Eliminators (2016) Poster

(2016)

User Reviews

Review this title
36 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Action Adkins !!!!
Moviereeeels1211 June 2018
... this one took me back to the days of action flicks with Van Damme, Norris & Seagal back in the 80's & 90's , and i really enjoyed it. No mucking around straight into the story and great action scenes, great little action flick!!!
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Solid B-Movie Vibe with Good Action Scenes
idontdodrugs2 December 2016
So Scott Atkins pretty much always means extraordinary action scenes. Here however, the first five minutes feel more like a gritty drama. Especially the first two minutes with Scott doing his exercises and looking with intense sadness at something made me think this could be something different than the usual stuff he is doing - well nope.

The plot is all over the place. Scott and his movie daughter are apparently in witness protection and some dudes invade his home out of pure stupidity and coincidence. So Scott has to let out his superhero alter ego and brutally murder everyone. Except his daughter of course. Well, since he is all over the news now, he is kind of hunted by the crime boss he was hiding from in witness protection.

Cinematography is actually quite nice. Good camera movement for the nearly exploitative action scenes. Also good editing - you always have an overview what happens, and if you don't, it is intended and enhances suspense a little. The flick uses toned down colors to convey the gritty and realistic feel. In total, I would say the movie is competently shot on a technical level.

The actors...well there is Scott Atkins, who is not known for his acting ability, but for his amazing martial arts. But I think he became quite convincing in the last years. The thing is, he never really has a role that needs his acting chops. It's not different here. Apart from him, there is maybe the main bad guy that is somehow memorable. He does have the physical presence needed, he seems intimidating when he is walking along with his firearms. Acting wise, there is not much happening though.

So in essence, the film could have been better with a more interesting script and maybe more interesting dialogue. Some people die and you should be feeling something, but you don't. That is the fault of the script. It is very bare minimum story as set up for really really good action scenes. So really, good movie for Scott Atkins fans and martial arts enthusiasts. The rest of potential audiences won't get much out of the movie though.

Five out of ten for general movie competence and action scenes.
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Should have been better
iantrader2 January 2017
This is a basic action flick but it could and should have been so much better than it is although it would never be great.

Lots of poor and corny dialogue and poor decisions by the good guys. You know the sort of thing - not killing the baddie when you can and letting his escape. Yawn. Also the thing about the goody being shot but then doing martial arts, etc. as if nothing had happened. Thought this had gone out at least two decades ago. Yawn (again). Lots of drawn-out sequences. And plot holes and logic, particularly at the beginning and the end. Oh dear...

And what the title has to do with the story is anyone's guess. Although the producers probably thought it was better than ' A bit of editing could have improved it, but switch off any kind of logical thinking and, if you've nothing better to watch (and preferably if it's on TV), and you like Scott Adkins and his fighty arts, waste an hour and a half on it if you must.
17 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Better Than Most Bargain Bin Action Flicks
ActionFan-Reviews23 December 2016
At first I did not expect much from Eliminators.But As a fan of Scott Adkins brand of action, I'd say it ranks as one of his better films. This isn't the thinking man's type but more of a simple, straight forward, one man army 80/90s action movie . For that much it is entertaining and somewhat of a hidden gem. Adkins proves he is a solid yet underrated action star by providing some kick ass and innovative fights with some cool locations for it to take place in. Unlike most bland, low budget action films shot in eastern Europe this was actually shot in London which added to the movie. Sure, acting may not be a strength of the movie and the story may not be the most original but it is leaps and bounds better than other low budget DTV films like the crap washed up action stars like Seagal churn out every few months . Overall, Eliminators is a fairly decent entry into the sub-genre of the direct to DVD/VOD action movies. Adkins brings the goods and racks up a healthy body count and one of the better movies made by WWE studios.

6/10
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
can not believe
glencheney13 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
a) he had surgery on his abdomen an hour or so earlier and he is fighting a taller and larger man like he is fully fit b) he didn't kill the hit man when he had the chance - as Eli Walach said " when you are going to shoot - shoot - don't talk" c) he didn't shoot the woman when he had the advantage on her d) rubbish at tying the bad guy to the railing but liked the way the bad guy died in the end
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
The absolute worst hit-man in history
Eddie_weinbauer3 December 2016
This is a scott adkins movie,so you basically know what you'll get. Lousy acting, and lot of action an martial arts.

After a home invasion our main character kill 3 bad guys to protect him self and his daughter,he wakes up in a hospital, charged of murdering said bad guys in cold blood. One thing leads to another his face is all over the news,and someone who thought he was dead hires a A so called Pro hit-man to kill him. The problem, is the movie takes place in London,which is one of the most CCTV cities in the world,yet there no APB on him.Even though he start spraying bullets in public This movie is so full of stupid plot holes that you cringe.

But I give it two stars cause unlike other movies with Martial arts in them,here the camera actually take a step back, and let you have a good clear overview of whats happening. Which is really nice. The fights scenes are sadly not so elegantly executed. Scott is and excellent fighter, but his on screen repertoire,sadly consist of very much the same strikes and kicks,with a few exceptions.

Make no mistake this is D-movie at best
16 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Nothing New in this One
duvernetphotography6 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Scott Adkins is truly athletic. He's a great martial artist, looks the part and pretty much plays the part. Otherwise, the plot line has been patched together from so many other better movies. The ex good guy commando type, the threatened daughter, a nasty hit-man on his tail, the cops after him, and the good guy is undermined at every turn, and yet he comes through. This movie drags out some of the favorite B bit UK players. As I watch this, I wonder if I can make it through. Why is it that in martial arts scenes the b-level bad guys always wait to be hit. The safe house is compromised, the good guys are compromised, the trusting are taken advantage of. Everything you'd expect.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Much ado about nothing
vic-thorn6 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Warning, maybe spoilers ahead.

The start of the movie was laughable and a complete contrived mess. The conduct of the investigating officer and news reporting is unacceptable and totally unrealistic. We have two federal agents in a safe house, one armed with an automatic 9MM and the other with a shotgun. The hit- man is clearly framed in the centre of the hole in the wall he blew out. Both Federal agents (one in witness protection) fire repeatedly and yet miss? The hit-man fires back with a 55.6 AR15, the main guy is hiding behind a tin tray table and the rounds do not go through? Guys, if you are going to have action scenes please please get a technical adviser in to give you some reality! A complete duff of a film.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Undeveloped Characters and Plot
lavatch20 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
In the bonus track of the DVD for "Eliminators," the focus is on the fight choreography for the film. That segment says it all for the cinematic values invested in the film.

The basic plot is a protracted race against time for the character named Thomas, an American agent whose cover has been blown in England. The main strand of the film is Thomas' desperate attempt to reunite with his daughter before she is harmed, or (much worse) kidnapped by her grandfather. This ludicrous narrative is never believable, and neither are the characters.

The film starts with an enormous plot hole when Thomas is arrested and locked to a hospital bed after he was the victim of a random act of violence in his own home. The arrest made no sense because Thomas was only protecting himself and his daughter against armed intruders.

Another shortcoming of the film was to leave undeveloped the past of Thomas in which his wife died during one of his undercover operations. The circumstances of her death were never made clear, and this pattern of providing insufficient exposition continued throughout the film.

The characters were all nondescript. While Thomas was a likable protagonist, it was difficult to truly care about his situation because his and the other characters were were presented as melodramatic stereotypes.

And the principal focus was always on the wrestling and fight choreography.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Scott adkins following the trails of Steven Siegal
kaefab21 April 2017
Adkins would have been great late 80 early 90 when all the martial arts B movie where poring out like crazy after the success of bloodsport, and Jean Claude Van damme and Nico where a slim Steven Siegal showed us some new fighting moves.

But lets face it this poor scenario has been played to death by Billy Blanks, Gary Daniels, Don Wilson, and so on back in the days, this is 2017 and i guess that people have seen enough of the tournament fighting crap, or the bad martial arts plot.

Its really sad because Adkins as replace all those awful bad actors in is b movie direct to video, except for small parts in big feature film where he has so much makeup you don't recognize him he will never leave the direct to video movie land.

Poor Scott is 25y to late.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Solid Adkins Action Flick and a Solid Movie
Dark_Lord_Mark3 December 2016
This movie was action packed and well acted. I did not see this in theaters, but I wish I did.

Scott Adkins is an undercover agent who falls for the crime bosses daughter and an event leads to a confrontation. It sets in motion the plot of the movie and boy are their some fantastic action sequences. It is literally a non stop action movie full of chase scenes and great fight sequences.

The movie itself is very well shot and during the fight scenes, you actually see the fight rather than a misuse of close up shots. I am not familiar with the director, but he did a good job with those sequences.

I think the movie is refreshing and not too clichéd. I highly recommend this to action movie fans and fans of Adkins. Very entertaining, a 9 out of 10.
8 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Incomprehensibly Bad
malcslusby9 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I suffered throughout this disaster of a movie right up until the point where, with absolutely no danger presented to his daughter and clearly open shots on both the man and the woman standing IN FRONT of the child (no, there was no gun to the child's head; no knife to her throat; no cliff behind her leaving her precariously balanced and in danger of falling; no poison in her system and only the two villains have the antidote - the kid is on a couch, in the living room, with the two villains presenting no danger - and dad has the drop on the both) - he lowers his gun for some utterly inexplicable reason. I turned it off at that point and really have zero interest in what happens next...

Make no mistake, from the awful opening 1980's "look at my muscles" shots on a Scott Adkins who looks like he's about to make gay porn instead of get dressed for work (in a pseudo Nazi-esque uniform) through to the point above (where I turned it off) this is an utterly dismal movie.

Someone reviewed this travesty and said :"it's Scott Adkins so you can expect lousy acting" - to be honest, I am still waiting for acting that makes it even close to the "lousy" bar.

Add in an inexplicably crap hit-man (trained at MI6 - but about as useful as penis flavored lollypop in a lesbian bar) and the exact same martial arts move over and over again (Oh look - a roundhouse kick..... *yawn*) the only thing left to save this "movie" would have been an intense, lingerie heavy, erotic, girl on girl scene between the female baddie extra and the female goodie social worker extra - but sadly, the closest this trash gets to anything even remotely that exciting is an implication that the female baddie extra shoots the female goodie social worker extra when she's unconscious (you can't see if she actually does because the bad guy is Santa Clausing himself up the stairs and he's about the width of Manhattan ( in a "Santa Claus needs to eat WAY fewer cookies" way not in a "wow - the Rock has really been working out!!" way.))

Avoid. I guarantee you the reviews for the movie are far more entertaining than the movie itself. Worst thing is - the plot has been tried and tested thousands of times - it is SUPER hard to get it wrong. The morons who made this crap succeeded ONLY in achieving that dubious accolade.
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It stole my heart.
Abdulabubakar441 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I'm going to give a short review. I've never reviewed a movie before.. This is my very first. Eliminators started with a single dad and his daughter working in as a bank security officer when one night, 3 robbers broke into his house due to the wrong address they were given looking for cocaine. To protect his daughter and himself, he killed the robbers in self defense but he was held accountable for taking law into his hands. While in hospital and in custody, his daughter was taken to a child social services under the government protection. His father in law ordered an assassin to kill him and abduct his daughter. He gotta do whatever it takes to save their lives. Eliminators is a good action movie to watch. Trust me, you wouldn't want to get off that couch. It will have your eyes glued to the screen and never want to blink even once. I really enjoyed this movie. It's a must watch. It's not bad, far better than hard target 2.
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Must watch for Adkins fans
andaxeman19 September 2018
Everything you could want in an Adkins movie! Memorable fight and action sequences. Wade Barrett aka Stu Bennet makes a pretty menacing, serviceable villain. One that should have propelled Adkins into even bigger stardom.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Sorry about your dead friend
nogodnomasters2 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Martin Parker (Scott Adkins) works out, takes his little girl, Carly (Lily Ann Stubbs) and goes to work as a parking garage attendant for Hurstbank Security. Later that night three intruders greet Martin with aluminum bats and they weren't there to get their parking validated. Martin gets exposed as his face is on TV. Seems he is really a Thomas and is wanted for deeds in his past life by a Mr Cooper (James Cosmo). Cooper hires The Bishop (Stu Bennett), Europe's top assassin in an attempt to make this into a film.

I found the film boring as this genre has been over ran with mano a mano cat and mouse films with a little girl liability. Sometimes the girl helps in being saved, sometimes not, but the formula doesn't deviate. This one had a small twist at the end which didn't make the film any better. Acting was a phone in and dialogue was as dry as a London newspaper. Oh yeah, bad guy drives a BMW- not a Jag or Audi.

Guide: F-word. No sex or nudity
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Pure garbage
kevin-t-252-10475514 March 2018
The plot is old and tired, the action scenes are poorly choreographed and the actors are third rate
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Ex Federal Marshall in protective custody comes out to save his daughter from her criminal grandfather.
omartgms5 September 2017
This is a fast paced action thriller with an anticipated twist, that is fairly well acted by Adkins, James Cosmo (of Braveheart fame) and WWE's Wade Barret.

Like stylish action thrillers since Bourne, it sees the protagonist as a fallen American hero in London. In Keeping with the zeitgeist, our hero and villain are tech savy and expertly trained in hand to hand combat. There is of course homage to the genre in the form of high speed antics in a classic German 'whip' (in this case a beautiful example of a 1984 BMW 635 csi). Night action around famed London landmarks adds to the element.

There is some empathy inducing, partial blurring of the good/bad divide through the character of the grandfather, but not the sort of moral dilemma that will hold attention after the credits role.

Certainly watchable, if more so for the visuals than the dialogue, and fairly engaging. The action choreography was quite decent and, as someone who has been on that side of production, lending a sense of 'believable' to the fight sequences.

Better than a Sunday afternoon 'fighty film'.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Ludicrously bad
makka-009556 December 2016
The story-line is a clichéd unoriginal one, as are the characters and the acting is poor, particularly from the hit-man and dreadful American accents are aplenty, especially the non-entity who plays Cooper. We are expected to believe that, having had three men burst into Adkins home, armed with a gun, he is then arrested for their murder. I believe the term is 'self defence', so the persistence of the police to charge him with murder is laughable. We are also asked to believe that a hit-man can maraud the streets of London, shooting up the place, without a single police car, or policeman responding. Even after blowing up a hotel. He apparently doesn't mind showing his face, or hide his actions, even though this would mean certain capture and the inability to spend his wages, due to being in jail for a thousand years. Europe's 'best hit-man' is also very stupid and a terrible actor. There really isn't a lot to recommend about this movie, unless you can suspend belief long enough to get through it, which I couldn't. It's just a really dumb failure on a multitude of levels.
7 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Filming location and directors weakness
mrgabor25 April 2017
First of all, I really like Mr Adkins and please do not blame him for this film, its not his best. The director is crap, many emotions are overplayed (like the daughter with the girl) and the final battle is boring for me, but we are different... About the filming location, this film is a real fake...It's 80-90% filmed at Budapest, Hungary...There is a true evidence of the Hungarian location, i don't really think in the UK there is a fire extinguisher with the text on it as "Porral Oltó Keszulek" and "keszulek" can be read on the thing in the lift door when it has been used as the bait (in the 31st min as i remember)...just check it...This has filmed south center of Budapest and CGI was the add- ons i think. Just check it. "Tüskecsarnok" can be seen from the "Rákóczi bridge" The film is boring, his worst I have seen so far. But he is looking really good :)
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Never seen a Scott Adkins film and glad I have not.
takaralolita-3451217 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Well what can you say about this film, It kinda sits between so bad its good and good. Its that place where its awful and its really not got much to watch in between. Honest I do a love a bit of good action and fighting, but this is just awful. There really is nothing of value in this film apart from that fact the fight scene's actual are shot from stand off position which means you can actually see what's going on and that's about it.

Spoilers ahead,

There is a moment in this film where the hit-man and Scott and his FBI buddy are in shoot out at safe out. I don't think I have seen more misses at such close range since England at Penalties. The plot is just not believable. some massive plot holes, like the police arresting someone who been a victim of a house invasion. Yes they would detain him, but handcuffing him and not providing protection is just unbelievable.

The funny parts are, James Cosmo aka "Hamish" from braveheart tying to hide his Scottish accent. The trope of the FBI lady in office, sorting things out. Guard getting caught off guard when peeing, missing a 10 yard shotgun shot. Being pinned down and being able to vanish like a ninja, and The hacking tablet from god. plenty more but its just not worth it. The round house kick over and over. The best European assassin who is so bad you wonder if he has ever killed anyone he's been hired to kill.

I honesty think this film suffers from the action over plot issue and Oh look another fight scene with pauses to talk to each other. The acting is just as bad, and clearly everyone has been edited or hired to look worse that Scott Adkins so he looks like he can act.

Not worth my time, or yours.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
What I Expected
reynolds-8632118 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This isn't a review to point out all of flaws about this movie. I could care less about the acting, direction or any of the several other things people bring up when reviewing a film. I knew what I was getting into when I sat down to watch this. Which is fine. I am a Scott Adkins fan so I usually watch anything he's in and generally enjoy them. With that being said, what bothered me the most a bout this flick, someone else also mentioned it. That "hitman" was the worst in the history of hit men. It wasn't even the acting of Stu or Wade or whatever he prefers to be called, whomever wrote that character just made him so inept. The people in the movie were fine but my gosh that character. I just kept thinking that through the entire movie. The only other thing that stood out. The shoot out in the safe house. Nobody could hit anything from about 8 ft away...yikes. Would I recommend this movie, sure if you like B action flicks. In that regards it's fine. Enjoy.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Boring and Casual !
yasiru199113 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Story line is very casual and very predictable. No surprises at all.

I was hoping to see some adrenal funneling thriller. But no such scenes were there. Story and scenes clearly lack the hollywood's CIA , FBA or else ex-militia touch and came no where near comparing with them.

Poor direction and Story.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
TRAXGPS tracking?
madwand621 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The whole movie gets a 1 STAR for TRAXGPS tracking. You really think a guy picking up a US federal protector is gonna drive around in a car that can be tracked when they EXPECT this level of resistance? He didn't have a government car waiting for him, like he had a safehouse waiting for him? Other than that, this is a great action flick for stupid people who don't have the capacity for common sense thinking.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Trite chase thriller
shakercoola3 November 2018
A widowed US federal agent is in hiding in London with his young daughter after falling foul of a ruthless arms dealer. With his cover blown a deadly contract killer is on his tail. With no real story set up this film quickly launches into the action and never achieves anything approaching a meaningful tale beyond the familiar chase, evasion and final set piece. The dialogue is drab, sometimes cringeworthy; the lead lacks character and charisma and most of the supporting cast performances are downright amateurish. Still, the fighting sequences are above par, tightly edited, and the film's flow is moderately good.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fun little action thriller
dangkoen26 February 2017
Being unimpressed by "Hard Target 2" I was apprehensive about Adkins' new low budget effort.

This is quite an enjoyable gem with some clever (fight) sequences, kudos to the bottle cap moment during Wade Barrett's first action scene & the aerial tramway fight. There's also a nice tension going on in the film at times, which does make you want to keep watching.

The downside offcourse is the acting is not great & most characters won't stay in your memory very long. Also Barrett's villain was quite cliché with his taunting. In the end though it's not what action fans usually look for in a low budget actioner & "Eliminators" is certainly good viewing material for Scott Adkins fans, who will see their favorite martial arts star go up against wrestler Wade Barrett in two raw put together fight sequences!
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed