The Family (TV Series 2016) Poster

(I) (2016)

User Reviews

Review this title
39 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Very Good!
I can not believe they canceled this show. I am very upset. They should have at least wrapped everything up in the last episode in the season finale. Overall I believe the acting is great and I do not understand why this show has such low ratings. Shows such as Pretty Little Liars have been running on ABC for years and the acting is sub par. All I want is there to be a episode concluding the whole series and explaining the outcome. You can not cancel a show on a cliff hanger, it is just upsetting. I personally know multiple people who loved this show and thought it was quality content. I know there are many reviews stating the actor is bad but you have to look at the story of the show.
31 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
a season 2 please
lelene_cherie14 May 2017
Hello! I am french, my English is bad but i try : I very like this series. an original story, good suspense, very good actors, surprising character's reaction. characters whom inspired doubt, pity or incomprehension. I give 9 and not 10 because of the relation between the father and the policewoman, it was not necessary. I has never missed an episode. I wish a season 2, please!!!!!
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I WANT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS
justpeel_it10 July 2018
Really liked this series...doesn't make sense ABC cancelled it, just lower the budget for s2 and bump it up again if that goes well. Great acting, intriguing story - an unsolved mystery, that just looks stupid by ABC.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Intriguing storyline with an excellent cast so why so many disbelievers?
Ed-Shullivan5 March 2016
The Family is a 13 episode series that spans a 10 year period to when a young simple minded boy named Adam Warren played by Liam James goes missing while supposedly under the watchful eye of his older sister Willa, played by Allison Pill and big brother Danny, played by Zach Gilford. Ten years have passed and then suddenly Adam re-appears coming out of the woods after escaping from his captor.

The second storyline evolves around the wrongly convicted sex offender Hank, played by rat pack star Andrew McCarthy. With the pilot episode now out of the way we the audience could sit back and criticize what some critics believe to be flaws in the storyline. But why the hate so early? I found the pilot to be very well scripted, strongly cast and OH so intriguing. So many character developments in the first 60 minute episode and I have yet to comment on the inter-relationship between the captive Adam Warren's parents dad John, played by Rupert Graves and mom Claire played by 3 time Oscar nominee Joan Allen. (As a side note, I loved Joan Allen's performance in the 2003 film Off The Map). Now spin forward 10 years to the present time and mom Claire is now the mayor of the city they live in and her ambition is headed towards sitting in the Governor's office. Her husband John is a successful author having released a book How to Survive the Loss of a Loved One. The young officer first assigned to the case Nina Meyer, played by Margot Bingham was instrumental in gaining the conviction of their neighbour Hank played by Andrew McCarthy. Officer Meyer was subsequently promoted to detective and young victim Adam's neighbour poor Hank spent the next 10 years in prison wrongfully convicted of a crime he did not commit.

There are many more unbelievable (but true) stories than the television series The Family that are much more flawed but are in fact true cases that are well documented. Two true criminal acts that come to mind are the Menendez brothers Lyle and Erik who in 1989 killed their own parents and in 1996, were found responsible for their parents brutal murders in of all places, Beverly Hills California. The most infamous trial on TV was the O. J. Simpson trial and his subsequent exoneration for the murders of his ex-wife Nicole Simpson and her friend Ronald Goldman. If you believe these stories to be true, which based on the court transcripts they are true, then considering the fate of the current television series The Family, just keep an open mind and you will find the series to be as interesting if not more so since we don't know the outcome of the series yet.

In actual life there are far too many unbelievable stories that have been made into movies that we would love to be able to state that just did not happen, when in fact in real life they did occur. Mrs. Shullivan and I have watched intently the pilot for The Family and cannot wait for the unravelling of the next 12 episodes. I give this series a perfect 10 out of 10 score based on a combination of the great actors performances, and an excellent storyline that will keep the audience intrigued with the twists and turns until the story is eventually unfolded. This is a must watch series that is sure to keep an open minded audience as Mrs. Shullivan and I are wanting more of the same. This is an excellent television series that is sure to win a few Emmys.

A perfect 10 score!
41 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Taut and Captivating
Pickwick123 March 2016
Finally, a mainstream US network series comes close to the excellence of international mystery hits. Reminiscent of Broadchurch and the true-life story depicted in The Imposter, The Family has an excellent atmosphere of tension, alternating between police, victim, and family perspectives to produce a suspenseful and layered story that leaves the viewer confused in a good way, intrigued, and wanting more.

Not a perfect series but a very good one, The Family has a strong cast and an interesting story. Well worth a look for mystery lovers and those who enjoy a well- acted, immersive experience that is far superior to most network television series. Suspect everyone; suspect no one, then suspect everyone again, and enjoy the ride.
31 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
LOVE this show!
susanlarose25 May 2016
I absolutely LOVE this show. Keeps me on the edge of my seat and all these twists and turns keep me guessing at what's next. Can't even wait for series 2! I was shocked to see some unfavorable reviews, as I see nothing but good characters/acting.Each character plays such an integral part of the show...and they do it well. Haven't seen a show so interesting since Dexter. Just when I think I have things figured out, something else happens to throw me a curve ball. It cannot just end at series 1, episode 12 as that would certainly leave lots up in the air. Series 2 cannot come soon enough. No Rotten Tomatoes on my end..nothing but praise.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I think the payoff will come in season 2
crissylauffer10 May 2016
I really like this show. I can see what some people are saying though, that the episodes tend to leave you frustrated and thinking that the show is just going to leave these major holes in the plot, but if you stick around for another episode they finally give you a bombshell or another juicy bit if info.

I really believe that if they get a second season they will be able to redeem themselves. It's SO much better than most of the other new crap that is out right now. Plus, one of the characters is played by the daughter of the actor who plays Cyrus in Scandal. AND Andrew McCarthy is a main character too.

I think it would also have a much larger audience if it didn't have to compete with Game of Thrones which airs at the same time.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome show!!!!
chrischrz18 May 2016
This was definitely my favorite show on the ABC network ever. The story about a son returning home to his family 10 years after his kidnapping has great twists and turns in through out this story that gets you hooked in more and more after every episode. I really hope that it isn't can-celled and comes back for a season 2 so we can see what happened with all of the cliff hangers they left us with at the end of the season 1 finale. The show got better and better throughout the entire season and it would be a tragedy and sad to cancel one of the few good (as well as new) shows on television because of the bad time slot ABC chose to air and place it in. I Give The Family 5 stars or a 10 out of 10 rating.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
LOVEEEE IT CANT BELIEVE CANCELLED
caitlyn_leonard6 April 2019
This recently was on tv, why they advertised it now in 2019 when it was cancelled in 2016 is beyond me!! Can't believe it Watch it all the way to the end of season 1 to only find out it was cancelled!!! THE ENDING???? OMG WHY DO THIS Can't deal, can't believe it
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
CANCELLED ?????
it-layton5 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I can't believe our tv station bothered to show this when there was only one season made! When I realised it was a 2016 (now Feb 2019), I looked up how many seasons were made and to my suprise only t h e one season! I binged watched the whole first season and was happy with the story lines and acting. Last episode obviously a cliffhanger with finding the real Adam still alive! Where was he? Why is he with his kidnapper's wife? Thanks for nothing!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love the show!!
mrskv784 April 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Came upon this show by accident and am now addicted. I wait each week wondering what will happen this week. Great characters and they all suit their roles very well. I read reviews other people have written and some very negatively...I was quite surprised given the amount of garbage that is on TV these days that people would complain about this show that makes you think...but then again those are probably the same types who vote for Trump hey? I don't think the show will go further than one season though as the storyline seems to be finishing up...once they know that Adam is not Ben then the whole story is kind of done. Perhaps they should of just called it a mini-series....unless the real Adam is still alive then it will open a whole new season of investigation. Anyways this is a good show with a great storyline and as a parent I can imagine myself in their shoes.
12 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Family
Katy_Scary28 April 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This is one of the couple of shows I watch on ABC. Generally I am not a fan of this network but this show offers good drama, suspense and acting. I was pleasantly surprised to see one of my favorite characters from Pretty in Pink back in action. Good come back Andrew! ABC you suck for making me watch these dumb ass commercials when viewing these Episodes on Demand. Thankfully I will be able to fast forward thru these asinine ads when I record the show via DVR. Acne, Friggin Home Loans and Cetaphil is killing me. I just mute the sound when they come on. I kinda wish this show was on one of the cable stations like HBO or Showtime since they generally have better writers but overall I really like this show.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Gripping Stuff Indeed!
soccercamp-112 July 2016
Found this gem of a series after hunting through cable for something to occupy myself with while the wait for season 7 of TWD goes on!

Firstly, excellent acting by all concerned in this, Joan Allen & Rupert Graves are always reliable actors and surprisingly Andrew McCarthy, playing a role far removed from his comfort zone, excels himself as the creepy (but "can't help but feel sorry for") loner Hank Asher. The thrilling writing keeps you on the edge of your seat second guessing and the plot keeps twisting, turning and revealing traits, faults, secrets or skeletons in the closet that ALL the main cast try their best to hide, leaving you sometimes quite unsure just who the hell you're rooting for to like and identify with if possible! Each episode generally builds to a big reveal or a cliffhanger leaving you wanting more immediately which is always the sign of a well written show in my opinion.

If you're looking for a well acted, damn good mystery/thriller/drama check this out and stick with it as you WON'T be disappointed as the story builds & progresses right up until it's final twist in the last episode which I simply did not see coming!!

I've just read that it won't be renewed for a second season which I can't believe given some of the dross that graces our small screens including shows that are so wildly overrated and badly acted these days...bring it back ABC!!!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
refreshing and new
laurathomson-824456 June 2016
I hope that there will be a season 2, this show has kept me on the edge of my seat after each episode, and I will be greatly disappointed if it should end, if it does I hope the writers will do a final movie to tie up all the loose ends. It sure beats all the other nonsense and reality shows out there. The only drawback was it was on so late I had to record it to watch later, and this my have contributed to some of the negative rating. I have re watched every episode to see if there is anything I may have missed, I just can't get enough and so many cliff hangers.I know so many that have just started to watch it, I have talked a lot about it and they now are hooked. PLEASE don't let it end now.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Unbelievable Characters & Casting Leads To Holes
LouieInLove3 March 2016
For a show of this nature it's vitally important that the characters are believable. Sadly 'The Family' has 2 major flaws from the start which make it difficult to buy into the show as a whole.

Firstly, there is the Character of Nina Meyer which is poorly cast (too young for the role), I simply don't believe the actor in the role. Furthermore, her opening scene, where she berates the family, is nonsense! Secondly, believing that the character of Claire Warren went on to build a successful all teeth & smiles career in politics after the disappearance of her child is a step too far. Once again, it's just too much to buy into.

You need to believe these people from the start & I for one don't.

The cast is excellent, but story is always king & if that has flaws the whole thing comes down.
33 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
So good but so irritating
curlycue-5254315 October 2018
This tv show is off the charts amazing. Great character development and great twists and turns. Just super disappointed there wasn't a second season. Make a second season to finish the story and I may give it a 10.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The Family
reddskyy23 May 2018
I'm still so angry this was canceled!! The storyline, the characters, the acting, everything was so good. Andrew McCarthy (Hank Asher) was especially phenomenal. I'd pay a billion and a half dollars to reboot it.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved it
reneelink13 May 2018
It's a shame it was cancelled, this was a great show, good acting and storyline.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Why was this cancelled?!
miinty18 January 2018
I just found this show two days ago... and finished it in that time! I am so hooked! I NEED to know what was gonna happen? But more than that, I need to know how it was gonna happen.. Jenna Bans, release the scripts.. or write the scripts and release them.. Do it for the fans!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Ridicules nonsense in the pilot (Spoilers if you have not seen the pilot yet)
boudicea19673 March 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I thought it seemed as if it was going to be a really descent. A story that people could follow. A family with a mother with political aspirations with the support of her family, until their youngest child disappears and is presumed dead and the case gets "solved" by an ambition officer who railroads a neighbor. Then after 10 years, he returns. Also thought that it would be interesting because it would show the hardships, struggles and obstacles they will face to return as close to the family they were.

It did not give a time-line as to when the mother because mayor so it is possible that she did not run for any office but decided to in lieu of her son's disappearance or it could have been the motivation behind her wanting to be in a position where she can actually help. The double standard is alive and well because if it had been the father who was in office and not the mother, she would not be considered, how did the husband put it? A "machine" and I might add that he is a selfish Pr*ck because his son is not the way he remembers him to be. The father is rather useless and very self serving.

A couple of things did strike me as odd. For instance, the boy was rather calm and did not seem to display any symptoms of PTSD which is something he would have had a least bit of given that it is suggested that he endured years of abuse, physical, sexual and probably psychological to a very big degree. He seemed to adjust to life with his family very quickly.

Another one is that the mother, who is now the mayor of the city, wants to run for governor even though her son and her entire family are going to have a very hard, lengthy healing period. That also strikes me as being very odd to say the least.

Then you have the brother and sister both engulfed in their coping skills one by religion and the other by self medicating. The father, well, no one knows about him because he just seems like a character they put there because they needed a male parental unit.

Now, I think this has to be the biggest, craziest, ridicules and in my view the most unnecessary part of the show: The arresting officer who "solved" the case is in the interrogating room when the father comes in and suddenly they get all twisted around with each other and decide they will have sex in the interrogating room, why? just because. Never mind that the police station does not close and anyone could walk into the interrogation room and get an eye full. But, we also see that she has a bottle of alcohol (guessing again here) in their with her and is gulping it down. I do not even think alcohol is allowed on the premises of a police station except for special occasions where one of them gets a bottle of wine as a gift. I am also pretty sure that she would not be allowed to take it into the interrogation room and start drinking because we do not know if she is on duty or off. If someone knows differently, then please share. I guess they both needed to cope.

Then, it has been suggested that the kid is lying and might be playing some game or is doing something for some unknown person for reasons I cannot imagine, or for kicks and giggles. Of course we also have the ex girlfriend or friend with benefit who is either wanting to be this great investigative journalist who wants to get to the truth of the matter or works at some sleazy rag like TMZ and has to get her jollies from finding out dirt she can use to print in her sad excuse of a paper or magazine or whatever it is.

So, now I do not know if this is worth seeing because of the things I mentioned or if it is worth finding out more. I will rate it, but really, I do not feel I should because I am undecided.
18 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
It was nice to see Andrew McCarthy again but I wish it was in something lighter
michaeljtrubic2 March 2016
Many of us stumbled into this show expecting our regular Wednesday 8 pm show. I continued watching because I realized that the network really wanted to use this time slot for a pilot so I gave it a shot.

Although its interesting it is dark; but as such it must have a pull that keeps me following the drama. It really needs likable characters to counter the darkness of the subject matter or at least one very likable one (think agent Clarice from Silence of the lambs). Instead it seems to be rather top-heavy with unlikable characters that overwhelm the hero character. Its tough for me to say this but as a result of the first episode I don't see a likable hero character - I wish I did, but I don't.

We all know what its like for a hero to fight against not only villains but anti-heroes on the way to a resolution. Here I don't really see anything but anti-heroes in what I imagine might be a very long trip towards a villain - perhaps not until season end - maybe later.

I want to identify more strongly with a central character and it isn't this cop or this family.

I hope this helps the creators and producers.
18 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
PC Casting, Wasted Opportunity for a good thriller
pukfan6 March 2016
1. So the story takes place in Maine, which is more than 95% white yet the opening fair scenes show crowds that are about 40/60 black; half the police force is black; newspaper editor is black; etc. 2. All the women are strong, all the guys are weak. 3. The kid seems to receive zero psychiatric care, and the cop is way too involved in the kid's care and family recovery IMO. But then the cop is a black female, so... 4. Despite the heavy PC overtones, the basic story initially kept us going. But the time travel got a bit much, especially with the multiple plot twists. Reminds you of a decent movie that suddenly runs out of time and has to throw in a bunch of plot twists at the end to wrap it all up.

I gave it a 3 as I've seen worse. But the PC bugs me and the plot is pathetic so we will not be watching this again.
20 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Characters are not believable in their roles.
carol_cnb21 March 2016
The writers of this show have seriously neglected one of the cardinal rules of writing a fiction story.

EVERY single character has to have at least one redeeming quality. NOT ONE character here has even a single redeeming character. There is NOTHING here to like. EVERY character can only be disliked or even hated.

I had to quit watching because of this.

As with a prior review, I agree. The actors are either too old or too young to be believable in their roles. The parents don't age, except for the father's graying hair. NOT BELIEVABLE.
14 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
badly written
cherold9 March 2016
I had a bad feeling about this series from the first moment. A woman is in an evidence room. She said something like, "cops say there are two big cases in your career, the one that makes you, and the one that breaks you." And then she and I, at the same time, said "sometimes it's the same case."

That predictability is at the heart of The Family, which is bad because it's clearly aiming to be unpredictable. It's a mystery, after all.

The poorly written dialogue often rings false, as when a detective tells the very emotional mom "shut it down," which is a) a stupid phrase; b) a stupid phrase no human being would actually c; c) a sentiment no one would present in such a remarkably untactful tone unless they had Aspberger's; and d) something a cop is unlikely to say to the mayor of the town she works in.

Sure, it's just three words, but all the little false moments, all the little predictable moments, all the awkward dialogue, add up. Half way through the first episode, I just couldn't see any reason to keep watching.
15 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Family
trcarlis24 April 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This show is excellent. The Warren women are callous. The daughter giving him money and dropping Ben off @ the bus station, what if his kidnapper was looking for him. Mayor Warren once she found out that he is not Adam was so mean to Ben. They don't care that he was held captive for more than half of his life. They haven't thought to help him find his family. I think that he was in foster care because of the house he goes to @ night w/the pictures of different children on the dresser. Who sent Ben the flowers in the hospital? Was it his kidnapper? Now his kidnapper is right across the street. Scary. I can't wait to watch tonight's episode.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed