Comedy Bang! Bang! (TV Series 2012) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
21 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Random humor. Next to offbeat it's my favorite kind of humor.
Resumption-of-Disbelief28 February 2013
Let's start by recognizing that Comedy Bang Bang is made for comedy connoisseurs. This is the American talk show deconstructed: it is not so important that you "laugh" so much as you appreciate the aesthetics of the bit; it is not so concerned with jokes as it is concerned with the technique and form of jokes. Disagree? Look, it cannot be a coincidence that the season one guest lineup is a virtual Algonquin Round Table of all the major figures in the alt comedy scene: Galifianakis, Poehler, Oswalt, Tompkins, Helms, Rogen, Odenkirk, Forte, Kroll, Rudd, Barry, Arnett, Cera, Koechner, Cross, Black, Scott, Lennon, Scheer … and you get the sense that this is the kind of material that they would perform for each other if there were no audience around: esoteric, experimental, and with a healthy amount of self-aware meta-humor. This is, in other words, hard-edged alternative comedy for the dedicated enthusiast, not the more palatable and softened version that you get from, e.g., Portlandia, Parks and Recreation, etc. Indeed, that most viewers will find this show alienating is kind of the point – a big part of the reason that one out of ten people will love this show is because they know the other nine are going to hate it. Add to that great chemistry between Scott Aukerman and Reggie Watts and pitch-perfect character performances from both and you have, in my opinion, the most consistently interesting television that I have seen in years. Hey, one out of ten people can't be wrong, no?
47 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Original and fantastic
lisasimp-731-6440026 July 2013
It's refreshing to see a new show with fresh and unpredictable writing. As an old person I also appreciate the humor that isn't about a toilet or other bodily functions. I'm talking to you Tosh. I love the way that the episodes are named and of course the content. My favorite bit was where Scott interrupts an interview (which he does frequently) and goes out to feed his meter. The sketch occurs in the future where lasers and explosions are happening. Jillian Jacobs (Community) gets into his car as he is trying to find his meter credits and tries to convince him to join the rebel alliance. He refuses and returns casually to the show after applying his credits to the meter. It was fantastic. I've loved each episode and am an avid fan. Keep it up!
27 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
a good-weird IFC talk show
funkyfresh9110 August 2013
This was exactly what I expected from the commercials. It's goofy, ridiculous, and Reggie Watts is in it. Reggie and Scott have great banter.

Best part of the show, Reggie Watts doing the soundtrack to the ridiculousness, he's awesome. The guests are great, they're all in on it but they do a great "straight humor" routine. There's plenty of talk-show self-deprecating humor, it's great clever satire.

If you think it's too silly, you're expecting too much out of it. Just accept it for what it is.

I've seen every episode from the beginning and each one has something worth watching for. It's 30 minutes and much more hit than miss, you'll know by the end of the opening monologue if the show is for you.

If you like corny, surreal humor, that successfully pulls off repetition and satire, you'll have fun. Just relax, s a bowl and enjoy.
13 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A type of humor not everyone will get- But I get it!
vassart7 December 2013
This show falls into a different category of humor- and based on the reviews, I'm going to guess that it is an obscure sense of humor that many people do not get. However, I get it, and I love it! If someone doesn't understand it, it doesn't make the show bad- it just means its not in your taste. This show has famous actors and actresses who obviously understand the humor and are okay with being a part of it...so HA!

I would say, if you liked Arrested Development (the original ones), if you can watch a Reggie Watts special, if you like Mr Show with Bob and David, Children's Hospital and other Adult Swim shows, you would probably like this show.

Don't let the other reviews scare you off! Its odd humor, but if you're into that sort of thing watch this show. The Ed Helms episode is worth your time!
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
You either get it or you don't.
rsjunkmail32120 July 2016
It's that type of comedy that, pardon the cliché, you either get it or you don't. I love randomocity, and this show capitalizes on it. If you find humor in not knowing what's going to happen next and hate predictable comedy where you know exactly what a character is going to say before they say it, then this show is definitely for you. Otherwise, steer clear because chances are you will not be amused. It reminds me a lot of "Tom Goes to Mayor" with its 'anything goes' style of comedy. If you find yourself agitated because you don't understand why it's hilarious, just sit back, stop thinking about it, and let the unpredictability guide you on a magical journey.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
this is new comedy. hilarious. if you're sick of predictable humour, this is the show for you
antmimibinoo18 November 2013
I can understand why some ppl aren't fond of Comedy bang!bang. those ppl probably like to watch shows like jersey shore or jay Leno. somebody needed to stick up for this show and say; "hey! this show is f*cking awesome! how refreshing their unpredictable, silly and whimsical style of comedy is! weird is becoming cooler and cooler,(especially in comedy) so to all you rayban wearing, dane cook fans, with your trendy haircuts, and Starbucks frappachinos - stay away from us weirdos! we think we're hilarious." seriously this is a great show. but if you can't appreciate something because its lack of tits and sparkles, then your better off watching family guy.
10 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
not good
johnson_evan55626 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
To someone who has never seen this show, heard the pod-casts, and who has no idea who the host is, I would say that it is similar to watching 23 minutes of Zach Galifianakis Between Two Ferns. The humor is "random" humor I guess which pretty much means that it isn't funny. They have two different celebrities on each episode, one as the guest and another playing a random character. The episode I watched included Jenna Fischer and Jason Alexander. Jenna's interview questions included "don't you wish you could go back in time and change the title of your show?" and "Are you Jenna Fischer because you are phishing for my computer passwords?".

The rest of the show seems to be improvised where Jason Alexander played what seemed to be a variation of the detective from the Pink Panther.

I am pretty sure they record this show in one take and I don't mean that as a compliment.

I had watched a few episodes of this show previously and didn't think they were very funny but I decided to give it another chance hoping that maybe by season 3 they would have figured something out but it still seems to be the same random crap from the first season.

If you like a show just because you think other people won't like it then you will probably like this. It really is so bad that I am glad it was canceled.
16 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I like how OK it is.
limpfan10611 May 2014
I cant really tell if I like this show or not, and I think I like that.

Good ideas to spoof Scoot Aukerman's name: Hot Soccer-mom Pot After-dawn Snot Gobberson Dot comer-son Lot Parkingson Not Hotterson Bot Robertson Thought Absentton

Your review does not contain enough lines - the minimum length for reviews is 10 lines of text. Please see the guidelines. Attempts to pad the comment with junk words can result in your account being blocked from future submissions.

I cant really tell if I like this show or not, and I think I like that.

Good ideas to spoof Scoot Aukerman's name: Hot Soccer-mom Pot After-dawn Snot Gobberson Dot comer-son Lot Parkingson Not Hotterson Bot Robertson Thought Absentton
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sketch comedy isn't perfect. Thats why its funny.
glasswoodmetal26 August 2015
Reggie watts and Slop Awkward man are hysterical. My only minor complaint is the guests. I love them all to be honest and I'm not saying they were bad choices but. Is someone just going down the list of everyone who had anything to do with wet hot American summer, parks and rec and the office? Sketch comedy doesn't need to suck the D of the comedic elite to be funny but I guess when your pitching the show the people with the $ always want celebrity names for the shows they produce. I'm not gonna pretend I know how Hollywood works but I do know people generally are very motivated by money. I'm done with the review but since IMDb Nazis are forcing me to write more I will oblige so that Scott and Reggie and the crew working on the show know that this guy right here is watching the show and is loving this run on sentence right now!
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Solid show... solid
brennan-2744810 December 2018
I'll admit Cbb isn't for everyone, it's not your run of the mill comedy talk show, but if you're sick of the regular prime time comedy and want something unique, this is it. You won't learn anything new or gain any significant insights, this show doesn't have a "point", it's just here to entertain and it does that job exceptionally well. We're all just specs floating in the ever expanding blackness of space, don't take yourself too seriously, give it a try.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Incredibly Juvenile Junk
Johnny_West7 October 2018
This show is what cafeteria comedy in middle school was like. Nothing funny, just a lot of obnoxious characters pretending to be funny. Like Weird Al who is going back to being rich after the show is canceled. Not funny. The whole show is a great example of how cable-TV destroyed quality television programming.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Almost Worth Going Back to cable for...
sgcim22 June 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I haven't seen this show since I ditched cable, because it just wasn't worth the expense, and got Roku with Netflix. Thank God they got CBB's second season recently, and I just finished watching about ten shows in a row without commercials. The shows were so great it was almost too much of an intense experience for me. Other than some episodes of Portlandia, I've given up on most comedy shows on TV, and literally cannot watch any of the late night talk shows. CBB satirizes these shows in a manner similar to Fred Willard and Martin Mull's "America Tonight" and SCTV's "The Sammy Maudlin Show", but has added the satirizing of reality shows, musicals and whatever else they can think of to the mix. The anti-musical, "Phantom of the Talk Show" episode was pure genius, and targeted the nauseating musicals of ALWY as the corn they indeed are.

I only have four shows left to watch from the second season and can't wait.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Real Review with Real Opinions by a Real Fan of Film and Television
ladychez2330 December 2013
I gave this show a 10 for being original and with superb talent and the writing is sensational. Lets not forget the various of celebrity guest stars who are in fact BIG stars supporting Comedy Bang Bang. I see someone gave this show a 1 and that its comedy is for a 3 year old. Please do not give that review much thought, obviously they do not have a sense of humor to begin with. I really dislike people who are basically "couch critics" and some who don't even have a degree in film or media associated careers, I would like to ask these couch critic clowns when was the last time they produced or wrote a show and was actually aired on television or the theater? It's easy to put down something you didn't work hard for and it's easy to put down someone who has talent they wish they had.
8 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Comedy Bang Bang...you're dead!
tim-arnold77730 January 2014
The show was cancelled but Scott and Reggie refused to go quietly into the good night. They continued their forced dry-hump comedy on pod-cast audiences. I would stop there, but IMDb insists that I continue berating this show. I will say I didn't want to be too premature, so I gave the show a few tries to be fair. Sorry, but a show that, in my opinion, is dead on arrival—should be wheeled down to the morgue. Not left out at room temperature to decompose. I did watch Reggie Watts on a Comedy Central special. I was hoping that under different circumstances he would be funny. He wasn't. Unless you think being racist is funny. Comedy Bang Bang? Shoot me in the ƒu©king head.
14 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It's actually the worst show I've ever seen
runescaper9224 August 2013
The hosts have no sense of humor. There is not very much entertainment value in this show. Their jokes are so dry and lame that it makes me wonder how they got their own show.

Cons:

-The hosts are terribly dull, and not funny. -They advertise it as being a "comedic fantasy". It's far from it. -They have many chances to be funny in their skits, but they can't. why? because it's starring Reggie and Scott. -Reggie Watts looks like he would be funny, but when he opens his mouth you realize he isn't.

Pros: -Sometimes they have interesting guest stars I'm interested in seeing, but for the most part you get the "why the hell am I here?" vibe from them.

Overall, the combination of Reggie and Scott is an utter failure, but then again either of them separately is also an utter failure. If I was a guest star on their show I would fire my agent for making me be around those horribly dull comedians and wasting my time. Why is this on TV?
20 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Lamest show ever
rds_127 July 2013
If a show is called comedy bang bang one expects humor. There isn't any, well maybe for a 3 year old.

Have you ever watched or listened to a late night show where people can phone in? If so you must have noticed the drunken callers going "lalalabrabblebrabble" thinking they're funny. Well this isn't much better.

The best word to describe this show is Lame. The decor is lame. The furniture is lame. The presenter is lame and he dresses lame. Reggie is lame. Most of the guests are lame and it they're not you see them thinking what the "bliep" am I doing here? Everything else also lame.

Wow now I'm sounding like a 3 year old describing the lameness of this show.
20 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Following their vision
robertrobbierob27 March 2014
When I watched the first episode, I was wondering what I was watching. I then watched the second episode and wondered why I was still watching this! Half way through the second episode is when it hit me; this is meant to seem like a bad talk show when talking with the guest.

The comedy of it is making fun of how bad talk shows can be, and how the hosts think they can do no wrong. The humor of it can be compared to what I call everyday humor; stuff that happens in everyday life that is funny, but not everyone get's it. It is not a show catering to everyone, and not for people who aren't into the harder styles of comedy(Comedy that the average person usually doesn't understand why it is funny.).

They do go out on a lot of limbs in this show, but that is what you do in comedy. I will admit sometimes these chances they take fall flat, but I appreciate their vision. Reggie and Scott are a great duo; they play well off each other, and you feel like it's real when Reggie makes fun of Scott, or when Scott is being sincere about his feeling with Reggie.

All around I suggest check it out, because even though I didn't like the first episode, something made me keep watching the second. To me, that means they were still doing something right.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
In one word - unique!
shmizzla31 May 2015
One thing is certain - this show is unpredictable! Its humor is random but amazingly good at it. The writers did a great job at mocking talk shows, creating in the process an original piece of art, unique kind of show filled with great jokes, unexpected story twists, satirical segments, hilarious guests and, last but not least, continuous silly word play including host's name. I also have to mention that creator/host Scott Aukerman is amazing at mocking TV hosts, doing that both subtly and obviously. Reggie Watts fits in perfectly with his unique style; he made me laugh so many times with his 3 second songs. I love this show, it's refreshing, but it does require a special sense of humor to appreciate it, I don't believe that many people would like it. But those who do, they will LOVE it! I give it 9/10 just because there were couple of episodes that felt "off" to me. But definitely - a must watch.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A One Joke Series!
carl-17122 May 2014
Comedy Bang Bang is entertaining.. for the first 10 minutes or so! It would be pretty good as a comedy short, and would even make a funny SNL skit. But, as an entire series.. not so much!

The same old joke gets old really fast! The more you watch, the less funny it becomes.

On the positive side, the show has some good guests and they play along with the one dimensional gag very well, for a while. However, even the guests' comedy contributions become tiring, very fast!

I recommend watching this only once, and only for a brief period of time, say.. less than 15 minutes. After that, you will likely become bored with it. Watching too long may make you scream!
5 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I think it is a joke
angemichelled22 June 2017
If you actually think this show has any point or anything to it, you are just being tricked/fooling yourself because of all the big celebrities they put on there to be "interviewed". It is not much of an interview at that. The host is HORRIBLE. I do not know how anyone can watch this show for very long. I do not know how it has more than one season. You can try and keep watching episodes trying to like it, but you will not get anywhere if you are honest with yourself. Do not give them anymore watches because every time you watch, it just makes this show more valid. I mean it is cancelled now but still on Netflix or wherever DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME! That is all.
2 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
What?
rbcoral772 October 2019
This show has nothing to do with comedy. It actually repels comedy. Unwatchable.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed