, still over the top action, but they had some feeling.

This one is just a flick for children, it's slow motion fx, big "really big" explosions, lots of good quality cgi, and fitting for a kids movie not a drop of blood.

I give it a 6, because the production and the action are great, and I like the fact that some big Hollywood names appeared in it. But it is more like a 5.7, oh did I mention that the acting sucks as well?
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The movie did its job
alissarios-10016 April 2017
Fate of the Furious, or Fast 8, was exactly what you wanted it to be and more. The storyline wasn't as interesting as Fast 6 or 7, but still made for a good plot. The pacing was a bit weird, and I felt like some characters were kind of left out of the storyline (Letty and Tej), but overall it was a great time. Hot girls, beautiful and fast cars, AMAZING action sequences, and just enough emotion and drama to remind us what really matters: family. Definitely recommend if you liked the other movies, or you're just looking for a fun, entertaining, and visually stunning action movie.
60 out of 115 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Interesting but quite too many unbelievable situations
bubbasvn28 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
(Non - Spoiler Section) is it good? Yes, it's interesting and worth watching. Going into the film you will be anxiously waiting to see why Dom betrays his team after watching the the trailers. It is action packed and brings some nice comedic dialogue and some really nice action scenes. Except some parts rely a lot on CGI.

(Spoiler Section) Now, whether it is unbelievable that Dom can pick up an EMP bomb with ease, or that the Rock can break handcuffs at an extremely secure prison is beyond me, but it doesn't stop there. So it is OK for Kurt Russel's character to allow prison guards to be injured or killed, to prove a point, and in that kind of prison the guards would ask the Rock to return to his cell without just zapping him first. So Dom can elbow his car door off in the middle of the street, or how the greatest hacker in the world can't notice a tracker on her plane, that later on shows a red blinking light, that can easily be seen flashing towards the end of the movie. Is it believable that an EMP would not destroy the communications in Dom's car, or the CPU in his car. And also the EMP hit the security room, so why was it still running? Also why could the submarine still run after an EMP. Wasn't the submarine on stilts? How did it get off the stilts and into the water? When firing a sniper rifle from that range, how could gravity and wind speed be ignored? Can Dom really jump out of a vehicle and not be hurt at all? Plus fire explosions don't just stop because there is a car in the way, why wasn't anyone angry at Dom on the ice for killing Deckard Shaw? How doesn't Roman have hypothermia? And a Lamborghini door isn't bulletproof… oh and if they could use X-ray from a satellite to look through that Russian car, why couldn't they do it to see Dom not at his car? The previous movie was about saving that program that Ramsey made, and Cipher has it, how was this not solved or part of their main concern? How do you go on a plane like that and not at least bring a parachute? WHy wasn't Dom's cousin upset with Dom before he gave him His ride? Especially when he tore it apart? Am I missing any? There is a lot...

Regardless, it's enjoyable to watch.
14 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
These movies never disappoint!
Soldier200022 April 2017
This installment has far exceeded my expectations! I knew it was going to be amazing, but not THIS amazing. Im not giving any spoilers but there was a nice little twist that I never even saw coming! The cast was excellent and as funny as ever. There was a different feel to it because Paul is gone, but he would definitely be pleased with how the movie turned out. I hope you all enjoy the movie!
78 out of 155 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing Film
robertthomas9718 April 2017
I enjoyed the whole film through out it had so much comedy and action in it, very good to watch and would recommend everyone to watch it! Most fast and furious come out near my birthday and I always go to watch it to celebrate and never been disappointed by any of them. Hopefully they do another one😃
70 out of 138 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Simply aimed at 'idiots'!
bellab197217 April 2017
I was a huge fan of The Fast and the Furious as I love cars and don't mind stupid story lines. The essence of the original movie was lost long ago.

I won't bother going into details about the actual story because by now most people know what it's about and to be honest, doesn't really matter.

It bothers me when so many stupid movies are being made and are actually making money because people's expectations are so low! Like other sequels, the producers can release really stupid movies and make absolutely no effort to improve on the original and ruin the franchise. Transformers is a prime example!

It's not that hard to make a great 'car movie' but when they don't even bother following the laws of physics and have cars flying and doing the impossible, this insults the viewer! People excuse the ridiculous stunts saying it's not suppose to be real life but it is suppose to be semi realistic and on earth where gravity exists! I shake my head in derision at such insulting stunts.

But, with these movies making money, viewers standards are non existent as long as there is are tough guys and fast beautiful cars.

Producers will continue to make terrible movies when the publics standards are so low. We could send a message to the movie industry that we do have brains and to not insult us with such impossible stunts, but maybe people are that stupid!

I know it's just my opinion but wouldn't stunts that are possible be more exciting and more enjoyable to watch! I really don't understand the appeal of fantasy stunts as opposed to highly skilled realistic stunts.
55 out of 106 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Delivers 100%
lars-o-wangen11 April 2017
I had high expectations for this, to be honest i didn't know if it was going to live up to the massive hype. Well it did 100% i was very impressed. The crew does it again and i love it. Some may think its too noisy and action packed. But this is fast and furious the title speaks for it self so buckle up and enjoy!
76 out of 151 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
It ain't ran out of gas!
darryl-4206916 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Fate of the Furious, the eight installment of the mindless, crazed up action flick has proved itself that the franchise never ran out of gas. There's over the top action scene, there's some mindless story, and there's Vin Diesel talking about family over and over again. Those things are what makes us coming back for more, and this is no exception.

The story follows Dom Toretto who betrays his family to work for Cipher, and his team's attempt to stop him. Vin Diesel has firmly stated that this movie "may earn a Oscar for it's acting", Maybe he's right because the acting is probably the best in the franchise. There were times where I'm surprised by Vin Diesel's acting. I also had a tear in my eye for no reason (damn those ninja cutting onions...) Charlize Theron is amazing as someone who's a menacing foe that you love to hate. The Rock, Jason Statham, Michelle Rodriguez, Ludicrous, Tyrese, Kurt Russell, and Nathalie Emmanuel reprises their roles and they did a good job as well, especially The Rock, Statham and Michelle Rodriguez. Scott Eastwood and Helen Mirren are great and a welcome addition to the franchise. There's also some surprise appearances and they are great as well.

The story... you definitely need no explanation for this. As always: it's stupid, in a good way of course. The story ties into Fast & Furious 6, and Furious 7, so for newcomers to the franchise, you may get confused a bit. The film also uses plot twists, which were greatly executed. There were some well placed funny moments and there's also some depressing moments as well. The movie also serves as the first in the final trilogy of the franchise. How the story goes later, we'll just wait for the ninth installment, which definitely will arrive soon enough.

The action, needless to say, is as crazy as in Furious 7, or maybe more. Taking insanity to the next level, these action scenes is either get you pumped out for what happens next, or making you shake your head for it's absurdity. Just don't relate to science or the law of physics, because those things don't apply to this movie.

However, the movie somehow felt hollow. There's something that's missing from the movie that prevents me from fully enjoying the movie. The lack of Paul Walker in the movie probably causes this. Referencing Brian and Mia in the movie ain't help either. Plot holes were present in the movie as well. Someone dies in the movie, but their deaths don't do justice (he/she died, he/she avenge his/her death, and that's it). And there's some CGI noticeable throughout the movie (which is a shame).

Regardless, Fate of the Furious is a movie with a stupid story, ridiculous action sequences, and Vin Diesel talking about family, which were bad, in a good way. Don't expect a really good story, or some logical action scene, because you'll ended up disappointed by the end of this movie. And for those "fans" who said: "Remember when it's all about racing", face it, Fast & Furious ain't returning fully to it's roots. If you don't like the change then you'll definitely don't like this movie. For anyone else who like fast cars, mindless action fun, get a ticket, have a seat and enjoy the ride.
119 out of 245 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fast-paced high octane action film, a nice addition to the series.
joshuabury-9291322 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
If you've been part of the ride for the first 7 Fast & Furious installments, you know what to expect. The franchise has become every moviegoer's guilty pleasure — mindless over-the-top action, million dollar sports cars, and the signature close-ups of women's butts. The cheesy dialogue and line delivery is forgivable, the acting is passable, and the cast is likable (the leader of whom being Dominic Toretto, played by Vin Diesel, who is carrying the series on his back at this point).

The new villain this time around is Cipher, played by Charlize Theron. Her mysterious monotone character is the most interesting of the Fast & Furious antagonists thus far. Speaking of antagonists, it is very entertaining to see the Shaw brothers (played by Jason Statham and Luke Evans) join the team and fight alongside Agent Hobbs (Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson") and Company. Jason Statham's performance, particularity his charisma with Dwayne Johnson, really is the highlight of the film. Vin Diesel is great as always, and in Fate of the Furious we see a more emotional side of him as he goes against the family to save his infant son. His betrayal does seems out of character, which is my only complaint about the film. It is very satisfying, though, when he is reunited with the rest of the characters. The nod to Brian at the end is a nice touch (Rest in Peace Paul Walker).

Overall, Fate of the Furious is a hell of a good time. It goes where the series hasn't gone before, which I didn't think would be possible. Stunts and fight choreography are top-notch as always. Very entertaining and refreshing, and meant for the big screen. 8/10.
27 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The 8th chapter of dom and crew
monstermayhem3217 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I know many fans were wondering what direction the series would take next considering how furious 7 felt like a swan song to the franchise considering that Paul Walker passed away when that that movie was filming and his character was retired. However things have changed when Dom meets a woman named cipher played wonderfully by Charlize Theron who happens to be the first major female villain in the series to betray his crew when he discovers a son he didn't know about. I will say one of the best parts of the film is the car chase sequence in New York. Helen mirren has a cameo appearance as the mother of deckard and Owen Shaw which was nice to see.
25 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
No words for this....
dewii25 April 2017
There have been two movies in my life so far, that really had me on the edge of leaving the cinema before it was all over. Both times i decided to sit it through, making me feel dumber with every minute. Where the first of those was an infamous flick going by the name of "Transformers 3" the second was this very.... i don't even know what to call it.

For my faith in humanity to be restored, i REALLY have to HOPE and PRAY that all this 10/10 reviews are some part of a marketing campaign. If they aren't, i can not help but feel tremendously sorry. Even stating things like "FF8 is totally over the top, it just has to be like that, much fun much wow" does not even come close to the point in any aspect. The whole movie is a gigantic insult to every form of intelligence and makes me wonder, how much they had to pay some of the more renown actors, to filth their names with starring in it. Going into detail in whatsoever way would just totally not be worth it, as is paying 6 bucks for this.

I couldn't help but have a special problem with Vin Diesel. His whole appearance, voice, everything, worked absolutely perfect in films like Riddick, to a certain extent also in Tripple X. In this movie yet, his dumb one liners, faked emotions and overall "pretending" (whereas there is no better word for what this movie had all of its characters do for over 2 hours) just has you cringe every minute of his screen time.

Finally DO NOT be fooled: you WILL NOT enjoy any of this movies (ridiculous) "action" scenes, when every other dialogue, story line and every other bit of it leaves you in utter pain.

EDIT: one more mention of the word "family" and i would have puked all over my popcorn.
58 out of 113 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
An illogical movie with cheesy build up, with characters using cars for missions that don't need cars at all.
bloodymexycool14 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
is this where human evolution is going? seriously? a group of adults calling each other family, doing stupid stuffs driving cars. they're doing missions that could've been done a hundred times better without using a car at all.

such a huge blunder. right from Dwyane sliding a running missile with his hand.. to a bunch of people with cars attacking a Russian military Base? to people surviving a submarine blast by hiding behind their cars. wtf. second hand is the so-called family drivers riding on flat snow with the Russian army behind them and the fittings tanks and rocket launchers couldn't get a dent on their cars. their missiles are ridiculed and I don't even know why nobody from the military comes from the front side. and how vin diesel catches up with them all of a sudden. seriously?
117 out of 242 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
the fate and the furious Warning: Spoilers
when is this movie i was thing is fast and the furious is going to have more acting and comedy and also is Dominic Toretto going to be a bad i yes but he was play both sides he was acting like he was a bad guy but he when full 00 AGENT like in the movie of James Bond 007 but the control the car wow is also / of Terminator 3 rise of the machines when the T-X hack the cars and she diver them with here CPU but this actors Charlize Theron as a computer hacker no no like also in James bond/ Terminator 3 rise of the machines and the bond movie i'm talk about is Goldeneye 007 when natalya simonova level 2 computer program now i'm give her as a level 3 computer program started a submarine buy computer and the cars same thing like how the actors from T3 Kristanna Loken as the T-X to control the cars i give 100% i and i like what all the actors did make a force field and that also from T3 when Arnold Schwarzenegger said you are Terminated to the T-X And the 2 actors got the head down cool but this one cool so i hope fast and the furious win in Oscars in the Oscars 2018 and i can not wait to see a nine and a ten fast and the furious and i like to wash Good like to Vin Diesel because you are not done no why you have Guardians of the Galaxy part 2 good luck and this all the Carlos Herrera from north west Arkansas say keep make more fast and the furious and Downy you need to fight agings the bad guy from 7 in wwe
75 out of 150 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed