Hello Ladies (TV Series 2013–2014) Poster

(2013–2014)

User Reviews

Review this title
49 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Merchant at his finest
KieranMalan7 October 2013
I must admit to having high expectations of this, and I will confirm it did not let me down!

This is Steve Merchant at his best. After reading mostly mixed reviews, I wanted to give my humble opinion as to why this show is so enjoyable.

If you have been a fan of Merchant since his XFM days you will see his comedy stylings splashed across this series and he nails his awkward, gawky character to a tee.

The penny-pinching persona, cringe-worthy attempts to hit on the ladies and all round geeky- vibe is exactly what this comedy genius is about. It's witty, awkward and filled with laughs whilst infused with an pseudo-emotional undertone about his overall bad luck with the female persuasion. The cinematography, intro clips and soundtracks have an 'entourage' style and are fantastic and really add to quality of this show. The friends of Merchant in the show compliment him - and the series greatly - and overall I'm really enjoying this series so far

Viewers who may not like this style of comedy or S.Merch as a comic writer will most likely disagree with my views and I can completely understand as it is not for everyones taste, but those who indulge in Merchants style will greatly appreciate this series.
45 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent!
mustng24 October 2013
Recorded the pilot for this show just to see what it was all about and I was very pleasantly surprised, to say the least. I have watched it several times, usually in the morning to start my day off right, and each time I watch it I can see subtle things that I had missed previously. There is a lot of humour in here that goes beyond the usual and deserves to be noticed, whether it is a facial expression and/or some unique body language. I think the supporting cast, in particular the tenant, are all great choices which result in a nice mix of somewhat damaged, and therefore human, characters. The main character however is priceless and brings to mind a less manic Fawlty. I also find it refreshing to watch a comedy that does not rely on predictable humour backed up by canned laughter which seems to be a common practice these days. I, for one, am very impressed with this comedy, it almost feels as though it could've been an eventual cult classic movie if it had been produced that way. I hope that it can manage to catch on but if it doesn't, it will be one of the series that I would definitely purchase when it becomes available, it just seems that good to me!
37 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Another gem from the Genius of Merchant.
Sausage130 September 2013
Love him or loathe him, you can't fail to see that Mr Merchant is an incredible talent with a good eye on what his strengths are. And on initial viewing he looks like he has crafted a work of genius with Hello Ladies. He made his name alongside a certain Ricky Gervais with the sort of awkward, hard to watch comedy in the UK Office & Hello ladies is much of the same in terms of "oh no did he really say that" type humour. The characters were all on point, Merchant was the main man & played his role to perfection, anyone who watched "Extras" will be reminded of the bar scene where him & Barry from Eastenders tried to chat the women up in the bar. Get this show watched it looks like it will be a cracker.
40 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very funny first episode
mercianwarrior30 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I hope it can keep up the pace and keep the laughs coming, because the first episode was hilarious.

Anyone who's ever listened to the Ricky Gervais Show or the XFM broadcasts will instantly recognise that this is Stephen playing himself, right down to his unwillingness to spend money and awkwardness around women in nightclubs. And it makes for a very funny show. I've always thought that he was the under-rated part of the (Ricky, Steve, Karl) trio, as he would often tell some great stories.

The supporting actors where all fantastic so far. It has high production values and the premise and location is original. Not so much the awkward guy trying to get some, but a geeky English guy in a foreign country, well out of his element.

So far, Steve's really proved that he can write and act great comedy on his own. Hopefully it will keep up the high standard and get the audience it deserves. Sadly, the Ricky Gervais Show did not on HBO, so congratulations to them for taking a risk.
38 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
That English Humo(u)r
pmmurph4 October 2013
Steve Merchant is at it again. I will be an avid viewer of this show for the comedic writing, timing and humor.

The show places Merchant's character in America fighting through a lonely single life. As a viewer you are rooting for Merchant to succeed but left with awkward, hard to watch scenes that make you laugh out loud.

The characters in this show are diverse and play off each other well. Merchant is seemingly the most normal person person in the show placed in unfortunate (yet hilarious) situations.

I recommend this show to anyone who was a fan of the Office (UK) or the Ricky Gervais Show. You will enjoy Hello Ladies!
30 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The only good comedy on TV!
vetcvm30 October 2013
First of all let me say i love this show, and it quickly turned into my favorite comedy show this year.

Basically the show is about an English guy, who has absolutely no self consciousness (a lot like the boss in "the office") who is desperately trying to hit on hot (and some not that hot) girls on every single occasion he has. the combination of the two results in disastrous embarrassing situations over and over again.

Just like "the office", this show grows on you and it gets funnier and funnier each week, the character played by Merchant is hilarious and the side kicks are also funny and memorable characters.

I can only recommend this show to people who like "embarrassing" type of humor, and my advise to you is to give it at least 4-5 episode before you decide if you are going to commit to it!
19 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funny refreshing show!
pjmbdm27 November 2013
Just discovered this hilarious series. I am telling everyone about Hello Ladies. The cast is simply wonderful and every episode is well written and so darned funny! Please continue this for many more seasons......we are hooked! Stuart is such a funny character and all his cohorts just make this such an original series. The writers just get these awkward situations so perfect and the actors expressions just make it right on. It's very difficult to write comedy that keeps the laughs coming throughout, but this one does and the music is also right on. Please please keep this series on....guaranteed to make all who watch it become fans!
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Only Two Episodes In And Already I know This Is Gonna Be A Hit
dean-95-6891169 October 2013
I didn't really have that high expectations for this, i'm not sure why really as i pretty much have loved everything that steve has been involved with (with the exception of lts ). Just wondered if he could write a hit sitcom without gervais's influence. I needn't have worried as this is fantastic, only seen two eps so far but already know this is a winning formula. Steve plays Stuart, a web designer living in la, The show centers around him trying to find a girl and basically failing at ever hurdle to great comedic reward. The rest of the cast also seem strong and quite likable. if your not a Steve Merchant fan then this probably wont be for you. Looking forward to the rest of the series
20 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Pretty Good Start
chinchillin29 September 2013
Hello Ladies is off to a pretty good start. I found myself laughing throughout the first episode and I can see the show only getting better as it goes on. Some slight adjustments and this show will be spot on. There is great potential here if handled right. Hello Ladies has the benefit of having the mind of Stephen Merchant behind it, as well as in it. I have been a Stephen Merchant fan for sometime and became most familiar with him through his work on The Ricky Gervais Show. I know that this show has the potential to be wildly popular with a younger demographic.

As for cons, I'd say my least favorite character is Wade. I do think the character can be improved; however, I don't feel that Nate Torrence was the best actor to portray him. Jonah Hill or Seth Rogan would have set this show off greatly in the roll of Wade.
23 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Uniquely funny!
eye-of-the-tiger28 October 2013
Unique and original. An utter masterpiece - Merchant hits jackpot with his new role.

A funny portrayal of life's bittersweet moments - all can relate to. If you like Karl Pilkington an Idiot Abroad or English humour look no further - this also coalesces finely with American humour too!

Merchant's masterpiece will have you in stitches from the start!

There's a lot to this seemingly small, intimate comedy. It's lucid and engaging on all levels and, as well as being an interesting, well-thought through plot, it's one of those rare, truly funny shows

10/10!
14 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Will he get the girl? And at what cost?
AsifZamir3 December 2013
Hello Ladies is a fun TV series following a middle aged web designer / business owner who's looking for love in all the wrong places. He only wants to date models or movie stars and this leads him into all kinds of trouble, including spending thousands on drinks, limos and other nonsense that leaves him just as empty as when he started. I say all this because it's a story we've all seen play out in real life. Will Stuart get the girl in the end? And at what cost? This show highlights modern society and the wrong steps people will take to get what they want from other people. It's supposed to be more of a lighthearted comedy but actually shares important life lessons. - Asif Zamir
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Serious Promise
Beanie7214 October 2013
I understand the criticisms but the show has only gotten better. If you are a fan of gervais and merchant's other works, definitely check it out.

Stuart (merchant) can definitely be dislikable but i think overall he is a man who is just blinded by the medias portrayal of the Hollywood dating life. Episode 2 in particular, he comes off as an unsympathetic character but it picks right back up in episode 3 playing a desperate awkward loser. I hope the show picks up its steam like it did this week, because if it does, this show is a winner.

Not to mention the side characters are amazing like Jessica and Rory.

The show contains merchant's dry humor as well as the office- us (also creators of the show) silliness. Try it out and keep up with it as it is only improving.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
This series has potential if they play their cards right.
nossoj30 September 2013
I must say I was excited to watch this series when I first heard of it, to my surprise the humor was too centered around embarrassing the main character which resulted in a lot of cringe-worthy moments to say the least.

This series had the potential of having a great set of characters that didn't have to follow certain stereotypes. Take the main character who's a somewhat geeky person trying to make it in a big city, kind of out of his element but to add to it that he's rather clumsy doesn't really help the character out in my opinion. Just having the attribute of being a bit socially awkward but not self-aware of it would've been fine.

I personally get the feeling that they were trying too hard on creating embarrassing moments for the main character where he just shrugs it off, barely reacting to them as people are just staring and laughing at him.

This isn't everyone's cup of tea and I'm certain that this series has potential to become something great, but so far I'm not impressed.
16 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A guy with a dreadful personality and looks, tries to sleep with whoever in modern LA (and fails every time)..
Dr_Sagan30 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Well this is certainly not my cup of tea. I generally don't like series or movies where the people act like idiots and they get in awkward situations because of that (with the exception of "VEEP"). Anyway most of the series I watched are on a break, so I'm checking out almost every new series, to see if any of them is worthing my attention.

H.L. is about an awkward, overly confident Englishman trying to date in Los Angeles – where his attempts to infiltrate the world of beautiful people are not successful. Now either you like Stephen Merchant's character (a thin tall ungraceful weird looking guy with ugly glasses) or not. Personally never heard of him before, and I don't.

What bothers me the most about this show is the whole concept: A guy not worthy to get any attention from women tries to act like a "player". Seen that many times. It is over-worn and if you ask me unnecessary these times. The only thing this comedy adds to modernize a worn idea is this: Stephen Merchant's character is a ...web designer. ORIGINAL REVIEW TITLE: Maybe good for its kind, but that kind seems unnecessary now days.

Anyway not my cup of tea, but if you like an AWKWARD MOMENTS (again and again) comedy check it out. But for me... the verdict is: Avoid it.

***** EDIT: After I saw 1x02 and I'm changing my vote from 3 to 1. (+ Spoilers!)

OK. I gave it another chance. Just saw an episode about a rented limousine.

Didn't laugh (or even smile) once. For 27 minutes I was seeing a TOTALLY unsympathetic (also weird looking, but that is not his major problem) guy, trying to get laid with whoever find in his way. His bait is a limo, rented by his miserable friend.

The writer(s) use in this episode (their own phrases, not mine): F**K-off, and F****N' idiot to describe their protagonist and his personality. I totally agree with them.

The jokes are non existent. Just awkward moments one after the other. What bothers me the most is the main character. They could make him somehow likable. "Searching for true love" or a more meaningful relationship. But NO! He is rude to everyone (even to a polite woman who lured into the limo, and the only chance who had for a fun night). He acts like he is superior but everyone sees right through him. A mean superficial person with no charisma whatsoever.

I gave it 2 chances. There wont be a third one.

Overall: Avoid this at all costs! Worst newcomer show ever.
21 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst Show Ever.
itchywolf13 October 2013
It's pretty obvious that Ricky is the talented one.

Here is how to fail at comedy, you have a character with zero redeeming qualities whatsoever who treats women & his friends (including a handicapped friend) like complete garbage. Then you put him in situations where we know he is going to fail, make sure to put women around him who we all know are out of his league and/or unavailable. All I did was cringe the entire time.

I went into this show loving Stephen, and even though the 1st episode left me nauseous, wishing I could throw up just to make the nausea go away, I gave the 2nd episode a chance. It was so bad, I created this account on my phone, wrote this review twice from scratch after my browser crashed. It's that bad.

Loved U.K. Office, love the Ricky Gervas Show, love almost everything Stephen has done before, but this show has left such a terrible black spot of hate inside my brain, I'm pretty sure I will never watch anything he touches again.

DO NOT WATCH, AVOID AT ALL COSTS.
18 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Genuinely unlikable character
thogstacker19 October 2013
I had high hopes for this series. The old "loser can't find a girl" plot/theme appeals to me for personal reasons. Unfortunately, the main character is so intensely unlikable I have absolutely no sympathy or compassion for him. I don't want him to win. He not only deserves what he gets, I want worse things to happen to him. Unlike, say, Dwight from The Office, who's a widget, yet you want him to catch a whiff of enlightenment, the main character in this series actually angered me. And they're telegraphing the "friend who is a girl, but has potential to be a lover" troupe like a pirate flag. There were so many ways to tackle this approach. Heck, all of the Seinfield characters were horrible people yet you still laughed at them. While I think Stephen Merchant may be talented, and perhaps even funny, the character he plays in this is too big of a poo-poo head to invoke my compassion.
8 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awkward first start
monicalee-806-7300551 October 2013
There are so many clichés. In many ways, I felt that they are trying to rip off many of the character dynamics from Seinfeld but without success. To sum it up, this show is awkward, unfunny and it has been done before. Instead of laughing, I felt myself cringe. I did not find any of the actors to be likable and Stephen Merchant seems better suited as the straight man along side Ricky and Carl. I'd rather see them bring back the hilarious Rickey Gervais' Show than this mediocre comedy. In addition, why does Stephen Merchant and Co. always play upon a disabled person as comic relief? Not only is it unfunny but it is borderline perverse. The political incorrectness is so forced that it needs a laxative.
17 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious show that hits close to home
catalinabreeze14 October 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Sadly the subject matter in this series is only slightly exaggerated.

Stephen is a web designer who lacks social awareness but more than makes up for it in ego. Some parts are hard to watch, but it is not as cringe-inducing as say Fawlty Towers. The introductory scene in which he blames his friend Wade for ruining his chances with a pair of attractive females after attempting to prove to one of them that her hometown of Seattle is the suicide capital of the United States sets the tone for the series. Other hilarious scenes include one where he unwittingly commits to buying $800 worth of drinks for a group at a nightclub and one where he is seconds away from sending a hyperbolically insecure and derisive text message to a love interest for her lack of attentiveness when he receives her reply.

Stephen's friend, Wade, is an Everyman character who is in the initial stages of separating with his wife. His desire to "put himself back out there" is overshadowed by the emotional turbulence of his situation. He is faithful to Stephen and supportive of his efforts to land a "hot actress or model", but his humility makes him infinitely more likable.

Jessica is a struggling actress who rents a guest house from Stephen and is dealing with the reality of being an above average looking single 30-something in a city that values youth and beauty over all else. In a search for a more intellectual identity, she interrupts a gossipy "girls' night in" with a bid to watch the silent Russian film Battleship Potemkin, prompting her girlfriends to reconsider an offer to hang out with Stephen and Wade.

Kives is Stephen and Wade's paraplegic cohort whose easygoing charm and fun-loving personality allow him to handily outscore Stephen in the dating game despite his disability. His occasional presence adds color and perspective to Stephen's failures, particularly with his signature pickup line: "Are you dating, mating or masturbating?"

More of a slice-of-life type comedy than an absurd one, you are likely to know at least one person who reminds you of each of the characters -- especially if you live in Southern California. I am looking forward to enjoying future laughs at Stephen and Jessica's expense as the season continues. Highly recommended.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A superb show with spot on acting and writing
seldinhio-817-98688414 October 2013
I will be short on this review. This series reminds me of Entourage so much. Just like in Entourage the plot goes on from episode to episode with some great comedy. I have been longing for a supplement that can replace Entourage for so long. The acting is great and the chemistry between the role figures in the series feels natural and not forced. You know how Turtle and Drama chemistry was spot on. In Hello Ladies Stephen(Stephen Merchant) has that kind of thing with all the main characters. One could claim it revolves to much around Stephen but in my opinion that is not a bad thing. This guy knows how to be funny in a natural way.

The first season has started with a bang, I just hope they keep this going as it is right now.
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Failure
heather45738 October 2013
Let's be honest... we all know how this show is going to end. Jessica and Stuart are going to get together. It's so predictable! We've seen this a thousand times before in other shows. The show is insipidly dull and the only character I like is Kives, but really the characters aren't likable at all. There is no reason why we should root for any of the characters either because there is no back-story! The whole thing is centered around humiliating the main character and making a fool out of him but it's just unfunny and lame. Steve should really do something different instead of bringing attention to his "failure with women" all the time - Nobody cares! I bet that's one reason why women don't stick around, it probably drives them away. He's been going on about his failures for years now - its run its course. It's about time Merchant went in a different direction. The show is cheap, clichéd, and a total bore. Don't give it high expectations unless you want to be disappointed. If you're like me you'll be left wondering why you even finished it. But if you like dull humiliation humor / cringe comedy then this is the show for you.
12 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This show is absolutely terrible
moviefan0987 October 2013
I don't know how someone can even give this a 10. That's gotta be a very biased review. Stephen Merchant's character has absolutely no redeeming value whatsoever. When someone has bad social skills, they have to be at least sympathetic somehow. The show is not funny in the least. All it is is, Merchant doing something completely retarded and people reacting badly to it. I don't need to watch a TV show like this, I know people like him. You can't sympathize with him at all because you sympathize with the "straight man" characters too much. This worked in The Office because all the characters around Michael were main characters. All I feel while watching this show is cringe. I haven't laughed at a single joke in it yet and I watched both episodes to give it a chance. In the 90s, we got sarcasm, 2000s we got "reference comedy" like Family guy, now we're deep in the "being awkward is funny" era. It wasn't that great to being with and Hello Ladies does it extremely badly. Everyone is doing the awkward thing nowadays. Look on youtube, everybody is doing it and it's just not funny in and of itself. It's extremely lazy writing. I guess I shouldn't say it's lazy. People who write this kind of comedy simply have no skills or talent whatsoever so they can't do any better. I'm giving it a 1 to average out the 10.
12 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Hello Ladies"
uremien10 November 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I love this show is awesome and hilarious. My husband and I are laughing the whole time. The show is put together very nice and so flawlessly. I haven't laughed this hard at TV.. since Married with children, in a long time. I recommend everybody with a different and smart humor and if you want to see great comedy the show is 100% a must see, with the show you can learn very good lesson in life and will probably be a big hit for HBO with more people seen it, I'm happy to see something different and Stephen Merchant is an intelligent performer and the cast is great. I'm looking forward to seeing all the episodes are better and better, the pool party was so hilarious I'm already waiting for tonight Hello Ladies!!! 7 stars.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Marchant at his best! "What's he like?"
joe-cope-74-82666518 June 2019
I'm gutted they never made more episodes... absolutely Epitomises merchant at his best. The quirky comments and quick wit highlights the indifference between English and American culture. We all want to leave school and return to a reunion showing how 'we made it' and I really feel for merchants character in this part. Relate to him as well as I'm sure we all try to do it. The relationships merchant character finds are refreshing and feel like Gervais helped him with a few lines even though he wasn't listed as script writer.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I WANT MORE!!
dannehh7 May 2019
Please, more! One of the funniest shows I've seen!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Thoroughly Enjoyed.
davbat200020 February 2015
Just binge watched this and the movie. I enjoyed it from start to finish, it was so funny and also touching in the way that the best comedies are. I don't think that this deviates from the expected story line, but what it does deliver is the style of awkward humour that he has become famous for.

The style is similar to the office and other Gervais/Merchant collaborations, what is clear is that perhaps Merchant didn't always get the credit that he deserved for the previous works as he rarely appeared on camera. This is some of the best cringe watching around, very much "did he really say that" style.

I would recommend this to anyone.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed