Once Upon a Time in London (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
134 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Disappointing
les-7421826 April 2019
Obvious low budget, poorly edited and dis- jointed. If you take the violence out there's nothing else to see.

Terry Stone was as reliable as ever but sorry this Wasn't even average.
23 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Continuity of scenes please
kilofunker23 April 2019
This could have been so much better why on earth do they not hire a decent continuity director. It's so fractious and chops from scene to scene with little explanation. It's like they left a quarter of it on cutting floor what a pity
27 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Confused and falls Short
durban555-153-36363222 April 2019
This had such potential....good acting and a decent script. However this is a very disjointed and confused adaptation. Cinematography is bleak and lighting is depressing. The musical interludes were awkward and have no gravity.

Watchable, but only just.
31 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Mediocre at best
alx_bu20 May 2019
I was trying to understand how this movie got such a high rating, and can't. Math doesn't seem to add up! Movie itself was "bleah". Wasted time.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
More fake ratings .....
david-d-dunlop22 April 2019
.... it has to be?!

This film was so bad .... not even straight to video quality. Awful.
34 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
More fake ratings
tadaia3 June 2019
IMDB is sadly becoming known for fake ratings. This film is one big bag of gangster film cliches from one scene to the next. It lacks a compelling story (which is a shame considering it's based on real gangsters) and I could care less about the main characters. Don't waste your time with this. Stick to football hooligan or Guy Ritchie flicks if you want to see a halfway entertaining film about English gangsters.
19 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Originally was an IMDB 9 point something rating...
makiru22041922 April 2019
Watched it on the pretext of the initially high IMDB rating and was just amazed how really poor the production was. Majority of the time the scenes were dimly lit, the acting from all those concerned were a bit wooden and you could see that the supporting cast of extras were REALLY acting (they seemed embarrassed to be there...).

The storyline appeared to be one punch up from start to finish, interspersed with people talking just before a punch up.

An easy film to miss, do some decorating instead, the time will be better used.
25 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Rubbish
Virtually unwatchable. Terrible. It has no redeeming features. Waste of time .
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just awful
saraoxley15 June 2019
Terrible script, acting, camera work! Do not watch
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Great skill sabotaged by writing
grenfern11 October 2019
Acting and photography in this flick is a very high standard. Dark but lovely and polished. All this counts for nothing though as it's let down by a story that's so disjointed you realise you stopped caring earlier on. The first part of the film I thought was a clever use of some cool cinematic style of weaving stories together. If I put the effort in to keep track, it would pay off as the film went on. But no. There's no story, just things that happen. It's full of pointless dead end scenes. Gangster one beats up gangster two who then beats up gangster one etc and on occasion a random moll appears and disappears. No character background or development either. They start off bad and, well, stay bad and carry on doing things that they did at the start of the film. Two hours....two hours of my life!! I suppose I'm optimistic and waited for that "ah, I get it" moment that was never going to come.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Could of been so much better
peterspence198023 April 2019
I'm a big fan of the gangster genre and was excited when this film started production but! This film could of been a lot better the story is a great story to tell but the way it was made wasnt the greatest it jumps about and skips over Important parts and the dialogue was a bit kringy in parts, it's not the worst film but I was disappointed
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
what are these other reviewers smoking?
annieringading7 October 2019
I watch a lot of Brit films and this is subpar at best. Stone does his usual shout the words acting with nonsensical scenes being thrown together. Hard to understand how this had the budget it did as it looks, feels and sounds no different to the £75k you usually see this lot in.

This gives no real in-sight to the subject matter and it's the longest viewing you're going to have to suffer through - or don't.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Disappointing is an understatement
woodcutters_son23 April 2019
Rise of the Footsoldier in fancy dress.

If you enjoyed the aforementioned film you may like this but i can only see it as a massive opportunity missed.

A good (albeit largely typecast) bunch of actors staggering around slashing faces in a seemingly scattershot collection of short scenes, stretching a seriously threadbare story lacking in any depth, intrigue or class whatsoever.

Avoid.
15 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not Another British Gangster Film
VanBooter20 April 2019
I must admit to having a liking for the Gangster genre, but having seen quite a few turkeys from the UK I very nearly avoided this one. I think the last real dog of a film was The Krays: Dead Man Walking (2018) which I rated a 1/10 and boy that dreck of a film wasn't even worth that. This one however starts off with an intro which gives you the impression this is going to be good, with old news reel images and the characters super imposed over them I was drawn in. But then the film starts and any high hopes suddenly vanish expectations are now a B- C+ However don't skip through it like I nearly did, This is a really good and well put together film. The menace of the Krays appear at the end, their time is just starting, but anyway I do recommend you watch it. I would rate it a B+ A- 7/10
18 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Ouch
benn8914 October 2019
Another sad poor British film . What happened to the gritty films once made
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
No bad not great.
stircrazysos1 May 2019
Billy Hill is a forgotten legend. This film doesn't do him justice. His achievements as a gangster were unsurpassed. Post office robbery, gold bullion robbery diamond mining in SA. Plus he was one that got out at the right time. Film doesn't go deep enough. Just to much knifing and fighting. Billy, Jack and Albert were intelligent crooks. That used their environment to earn. Billy Hill book is a lot better than this bubble gum.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Boring
mark-290921 April 2019
I don't know how this has an 8+ rating, as it is one of the most boring movies I have seen for a while. The acting is OK'ish, but the storyline is enough to send you to sleep.
18 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What a bore-fest!
PeteTheGod22 April 2019
I shouldnt really write a review on this movie, as I fell asleep 15 minutes into it. But go figure.
16 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Poor
chris-8979919 April 2019
Just payed £10 to rent on sky and it was very poor film
16 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Pretty awful
davidpclare17 May 2019
It started badly when the first person to talk made up the word 'pernocious'. I didn't last long after that.

Jamie Foreman has always been an awful over-actor and the sound of his whining sent me over the edge.

Just don't bother.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A parody of gangster movie
newjersian8 August 2019
A lot of badly filmed fist fights, dull dialogs, no connection between the scenes, poor director work and very average actors. If you miss it, you miss nothing.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Could have been much better.
burasgatt30 October 2019
You know what it looks like? Looks like they had such a great story, that they ended up with a 5 hour movie, and when they had to cut it back, they chose the wrong bits. No cohesion, no sense.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst gangster film ever!
seany-8785423 October 2019
Bad acting, plodding plot and cliches aplenty. Nothing new and poorly executed.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
How did this get 6.6 stars?
alex-kedzlie17 October 2019
Absolute rubbish. Poor acting, poor script and stupid story. Hoped for better after reading the top reviews but think they must be friends of the actors or paid reviewers. Don't waste your time you'll never get it back.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Rather disappointing
bigmin15 October 2019
A lot of the time the film jumps from scene to scene with very little narrative to hold the structure together. It's very difficult to immerse yourself in the story. The scene where the two gangs brawl in the pub lost all drama with the daft music. Like a lot of this movie it just didn't work. The cast are decent for a low budget effort but they can't save this incoherent mess.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed