"Doctor Who" The Day of the Doctor (TV Episode 2013) Poster

(TV Series)

(2013)

User Reviews

Review this title
64 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
The Ultimate fiftieth celebration.
jgarbett-510-5420323 November 2013
I have just finished watching the doctor's fiftieth anniversary celebration 'The Day of the Doctor' and it is a wonderful tribute to the longest running sci-fi series in history.

The fiftieth anniversary is full of 'spoilers', see what I did there. So on the off chance you haven't see it yet, it is the team-up of the two most famous doctors since the reboot in 2005 and has them revisiting the 'moment that defined him' .

The TV show lasts one hour and fifteen minutes, a perfect length and is full of twists and turns and brilliant fan service and dialogue. It is a tribute to all the doctors from past, present and future and combines humour, emotion and brilliance in a fabulous concoction.

'The day of the doctor' is a television event that won't easily be forgotten and is the ultimate way to celebrate 50 years.
96 out of 107 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Steven Moffat's Best Yet?
Br00723 November 2013
Steven Moffat has been a mixed bag at times. His scripts for "A Christmas Carol" and "The Girl In The Fireplace" are two of the better episodes in recent years. Sentimentality suits him. But when he goes to great lengths to explain the mythology of Doctor Who and begins creating new connections to the past, he can also be quite wordy. The entire last season has been victimized by this and most of the episodes were less than satisfying. We just want an adventure, not a treatise on Who history or an impossibly tangled web of River Song and a dozen other characters.

But this time, he pulled it off. While this past season, topped by "The Name of the Doctor," seemed to be painting him into a plot heavy corner, "The Day of the Doctor" unwinds the whole mess nicely and adds just the right amount of clever twists and, most importantly, delights us with its sense of humor. Suddenly, it all makes sense.

To add to the fun, this is one of those times when more doctors actually ratchets up the good time. Plus there's at least one wonderful surprise cameo to top it all off. A good time for all. Highly recommended and makes watching the previous season well worth it. This may be Moffat's best script yet.
92 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Confusion 'No more'
pirateatbay23 November 2013
Just finished watching the day of the doctor, and my God!!! I've waited a LONG time to feel what I am felling right now. By far, this episode was the best one yet in the Doctor Who series.

Before I saw the episode, I was both excited and worried at the same time because I did not want to be disappointed after waiting for so long to see it after watching the teaser trailer. But Setven Moffat pulled it off, and in a way you can never imagine. He takes us for a ride into the realms of Gallifrey with such detail and yet with the hint of humor.

I can swear that there were more than one instance where I had tears of joy in my eyes. This is by far the only episode/show/movie where I have given a solid 10 on 10 on IMDb till date.

If you haven't seen it yet, mark my words, "you are in for a treat".
50 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Doctor Who Considered as an exhibit for Sydney's "In Defense of Poesie"
boblipton23 November 2013
In my reviews of various episodes of Doctor Who I try to take a balanced view, to place each particular episode in the context of the series and to highlight some particular aspect of the production. So, when I first thought about this review, I thought that it would include references to other anniversary shows, the Anniversary Season, the one-shot DIMENSIONS IN TIME, which was so something-for-everyone that it wound up having to be written out of continuity.

Then I saw this episode and the constant assault of jokes and catchphrases, of old, ridiculous scarves and space-time telegraphs, of cameo appearances by Significant Players, of Daleks and Zygons and members of the Lethbridge-Stewart family, as well as the pleasure of watching Matt Smith and David Tennant wrangle under the grumpy eye of John Hurt -- which recalls William Hartnell grumbling at successors Patrick Troughton and Jon Pertwee for a clown and a fop -- well, my critical faculties just went into overload and broke down. I was just another geeky fanboy having a great time and I don't care who knows it.

And now that I think about it: what's wrong with that assessment? The answer is: nothing. This is what escapist fantasy like Doctor Who is supposed to do: lift us out of ourselves, give us and hour or so free from the weight of the world. That is what this episode does and does brilliantly. If there is a serious message hidden in there -- and I believe there is -- then that is well and good. As W.S. Gilbert had one of the characters in his comic operettas with Arthur Sullivan say, "He who'd make his fellow creature wise must always gild the philosophic pill." But even if you don't see it, the Fiftieth Anniversary Special is great escapist fun.

Now, if you will excuse me, I am going to watch it again.
74 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
SPOILER FREE REVIEW - An amazing journey with the Doctor!
sammibushman23 November 2013
Going into this 50th anniversary episodes, I expected three things: multiple doctors, the return of beloved references and characters for the fans, and a whole ton of fun. "The Day of the Doctor" delivered that and so much more.

From the absolutely brilliant banter, to the amazing special effects, everything was perfect. And the best part is, they didn't let those things eclipse the true heart of the story- the Doctor himself, and who he perceives himself to be.

This is an amazing episode that will be cherished, revered, and most of all, REMEMBERED, in the many years to come. Happy 50th, Doctor Who. It has been well worth the wait. 10/10
63 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Superb
neil-47623 November 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Matt Smith's Doctor Who joins forces with David Tennant's in order to take some sort of action over the War Doctor (John Hurt)'s destruction of Gallifrey.

This feature length special, made to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the long-running BBC serial was shown in cinemas in 3D simultaneously with its telecast, and I must say that I am really glad that I saw it in a cinema packed with Doctor Who enthusiasts. The audience laughed at all the humour (this was a very funny film) and were absolutely silent throughout the considerable drama. They also reacted strongly to every little touch which was crafted into the film for fans who have followed since the very first episode.

The film worked well as a standalone movie, better as an episode which both resolved past questions and seeded future ones, and best of all as a celebration of this series since its inception.

It is delightful to see from this episode (together with the recent mini-episode) Paul McGann's Doctor welcomed fully and comprehensively into BBC TV continuity. It was good that not every cat was let out of the bag. And the effects and 3D were worthy of a cinema release.

Highly recommended.
28 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Wow ... I Mean WOW.
Loren-323 November 2013
Right off the top, I'm no great-shakes Whovian, so let's get that out of the way right now. Cut my teeth on Tom Baker back in the 70s and thought he was great fun. More recently, I came to know the Doctor when he met Amy Pond ... who had this rather ominous crack in the wall of her bedroom. It was in large portion her character and energy that moved me to revisit this old friend and at least duck in now and again to see where things were going.

And then I heard that the Doctor was celebrating 50 years and noting that everyone from James T. Kirk to Malcolm Reynolds was offering their best wishes, and I figured, "Gad, I can't miss this." And I didn't.

I just finished watching ... and about all I can say is wow. Mr. Moffat, you've written some corkers in your day, but this one ... this one is something very special. Yeah, it was neat to see Tennant and Smith together, and Mr. Hurt brought his own palate to the show. But it was the twists of the plot, the thoughtfulness and inventiveness which is Steven's hallmark which carried the day here. There is also the matter of a ... curator ... who showed up toward the end. Yeah, that did put a smile on my face, a big one.

To Matt, David, Steven, Billie, John ... all of you ... many, many thanks.
27 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Doctor Who - The Day of the Doctor
Scarecrow-882 January 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I have to say after watching The Day of the Doctor, that I consider myself quite a rich fan of the long-time show. To have Steven Moffat as show runner and his magnificently brilliant staff putting together these complex, intricately plotted episodes, it is a delight to be alive to see it. I just wish my Uncle Bonnie would have persevered cancer to see where Doctor Who was going. The respect and admiration for the characters (actors who portrayed the Doctor and his adversaries) is presented in such an appreciative fashion, and to know this makes me proud of those carrying on the legacy first introduced in the 60s. For a little while the show was gone but never forgotten (the 90s is the dark decade for Who fans and I feel deep regret my uncle had to go so long without the show to enjoy) and now we, as Who fans, benefit and reap the rewards as viewers during this era.

I guess the best way to describe The Day of the Doctor is precious. It brings two beloved actors portraying the Doctor in during one of its greatest eras on television—Matt Smith and David Tennant—and a screen legend, John Hurt, as "the doctor who made a devastating decision that destroyed his own people and their fierce rivals, the Daleks". Hurt's "War Doctor" has been "buried away" as the shameful time lord future Doctors wish they could completely forget. This episode shows Hurt dealing with the option to destroy Gallifrey with a doomsday device, but it has a "conscience" and appears in the lovely form of Billie Piper (she remains a personal fave of mine from her days with Eccleston in the early 2000s). Piper's Rose is actually "Big Bad Wolf", and she attempts throughout the episode to talk Hurt's Doctor out of using it to wipe out Gallifrey.

In a top secret location in the heart of London known as the Undergallery, a specific painting shows the supposed fall of Gallifrey during the Time War. Zygons, ugly slug like creatures with suctions that shapeshift into human form through the use of the hosts they imitate, existed back at the time of Elizabeth I, and her association with Tennant's Doctor (they marry!) allows us to see how the creatures plan to use paintings as a method of travel, awaiting a significant change in the world from the primitive time they were currently existing. So they were to "invade the future from the past", waiting for the world's advancement before conquering it! Prior to the decision on whether or not to condemn the innocent aliens on Gallifrey, the three Doctors have a chance to rescue modern day London, circa 2013, from annihilation. To halt the plans of the Zygons to conquer London, members of an elite alien task force led by the daughter of Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart will perhaps allow the city to be detonated by a nuclear weapon. So the Doctors will need to talk her out of something truly terrible that would be a mistake. This intentionally parallels the ongoing struggle within Hurt's War Doctor.

This episode neatly gives us Who fans an opportunity to see the Time War, two awesome Doctor Who actors (and a third to be added to the acting cannon to attain Hurt further recognition in his career) together to share some truly marvelous screen time (their banter is lively, clever, witty, and quite funny), and a delightful cameo by Tom Baker—a Who fan favorite from the 70s—as a museum curator. Baker and Smith together is certain to be a lasting moment in Who lore forever. Tennant just slides the Doctor Who role back like comfortable loafers, and his return is a welcome one. Hurt's old timer constantly bewildered at his future selves is a treat, particularly his remarks about the sonic screwdriver, kissing, and Smith's use of his hands when talking. Oh, and the Fez is always a fun sight gag for Smith's particular Doctor. How it is used for the "time fissure (a tear in the fabric of time), which is able to open a gateway that brings three Doctors (Time Lords) together" is ingenious. The Day of the Doctor is a necessity, in my opinion, if you are a Doctor Who nut like many of us sci-fi fans, both young and old. It is a treasure. I'm tickled it was so successful and so universally seen across the world. The series' value brings a warm feeling to my heart. The nice mention of the "round things, always loved the round things" in regards to the design of the older inside of the decor of the Tardis was awesome. The final scene with all the Doctors is wonderful, an awe-inspiring, loving homage to the series.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
So, now we know.
Carycomic23 November 2013
Warning: Spoilers
We know, for example, why elderly Elizabeth I was so hostile to the Doctor during his and Martha Jones' team-up with Shakespeare. It's because he ran out on his wife!

We know that the 4th Doctor becomes the owner of an art gallery.

We also know that John Hurt's performance was undeniably both poignant and bravura. That he was really the 9th Doctor, instead of a potential 12th (as I initially thought); or even an aged 8th, like I second-thought. We even know that this ret-cons Chris Eccleston into the 10th Doctor; Dave Tennant, into the 11th; and Matt Smith, into the 12th.

What we don't know, however, is whether or not the 13th Doctor will still become the Valyard (traitor and would-be prosecutor of the 6th Doctor).

Only Time, of course, will tell. In any event...

Happy Golden Anniversary, Doctor!!!

And, a perfect ten, to boot (as if you didn't know).
23 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Massive
gridoon20208 May 2015
Warning: Spoilers
"The Day of the Doctor" is the ideal 50th anniversary special: it simultaneously celebrates the past of the series, while opening new roads for the future. Writer Steven Moffat and director Nick Hurran cover all the bases: this episode is funny ("We're confusing the polarity!"), dark, brain-twisting, and epic. The concept of the "paintings" which are really three-dimensional snapshots of reality frozen in time in which it possible to enter (and exit) is brilliant. The team of the three Doctors is extremely entertaining, while Billie Piper, returning as The Moment (a weapon so powerful it has a conscience of its own), gives what is probably her finest performance since the season 2 finale, "Doomsday". Although the episode is fairly accessible to casual fans, series devotees will undeniably get more out of it - call it a reward for their devotion. ***1/2 out of 4.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Elephant Man Makes One Heck Of A Good Doctor.
zacpetch15 December 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Before watching this, think back to the end of series 7: "Introducing John Hurt As The Doctor" reads the caption. The War Doctor was by far the greatest character reveal in TV history. The Eleventh Doctor has kept him hidden for fighting in the time war and it turns out that The War Doctor fits in between Eight and Nine as an unnumbered incarnation of our favourite time-traveller. He's the main character this time round.

This special is really all about him. This is a character study of the Not-Last Timelord exploring how the actions of The War Doctor have had knock-on effects on his successors Ten and Eleven. Tennant and Smith make a great pair as their more excitable versions of the character bounce off each other, Clara, UNIT, Queen Elizabeth I, Zygons and of course The War Doctor. Jenna Coleman is also fantastic, proving herself as a serious actress rather than just eye-candy (but face it, she's excellent at that too), with Jemma Redgrave making a nice return as Kate Stewart: It's easy to believe she is truly the Brigadier's daughter. Bille Piper is back too which I wasn't especially pleased to hear (Rose Tyler is an annoying spoilt brat) but she is terrific as The Moment, though criminally underused here. She always had excellent chemistry with Tennant but the two don't interact here even once! Still, that's only a minor issue and one we'll permit this once since she works really well with Hurt instead.

Wonderful though the cast all are, it comes as no surprise that the most experienced star steals every scene he's in. John Hurt is perfectly cast in this as the man torn by the ultimate dilemma. He's not a world famous actor for nothing and they don't just give anyone a CBE! He has excellent ability as an actor and uses his skill to its full potential at every opportunity.

This is filled with several references to classic Who as well. Every Doctor gets a look-in during the final moments of the Time War (via archive footage) and images of most companions are seen in the Black Archive. Quotes are used to great effect (We're both reversing the polarity!) and we finally get to see some of the implied relationship between Doctor Ten and Liz One when two of his other selves attend his wedding: For those keeping count this is the second, chronologically, of his four known weddings (Susan's Grandmother, Marilyn Monroe and River Song being the others).

There's not a great deal I can say without spoiling the episode due to the large number of plot twists this is filled with. In short, the biggest highlights have to be the two cameo appearances of some new Doctors. Twelve briefly gets seen but more exciting is the final scene: Tom Baker as The Curator. He's still as great at Dr Who as he ever was and this episode is made all the more special because he's in it. He'll probably never be in Dr Who again (except via archive footage perhaps) but it's exciting to see him return.

This is THE way to celebrate TV milestones. A TV Event like this will not be forgotten for a long time. Unlike the awful 30th & 40th anniversary specials, this is truly wonderful. 10/10
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A cracking special worthy of the 50th anniversary
Tweekums24 November 2013
Warning: Spoilers
As this fiftieth anniversary special opened it looked as if it might be excessively comic; in the first few minutes we see The Doctor dangling from the Tardis as it is carried over London by a helicopter! Things soon get more serious though when he and Clara are taken to the National Gallery to see a picture that accompanies a message to The Doctor from Queen Elizabeth the First. This is no ordinary picture though; it is a 3D picture of the last day of Gallifrey. We then see what happened on that day as Daleks attack and The Doctor, played by John Hurt, leaves the message 'No More' blasted into a wall and steals the ultimate weapon that could eliminate both the Daleks and Gallifrey! As he contemplates setting off the device a woman appears; she calls herself 'Bad Wolf' and is in fact a physical representation of the weapon. While they are talking a time vortex opens and a fez emerges!

In what follows we see David Tennent's Doctor wooing Queen Elizabeth before they are attacked by shape-shifting Zygons. Soon this Doctor is joined by Matt Smith's Doctor and not long after that they are joined by John Hurt! The three of them are captured by the Zygons in Elizabethan England while in the present Clara is having her own problems with Zygons. Using methods I won't spoil she manages to join The Doctors and they get back to the present just as London is about to be destroyed in a way that mirrors the way he sacrificed Gallifrey… is will destroy it depending which of the Doctors we are talking about.

Having done my best to avoid spoilers I still feared the makers would try to cram too many references to the "Fifty Years of Doctor Who" into this special's hour and a quarter run time; thankfully they didn't. There were some of course but these didn't seem too forced and some were a real delight… Tom Baker's cameo was a real treat for those of us who watched in the seventies! The story managed to be exciting, poignant and occasionally funny as well as containing some good scary moments that were good without being too frightening for younger viewers. I wasn't surprised to read that is was shown in cinemas as well as on television as I thought it had a cinematic feel even though I was only watching it on the BBC iPlayer! The acting was great; I particularly liked John Hurt's version of The Doctor; he brought real gravitas to the role. On the strength of this I'm really looking forward to further instalments; I just hope they can keep up this high standard.
18 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
They've got their work cut out to top this on it's next big anniversary!
Sleepin_Dragon17 September 2015
The Doctor and Clara are carried of in the TARDIS to the Tower of London, UNIT's headquarters, where Kate Lethbridge Stewart lays in wait, with a painting left by Queen Elizabeth.

The story of the Time War has run for many years, how fitting for the fiftieth that it gets explained. A clever concept, hopefully one that's over now.

The childlike elements of both Smith and Tennant contrast really well with the bleakness and soured maturity of the War Doctor. The interplay between the two of them is just glorious. Both also work extremely well with John Hurt too, must have been daunting he is literally a living legend.

It really pleased me that Billie was brought back, love or hate Rose, she played a hugely important role in helping the show get back on track. It's wonderful seeing her.

In all honesty my favourite part was the appearance of Tom, it literally had me in tears with a lump in my throat, what better possible celebration to the show then to have the longest running Doctor appearing. He's just magic.

The updated Zygons are amazing, among the most successful monster returns, they just look amazing, and the effect of them transforming into human copies fantastic. Talk about a long overdue return.

10/10 so many elements make up a truly wonderful special, like an updated Five Doctors. Utterly wonderful.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Day of The Doctor made my night!
michaelbishopemery2 December 2013
I managed to wait until the following Monday after this episode aired, so I could watch it in a movie theater in 3-D. And it was definitely worth the wait!

I had very high expectations, especially given that it was both the 50th anniversary episode AND was promoted as including the 10th Doctor; David Tennant. It delivered! Boy did it! The beginning minutes were just okay, nothing especially memorable; then from out of nowhere, I was staring at the screen like an awestruck child...and it continued until the closing credits.

Steven Moffat wrote not only a very engaging story, he also managed to deliver a powerful and action loaded finale that fit perfectly! I am a very analytically person, especially when it comes to writers trying to pull a fast one on a show's mythology; However, Moffat actually wove an intricate story that did not betray 50 years of established stories.

I was especially impressed with how he honored those 50 years; it was pure genius! Granted, some people who have not been a fan of Doctor Who since the 70's, as I am, might miss some of the more subtle nods he gives to the show's past stories; I still feel it will please newer "Whovians."

The climatic "showdown" of the episode was, for me, the best part of it all! I truly can not think of a better way to do it for Doctor Who's 50th anniversary than how it was done.

And while I am a man of late 40's, I squealed like a schoolgirl during a scene in the museum near the end (If you've seen the episode, you can probably guess why)

The only complaint that I have is...hmmm....actually, I have NONE!

Allons-y!
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Midlife Crisis!
steven-sadler31214 September 2014
Warning: Spoilers
First off, yes this does contain spoilers! Second of all...let me just geek out for a little bit! WOW! The way this episode starts pulls you in just by the simple vintage Doctor Who intro. From there we are shown The Doctor and Clara in the TARDIS being swooped up and then being face to face with that "painting" shortly after with the glass broken on the outside. Then we are shown The War Doctor and his decision to destroy the Daleks and the Time Lords...coming face to face with the interface of "Rose Tyler" which was a nice surprise. Jon Hurt plays the War Doctor perfectly...they couldn't have picked a better person to play him. Finally, to my favorite Doctor, David Tennant whom obviously rides out of his TARDIS on horseback yelling "ALLONS-Y!"

The moment that Matt Smith and David Tennant meet up it's pure gold. When they compare their sonic screwdrivers I couldn't help but chuckle. They were like two brothers as they figured out who they were. Always finishing each other's sentences or giving each other a hard time. Then Jon Hurt shows up thinking they're his companions and realizing they're his future selves saying "Am I having a mid life crisis?!"

From here they get captured and are put together in a cell and all come to terms of what happened. Tempers flair but they get it out of their systems and work together to get out. Throughout this, however, War Doctor is still deciding whether to push that button still to destroy the Time lords and the daleks.

Obviously they end up saving the earth but War Doctor still has that button to press and that huge decision to make. He departs but is followed by Tennant and Smith who vow to help him push the button together. Clara objects saying that there has to be another way. And at the same time they all get the same idea. This is where pure awesomeness takes place.

To save Gallifrey all the time lords freeze it in it's own pocket of time. But in order to do that...all the doctors have to meet up at the exact same time...all 13! All TARDIS' swoop in and freeze Gallifrey in it's own pocket universe or whatever (Time Lord Technology stuff). The Doctors meet up in front of the painting again and say their goodbyes...and the War Doctor admits he's happy to become them in the future. David Tennant leaves on his line "I don't wanna go." With Smith replying "he always says that." Clara heads to the TARDIS and Smith stays back to examine the painting and is interrupted by the caretaker of the place who is non other than Tom Baker. He gives him information about the painting and the true translation that "Gallifrey Stands." Just the cherry on top having Tom Baker in at the last minute like that.

What an amazing film. Yes, let's just call it what it is. A film. It was funny at the right times and completely serious as well. The chemistry between the 3 doctors was amazing. I still watch this episode here and there just for the banter!
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Where to even begin?
mulreay2 August 2014
As a 35yr old Englishman Doctor who is not something you just had to grow up with it's ingrained in British television culture. I would struggle to believe someone from Britain that stated they have never heard of Doctor who. The 50th anniversary episode was a chance to cement Doctor who as not only a great concept and show but as a worldwide phenomenon. They could have messed this up completely, did they? Not even slightly.

The story arc was not only intelligent but it had the wonderful effect of answering questions that needed answering without you realising that is what they were doing. The comedy was faultless without being cheesy, the multiple doctors was a wonder for the true Doctor who fans, the effects were outstanding for a BBC TV show budget and the writing was sublime.

The only regret I have about this episode is that I didn't have the foresight to book a theater ticket to watch it in 3d whilst it aired live around the world.

A quote from Craig Glenday from Guinness World Records "Who else but the time-twisting Doctor could appear in 94 countries at once?! This outstanding achievement is testament to the fact that the longest running sci-fi TV show in history is not just a well-loved UK institution but a truly global success adored by millions of people."

Is this the best ever episode of Doctor who? Probably. Will you smile after watching it? Definitely.

Well done BBC and Moffat you have outdone yourselves with this masterpiece.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
23rd of November, an early Christmas for Dr Who fans
mikeymcdo10 December 2013
A great big treat for anyone who has at least loosely followed the show within it's 50 year history.

Moffat has met the incredibly difficult task of catering this story to the casual and the hardcore Dr Who fans with his brilliant and dynamic writing. I feel bad for doubting the man I always thought he was losing his touch with overly clever plots that were making him come across as smug but he nailed it here, with this celebratory milestone.

This may also be a contender for the funniest Dr Who episode with the humour mainly provided through the banter of Smith, Tennant and Hurt who have amazing chemistry together and deliver the right balance of humour and drama to this feature length romp. (Actually, thinking about it the 1979 story the City of Death cannot be beaten in the humour department but this is the funniest the revitalised series has ever been.)

Overall a great episode that will ensue Doctor Who will go on with it's startling and slightly controversial conclusion that may irritate some fans however the two surprise appearances one of a familiar face, another of a taste of what is to come is the icing on the timey wimey cake.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Out of this World (Pun may have been intentional)
assasin008823 November 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Words cannot describe the feeling felt when The Day of the Doctor ended, but I'll try- It was a mixture of sadness, revelation and.... a feeling I can only describe as basking in the glory of what I just saw, trying to figure out the ramifications of it, and being, as they say nowadays, 'mindblown'.

Steven Moffat, known for his sometimes convoluted, front-flip, loop-the- loop, twisty-turny, timey-wimey plot lines, has really stepped up his game, giving his audience a taste of what fans wish could happen in every episode. The plot line was twisted, the ramifications huge, but not so much that it left anyone confused, or with any plot holes.

The one niggling little concern was the tiny problem with the Zygons. Not seen in their actual form since 1975, the Zygons were, I feel, a major part of the story, with a nice build-up, interesting turns of events, and climaxing with the countdown and 'negotiations' - which then promptly fizzled into nothing. This left me with the feeling that Moffat either ran out of room to write a satisfying conclusion in, or he simply couldn't solve their plot line satisfactorily.

However, besides this one minor flaw, I cannot recall a better episode (from the reboot- the classics are another matter). There have only been 2 that, in my opinion, came on par with this masterpiece. The question now is - with a new window into the universe open, ready for more gripping adventures in time and space, where do they go next? What mysteries will be solved, tombs explored, cities saved and enemies broken?

Who Knows?
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The 50th Anniversary special
JoeB13122 August 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Doctor Who has done some truly terrible anniversary specials. "Dimensions in Time" comes to mind to celebrate the series 30th anniversary four years after it was canceled. I wasn't a fan of "The Five Doctors" (which could have been titled, "Three Doctors, a Fake and some stock footage, but never mind") either.

The plot is that the Eleventh Doctor is contacted by UNIT to investigate a message left by Queen Elizabeth I, only to encounter a rupture in time that not only unites him with the Tenth Doctor but the mysterious War Doctor on the day he ended the Time War. An adventure involving the Zygons and the Daleks ensues.

The best part of this movie/episode is the interplay between Matt Smith and David Tennent, reminiscent of the banter between Jon Pertwee and Patrick Troughton on previous anniversary specials.

Also shining in this episode is Jenna Coleman as Clara. Clara is frequently annoying as a companion, but here she hits all the right notes.

Finally, there is John Hurt as the War Doctor. (Cast because Christopher Ecceleston,the Ninth Doctor, didn't want to participate) I think the introduction of his character was pretty good, as I couldn't imagine either Paul McGann or Ecceleston being the ones to have ended the Time War.

Overall, a great romp for all Doctor Who fans.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Happy Fiftieth Anniversary Doctor Who
AnnaHeidick14 August 2014
Don't worry. Spoiler free. Just spreading the praise of this great episode.

This is my new favorite Doctor Who episode. It was awesome! It has multiple Doctors. Including the return of the amazing David Tennant! Along with all the old quotes and nice references. It was great! Terrific scrip and dialog. The story was packed with humor which is what I enjoyed most from it. There was also the nice "timey whimey" fun stuff. This episode was an amazing way to do their fiftieth anniversary. What more could we want from this celebration episode? It was just pure humor and science fiction entertainment.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best day - 23 November 2013
joshuaiyer20 January 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I realize I'm VERY LATE in doing a review for this amazing film/episode. I'm not even currently obsessed with Doctor Who; I just really want to get a review out, and I never did.

I did see it on 23 November 2013, at home, twice, on my couch, once alone and once with some of my family. In December, a little after Christmas, when I WAS obsessed with the show, I saw it again. Hands down, this was one of the best Doctor Who episodes ever. Our main characters, the Eleventh Doctor and Clara, starting from the beginning, were very well as always, the Tenth Doctor's return a really exciting thing for me (cos he's my favorite Doctor, and I couldn't wait to see him make a return), and the War Doctor's mystery solved was always great. It was also fantastic how Moffat sort of stepped on Davis's toes when he began to envision the Time War in a different way - although, Moffat probably had to re-watch all of those episodes where the Doctor talked about the War to understand things. On television, right after 'The Day of the Doctor', they played 'The End of Time', which was Tennant's last couple of regular episodes, which was perfect because they were also Davis's last chances to write about this Time War.

The Daleks, though not the main enemy, were epic as always, especially in that first scene with the War Doctor. The Zygons were really cool, although not the main part of the story. For this story was about the Doctor, and celebrating 50 years of an amazing BBC show. So naturally, there were cameos to every other Doctor - and even every other companion in pictures on a wall that Clara and Zygon Kate walk through at one point in the episode. Moffat even added a little reference to Captain Jack's vortex manipulator that Clara uses to escape the Zygons before they eat her. There were some subtle references to Ian and Barbara at the school at the beginning, and of course, that awesome 1963 opening. I imagine it was awesome to see in 3D in the theatre. There was also the scarf from the Fourth Doctor's era. Overall, it was just incredible, with so much packed into 72 minutes. It should have been longer, but they did what they could, and used their budget very well - the special effects were amazing, and you could clearly tell it was supposed to be cinematic. It felt like a movie.

The moment I was really waiting for as I sat down to watch the episode was when the Tenth Doctor would first appear on-screen, and it was great. Queen Elizabeth! Outside by a forest! Picnicking with the Doctor! The Doctor mentioned he'd married her in various episodes, but it was a small plot-hole Moffat cleverly fixed. But the Tennant's 2013 return since 2010 was absolutely hilarious, and it was great fun as the episode continued to see the Tenth and Eleventh Doctors squabble with each other. There were times when things got a little dark, but overall their atmosphere was kept light. The War Doctor was just exasperated at the pair of them, which was great.

There were also a fair share of darker moments with references to the Time War. Rose's role was not at all what anybody was expecting - she was just the conscience of the Moment, although there was a small reference to Bad Wolf, which was the Series 1 story arc. However, we've kind of already seen past companions interact with future ones (i.e. Martha and Donna in Series 4, and I guess Rose too). So I guess it all worked out in the end. These darker moments, however, were what gave the episode atmosphere, and coupled with the lighter moments, it was just right. The best moment overall for me was when the multiple Doctors flew their TARDISes to stop the Time War, and seeing Gallifrey white out in a huge explosion was just epic. And then the four of them had coffees as the time streams resolved themselves and things went back to normal. Just before Tom Baker's shocking appearance... :)

One thing I really want to talk about is the music. I really loved how Gold brought back Series 1 music ("The Slitheen") when the TARDIS was snatched by UNIT and taken off on the helicopter. Also, the Dalek music from Series 4 ("The Dark and Endless Dalek Night") was perfect for the Time War. I'm sure there was plenty of other re-used music, and some new stuff, but overall, the music was amazing and fit the episode well.

I'm really glad I got to be a part of this, watching it on the actual day, and celebrating 50 years of Doctor Who. All morning leading up to it I was watching lots of interviews and even the BBC Proms orchestra concerts from this year's YouTube clips of Doctor Who, so it was great. Doctor Who's "Day of the Doctor" is certainly right up there with every other film I've seen, and definitely deserves a review on my page. It's a film that will always be close to my heart for ever, no matter what.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Moffat's still got it.
matt-babineau21 December 2013
Warning: Spoilers
It was spring 2013, and all the Whoivans out there watched as Season 7 of Doctor Who came to a conclusion... sort of. The end of "The Name of the Doctor" ended on a cliffhanger, followed by a message telling viewers that our questions would be answered on November 23rd of that year, the 50th anniversary of the world's longest-running drama, Doctor Who.

This date became the most highly anticipated in television history. For some, the seven-month wait was unbearable. Steven Moffat had evidently crafted a script that paid homage to every single Who fan that ever was or had been. And we were even more excited when we heard that David Tennant and Billie Piper, two former stars on the series, would be returning as guest stars for the episode.

And when the day finally came, the broadcast broke a Guinness World Record for the largest simultaneous television broadcast EVER.

But enough about the hype. How was the episode itself?

Honestly? It was fantastic.

In my opinion, it was better than any episode in the entire seventh series. There were just so many things about it that worked perfectly. Where do I even start?

Well, we can start at the very beginning, a very good place to start. We open on the Eleventh Doctor (played by Matt Smith) and his companion Clara Oswald (played by Jenna-Louise Coleman) after they have received a message from UNIT. The Doctor discovers it is from an old friend of his, Queen Elizabeth I, who leaves her credentials: a painting depicting the Time War.

This is when backstory must be told. In a situation like this, it is easy for someone to mess the writing up, but Steven Moffat comes through again. We split into two stories - first that of John Hurt, who is portraying Doctor number... Eight and half? (or something), and then that of David Tennant's Tenth Doctor. After both backstories are given, all three stories end up combining.

And this is pulled off marvelously.

The relationship between the three Doctors is portrayed wonderfully, and the monsters in this episode are fantastic. They're called Zygons, and they're basically shape-shifters. They can take the form of anything or anyone, sort of like an alien Ditto. And the way the Doctors deal with them is brilliant.

The other major plot is that of the Time War. This is an event that has been speculated about since Christopher Eccleston's Doctor mentioned it way back in the first season. And in my opinion, it's portrayed as wonderfully and as brilliantly as it ever could be. I won't give away what actually happens in the end, but let's just say that it was for me one of the most defining moments in the entire show.

Ultimately, The Day of the Doctor could not have been better. A lot of people were complaining about how they used Billie Piper in this, and I honestly think they're wrong. If Piper had been portrayed as most had hoped, I don't think this would have been nearly as good. Steven Moffat continues to prove himself in this special, that after the slight decline in quality of the show that was Season 7, he's still got it. I have high hopes for Season 8 and Peter Capaldi's Twelfth Doctor.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Probably the best Doctor Who special I've ever seen !
joachimvnb27 October 2014
Warning: Spoilers
For its 50th anniversary special, Doctor Who and its show runner Steven Moffat (Sherlock ; Doctor Who) took a brand new turn in the wibbly wobbly timey wimey stuff ! Starring Matt Smith (the 11th doctor), David Tennant (the 10th doctor ; Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire), John Hurt (Alien ; Harry Potter), Jenna Coleman (11th doctor's companion) and Billie Piper (9th and 10th doctors' companion). This new 75 minutes installment of the series is one we'll hear about for a long time. The story starts, as it does by an emergency call. Matt Smith's doctor, newly reunited with Clara, his companion is contacted by the United Nations Intelligence Task-force (UNIT)'s director Kate Stewart. She demand him to join her as soon as possible in London's National Gallery to deal with instructions left by her majesty the Queen Elizabeth the 1st of England who apparently was married to the 10th doctor... During many flashbacks between the time when the doctor wasn't the doctor and unseen 10th doctor's adventure we travel across the time to go back to one incredibly important event : the destruction of Gallifrey. So, one question remains "No more" or "Gallifrey falls" ? This special will bring you to tears, you will laugh, you will praise Moffat and more than ever you will doubt everything in the Doctor Who canon !
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Day of the Doctor: A celebration of where the show is, not really one of where it came from
bob the moo13 December 2013
I was far from the UK when this screened and yet the hype and excitement for it still reached all around the world, with synchronized screenings on television and in cinemas in many countries. This special had been billed as a celebration of 50 years of the show and this impression had been added to by the use of old footage in the previous episode and lots of other films and documentaries about the wider world of Doctor Who. The reality is though that, aside from the references and images from the older episodes, this really is more of a celebration of where the show is right now rather than reaching back to try and capture any specific other era.

This shows in the film because it fits very naturally into the last few seasons in that it is entertaining, doesn't always hang together, has the odd "intense" character moment to make the viewer think it might do more, has lots of timey-wimey stuff and occasionally just relies on the BBC orchestra bashing out dramatic music to make the viewer think it is more exciting and engaging than it actually is. This isn't to say that it is bad, but just that while it has the strengths of the recent shows, it also has the weaknesses as well. As such we have some comic stuff that doesn't work, a whole plot line involving the Queen which really doesn't seem to fit particularly well into the other thread and, as a result, just appears to be dropped when it suits. The darker thread is more engaging and, although it gives the character a bit of a cop-out, I did find it interesting.

A big part of this is the performances from the 3 Doctors. Hurt is easily engaging and, if this is below him, he certainly doesn't show it. Tennant is a welcome return aside from a bit too much mugging with the Queen, while Smith is OK but really standing next to these two doesn't help him one bit. Coleman is her usual flirty self – she has a nice twinkle and she suits the tone of most of the show now, but there is not too much beyond this. I have no idea why they wanted to bring Piper back – she did not need to be the character she played and her performance is a bit too stilted and awkward – I could have lived without her. The supporting cast continues the trend of the show to be keen enough but secondary players – but the three leads mostly do the job well.

It is big and it does entertain but it is also occasionally silly and also, while it reaches for darkness and interesting ideas at times, one feels like its heart isn't really in it with any sort of consistency. So in this regard it is pretty much the show as it is now and as such I guess it will please those like me who accept it as a BBC family- friendly blockbuster but not those who love the original series. It works for what it is and where it is, but with this comes the weakness and downside of the recent few seasons.
13 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Eleven Things Wrong with 'Day of the Doctor' (Spoilers)
rbemorgan24 November 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I thought Eleven might be fitting.

1) The Doctor didn't destroy Gallifrey because he had too, in order to INEXPLICABLY stop ALL Daleks. He destroyed Gallifrey because his people were power-mad, Barbaric, Narcissistic, Dangerous megalomaniacs who would have destroyed the Universe themselves. This might have been less numbing if it was at all mentioned in-character.

2) Speaking of Ten, he was out of character. The whole thing to do with Elizabeth reminded me so terribly of Girl in the Fireplace, and thus all the complaints about his laddish, lude, 'along for the ride' behaviour stand relevant here as well. Please also remember that this is the Ten coming out of 'The Waters of Mars,' and about to enter 'The End of Time', where he is dark, brooding, power-mad and in full grasp of the knowledge that his people are monsters.

3) The plot involved many holes, unexplained events and frankly… lazy writing. (For example, what happens to the Gallifrey in 'End of Time' now?) How did they get into the Time War? Who knows. Weapon we've all never heard of before did it. Literally… 50th anniversary of a very clever show had the plot of 'Just God Powers because' – and what hurts the most is that people are calling this wonderful. Also, near the end, where John Hurt explains that he simply won't remember and that's just accepted. Just thrown in there, so lazily. Why won't you remember? What happens if you had to delete yourself from your own History in order that the Doctor never remembers? Hence no one knows you.

4) The ending was the reworked final plot from Blink. In Blink, Sally and Lawrence – through guidance of the Doctor – have the TARDIS vanish and thus all the Angels end up defeating themselves by staring at one another. In this episode, the same thing happens, only we replace the TARDIS for Gallifrey. It is not a good thing for the same writer to be reusing his old plots.

5) There was nothing that Billie Piper's character could not have done as simply 'Bad Wolf'. The level of power she has as that entity is the same as 'The Moment'. Why then did Moffat chose to make his own character for her instead of calling back to another writer's work? I wonder. Does anyone seem a pattern emerging here? The only reason to write a new character is if something new is required. If he wished for a new character in and of this 'weapon', more could have been done with it. For example – a conscience is by nature is Conflicted. Why not have an angel-devil situation happening? Imagine John Simm on one shoulder and Billie on another.

6) Following along these lines, it was also pointless for John Hurt's Doctor to exist. It was, once again, more evidence that Moffat writes characters only for himself. Paul McGann was willing and able to be involved. And, with no offence to a fine actor like John, it would have meant so much more.

7) How did the first Doctor know to start doing this thing so long ago in his life, for an event he knew nothing of? I'm all for the cameo's of the old Doctors, and new ones. It was exciting. But it needs to make sense. A cameo has NO NEED to be just 'for the sake of being there.' It is lazy writing.

8) Stop calling the Doctor clever. You sound like a phone sex operator or a year 7 tutor. You're calling him clever now for things that aren't even mildly clever. It feels like some giant joke. Like Moffat has literally looked at the criticisms put unto himself, and amplified them by ten – and yet, oh well, people eat it up.

9) The Butchering of a great Historical figure. We've had many on the Show – take Churchill, for example, or Queen Victoria who ended up creating Torchwood. They are always played for intrigue – to a) teach the audience about history and b) add some new, sci-fi element to the character, such as how they held off an alien invasion or something. Elizabeth was played as some kind of over-the-top Panto Dame declaring her love for the Doctor every five minutes and acting as if she could not live if he did not marry her.

10) Speaking of making fools of women – we have the character of the Scientist wearing Four's scarf. Her turning to the camera when in mortal peril and begging to be saved by the Doctor was so very uncomfortable – and she did this twice. She doesn't even know the man.

11) What really hurts, though? Is the lack of callbacks. We had footage of the Doctors, and a lovely scene at the end. But every new scene, I was expecting to see a face that I recognized. I can't think that many actors involved in the show would turn down the chance to be part of this 'global event', especially considering how many of them were gushing at the fact they were even in Doctor Who at all. As we cut to the Gallifreyan War Council, I was expecting to see Timothy Dalton as Rassilon, as we opened to the School, I was thinking we might see Susan, or a child of Susan's and the Doctor coming to see her. No older companions were mentioned, not even Sarah Jane Smith. Lazy writing makes me angry, but this breaks my heart.
34 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed