Bad Kids of Crestview Academy (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
15 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
About 100X better than the first entry in the series...
A_Different_Drummer18 January 2017
.... which, depending on your POV, may or may not be a compliment.

Here is the scoop -- there is a theory in the biz that if you deconstruct enough films in the same script, you may possibly trigger a paradox in the (Hollywood) time-space continuum, Star Trek style, and end up with a film which is actually a legitimate successor to the genre you were trying so hard to satirize.

Which is what I think happened here.

Ben Browder seems to have learned a LOT of valuable lessons from his first "Bad Kids" attempt -- just a rambly B movie which gained cult status because of some clever tropes -- and came back with a film which (I kid you not) has a remarkably tight script, good performances and good production values.

Which is not to say that the Coen Brothers are nervous, far from it. But the script is so interesting (with sly hints of Scream, Friday the 13th, I Know What You Did Last Summer, and even No Country For Old Men) that it actually engages and holds the attention.

And Sammi Hanratty gives what can best be called a bravura performance, biting into each line of dialogue and each piece of mayhem like she actually believes what she is saying ... like her career depends on it (which it probably DOES!) ... and essentially picks the film up and carries it to the finish line.

Gina Gershon does little more than offer a parody of herself, but her character ironically provides a "political angle" to the film which conveniently comes at a time when the world at large is starting to see politicians as potentially more dangerous than serial killers.

Recommended. And I predict there will be more in the series.
25 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Surprisingly Good
joeywyss18 November 2017
I kept waiting for this to turn into a groan-er, but ended up very surprised. There's some very dark twisted humor woven throughout, and a good choice of newbie casting gives it a solid base to build on. After all the garbage horror I'm finding on Amazon Prime, this was a delight. I had an expectation of some degree of quality when I saw Gershon, Astin and Browder (who also directed!), and was waiting to be let down by the 'teens' but they held their own which saves the movie. Funny without being silly or campy, gory but not ridiculously so, and a solid script that stayed on point. The blending of the graphic novel scenes was a cherry on top to be sure. I usually prefer my horror to lean more supernatural , but this was a solid choice, and THANK HEAVENS none of that found footage garbage.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Jesus loves cheerleaders
nogodnomasters11 August 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Based on a graphic novel and uses bits of it for effect. Souxsie (Sammi Hanratty) is investigating the death of her sister, ruled a suicide. She believes it was murder. She manages to get herself in rich kid detention on Saturday so she can find out what happened...a party that she was at. The film opens with a SWAT team chasing her down and she has a welder flame thrower. It then goes back a day to take us up to that point. The ending, I didn't see coming...you won't either, unless you read the book.

This is a quirky clever cult film that was filled with smiles, but not hard laughter. The twists are more clever than funny. The movie has some good characters that I wish we could have gotten to know better, a group that makes the "Breakfast Club" look like the weenies they really were.

Guide: F-word. Brief sex. Brief nudity
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pretty funny teen horror spoof!
sergeivolkov15 January 2017
Anyone who takes themselves seriously or the teen horror genre seriously will not like a comedy spoof on the genre.

The movie at it's opening credits clearly sets itself up as a bloody comedy spoof on the teen horror movie theme. It throws in some modern tech jokes while keeping the familiar traditional killing formula.

The cast looked the part and did a good job of acting...remembering it is a horror spoof they played their parts well. I did laugh in many places and enjoyed the off beat comedy choices.

At the very end...i usually do not care who directed a movie but since this spoof was really well done i decided to go back and see who the directer was...Ben Browder ...LOL now i understand why the movie was so creative, not boring and had enough entertaining twists.

Worth watching...just for fun!
9 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A thoroughly impressive effort
jtindahouse31 May 2017
There's nothing better than going into a movie with very low expectations, only to be blown away by how much you enjoy it. That was very much the case for me with 'Bad Kids of Crestview Academy'. It's so rare today that I enjoy anything horror related, let alone the low-budget, barely heard of films that are a sequel to an original that I have never heard of either.

The film's biggest strength is that it is just straight up fun. It finds an almost perfect balance between being light-hearted and comical and yet at the same time taking itself just seriously enough so that the convoluted story never becomes tedious or boring. Say what you will, but that is a very hard balance to find that some very good film makers have failed to achieve over the years.

The synopsis and opening scene (a scene that is a flash-forward to near the end of the film) imply that this will be a very simple film in approach. This really couldn't be further from the case. There are a couple of times when you think to yourself "OK, that was the film's big twist", only to find out (more than once) that that is only the beginning of things.

I was really impressed by this film. It's easy for these types of films just to be lazy and do the bare minimum to keep their audience happy. 'Bad Kids of Crestview Academy' never takes the easy road though and the result is an audience that is going to thoroughly enjoy themselves. A great effort by all involved.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disgusting load of utter vile rubbish
Boristhemoggy15 January 2017
Right from the very start this film promises to be badly acted, badly scripted, with an awful story, poor direction and it's just wrong on so many levels: racist, sexist, insulting and just plain rude. You think it's going to be something like Mean Girls meets The Breakfast Club, but it's not even anywhere close to either, it's more like Rotten Tomatoes worst offering.

To think that $5 million was wasted on this is actually terrifying because who made the decision to spend so much money on something so few are going to like?

I despair to think that people actually film this stuff and get it out there, I despair that anyone but a teen with severe angst would like it. It's utter garbage, don't waste even one minute of your time on it.
13 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good, but inferior to the first, and if you don't love the original, you'll probably hate this one.
indyj19 April 2017
I enjoyed the film, but didn't love it like I do the the first movie. While they managed to capture the essence of the original film - telling the story in bits and pieces, out of order, any with layers within layers - but whereas they reached a point where that formula again worked, the film then went way too over-the-top in an attempt to really out crazy its predecessor. It was also disappointing that, while the first movie had reasonably well-developed, multi-layered characters, with the exception of the main character Siouxsie, all the others were ridiculously shallow one-note caricatures in this one. If you really loved Bad Kids Go to Hell, you're more likely to get some enjoyment out of this one, but don't expect it to be as good.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disgusting
rishikaishrajput11 September 2019
Wish i could give it a Minus rating, utter rubbish...!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Teenage Massacre
scythertitus23 March 2019
This film works pretty well as a teen comedy slasher, the kills are kind of cool if mostly unoriginal, but definitely fun for someone who is new to the horror genre.

The film never drags and the story has legs, but it does suffer from a lacking in the effects department. At least it tries to continue aspects from the original and doesn't just go somewhere completely different, so if you are a fan of the first film you will probably like this.

Overall this is definitely a horror designed for teens and never really rises above a beginners level in terms of entertainment, dialogue or gore. It's not a bad time though.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not that bad...
ryu93767 March 2019
Honestly, this wasn't what I was expecting. It was better than I had first anticipated, and was quite entertaining in it's own way... the young kids in the film definitely made some of the scenes memorable. But basically I gave it a glance because Ben Browder was involved with this project.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
humor needs a little work
SnoopyStyle26 December 2018
Four years earlier, a psycho rampage occurred during detention at the Crestview Academy. Siouxsie (Sammi Hanratty) forces her way into detention to investigate her sister's death and exact revenge. Joining her in detention are "Latin Spice" Brian Marquez, "Cat Lover" Sara Hasegawa, "Mr Clean" Blaine Wilkes, and "Preacher's Daughter" Faith Jackson who are connected to the party where Siouxsie's sister died. Once again, it ends in carnage and destruction with Siouxsie wielding a flamethrower.

So.... That happened. Sean Astin walks into a sex scene. That's this movie. The 'kids' are younger this time and I don't know if it helps this sex-obsessed high school murder drama. Ben Browder is directing this time and he's trying to be funny. Sammi is a solid lead but the other girls struggle to play dumb. The guys are bland. The main issue is that the humor isn't funny. It's weak grade school humor where Drake Bell is a computer sex fiend. It's a bunch of ridiculous dark humor which is suppose to be funny just because it's ridiculous. This needs a comedic writer to make one more pass at the script.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
disjointed, senseless, illogical, asinine
grrg6323 April 2017
I just wasted 100 minutes of my life on this and these are the words that came to mind when I thought about describing it:

disjointed, senseless, illogical, asinine

The cast was fine, but if you stick an accomplished actor like Gina Gershon in a load of crap like this you still wind up with a load of crap. The screenplay and plotting were what killed it. I really liked Farscape.
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
wtf where they thinking
stymie7915 October 2018
If it was all animation i might have enjoyed this film i'm no critic it's not a good film.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
The Breakfast Club with Ten Little Indians
bkoganbing3 December 2017
I've long been of the opinion that actors take roles in horror films because they can go to town acting outrageously and never be accused of overacting. Maybe doubly so for young actors in these teen flicks.

In Bad Kids From Crestview Academy five of them get detention in the library, but as that famous Red Buttons song went, 'strange things are happening'. Someone is out to kill these kids in a most gruesome manner.

Crestview is an expensive prep school for rich juvenile delinquents and the rich and famous pay dear for little Johnny or Jane to go there and gain that all important high school diploma.

The film starts out like the Breakfast Club but it turns into a gory version of Ten Little Indians.

In fact the gambit that failed for the murderer in the Agatha Christie classic succeeds quite well here. If you care to watch, if these movies are your cup of tea, you'll see what I mean.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Disappointment
mbmarsh-0570913 April 2017
I really enjoyed the first movie "Bad Kids Go To Hell". Pretty good acting and a good plot and everything. But this one, "Bad Kids of Crestview Academy", just really disappointed me. A lot of the acting wasn't good. It seemed forced, over dramatic, and at times didn't make sense. But I think, at times, that had more to do with direction and the script than the actors themselves. The dialogue is the same. It was annoying and at times didn't make sense or unnecessary. I really about stopped watching a few times but I already invested the time and I just wanted to know how it ended, in case there is a third. But I literally suffered through the last half. The story line just sucked. I feel like there could have been more thought put into it and the dialogue or something.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed