Playmobil: The Movie (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Definitely no The Lego Movie but cute for kids
trinaboice8 August 2019
It's definitely not as witty as #TheLegoMovie, but #PlaymobilTheMovie is a colorful mix between a musical animation and live action, perfect for kids under double digits.

THINGS I LIKED:

I like Anya Taylor-Joy and thought she did a great job. There were, however, a few times when she said her lines so fast that I couldn't understand what she said. The talented musical cast includes Meghan Trainor, Adam Lambert, Anya Taylor-Joy. Other non-singing highlights include Daniel Radcliffe and Kenan Thompson. This is Daniel Radcliffe's first animated film. Comedian Jim Gaffigan! Yes! I just wrote in my recent movie review of THEM THAT FOLLOW that it always catches me off guard when I see him in a serious drama. He always does a great job in drama or comedy. Now he can add "musical" to his filmography. He has a fantastic voice for animation and has the funniest lines in the movie. Gabriel Bateman does a good job as live action and voice talent. It was cute to see a burly Viking with a little kid voice. Parents will appreciate the female "Jabba the Hut" character from the original Star Wars: A New Hope. Kids will enjoy the variety of environments and lands.

THINGS I DIDN'T LIKE:

It doesn't have the humor and zip that the Lego movies have. The songs are enjoyable but not very memorable. Some of the voices don't quite match what the characters look like. More punchy humor would have helped.

TIPS FOR PARENTS:

There is a sad moment when people die, although you don't see it happen. A boy says that something "sucks" and his sister says, "Language!" A boy and his sister play with some Playmobil figures. Your kids are probably going to want to buy some. This movie is filled with merchandising. A boy says tattoos are cool. Fighting among Playmobil characters. A character drinks alcohol. Toys in danger. Your kids may want a passport.

You can read the rest of my review at Movie Review Mom.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
No me gusta
jakepriestley-558569 August 2019
Annoying,pandering and generic blur of motion that has no reason to exist
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not so epic!
AdrenalinDragon9 August 2019
My expectations for Playmobil: The Movie were very low, and I still thought this was a very weak movie. The best thing going for this movie is the Animation style. There is at least a good amount of effort put into it and it's not an ugly movie from that point of view. I thought the scenes outside the Playmobil universe were really awful like that kid who was bad at acting. The Playmobil universe stuff fairs a tiny bit better, but it was still very predictable and basically felt like a very watered down Lego Movie, with almost all of the jokes falling flat. The movie being a Musical did catch me off guard and I respect them trying, but honestly all the songs are forgettable. There's not really any memorable characters or locations either, which doesn't help alleviate the blandness at all.

Is Playmobil: The Movie the worst thing you could watch? Certainly not. However, the kids in my cinema were not laughing all that much in this movie, and the adults just didn't seem to be all that engaged watching this movie at all. This is a very straightforward story and at least the plot doesn't have too much pointless filler like some other Animated movies I've seen this year like The Queen's Corgi and The Secret Life of Pets 2. However, with The Angry Birds Movie 2 out at the same time, I'd feel that one is the better watch out of the two as the kids were having a great time watching that movie compared to Playmobil. In all honestly, I was kind of hoping Playmobil: The Movie might have been a decent Animated movie to watch, but sadly it's just a bit of a bore.

3/10
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Really cute, really fun
BlazeoAmazeo14912 June 2019
I was able to see this at the Annecy Festival in France. I went in expecting that it would try to be the Lego Movie with it's meta-humor and rapid fire pop culture references, but it wasn't. This movie was completely different than Lego. The only thing they share in common is that they're both based on toys.

"Playmobil" is a story about a brother and sister who get sent into another dimension, one that looks just like the Playmobil toys the little brother plays with.

The movie is funny, it's cute, it's got tons of great songs. Definitely a movie for the family to enjoy!
23 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Where do all the bad ratings come from?
alex-373-2155584 August 2019
I really don't understand the bad ratings for the movie on this site. I went to see the movie with my son and was delighted. Sure, the songs don't hold up with Disney songs, but overall the movie was fun, entertaining and very well made. Recommended family movie!
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A fun, high energy surprise
BlazeoAmazeo14913 June 2019
I caught a screening of this movie at the Annecy Film Festival. I was expecting something like the Lego movie with rapid fire pop culture references and a throw anything at the wall attitude.

But this movie was way different than those Lego movies. It's a cute story about a brother and sister that are sent to a Playmobil world. The sister is a regular person, but the little brother gets to be a big, tough guy viking.

This movie was really cute. And all the songs were great. Don't go in thinking it's going to be like Lego. It's definitely got a different feeling throughout. Kids will love it and parents won't be bored when watching it with them.
17 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Good fun!
tarabhoola5 August 2019
Really enjoyed a family screening of Playmobil the Movie over the weekend. Full of fun characters from the world of Playmobil working together to save the day. Fantasy and magic had the little ones around us enraptured and engaged.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Of course it's one big commercial, but it still entertains
DPeeters4 August 2019
Since this is a film about Playmobil, you can't expect anything else than a promotion of their toys. But still the story is reasonable, the action is good, the comedy is funny (for the target age group) and the visual effects are good.

Go see it without unreasonable expectations and let yourself be entertained. If your kids like playing with Playmobil, then they'll like watching this film.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Better than expected
stuartpbottomley9 August 2019
Obviously you are going to compare this to the Lego movies and yes it very similar but it is still a fun film. It has a good story and the live action framing at the beginning and end of the film serves it well. in-fact the framing does point the way to a potential sequel that could flip the story round. I do have one negative thing to say, the songs do derail the film in places but fortunately the film quickly recovers so no harm done.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Honestly better than I thought it was going to be
HardbackBooks9 August 2019
Not gonna lie, I went into it thinking it was going to be hot garbage desperately trying to be another Lego Movie but some of the songs were very fun and overall it was a nice and upbeat film.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It's for kids!
gavfresh19 August 2019
My first review! But I couldn't not...I'm 42 male and actually make films myself and yes this is not written to take you on deep inner journeys or will it make you ponder life and will it win Oscar's no..but after seeing such bad reviews and from critics, is it not about time we let the kids review kids films. I asked my daughters 12, 9 and son 5 what they thought after the cinema and they really enjoyed it. So my 6/10 is from them!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Ok for children
Fudge-318 August 2019
Marla and Charlie travel from the real world on an adventure to the Playmobil universe where they re-enact their favourite toys.

Very children-focussed with only a few laughs for grown-ups and those gags that do work tend to get over-played. The story is OK but Charlie and Marla both spend too long being lost and needy. The voicing and animation is good. The design of the Playmobil realm was nicely done but the portal into it was unimaginative.

I liked, "Rex Dasher!"
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fun film for all
laurengaxha17 August 2019
This film was good! My 4 year old loved it all the way through
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not as bad as I expected from reviews but not amazing either
muamba_eats_toast15 August 2019
The film is very formulaic and essentially one big advert for playmobil. Despite that I did just about enjoy it given it had just about enough laughs and a crazy enough storyline to keep me involved as an adult. I imagine young kids would enjoy it even more also. Not the worst kids film you'll see although certainly not the best your kids will enjoy it and you won't completely want to tear your hair out so worth a family trip out on a rainy day.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
How Pathetic!
masonrobledo10 August 2019
Playmobil.... basically a bland and boring toy brand version of LEGO, I think I had a few sets when I young but I was more a LEGO person, so I don't remember all that much about it, anyways with that said, how can you make a good animated film about toys, well Phill Lord and Chris Miller manage to do that incredibly well with the LEGO Movie and that film was a huge success and it's one of my favourite animated films of all time, so now a lot of animated films are taking what made that film a masterpiece and just doing the same thing, like Trolls and this year with Uglydolls, they don't do their own thing they are coping something that worked in the first place and so Studiocanal decided to team up with the Playmobil company to make their own version of the LEGO Movie, only with Playmobil, so they were nice enough to release it in the UK yesterday, which is weird I swear you lot in America don't get it until December..... how strange.., anyways, I saw it today and..... what were you expecting?, a good movie?, pffff no!, it's just as annoying, dumb and blatantly ripping-off the LEGO Movie with it's similarities, in other words it's terrible...... so let's talk about it!.

Marla (Ana-Taylor Joy) and her brother Charlie loves playing together with Playmobil toys and they really want to travel but after a certain incident with their parents, Marla has to look after Charlie and doesn't have enough time to play with him, but after Charlie tries to run away from her but comes across a toy fair where even more Playmobil is, but after both him and Marla get sucked into the Playmobil world where they both turn into Playmobil characters, but after Charlie gets super strength and gets kidnapped and taken to the ruler of the world Emperor Maximus (Adam Lambert), who wants to use him to battle the big beast, so Marla needs to rescue him, along the way he gets help from other characters like truck driver Del (Jim Gaffigan) and Secret agent Rex Dasher (Daniel Radcliffe), so she goes through a lot of magical nonsensical lands from the Wild West, to a fairytale world and so muc-oh who care?, seriously this movie fails from start to finish, it's so cliched and predicable, really unfunny, tries too hard to be dramatic but it didn't effect me, it has a lot of elements that are taken from the LEGO Movie and uses them to try and be it's own thing when really you can tell it has LEGO Movie written all over the place, it doesn't hide the fact that it's the LEGO Movie only replaced with Playmobil, it doesn't help either that is so much blatant foreshadowing, which can be done if it's clever and well hidden, but here it's very obviously at what will happen, so why care about the story and execution, speaking of, it's executed in a lazy way that it makes no sense at all and it feels boring, I'll admit I got a few chuckles and and one or two laughs, but the humour is rather lowbrow and juvenile and copying the LEGO Movie's humour in a way, the writing, the directing, the story, everything feels lazy and in a clueless, which shows here that they were "trying" to make a movie, only to rip-off the LEGO Movie instead!.

The animation and the live-action visuals are the closest things to being good, while it's not as amazing as the LEGO Movie, the animation is pretty good, not great but not awful, it has bright colours, nicely done character animation and designs, they expand on the world of Playmobil and do play around with it, with the figures, animals and the different magical and unique lands in the world, the facial expressions are also good, with the real life figures having a bland expression, here they have full expressions and it works in a film like this, not only that but with the live-action secnes are well shot, especially when Marla and Charlie are in the Toy Fair with the Playmobil toys, it's quite well done, however despite the good animation, it also looks generic, it's not very movie-y quality, it looks something that belongs to Netflix or YouTube, also unlike the LEGO Movie where the detail in the animation is supposed to look exactly like actual LEGOs and it's meant to have that feel of a kid playing with a toy, here it's just..... a basic bland looking animated Playmobil film, many towns and areas feel very similar to the LEGO Movie... again, but regardless the animation certainly does it's job as a Playmobil movie, it has a lot colours, good character designs and well done fight scenes too, that and the live-action scenes look nice enough, although basic and bland looking and nothing special, the animators did somewhat try with what they got.

The characters are the very definition of "just toys for kids to buy", with maybe one exception, Marla is just the generic protagonist who has no redeeming qualities, like at all, Charlie is just even worse as the kid who thinks everything is "cool" and "awesome!", he's super forgettable, Del is a annoying comic relief, he does everything a awful comic relief character do, be funny, try and help, think about other things then be serious for a moment, Emperor Maximus can be a tad bit entertaining, but is overall a annoying villain with motives that make no sense at all, the other characters like Bloodbones (Kenan Thompson), Robotitron (Lino DiSalvo), the Fairy-Godmother and other comedic characters are pretty much useless and have very little screen time, the only character that mildly enjoyable is Rex Dasher, he at least has a personality, good comedic timing, charm and in a way cool!, easily my favourite character in the entire movie, the voice acting is not good, Ana-Taylor Joy is good as Marla, but nothing special, Jim Gaffigan as Del is just playing himself as a Playmobil character, not as good as Van-Helsing from Hotel Transylvania 3, but not as terrible as Ping from Duck, Duck Goose, Daniel Radcliffe is great as Rex Dasher, Adam Lambert is annoying as Maximus, Meghan Trainor is decent as the Fairy God-Mother, Kenan Thompson (why am I seeing his name appearing in a lot of animated films now?, first Tiffany Haddish, now Thompson, I wonder what else lies in his contract...) is okay as Bloodbones, basically everyone expect Radcliffe and Joy do a decent job, so with characters that no one cares about and voice acting that is underwhelming, it's just embarrassing, I mean I like Rex Dasher, Radcliffe and Joy do a good job with their performances, but it's not enough to save these dumb characters.

There are a few musician numbers that are forgettable and awful, except "Give The People What They Want" that was alright, but not enough, Heitor Pereira's score is beautiful and "Run Like the River" by Meghan Trainor is quite good, but it doesn't stand out at all really, just by the numbers, bland and very basic songs.

Why did I even waste my time watching this cash grab of a rip-off?, Playmobil: the Movie is just awful, with a lazily written story, juvenile humour, basic and generic animation, forgettable characters, voice acting that is not very good and really dumb musical numbers, sure it has a moment of comedy, a few chuckles, animation is good along with nice looking live action visuals, Rex Dasher being the best character in the film, along with two good performances and decent music, but I'm afraid they don't save this trainwreck of a movie, it's just the Playmobil version of the LEGO Movie, only dumber and worser, I really hate this movie, not the worst animated film ever or one of the worst I seen, but it is quite close to being on the top five worst animated films of all time list!, please don't go and see it, there are better animated films out there, go see Angry Birds Movie 2!, that one was surprisingly decent, Toy Story 4 is still playing and I love the movie, this movie doesn't deserve your money, funnily enough I was thinking about the Emoji Movie while watching the Playmobil: the Movie, which is a very bad sign, I just hope studios stop making junk and start making original films instead but.... that might not happen anytime soon, thanks to this film, I have lost hope....

This dumb thing easily gets a 2.9/10!.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Playmobil - Can't help comparing to the Lego Movie
brankovranjkovic15 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Children's animated adventure, introduced with a short live action backstory where Marla (a teenage girl) gets her own passport and wants to travel. Late one evening Marla is babysitting Charlie (her brother), there's a knock at the door, and the police are there. We realise their parents have been in a tragic road accident.

The plot jumps forward 4 years and Marla is responsible for Charlie, her traveling ambition has been shelved. Charlie has a squabble with Marla and runs off, Marla is able to track his whereabouts via a phone app. Marla finds Charlie at a games convention and they are both sucked into a colourful, animated Playmobil adventure.

They get separated, the plot switches to a rescue mission involving several characters in different action and chase scenes with some musical numbers.

This is aimed at very young audience, the movie won't appeal much to parents, especially as there are much better Lego movies to compare with.

I laughed twice. Mya (our granddaughter) liked it, she's 9 years old. Stay in your seats for a short post credit scene, taster to a potential for a sequel.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It isn't the Lego movie, it's different and better. A kids adventure with plenty of laughs and no time to get bored.
coombsstephen11 August 2019
I wasn't holding high hopes for this film but I was pleasantly surprised. The film is completely different to the Lego movie, it's just a kids adventure film with a very light hearted vibe but rattles along at a really good speed.

There are plenty of laughs for adults as well which is always great in a kids film, as is no lulls for kids to get bored. The premise of the story is light but the characters are good and amusing.

It seems to have fallen between stools as to whether it's a musical, it has a few songs but not that many to make it a fully fledged musical.

I was really surprised to see the bad reviews, this is the best kids film I have seen for a while.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
To the critics: Yes, we know it's not the Lego movie, thank you.
orsdu19 August 2019
If you read the reviews, you could get the impression that the main flaw of the Playmobil movie is the fact that it's not the Lego movies. Yes, thank you, we know that.

This movie does NOT try to be a clone of the Lego movies. Strangely, most reviews I have read seem to have a problem with that. The Playmobil movie is not full of meta jokes or references to other movies. The movie does not make fun of the quirks of old Playmobil sets. It's not self-aware. The characters don't know that they are toys. The fairy godmother behaves exactly like a fairy godmother; she's not behaving oddly or making sarcastic jokes. If you are expecting all those things, you are simply in the wrong movie.

The Playmobil movie is exclusively targeting children, not adolescents or adults. From this point of view, it's a solid movie. The 3D animation looks a bit outdated but it brings very well the look and feel of the Playmobil toys to the big screen. The story is okay but I think it would have been better to spend more time on the characters instead of rushing through the different sceneries. There are locations that don't contribute anything to the story (e.g. the scene with the lava and the dinosaurs on the road), while potentially interesting characters like the fairy only have a short appearance. But again, that's me as an adult overanalyzing a children movie. Children will probably enjoy to see all their favourite Playmobil themes.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed