The Honor Farm (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
Pointless
terrencepatrix5 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
So to be fair I'm not the target market for a film like this, it seems to be marketed to teens but it's not a "kid" movie by any means. Stop reading here because it will be immediate spoilers because any mention of the plot is a spoiler.

Basically a group of teens go into the woods on prom night and do shrooms. They trip out, see some stuff, there's a bit of teen angst mixed in and tired teen cliché characters but the problem is nothing all that important actually happens. There's no self discovery, there's no mystery, no action, they just kind of meander through the woods for awhile tripping and making quips. Then there's a cheap scare in a scene that makes no sense, a baby goat is introduced, they run and now it's morning and the movie is over. Every one is fine, very little learned, and...that's it. Overall just a very empty and pointless film. Maybe I missed something being in my 30's but I don't think so.
15 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
oops
bortzgd20025 October 2017
The only thing worse than watching it, well, I can't think of something off hand, I was gonna say being blind but if I were blind I never would have watched this film and in that case blindness would have become a positive. So goes it for all my senses in regard to this film. I am sorry to you and your friends and family if you have watched it in a group setting.
17 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Not much honourable
TheLittleSongbird6 June 2018
'The Honor Farm' drew me into seeing it, with a cool poster/cover, an intriguing and quite creative premise and as someone with a general appreciation for horror. That it was low-budget, which from frequent personal experience is rarely a good sign due to that there are so many poor ones out there, made me though apprehensive.

It is sadly however yet another film seen recently, hence some reiteration because the exact same strengths and flaws are here present in those films, that to me was incredibly disappointing considering its potential which it doesn't do anywhere near enough with. 'The Honor Farm' is terrible, with a plethora of problems (huge ones too) and doesn't do enough with its potential, which was hardly small. There is very little to recommend, but still a couple of qualities in 'The Honor Farm'.

Lets start with the positives. The scenery is atmospheric and spooky, despite the rather direct to video schlocky way it's generally shot (apart from the odd nice one) and edited, it was very clear that the film was made in a rush with no care or enthusiasm.

First ten minutes at least doesn't make one want to turn off.

Going on further to the negatives, the story does feel over-stretched and some of it feels vague, under-explained in the last third where the film especially became duller, more predictable, more senseless and less unsettled and never gaining momentum. Too many characters are too sketchy and with nowhere near enough to make one want to endear to them. Their annoying and illogical decision making and behaviours frustrates.

Making the film feel bland and forgettable with not enough heart put into it. The effects are ropy at best, the sound quality is obvious and utilised cheaply (being too loud in the build ups and people's reactions) and all of the acting is lacking mostly.

Dialogue can be stilted and rambling while the pace and film drags on forever, never recovering until finally getting slightly intriguing to the ending when something finally happens. Even the ending however is botched, due to being so incomplete-feeling, illogical and rushed. Found too many the supposedly shocking moments not surprising or creepy and the supposedly creepy or thriller atmosphere dreary, due to the excessive obviousness, a lot of dumb and vague moments and explanations and the lack of tension and suspense.

A lot of 'The Honor Farm' has underdeveloped plot elements and often nonsensical and confusing character motivations, while too many of the things to make you shocked are far from creative or unsettling.

There is not enough threat here and what there is of it tends to be used poorly, while the thrills are barely there and what there is are unimaginative and more odd than thrilling or suspenseful, completely failing to show any sense of urgency or tension. Some badly sagging momentum too. The direction is leaden, got the sense their heart was not in it, and the music doesn't really fit.

Concluding, terrible. 2/10 Bethany Cox
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
This movie made no sense
kmf5249 May 2019
You keep waiting for an explanation for all the weirdness but it never comes.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
cool concept!
roneverseversgood13 February 2018
This was a trippy, fun ride. Loved the characters, and their bizarre, drug fueled journey. Not a bad flick at all! Kinda weird, kinda spooky.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A 5 for trying, as some may get something out of it.
Jscooter41414 July 2019
Talking to someone at work that enjoys watching movies, we agree many on IMDB most be padding their rating for these kind of films in knowing someone that works on them or just enjoys watching anything. The Rotten Tomatoes reviews are something else on the critic side as these people miss the target many times, guess what, they get paid to give their opinion. He and I see the audience score is a better indicator of how good the film really is, this film just drags on and on.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Tripping, horror and coming of age? Yes please.
benmichael-633316 November 2018
Beautifully shot, acted and directed, with excellent sound design for such a low budget film. I loved how the creators used genre(horror) to suck us in and then took us on a trip. My head was fed. My third eye opened. And my dreams affected. I can't wait to see what Ms Skloss does next.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
something different
dissong-6374822 March 2018
I am glad i followed my instincts and not the other reviews here! This is a weird but interesting production, Be prepared to try to find clues or to follow the plot while the protagonists are tripping on mushrooms. The psychedelic effects are just a sort of frame - at a certain point the plot takes a very cool turn but the doubt that everything is happening in their own heads is always there.



































































































































'
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed