Kristin's Christmas Past (TV Movie 2013) Poster

(2013 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
7 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Shiri Appleby never disappoints!
freetobe1018 January 2014
I really enjoyed this movie. I thought that it was light-hearted and fun, making it perfect for the holidays. In typical 'Lifetime' style, it leaves just enough room for you to think about how your life choices effect your future and that, ultimately, family really is the most important thing. A great movie about love and forgiveness, which is just what everyone needs during the Holiday Season. Keep in mind that this a "fluffy" Romantic-Comedy/Family movie, so don't expect too much. However, I felt that the acting was superb, though I am quite biased, because I think that Shiri Appleby generally excels in every role that she is given. Nevertheless, I certainly recommend this film!
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Superior Christmas movie
alan-quayley-quayle20 December 2014
Have spent a fair bit of time watching Christmas movies with the wife, and this is definitely one of the better ones. I agree with the other reviewer, Shiri Appleby takes the lead role, and takes it very well, a performance full of personality, and very believable, well supported in general by the other characters. A play on the "Christmas Carol" theme, but different enough to be very entertaining. Heartwarming tale, with some nice humorous touches, and instantly went into the top of my Christmas movie list . If you are looking for gritty reality, or blockbuster special effects, look elsewhere, but if you want to spend a pleasant couple of hours, with a movie that will draw you in if you give it a chance, this is one to look out for over the Christmas season
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Kristin Carol
Jackbv12310 December 2017
A bit of a different take on A Christmas Carol. Kristin is a slutty, narcissistic, lush. She is also more or less failing at life. I found this personality difficult to get past, but some might see the humor and enjoy it. The different approach is that Kristin doesn't visit the past in ghost-like fashion, she actually goes to the past and interacts with herself and her family. For much of the movie, only her past self knows who she really is. It doesn't take the older Kristin long to realize she needs change.

The acting is enjoyable. I loved A.J. Langer as Aunt Debbie.

There might be a couple of ways it can go, but neither would be a big surprise. Even so, I thought it was worth staying with.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Above Average
Christmas-Reviewer12 September 2016
Estranged from her family and alone on Christmas Eve, thirty-something Kristin (Shiri Appleby) wakes up Christmas morning seventeen years into her past to relive the worst Christmas of her life. Positioning herself as an older mentor to her younger self (Hannah Marks), now Kristin has a chance to change things. Something that seems impossible, as her younger self has an estranged relationship with her mother.

What is great about this film is that it shows that a relationship between a mother and daughter is not the easiest relationship for some. The film also shows how both the mother and the daughter made mistakes and how each woman never had ill intentions. The film has a credible cast that makes this film worth remembering. This Christmas Theme film is family safe but the main audience of this film will be women past their teens. Men however should watch. Its very good.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Don't Pass Up Kristin's Christmas Past
gehewe29 December 2016
Delightful story of a 34 year old woman going back to when she was a girl of 17. The lead actress is very good in this role. How at 34 one can see things like they couldn't at 17. This alone is worth the watch. We also get to see two of the characters at 34 and then at 17 (done with different actors). Nicely done. The filming could have been a bit better- in the opening scenes it was hard to hear the dialogue clearly.

I liked how they showed Kristin's family and the conflicts they were having. The contrast between 1996 and 2013 was also well done- smart phone versus AOL dial up internet. I don't rate them this high unless there was something special.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
the idea
Kirpianuscus3 December 2017
the basic idea of this story is the most seductive ingredient of a film who looks for be more than soft-comfortable film about a family in Christmas period. the second good point is Shiri Appleby performance, remembering the frustration of a woman front to her errors from past. and the second chance is a seductive hypotheses for everyone. so, a simple story, with cinnamon and honey taste, about a way for fix the past bad options.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Kristin's Timeless Christmas
kylepop24 December 2018
When 34 year old party girl Kristin begins to regret her past decisions, she suddenly wakes up one morning to find herself transported to 1996, where she meets her teenage self on Christmas Eve. Kristin see's this as an opportunity to rectify her past problems. But it's easier said than done.

The story has been done quite a few times but not like this. The story flows naturally, we see great character moments that are sad, fun and everything in between. My only issue was the ending, it felt rushed and didn't do justice compared to what a great time we had getting to know Kristin, her family and her past.

A heartwarming, sometimes funny but not sickly-sentimental, Kristin's Christmas Past is a real treat for the season.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed