Copenhagen (2014) Poster

(2014)

User Reviews

Review this title
45 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
... you'll always remember her
bjarias19 October 2014
Stayed up late and watched this film.. bad decision, for I could not put it out of my mind, thinking about what I would say regarding it. If you're like me, you probably watch quite a few indy and foreign films, so there's more a possibility of coming across individuals you know little or nothing about involved in their effort. With this film there are several exceptional talents displayed. It's a great experience, because when you see the person again, you'll easily remember the first time you saw them. It's impossible now to ever forget this performance of Frederikke Dahl Hansen, she is just awesome.. binged.it/1sYfR1m .. Twenty years old she's playing the role of a very bright, awkward/shy-at-times, fourteen year old girl.. falling hard in love for the first time (with a guy twice her age). It's a standout, career-starting display of top notch talent, at times you see each part clearly. For a young actor her age, to be portraying a character so much younger is the big challenge, and give credit to her being selected for the role. Now although she will without question be in many more productions, you will always see a part of her as Effy (and we have another Effy.. if you haven't seen 'Skins'..watch it). Gethin Anthony also deserves much praise, his complex character again being played to perfection.. good portion of us wondering how he was going to come through it all in the end. It's a truly wonderful little film, one you'll definitely look forward to viewing again.
77 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Rent the bike; get on and savor the ride: what this movie is really about explained
jij9811122 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
***warning, possible spoilers*** this movie should be studied in film classes: you watch it, enjoy it, but don't really realize the effectiveness of the writer and director until later. Here is what happens:

1. An analogy best explains this film: we have all probably seen a video of a master with his dog. Sitting in front of the dog is the most delectable treat imaginable to the dog. The dog does nothing even though every fiber of its being wants to gobble up that treat. It is waiting for its masters command. The Masters here are the writer and director, the dog is the male lead. The girl is the treat (and not in a prurient sense). She says she will be 15 (the age of consent) "in a few days". He wants to pounce (But not in a sexual sense even though there is obvious physical attraction).

2. The age difference is not for shock value. It is a very effective plot device relating to 1 above.

3. They are alone in a hotel room, both drunk (largely at his insistence). She is the aggressor. The reality is he cannot believe she is only 14 and repeatedly says that throughout the movie. She tries to seduce him, taking off her blouse and kissing him which he appears to accept.

4. The "masters" do not outright state that they did not sleep together but instead, more effectively, make that clear by: they both wake up in bed fully clothed (she must have put her top back on) in sharp contrast to his other many dalliances where he graphically wakes up with a naked partner; just prior to this he turns down an offer that most males his age dream about – two beautiful drunk girls try to drag him back to their hotel for a threesome. Instead of going with the women, he is much more concerned about having hurt the girl's feelings and rushes out of the bar, leaving the women, to try to call the girl and apologize for acting like a jerk. So, the attraction is not about sex per se. there is much more to his feelings for the girl and he is clearly conflicted. He does not sleep with her.

5. There is more to him than meets the eye: he is in Denmark to find his grandfather and understand why he was abandoned by his father. The girl, with a great heart and overlooking the fact that he is superficially an insensitive jerk sees something deeper in him and embraces the cause of him finding his past and takes it upon herself to help him.

6. The girl, is far more substantial and mature than the women he has been sleeping with (who is really older, the girl or his earlier partners?). She too, has a troubled family but is very close to her mother and wants to help him resolve that part of his life.

7. In one effective scene, he simply glances down a street and sees a father briefly interacting with his son (short and effective).

8. The most effective scene in the movie: she takes him to a museum. She brings him to a dark corner where there is a bust. She tells him she has never brought anyone there before. She stands next to the bust. It is an exact image of the girl. She tells him she is really hundreds of years old and he says the bust is 1500 years old. This scene is a metaphor for what the movie accomplishes. After 1500 years, here she (who posed for the bust) is here again, resurrected, with the human traits that allowed us to survive over those 1500 years: the yearning for family, love, and a striving for happiness even in an imperfect world. In other hands this might seem corny, here it is movie-making genius.
18 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Outstanding work from a film maker who can handle a controversial subject
Score_The_Film23 January 2014
Warning: Spoilers
From ScoreTheFilm's movie blog...

NOTE: Anything considered a spoiler in this review is a soft one. This is a picture that needs to be seen and I'd hate to ruin it for anyone.

The entire cast and crew are to be congratulated for making such a beautiful film filled with love and quality at every turn. Writer/director Mark Raso has crafted an unconventional love story that shouldn't offend anyone if you give yourself to the picture and to the characters. What's most striking is that it never once feels disingenuous; it holds true to itself until the very end. No spoilers here, but the ending does not compromise anything that was so carefully and quietly set up in the previous hour and a half.

The two leads, Gethin Anthony and Frederikke Dahl Hansen, are fantastic. They really sell it and Hansen, in particular, is a wonder to watch. Her subtle performance goes that extra mile so naturally that it's nearly shocking this is only her third feature film. Keep an eye on her career. She's got moxie! I don't know moxie is but whatever it is, she's definitely got it. But seriously, I think I could have fallen in love with Effy, too, only it would be even more gross for someone three times her age, much less twice. Effy is a fun and endearing character that makes it all too easy for William to find himself falling for such a free spirit. Anthony has the unenviable role of starting out a picture as a right angry a$$hole (to his best friend and everyone else) and gradually transforming into a warm and caring man. Between his performance and Raso's script and direction, he pulls it off.

Copenhagen is a beautiful city and Alan Poon's camera captures it with such detail, admiration and allure that it's practically an invitation to be a part of it. This is his first narrative feature film as cinematographer. The young talent associated with this picture is staggering and most impressive. Hell, it's Raso's first feature film as well. His choices in music for the picture, from the Danish songs to Agatha Kaspar's score (her first feature, too!), only add to the magic of the film. The song that Effy sings at the karaoke bar is mesmerizing and it feels like the grounding moment that solidifies the bond she now has with William. It's a powerful scene.

Ultimately, the maturity of Raso and his co-conspirators in art and beauty boils down to a pivotal scene near the close of the film. The choice Raso makes with these two characters hinges on making or breaking the film and he does exactly what was needed to stay true to their story. I kept waiting for the ball to drop, not for my lack of knowledge about these film makers but because so often there's something that will take you out of a picture that has worked so hard to keep your attention. It might not ruin it but it dilutes what was carefully constructed. COPENHAGEN doesn't compromise itself with convention or societal acceptance. The relationship William and Effy have is told with such grace that it pulls you in, making you care deeply for them, wanting it to somehow work out but knowing that it shouldn't. The moment they kiss for the first time (don't worry, it's nicely done) took me back 30 years to when I had those 'first' moments, moments I haven't felt in a very long time. That's how much I was drawn into this picture. How it plays out (the film and not my teenage love life) and how it concludes is a journey you need to take. Keep this on your radar. Hopefully it will be available to the public by the end of this year.
31 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
It's Far More Important to Find Oneself
SLUGMagazineFilms18 January 2014
Shot in the beautiful city of (you guessed it) Copenhagen, Denmark, the film follows 28-year-old William (Gethin Anthony) as he searches for his grandfather with nothing to guide him besides a letter—written in Danish, which William can not read nor speak—that his father wrote around 40 years ago. After his best friend Jeremy (Sebastian Armesto) and Jeremy's girlfriend (Olivia Grant) leave him to search the city on his own, William enlists the help of a local girl, Effy (Frederikke Dahl Hansen), to aid him in his search. The two begin to form a budding romance, until William discovers that Effy is only 14 years old. Though Copenhagen begins as a search to find one's family, it soon becomes clear that it's far more important to find one's self. Through William's character, Raso paints a vividly accurate portrait of having to mature and develop as one travels through their 20s. Both Anthony and Hansen give remarkable performances, artistically presenting a great deal of sentiment. I personally prefer to remain eternally seven, but Raso gives a great argument on the benefits of growing up.
41 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Cast and Wonderful Thoughtful Movie
blperoc22 January 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Major spoilers below. This is a great movie if you like a mellow thoughtful drama.

Spoilers beyond this point.

This is what I thought about the movie: William was a damaged person who could never relate to women. Women found him attractive, but all he did through his whole life was have sex with them and throw them away.

When he was in Copenhagen he really needed Effy's help and he wanted to sleep with her badly, but when he found out she was 14 the fear of getting in trouble kept him from doing it, but then something else happened. Since the legality slowed him down he really had to get to know her and he really did love her deeply and not just as a girlfriend, he loved her as a person. She was his friend and girlfriend though unconsummated.

When they were in the hotel and she wanted to have sex with him he wanted to very badly, but I think at this point it was no the law that stopped him. What stopped him was that he really cared for her and he knew she was too young and it would be bad for her so he stopped himself.

I would guess Effy's motivations were that she never really had a father so she was attracted to older men. Like is hinted at in the movie in the beginning, 'she needed someone to lean on.' William was a poor choice but as I said above her age and the law slowed him down enough so that he became that better person that she could lean on.

Perhaps in some ways it seemed erratic at the time, but I think this came to a head when he punched her mother's boyfriend. she wasn't going to let anyone hurt her no matter what the consequences.

Effy taught him a lot too, she helped him live and grow and you see this in the final scene when he observes the two seas she was talking about.

I have to say that now that this is on Netflix it is quite likely that this will reach a wide, wide audience and that Frederikke is going to be a huge star. She has the looks, the voice, beautiful accent, and the screen presence to be a major, major actress. She can do anything she wants after this movie. I believe this is her "Winter's Bone." Other than Frederikke the whole cast and the entire movie is just wonderful. watching it for the second time right now.

For those that say this is about a man taking advantage of a 14 year old girl....that is the last thing it is. It is about this girl helping this man to not just become a man, but to become a good man and she succeeds, even if it was not her intention.

I'm giving this 9 out of 10 stars.
18 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Arty and breathtaking - highly recommend
Noellecope26 May 2015
Like so many others I kept seeing this come up on netflix. However I was always put off by the poster. To me it looked like a hallmark wanna be. Boy oh boy was I wrong. This movie blew me away. Though I want to state up front that I did not find it perfect, and I did get a little uncomfortable at moments. However this movie masterfully handles the storytelling, filmmaking and even cultural aspects. I honestly think that had it not been for the fact that the age of consent in the U.S. Is 18 ( in Denmark it is 15), this movie would have made a star out of the director and the lovely leading lady. This young actress gives jaw dropping performance.

I would also like to point out the beautiful camera work. The long dolly shots and creative use of light are amazing. While I do wish that the lead actor could have given a more original performance and been less stereotypical. The same statement also goes for a hand full of the supporting cast. However those things do not take away from all of the wonderful points of the film.

Highly recommended
20 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
light spoilers, i hesitate to even refer to it as a spoiler
cancel11615 May 2015
Warning: Spoilers
i let the description deter me for a long time and i regret that because its super awesome. netflix kept recommending it to me but in the description it talks about a guy and a 14yo girl so of course i'm creeped out but i was home alone with an injury for days and bored to death so i watched it and i loved loved it. if you can't handle the anti-hero it's not for you; william is flawed and a jerk bordering on loser but i was routing for him the whole time and that is excellent character building to me. effie is great; wise and a free spirit but still vulnerable. their back and forth dialogue is unforced and natural; love that not every single thing is explained in depth and the audience is allowed to draw their own conclusions. the setting and the way its shot is brilliant! here comes the spoilers...god, when she is singing to him in the karaoke bar and the way he looks at her, i'm happily married but i've never had a man look at me like that, like he can't believe she's even real. the struggle of it being so right in the face of logic, true romance to me. there are times the characters speaking aren't even in the frame and it just feels so natural. great soundtrack too. the fact that europe is making movies (and TV) like this with English actors playing Americans while Hollywood is pushing out the latest melissa mccarthy embarrassment is a true signal to me that Hollywood's time is drawing near. i hope they make a sequel and call it new york city and when she's 18 visits him and they have adventures and get their HEA because at the end of the day i'm still a girl and like the mush.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Compelling Soul journey
mickgmovies7 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
You'll probably read a lot of the other reviews here for this movie. So I'm not going to rehash the story line.

It's a simple story of two souls who discover and guide each other over 24 hours together in Copenhagen.

It has definite similarities to Rich Linklater's Before Sunrise (another of my favourites) but where it differs is in the mismatch in the two's age and maturity.

Here Effy (played by the amazing Frederikke Dahl Hansen) is only 14 years old, and William (Gethin Anthony) is in his late twenties. However it's Effy the 'teenager' who guides William on his journey to discover his family (and himself as a man in the process).

The soul journey and connection between this women-like teenage girl and this boy-like grown-up man is compelling.

A must watch, not only for the chemistry between these two, but also the beauty of Copenhagen. Loved it. You will too.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Romance with the uneasiness of a slasher movie
rtmacisa18 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I was not surprised to find out that this film was by a new Canadian director, Mark Raso. The film had a Canadian feel to it, which for my experience is simply low on flash and high on sub-context and texture. The city of Copenhagen provides a rich back-drop that immediately sets you a bit off balance where you are not entirely sure what is normal and OK.

The story line is fairly simplistic; Obnoxious man-child finally meets the girl that makes him grow-up. However, what is so delicious about this movie is the dance between temptation and morality. The budding relationship between William and Effy is awkward, yet irresistible. Effy, masterfully played by Frederikke Dahl Hansen, is both innocent and desirable. She has the beauty worthy of ancient art work and an incredible sweetness. She is the lure that nurtures the growth of William. He is instantly unlikable, but she forces him to tread lightly. He is immediately draw to her, but is also cautious. While the truth about her is slowly revealed, he tries to create distance and perspective, but the gravity of her attraction is powerful and so they start to revolve around each other. The scenes become like a train wreck in slow motion. The crash has become obvious, but inevitable. So, while we brace for impact, we are also sucked in and can't look away.

The delicate part of the dance is that as Effy intensifies her advances, William is maturing. He never seems to pursue her, but seems unable to resist her. He motivation seems more honest. She has abandonment issues and is desperate for someone to love her. So, once she begins to engage with William, she becomes somewhat compelled to gain his acceptance. Because her need is not sexual, but emotional, it is deeper, slower, more constant and intense.

The moral dilemma for William is simple, so it allows him to easily disregard all of his previous views of women and become more genuine. The brilliance, is how slowly the relationship progresses. We see her sing to him and watch him defend her. We see him turn a blind eye to a sexual fantasy, just to be with her. So, when they kiss on the dance floor, we are wrapped up in the moment. The back drop of Copenhagen, where the age of consent is only 15, blurs the lines of right and wrong. While a 28 year old kissing a 14 year old is clearly wrong, you can't help but cheer for it.

The dance reaches its pinnacle when Effy removes her top in an attempt to become completely sexual, only for William to finally mature into the protector and cover her. The undertone story arcs close off nicely as William visits the place where the two seas meet to demonstrate that he has learned the meaning of true relationships and Effy gained the acceptance of a father figure. The audience comes out of the dance with relief as the movie ends with Effy's head in her mother's lap showing that through all of this, she retailed her innocence.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
15 is Age of Consent
dansview23 May 2015
The age of sexual consent in Denmark is 15. That's why the main female character kept mentioning her upcoming birthday. I had been wondering like other reviewers, why they would make the character 14, thereby adding a sort of pedophile angle to an otherwise interesting film.

Why not just have her be 17? But they had to make her 14,because at 15 the whole underage conflict would no longer exist as a legal question. Although it still would as a moral issue. Enough on that.

I don't know why they chose English actors to play Americans, but this male lead was totally natural and believable. I consider him the star of this movie. The other reviewers are "gaga" over the girl.

But remember that we are viewing her as non-Danish people. We are sucked in by her accent and the scenery. But if we were Danish ourselves, we might just think she is an appealing young thing, without being in awe of her.

Having said that, of course she did a nice job of portraying a precocious girl from a broken home with just the right amount of worldly wisdom and sincere innocence.

Other reviewers have skillfully pinpointed the fact that these guys were emotionally immature while the underage girl is emotionally advanced. Because of that, it makes perfect sense why they would be drawn to her.

The movie highlights a certain prolonged adolescence prevalent in many Western men. It takes some a long time to grow up.

Essentially the movie features a substantial character arc. A selfish, boorish guy learns what it means to truly care about another person, both in terms of his father and his new female friend.

I really wanted to know what he did for a living back home. I didn't need a long description of it, but it would give some much-needed context. I also needed to know about his mom. This background information could have been satisfied in a few brief remarks or one conversation.

Copenhagen looks nice. I don't know enough about Cinematography to judge it here, but there were definitely some nicely framed shots of water and colorful homes.

The music was a key factor for me. There is a scene where our male lead is walking on a beach or something, and there is a dramatic electronic beat steadily gaining volume and steam. I loved that.

Check it out. It's worth watching, despite the creepiness of the age-related sexual tension.
20 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful film
rick-morgan90638 October 2017
I watched this film some time ago, and the reviews are largely very positive, but I wanted to add my rating and comments in the hope that more will watch this film. We have Effie from Copenhagen, fourteen going on twenty, who helps a rude, immature Will from the USA on a visit to find his Danish roots and have 'fun' in the process. What makes this film special is the superlative acting, the pace and the juxtaposition of an immature adult man bonding with a wise and well balanced Danish girl of just fourteen years of age. Many of the reviews regarding this film state that it left a lasting impression on them, and I can see why. Treat yourself and watch this film.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A wonderful visual experience with powerful performances
martax925 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I had high hopes and expectations when I first found this film on here, that I watched on the very same day (which I never do). My expectations were so high that I was convinced this film wouldn't meet them but boy, I was wrong.

The city of Copenhagen turned out to be the best setting for this romantic film. It was refreshing to see a movie filmed somewhere other than the usual filming locations and this one made me appreciate Denmark a little bit more.

The directing, the casting, the cinematography and the music, all add up and lead to the most majestic experience you could ever gain by watching a film. It made me want to travel abroad and date a foreigner, learn about their culture and gave me a very feeling of wanderlust.

It's true that, in the beginning, I thought Frederikke Dahl Hansen was not a great actress, but that proved to be just the way her character is supposed to act because she feels kind of guilty, kind of naive as a 14 year old. Gethin Anthony was very sexy and very romantic at the same time, in his own ex-douche bag way but both actors delivered a wonderful performance.

I also liked the fact that this film features a big age gap, let alone an age gap between an adult and a teenager. Needless to say, dating an underage person is a controversial topic but this film handled it very well.

10/10 though I wish I could give it more. It's a must see.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Really good
valleyjohn16 August 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Copenhagen is the story William an American , William , who is on holiday in Europe and at the same time looking for the grandfather he had never met but he struggles because he has a terrible attitude problem , that is until he meets Effy a young woman who want's to help him. the problem is she's a lot younger than he thought. This is a pretty good indie film that covers a taboo subject very well . The acting is very good , especially from Frederikke Dahl Hansen and although you find yourself really not liking William you do admire the way he handles the predicament he is. It makes you think how you would handle the situation and shows how easy it can be to get in a lot of trouble.

7 out of 10
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Copenhagen sequel
anastasia712 October 2018
I hope there's going to be a sequel, like in the 'Before Sunrise' trilogy, where he goes back to Copenhagen in 6 years when she's 21 and he's 34 and age will be irrelevant at that point!!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Not a typical review.
Claudiu49724 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
William.... a total douchebag.... but getting to learn more about his life changed the way I felt about him. Gethin Anthony plays his character like he is the same person in real life, so obviously a plus for this movie. When your friend proposes his girlfriend, what's the first thing you think of? (Oh, well... good for you mate, I am really happy for you). William directly disapproves his decision, mainly because he doesn't like her, however he doesn't know her really well. The point of William's visit to Copenhagen was finding his only family... his grandfather who turns out to be a douchebag too. Actually, his father was one too. The visit turns upside down because Jeremy thought it would be a good place to propose, then he left his bestfriend all alone in a foreign city. This is where the journey of the douchebag (who turns out to be a really good guy, but without affection from his family) starts. I always wanted to visit a city all alone and I thought William just had the chance to discover if (quote from the movie) "you are the kind of person you can lean on when you are all alone, with no friends, no family to lean" I think the moment he met Effy, he started to realise what kind of person he is. It is funny how a total stranger can change your point of view in just a day. William is not the kind of man to talk about his life or feelings, but then again, a stranger, a 14 year old girl changed him. Maybe not so much, but just to start him on the right track. Also, (Frederikke Dahl Hansen) found herself, or started to see life a lot more beautiful when she met William. She knew that being a teenager could affect their relationship, still she created a bond with him that I think will last for ages even if they don't meet again. A thing I loved about this movie was the way Copenhagen was filmed. The scenery of the beautiful city which was shown in the movie made me instantly want to visit it (you know the feeling of starting to fall in love with places you have never been). Mark Raso and Alan Poon did an impressive job with this film. You actually feel like getting lost in the city (I can assure you that the feeling gets real when you will watch this movie). The relationship between two strangers also helps with the scenery. I had no subtitles when they talked in danish, so for a few minutes I was in William's pants. Especially the part when he talked to his uncle and I can say that it is awful not knowing what they are talking. I liked the ending a lot (maybe just because of my interpretation of it). William went to Skagen to meet his grandfather, where he realised that his relative is exactly like his father. There he went to the beach. The place where the North Sea and the Baltic Sea meet. I think that, metaphorically, that place depicted his days in Copenhagen, where the doucheness met his kindness. The scene was mixed with Effy being at school because she is the one that managed to get his kindness out of him. And the important thing, I think that William knew that. He knew that it was time to grow up, even though falling in love with a girl half your age clearly means it is time to grow up. He knew that a new start is the best for him. Why this is not a typical review? Just because this movie is not typical (you will see why when you will watch the movie).
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Independent movie as it's best
kuan-joe18 February 2017
When I picked up this movie, I thought how two different age people touring around Copenhagen looking for someone can be interesting for 90+ mins. However, I never felt bored with the whole movie. In fact, the movie draws my attention so deep that you feel you are in their situation. The movie also shows how truly beautiful Copenhagen is.

True talents to both characters but the real gem is how the director/writer crafted those intriguing small talks between them. This movie is an art.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A credible film, but could have been incredible
thomasgale19 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The first thing I should say outright is that the performance of Frederikke Dahl Hansen was completely enrapturing - and ultimately, she was the star of the film. Far more likable in character than her co-star, to the point you almost feel like the film would have been better centred with the main plot around her, rather than Gethin Anthony's character. I feel like the plot itself was OK, with family ties being sought by two very different characters midst the beautiful backdrop of Copenhagen. The problem was that the male lead's character was fairly detestable, and that led to a lack of sympathy from me as the viewer with his back story. Towards the end there were signs of some redemption in his own behaviour as he starts to care about Effy. However I think the writers should have softened his character more to make the audience feel a bit more connected to him. This is why I have scored a 6 as he is a key part of the film and I truly think that his characterisation was off beam. I understand his lack of maturity is one of the key elements of the character (to fit in with his relationship with Effy), but this needn't have been done in such a coarse way.

The above said, the film is absolutely worth watching. Dahl Hansen produces a superb performance combining both a wisdom beyond her 14 yr old life, with a hint of teenage naivety that sees her attach to William. I also think whilst Gethin Anthony's character isn't very likable, he does gel well with Dahl Hansen and we see some great scenes that are very memorable; the Karaoke scene, the awkward discovery of her age and the theme park ride among them. There is a gorgeous scene when we see them cycling the streets of Copenhagen (with the possibly underused Jeremy character) that is verging on euphoria. I've not been to Copenhagen, but seeing this film has definitely made me want to go.

So 6 out of 10 is my final score. With a better written lead male, this could have been a 9 or 10. On the topic of the underage aspect, the film addresses this fairly well and shows that it is not unduly bypassing it. We are somewhat led to believe that their companionship has transcended their ages, with the dangers of that relationship highlighted well in the row scene between William and Jeremy - one of the more interesting scenes with the two male characters involved. So go see it, but see if like me you feel one half of the critical relationship just needed re-configuring.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
30-ish guy finds true love in a 14-ish girl in Copenhagen.
TxMike14 January 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I came across this low-budget independent movie on Netflix streaming movies. Just over 90 minutes, I hated watching most of it not because it wasn't interesting. It is a very interesting character study of two people from very different backgrounds. But the guy is so obnoxious, so self-centered, that I wanted to reach into the screen and punch him out. But I suspect that is what the director wanted us to feel.

There is an additional complexity to the story in that his friend is going to get married in Europe, but Gethin Anthony is 30-ish "American" William, who alternately says he is from New York or from Canada, seemingly cautious about the reception he might get from Europeans. His mission is to find his grandfather and his only clues are an old letter from his deceased father and some old photos.

Quite by accident he meets 14-ish ("I will be 15 in a few days") Frederikke Dahl Hansen as Effy. In her home country she is quite an experienced young actress and she is great in this role. She has such an interesting and pretty face, and such a natural acting style that she never seems like she is acting, she really seems to be her character and she, more than he, makes the movie what it is.

(An important side note, there are romantic scenes including brief topless nudity in a hotel room, but the actress was in fact over 18 during filming and this is stated clearly also in the end credits.)

So the story arc over a couple of days has Effy helping him figure out ways to find his grandfather and William growing up a bit in how he relates to people. He finds his grandfather who asks him "Was you father a good dad"? To which William responds, "No he wasn't, but he didn't much example to go on."

A good film for a different style, I couldn't stop watching it.

SPOILERS: Before they part both William and Effy claim they love each other, for William the first time he has reached that level of caring for anyone. For Effy it was a childhood infatuation, she probably didn't yet know what love really was. He heads back home, she heads back to her school classes. In the very end she is being cradled by her mom who asks if she is too old for a certain birthday treat and she says no, indicating that she indeed is still a little girl, but one with unusual wisdom for her age.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Dickish boy seeks Danish girl, object…patrimony
The_late_Buddy_Ryan10 December 2015
First of all, big ups to Mark Raso, a recent film-school grad, for not making his first feature about a quirky couple on a roadtrip or a guy getting over a breakup somewhere in the bowels of Brooklyn… In fact, he's taking a bit of a risk by making his protagonist a douchy American tourist, William, whose slightly grating accent goes well with his annoying snarkiness and abysmal outlook in general. Raso's on much solider ground with his female lead, Frederikke Dahl Hansen, who plays Effy, the gorgeous, precocious teenager who—after a meet-cute scene that really is pretty cute—joins William in his search for his Danish grandfather.

This may sound implausible at first, since William seems like too basic a guy to have much interest in his family background—and the idea of a haunting family secret that dates back to WWII is indeed a movie cliché— but Raso makes it right by filling in a few details of the couple's personal history. William's American wingman and Effy's mother's sketchy boyfriend (plus a couple of drunken woo- woo girls from Jersey) turn up at intervals to keep things moving, but the developing relationship between the two leads gives the film some real momentum. This edgy romance between a messed-up boy-man and a precocious girl is very deftly handled, IMHO; I didn't find it the least bit cringey, as some reviewers have done. Something like "Before Sunrise," it's the story of a love affair that takes place a little outside of time, and it ends on a suitably wistful note.

Dahl Hansen's expressive, unselfconscious performance—according to a disclaimer at the end of the credits she was "at least 18" when the film was made —is just about perfect. I wouldn't have spotted Gethin Anthony as a Brit (an Oxonian no less and an unsuccessful claimant to the throne of Westeros, Renly Baratheon, on "Game of Thrones"), and he does a fine job of sustaining our interest in this unlovable character. You may start to feel that there's some hope for him after all.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not so wonderful Copenhagen.
paulcreeden10 January 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Narcissistic American throws tantrums across Europe, alienates best friend, abuses any stranger he meets, steals drinks from café tables, smokes cigarettes, gives cigarettes and liquor to a minor, litters pristine Copenhagen canal, steals bicycle, flirts with having sex with a 14 year old girl, beats up boyfriend of girl's mother. The character travels an arc from point A to point A minus. If I were a dysfunctional and spoiled 14 year old American boy, I'd probably love this movie. Unfortunately, I'm a mature adult and watched it on Netflix because I thought is would be a good Danish piece. It is not "Hamlet" but something is definitely rotten in this Denmark. We can be sure if the 14 year old was a boy this would not be on Netflix.
12 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
life in Europe through the lens of Copenhagen
gregoz-g7 May 2015
I am very protective of my movie time and end watching a film the moment it veers off to the nowhere land. So, obviously I watched "Copenhagen" to the end. If you liked "Before sunrise" trilogy, the movie aspires to them, except the script here is the main problem and that's a shame. So, the actors: the main character played by Gethin Anthony does what he can with the script but because the script is flat, his talents go unsupervised and honestly I got lost at times. For example, why he goes in fits and is so mad or angry at times? Why a young American be so rude to a cute teenage waitress who spilled coffee on a table? It's almost unheard of. The guy travels in Europe for a while too, so, it doesn't fit the profile. Moreover, if he was not on good terms with his father why is he even judgmental towards his grandfather? Why is he constantly quarreling with his best friend? I donno. On the other hand, Effy, the main female lead character is resourceful, energetic and awkward at times which is fine as she is supposed to be 14 rather than 20 as the real age of the actress. Her role is better developed in the script. The plot: the main idea of a family search for a long lost grandpa is meaningless to the viewer, there is no background to prompt the interest and appears to be only in the movie to hold the movie together. However, all those bits and pieces are beautifully glued by Copenhagen's images of cobbled narrow streets, canals and crowded clubs and interesting music in the background. That, the cute Danish accent and the age of Effy add to the more dimensional atmosphere of the film. There is something I cannot point to, perhaps the nostalgia (I lived in Sweden for more than a year and have great memories) or the fact that the main character grows up suddenly and makes the right choice made this film interesting enough for me to watch it to the end.
7 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
It has its' moments... But.
LessThanPaddy9 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I'd wager that I would have scored this lower if not for the visuals. I love Copenhagen, been many times and grow to love it more each time. In fact, that's pretty much why I decided to watch this one, because I love the city so much. However, outside of that, the film doesn't offer much more more. The controversial plot twist, I'll admit I did not see it coming. But I didn't find it engaging. It just made me grow more fed up with the main character who is almost instantly unlikable and doesn't improve despite the attempts of the film. In fact none of the characters are overly engaging, there is zero attachment to any of them. What a shame, some of the most interesting people I've ever come across were met in Copenhagen. The plot itself isn't bad, it's just not done well. Many of the plot developments happen all too conveniently without any engaging material to link them e.g. them finding the main characters father's name carved on the apartment floor within about fifteen seconds of arriving from thin air, then of course Effy's uncle just happens to work at a national statistics database to track him down. It's rushed, and dull. Can't really talk up the acting that accompanies all this as well.

However, I obviously was invested enough to sit through to the end, so I wouldn't say it's the worst film I've reviewed... not even close. It has moments, not very many but some, the scene where he confronts his Grandfather is an engaging example. Overall, it has great potential, but it's executed poorly. I do know of people that like it, but it's just not for me.

P.S. Go visit Copenhagen, it's awesome.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Warm, interesting movie for long summer nights
hildevandeweyer30 May 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Really enjoyed this little movie. It's not a complicated nor far-fetched story line and when I read the summary before seeing the film I was wondering if it wouldn't be too simple... This movie shows that you don't need overly complicated story lines to make an intriguing film.

As the title says, it really is an ode to Copenhagen. I must visit soon, it looks like a beautiful, free and modern city. Put it on my bucket list. Really. Go there, it looks awesome.

Although some reviewers didn't like the William character, I completely believed his change in attitude and lifestyle. Tthe self-obsessed, vile man-child changing into a compassionate, protective and gentler human being is being played very well by the actor Gething Anthony. Praising the Danish actress for her role is easier because she plays a sweet, naive-but-wise, vulnerable girl. She acts great and I loved her, but I cannot says this without mentioning her male co-player.

Some things in the movie I didn't like? Sure. Obnoxiuous William having a best friend for 20 years...? That friend returning to Copenhagen after whisking off to London (why London?) all in the same day? I found this Jeremy character unnecessary. I believe William's character was strong and rounded enough without the addition of a best friend. He annoyed me, their 'friendship' annoyed me. Another character in the movie that didn't have to be added was that of Effy's stepfather Henrik. The audience already got a glimpse of her life (always out, no rules, stealing, entering without admission) to know that her home situation must be difficult. Like Jeremy, the movie didn't need Henrik to clarify Effy's character. I think it would have worked fine if it had focused on the protagonists alone and have Jeremy and Henrik be side notes like they did with Effy's uncle, or the barkeeper, etc.

I liked the ending, I was afraid it would turn out differently but it didn't. Especially liked the fact that William made the trip to Skagen and came to terms with his past... AND his future. That last shot left me with a great big, satisfying sigh. I really hope their lives went well (and yes, I KNOW it's only a movie).
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
You, me & Copenhagen
greetingscrow8 May 2017
Warning: Spoilers
There are three protagonists in the story of Copenhagen: William, Effy and the city. There are many city specific romance films dedicated to London, Paris or New York but there is a quaint charm in bicycles and in that regard, Copenhagen-the city of bicycles, fits really well to the narrative.

William is an American/Canadian tourist on an adventurous bender across Europe with his best friend Jeremy and his tag along girlfriend, whom William detests. On his to-do list is to deliver a letter from his father to its rightful owner. When left neglected by his best friend who promptly leaves William behind in Copenhagen, the letter gathers importance for him, who is otherwise content being inconsiderate and childish to everyone around him- including Effy, a teenage waitress at the hotel where William has checked in. Unable to read the contents of the letter, William asks Effy for help who commits to tracking the recipient of the letter, William's grandfather.

One of the most touching moments in the film is when William learns that he is the grandson of a Nazi corroborator. His father who had abandoned him was also left abandoned by his own father. The familiarity of this desertion is genetic. Seated in a quiet room of a distant relative, there is no one except Effy, a stranger then, who gets William's predicament.

Imagine William's state of mind when he finds out that Effy, who has been part of this intimate, shocking discovery and whom William seems to grow fond of, is underage. The rest of the film delves into William's own sense of discipline and morality and Effy's discovery of a childhood she never had. Effy, brilliantly played by Hansen is at moments vulnerable, effervescent, spontaneous, and more perceptive than William, who even in his late twenties seems to behave like a moody, cantankerous, entitled, teenage boy. Her 'resting bitch face' to William's off brand sexist humor is brilliant.

The bicycle rides in the film open up vistas of cobbled alleyways, brightly colored apartment blocks, flirtatious and honest banter between the two, and moments of interlude in the story.

The second most touching moment of the film is when William takes Effy to a club and in a rush of emotion blurts out that he loves her. Gethin Anthony does a fine job playing a man so overcome with this alien realization that he doesn't know how to mend himself better to express this. This is followed by a childish game of 'shark attack'.

Effy returns the sentiments later in the film reclined in William's hotel bed. Her confession is soft, hesitant perhaps, as it's quickly followed by "you told me you loved me already". She tries to seduce William but here is when we see how much William has matured through the course of the film. It is in the same hotel room that he had previously had his one night stands, the same room where he had broken his laptop screen in a fit of rage- unable to decipher his father's letter, the same room where he once lay despondent, staring at the ceiling for clues.

The film ends with William at Skagen, point of confluence of the Baltic and North Sea. The metaphor for a perfect relationship- "you look to the left and you look to the right, and both seas are there. And they can meet in the middle, but they never lose themselves in each other. They are always themselves no matter what"- Effy.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Immaturity meets maturity and fails to learn
timjrael25 January 2015
Warning: Spoilers
William is an angry young man. But we don't know why. He punches the screen of his laptop in frustration, throws beer cans across the street because his friend walks away, throws a bike to the ground for the same reason, litters a canal and leaves messages littered with the f-word to his friend on the phone - all of which might represent the sort of behaviour we could expect from a fourteen year old boy trying hard to appear grown-up. Interestingly however, there is another fourteen year old character in the film - Effy - and she has the maturity and composure that William lacks despite being half his age. For me this highlighted the problem with this film - there's no coming of age conclusion drawn for William, he simply cannot learn and I was left with the feeling that he will always be that way. On the other hand, fourteen year old Effy will have learned a lot about the kind of young man William is - and she will quickly outgrow him and his loutish type, even though she gave the impression she already had by the end of the film.

As regards the sex with an underage girl issue that rapidly develops into the main topic for the film (the family tracing thing being merely a carrier thread - a shame really as there seemed more mileage in that storyline), well the "will he-won't he?" drama turned into more of a "why would she want to?" question for me and could be seen as failing here given that William appears younger than Effy in both the emotional and maturity senses. A missed opportunity perhaps.

So then, why am I reviewing this film? Well it's not to mention the actor playing the William character, as by cutting and pasting any one of a number of young male actors into the angry young man role would have sufficed, but instead it's to mention the young woman playing the Effy role - Frederikke Dahl Hansen - she was simply magnificent.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed