Running Wild with Bear Grylls (TV Series 2014– ) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Relaxed, balanced and funny
gil-roitto30 January 2015
I was truly skeptic when I saw the trailer for this show. "Get Out Alive with Bear Grylls" was forced. But "Running Wild with Bear Grylls" was toned down and felt much more relaxed. The survival techniques and stunts used felt like something a normal mortal person have any chance to use.

The episode with Ben Stiller was genuinely funny. The 4 celebrities I've seen so far have all been interesting and all different. It also helps that Bear Grylls seem to be a sympathetic person.

This show has managed to renew the somewhat fatigued survival genre. It's nice to be positively surprised sometimes!
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not quite as good as "Man Vs. Wild"
gridoon201912 April 2018
Technically / visually it's almost its equal, and in terms of character it's more intimate and introspective. But it's also much slower-paced: if Bear alone faced, say, 10 challenges per episode, with a celebrity guest they face, say, 4. There is also one more problem: too much rappelling. It's thrilling to watch the first few times, but when every single episode has it (though I have missed a couple), it gets repetitive. My favorite episode is probably the one with Vanessa Hudgens - she is extremely likable, and the "screen running" at the end makes for an exciting change-of-pace. For this concept at its freshest, see the "Man Vs. Wild" specials "Fan Vs. Wild" and the one with Jake Gyllenhaal. *** out of 4.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Sharing an Adventure with Bear
atlasmb14 July 2015
I suspect there are many who would like to go on an outdoor adventure with Bear Grylls, taking advantage of his experience and expertise. "Running Wild" allows the viewer to do that--from the comfort of his easy chair.

In the first episode I watched (from the second season), Kate Hudson--actress, dancer, and daughter of Goldie--accompanied Bear on a traverse of a pass in the Italian Dolomites. They climbed rocks, they hiked above the snowline, they passed through tunnels left over from WWII, and they rappelled beside a raging waterfall. They dined on available foods. They spent the night on pine boughs beside a comforting fire, taking time to discuss some deeper issues.

When it was over, Kate had experienced laughter, tears, and some moments of contemplation and insight. What more could you ask for? I think Bear likes to push his guests beyond their comfort zones. But he seems rather trustworthy in his exhaustive knowledge of techniques for negotiating risky situations. These are transformative experiences and it's fun to share them.

Update 7/29/15: After three episodes, it is clear that this show is even more than I thought it was. By sharing the triumphs of Bear's guests, the viewer is treated to elevating experiences. As the book says, "Feel the Fear and do it Anyway" and that principle is embodied by the show and its lesson is made real. I am increasing my grade to 9. Enjoyable and inspiring.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Tom Arnold
Sandicmxr21 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
As Bear says at the end of the show it seems like Tom would show up with Hollywood baggage but he didn't. I have not been a fan of Mr. Arnold simply because I've never liked Rosanne. However after seeing this man not only face his fears but shatter the expectations anyone would have of him I have to rethink my position. He went out on an adventure and not only did make it through without whining he passed every test with flying colors. Tom Arnold you have gained a new fan and I'm in your corner. I'll be watching your movies with a new insight. Thank you for having the guts to take on everything Bear asked you to and even giving help when he needed you. I look forward to seeing you again.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Honestly one of my favorite shows on TV.
kierancrockett16 October 2017
Cmon' lets face it, this show is awesome, there's funny moments but also exciting ones too, Love bear he's great and most of his guests (I should say victims really) give some real funny reactions to some stuff that he does. Shaq's episode killed me a little lmao.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Birthday wishes
reachelranganathan7 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Hai Bear really it is a awesome show , i like this show very much because i like you very much.Really you are a real Hero and i want to see you. Iam crazy about you. Wish You a Very HAPPY BIRTHDAY and God Bless You Have a wonderful year and have a long life with your family. Jesus always with you, be happy. this is my hearty wishes once again a very HAPPY BIRTHDAY. Many more happy returns of the day! Have a fruitful and a joyful year! Stay blessed! Happy birthday!

LORD, who shall abide in thy tabernacle? who shall dwell in thy holy hill? He that Walker uprightly, and worker righteousness, and speaker the truth in his heart. He that backbiter not with his tongue, nor doth evil to his neighbour, nor taker up a reproach against his neighbour. In whose eyes a vile person is contemned; but he honorer them that fear the LORD. He that swearer to his own hurt, and changer not. He that putter not out his money to usury, nor taker reward against the innocent. He that doth these things shall never be moved.

Psalms 15:1-5 (KJV)

HAVE A TRUTHFUL DAY
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Fake as F
Gantec25 August 2015
was really into this show UNTIL I watch a youtube video that showed an entire episodes path and after watching the show again, saw everything. The entire thing was shoot within 100 yard of main road. One scene was done in family park.

With all the pre-staged areas for the actors, IE ropes already there. Packs already in place, bikes/boats sitting there waiting,30-50 crew members around them at all times, just takes any realism out of the show it may have had. Bear may as well take them to Chucky-Cheese an call it Authentic Italian. Unfortunately for Bear once that 4th wall was tore down it completely ruined the show, I feel bad for Bear, before I use to think of him as the Grizzly Bear, now it more wet teddy bear.
1 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Show
sagastib26 April 2015
This was a great show, I'm big into the survival and exploring type shows and the insertion of celebrities gives this type of show a new edge.

The celebrities are good sports with it and its just an overall fun show. They all seem very comfortable and not at all like they're forced into the situation, there is great chemistry.

Everyone is very likable and watching people overcome the terrain is great and the celebrities seem much more like your run of the mill people. Great photography to it's a show for any age. If you like other of Bear's shows or shows like Ultimate Survivor or the Out of the Wild shows
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed