Second Act (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
189 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
How The Heck This Movie Could Get 10 Rating !!
ymyuseda13 January 2019
Rating 6.0/10 It is watchable, but the performance of Jennifer Lopez is poor. I don't understand why they rate it 10 ! Are they all paid critics ? What's the point in rating if it is fake ! So disappointing !
138 out of 179 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
2 plots that don't go together
HEFILM8 January 2019
This film is sold as one thing but tries to be two which about ruins both. The story the film was sold on is about women in a dead end job who is given a chance at a big league job by a faked resume. But it's also got a very melodramatic/ soap opera story about the woman and her long lost daughter.

The movie also is rather cheap and video-looking, neither Lopez or Remini look particularly good, though Lopez is still playing a character ten years younger than she is--which she pulls off, I only mention this as it has the feel of a 90's cable tv movie.

Interactions with Remini and Lopez are good, probably the best thing about the movie actually, then again the focus of the film shifts to the melodrama lost child thing, of which Remini is virtually abscent from.

The director was well cast to direct this kind of film but his earlier films are much better and have a sense of being a complete movie that this one lacks.

Supporting characters are most cartoons and, in the faked resume portion of the film are funny enough.

Of course Lopez is a big glamorous star, so for her to pull off this 'working class' act is not easy, but she manages to do it--it's mostly free of star moments--she doesn't sing, isn't shot to show off her famous bottom, she does have one dance scene with friends but it seems realistic enough.

Treat Williams does well in the roll of a basically unconvincing 'good guy' mega corporation owner.

The whole idea of cramming a old hat and unconvincing mother/lost daughter movie into this one is a bad one. This is a film sold as one thing because what they aren't selling doesn't work.

Sad to say it on many levels is a LIFETIME level movie.
26 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I wish i could give zero
muhammadali-0612628 December 2018
Remember that othrr J lo movie you saw? Well this is EXACTLY the same. J low impresses everyone with her "street smarts", wins the guy, gets the job, happily ever after. You literally have to have a steel rod driven into your skull to be stupid enough to enjoy this. Shockingly i can see a few 10/10 littered around the rating section. 10? Really? So this movie is the Godfather of romcoms? Honestly....
109 out of 170 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Steaming hot pile of garbage
Mikeandike891 January 2019
I saw this movie without knowing anything about it or seeing a preview of any kind and good lord was it awful. Incredibly unrealistic and silly, the only thing keeping it from 1 star is JLo's somewhat tolerable acting ability to carry on the incohesive plot that pulls the viewer in 5 different directions. Do not waste your time or money on this movie and thank me later!
54 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I don't understand the poor reviews
SarcasticBella27 December 2018
Look, not every movie is going to be award worthy, and I didn't expect this one to be. I knew based off of the trailer exactly what I was getting, and I got it. While the story line may have been a bit predictable, I received an enjoyable afternoon where for two hours, I got to escape from reality and just laugh. The acting was well done, the comedy was excellent, and the story line was cute. It was your typical girly rom com and I loved it. The perfect way to spend a rainy Thursday.
85 out of 134 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Confusing blah blah with some nice moments
spiky8124 December 2018
I expected a light, JLo type romantic, cute movie with an easy and predictable storyline - just what you want for a girls night out. Instead the movie starts on one tone than instead of getting into the conflict which has been built up it takes a turn into sg else. And it happens several times till the end causing a mess. Leaves important questions open, focuses on items totally unimportant. Feels like they shot several versions and instead of putting together one consistent movie, they just picked a little bit from everything. Big disappointment for me.
46 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Nothing new that we haven't seen already
mikkiparker3 March 2019
Here we go again, JLo in a role of a woman who happens to have a midlife crisis and drastically changes her life. She gets a new job, new wardrobe. However, it is all a lie as we could see in a trailer. The acting is good, Vanessa Hudgens is the one actor who in my opinion is keeping this film from flopping completely. Also Leah Remini was a good choice as well, giving us multiple good laughs during the film. JLo's acting is acceptable, good but not amazing. The plot is nothing new and very predictable. If you are looking for a film to relax on Sunday, this one's a good choice but do not expect anything. You will know what is going to happen in the next scene as well as the ending but there are a few funny scenes and some hearttouching ones too which was a good choice during writing the film.
18 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very Enjoyable Comedy
rjb-5114924 December 2018
I only went to see this because my wife is a huge J Love fan. To my surprise and delight, the movie is really well done. The heartwarming parts work well, and the comedy is laugh out loud funny. J Love is luminous throughout the film, and this is really a film where she shines. The inspired casting of Leah Remini as her best friend ( who nearly steals the film along with Dierdre Friel and Lacretta as J Lo's co workers) really uses the chemistry they have as friends in real life. There is a twist to the plot which I will not reveal. Beautifully shot, great use of NY as a backdrop and a great supporting cast with not a false note in the bunch. It held my attention, and that's saying something as well. I hope to see Leah Remini get some more films after this, because she makes a great sidekick. I loved it.
56 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What a mess
roger_and_out27 February 2019
You know if it's a JLo movie it's going to be all about her, with the outfits and the dancing BS, trying to cram in as many of her "talents" (if only she did ONE of them well) as possible - that was expected, but not at this level. It seems like the movie's budget went 70% to stylists, 25% to lighting, 4% to the trashiest top 40 music licensing they could find and about 75 cents for the script.

No attention was given to story coherence, acting, jokes, even character arcs, the back bone of any narrative, are confused and confusing. Which, evidently, becomes an alarming trend for a Netflix production.

Stay away. Not even a girls-night popcorn movie.
22 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Seemed like a bad novela...
luleini27 February 2019
Too manu things going on... the plot was all over the place, I have no idea what happened... there was dancing, adoption, romance... too much all over the place... a no no for me...
21 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Ugh
holly-vondoering22 December 2018
This movie was such a letdown. Painfully predictable and stale, and the acting was lackluster from all involved. Bummer
33 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Better than expected...
twright-5140212 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Lopez shows her acting prowess, and Hudgen's pairs well in the role of her daughter. The story has more strengths than weaknesses, but is bogged down by some head scratching plot twists and minor roles, especially the young boy who is a fan of cursing. Treat Williams is solid throughout. Worth a watch.
43 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not What I Expected
dianakomavli31 December 2018
Such a predictable movie; revamped Maid in Manhattan. I couldn't wait for it to be over. I would have expected more of Milo Ventimiglia.
31 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hallmark Does It Better
rosofamily28 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This was absurd. I didn't have high hopes anyways, as I try to stay away from anything involving Jennifer Lopez, but my daughter was home for the week and I thought why not? I'd already suffered through Aquaman days before, this couldn't possibly be worse. It was. At least Aquaman made me laugh consistently at its horrificness. Within the first three minutes of the film, Lopez changed her voice three times. I'm not sure why she does this every time she talks, but it's annoying as heck and ridiculous. It could have been an okay film had they not thrown the whole adoption thing in. It was done so haphazardly that it was just laughable. Eyes rolled everywhere. I am not a super fan of Hallmark movies as they are all predictable and basically the same storyline regurgitated with different actors, but I'd take Hallmark any day. This movie was all over the place. Leah Remini stole the show. She was the best part of the movie and got all our laughs. Total snooze fest without her.
21 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Haters gonna hate smh
TheTopDawgCritic16 March 2019
Anyone giving this film am undeserving 1, 2, 3 or even a 4 needs to give their head a shake.

Very enjoyable and entertaining film. Solid performances from all cast, great directing, and although the story's premise was interesting, there were some plot issues and bad writing choices in some scenes and dialogue. The humor was spot on with some LOL moments, and some sweet sad moments.

Much better than I expected. A well deserving 8/10 from me!
17 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Garbage
calisparkz226 December 2018
Please do not waste your money on this utter nonsense, who in Hollywood is giving stuff like this the green light? Is Hollywood so desperate to make a few bucks that they put out crap like this, why does Jennifer Lopez get work, she has proven time and time again that my dresser has more acting chops than she does!
25 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Nice, lite, Fun, heartwarming movie
marykfinn27 December 2018
I enjoyed this very much. Laughed out loud and was moved to tears. It is not meant to be taken too seriously. If you want a fun, enjoyable night at the movies, I would highly recommend this.
24 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A feel good movie that is a few star names away from being made for TV
coombsstephen27 January 2019
I should say that this movie probably isn't aimed at middle aged (bordering old) Englishman but I would be shocked to see anyone suggesting that this should receive any nominations for any awards, that it would want.

The plot is quite ludicrous, has more holes than a fishing net and is just laughable in places. It is squarely aimed at a light hearted feel good film market but the story it tells goes way past plausible and sense of reality in it is quickly lost.

On the bright side there are some funny moments, decent support characters and it is a very easy watch.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Jennifer lopez never disappoint me
who_is_modi_its_me22 December 2018
Another good JLO movie i went to the theater with my partner we had a good laugh , and i was so happy seeing Vanessa hudgens i love her so much and its not another romantic comedy its just comedy with a new idea its kinda similar to the Tv show "Younger"
34 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Second act
walooaabuh16 December 2018
The story in not new but relatable to many from different demographica and watching Jennifer Lopez is always joyful
21 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best motivational movie.Be creative.
This movie shows us how crutial rules we make with our own. We can not climb the ideas that everyone shoul have the best education and working experience and beyond this hides the intelect wich is inside us from the birth, experince which is not the same as next, but your tallent and desire can create anything.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Watch when it's on TV. Not worth spending money
l-ee-nn21 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
It's an OK movie. Very predictable and a little boring.

Weird how she finds out its her daughter.. I thought it was her dreaming. Came out of nowhere! Ending was dull
15 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Nice funny movie
httomcat12 December 2018
I really enjoyed this movie. Great characters. It made me laugh. I would recommend this movie if you just want a real feel good movie to watch. Great cast! Funny and smart.
27 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Laughed, cried then laughed more again!
tsennikos12 December 2018
This movie really made me believe in myself no matter what people say!!Such an empowering movie, definitely recommend it!!
30 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Solid
tylerdarland22 December 2018
Went with my mom & sister-in-law and we loved it. I never look to see what movie critics say about movies because it's usually the opposite of how I feel about the movie. This movie was good from beginning to end. Great cast and storyline. A good 'girls night out' movie to see.
21 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed