Silenced (2011) Poster

(2011)

User Reviews

Review this title
27 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Move Thee Reviews: Sunny Days Are Rare in the City of Mist
ken184824 June 2012
Sunny and Silenced are two Korean films I have watched in 2012 and both are excellent. Silenced is a poignant and depressing movie based on a true event that happened in a special school where the deaf children are abused by the Principal and teachers. In the first half of the movie, the horrible abuses are unveiled one by one. The second half is a courtroom drama.

The movie is an emotional ride which tugs at your heartstrings. At the scene in which the teacher is on the verge of tears and the boy cries his eyes out and struggles to express his overwhelming pent-up emotions upon knowing that his grandmother has forgiven the culprit, some members of the audience will be moved to tears. Where might is master, justice is servant, which is cruel, but real. It is also uplifting to see the teacher remain steadfast in his determination to bring the culprits to justice, despite his daughter's plight.

As for the setting, the misty mountains and creepy campus create an eerie atmosphere. I also love the montage at the beginning of the movie. The kid is just like the deer, innocent and pure.

The perversion of justice prevails when Christians are blinded by their unquestionable faith, teachers are heartless, policemen, lawyers, the judge and the security guard are corrupted by money, civil servants shirk their responsibility and shift the work onto others and others remain silent. Martin Luther King is right. In the end, we remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. Amid those humans who are evil but influential in society, justice is shrouded in a thick gray mist.
37 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
How a movie shape a nation
Forest-G2 August 2015
Warning: Spoilers
God damn it, I shed tears.

there are many sensitive variables that could make people cry in this movie, such as;

It is about children... deaf, mute, orphan, abandoned, abused, raped, dead, need I say more?

I think those reasons are enough to make people shed a tear, if not probably you are an asshole (like me in real life :P).

Once I finished the movie, I felt sad, enrage, and little bit disappointed because there is no justice in the movie (well, what do you expect it's based on real life).

Then I realized how powerful this movie is... and yeah, this movie sparked rage in South Korea public. The public there demanded that this case should be re-open. After this movie the Education ministry demanded more detailed profile and criminal record from every teachers, and they have shut down Inhwa School. The government passed Dogani law (named after this movie). Even the president of South Korea made a comment and stand with public opinion.

For a movie to give such a big impact in a nation is pretty impressive. So yeah, this is one of those rare movie that shape a nation, and made you realized how powerful a movie can be.

Big note: Those child actors are impressive (WOW!!). Their acting is so convincing, they made me ;_:
26 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Type of movie that will make you sick, but, you have to watch anyway!.
cremea15 September 2012
Silenced (aka the Crucible) is a 2011 South Korean film that is not really an easy watch. It's quite good for the most part, but it will leave a bad taste in your mouth for sure. I do recommend watching it, but with the caveat that it will pretty much spoil your evening afterwards. So, you've been warned!

SPOILERS AHEAD!

I have a number of general rules that I try to live by, which allow me to go about my life in a civilized society with a clear conscience. These rules include simple mundane courtesies like saying thank you or opening the door for little old ladies or not flipping the bird to that idiot who doesn't know how to drive, to more serious matters like not disrupting someone else's marriage or abusing animals for kicks or cheating someone out of their life savings (which would, incidentally, be quite easy to do in my line of work). My list of rules escalate to not hurting people, but the list has always topped out with the following: DO NOT PHYSICALLY, MENTALLY, OR SEXUALLY ABUSE CHILDREN!

If you don't know already, this movie is all about breaking my "golden rule" stated above. A school chock full of deviant teachers, principals, and employees, which has been systematically and repeatedly raping, beating, and torturing the child students there on a wide scale. To make matters worse (if that's possible), is the fact that this is a school for the deaf & mute, and that many of these children are from broken homes, are orphaned, poor, etc.

To top it off, this movie is based on a true story (a thought, which frankly, I could not get out of my head while watching the thing). Now, I'm not privy as to what was depicted in the movie is actually factual, or what amount of dramatic license was invoked, or what have you. But even if the tiniest bit of any of this is even remotely true, the, I am utterly disgusted. Sadly however, I am no longer surprised by hearing stories like this in the world I live in.

As for the movie itself, it basically revolves around a new teacher who comes to the school and soon uncovers the abuses within. He and a human rights activist he gets to know begin to work to help the children in harm's way, and to punish those involved with the crimes. It's a straight up drama story line and courtroom procedural for the most part. There's little to no action or vengeance involved, and it's not anywhere near as graphic as it might have been (considering the subject matter) if this were part of some other type of film genre.

Production, pacing, and story are all solid enough. Acting is pretty strong throughout (particularly from the children, which had to be bit uncomfortable, performance wise, for them). There's a side story involving the new teacher's child, which quickly takes a back seat to the primary plot point, along with the hinting of a budding relationship between said teacher and the activist. Aside from that, this film focuses almost exclusively on the evil deed at hand, what will be done about it once uncovered, and what efforts the community will go to in order to just make this all go away as quickly & quietly as possible. Oh, and this IS a Korean production, so (SUPER SPOILERS), you might not want to get your hopes up for the happiest of endings.

Bottom line: It's in the 7-8 out of 10 stars range for me. I'll give it an 8, because it is stuck in my brain (at least for now) after watching it, and it was well done overall. And, after all, isn't that what watching cinema is all about?...If you want any type of a remotely "feel good/good time flick", watch something else!...but, if you're in the right mood to watch a solid and effecting drama about a sad and horrible topic, than this film comes fairly well recommended by yours truly!
17 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A sad movie about injustice
yasds19 September 2012
The film is based on actual events that happened in Gwang Ju, South Korea. People assume that actual events were dramatized in the film, but apparently the actual events were more heinous than the movie. Gong Yoo read the novel The Crucible/Silenced (Dogani, 2009) while serving his mandatory military service and became involved in the film making.

The child actors were amazing. Because they had to portray deaf and mute children, they had to rely on their facial gestures, sign language, and sounds (cries and screams). They were simply amazing at depicting complex emotions.

Johan Lebbing is wrong. Gong Yoo is not holding a bible at the end of the movie (that would make no sense whatsoever in this movie). He's taking the subway and holding a cake from Tous Les Jours (a Korean boulangerie/patisserie chain) because it's Christmas. He's probably going home to his daughter.

South Korea is pretty lenient with sex offenders in general, and this movie caused an uproar in South Korea about sex crimes.
22 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A true story filmed as a masterpiece.
j-lebbing3-121 May 2012
Watched "Silenced" here on DVD with English subtitles. Didn't really know what to expect from the film before going in, but came out shaken, angered and left with the feeling of having seen a powerful film that can bring about positive change. The basis for the movie is purported to be based on a true story which makes things all the more striking. Having not watched "Children..." a Korean movie that came out earlier this year also based on a true story, my closest point of reference is Bong Joon-Ho's by now classic film "Memories of Murder". "Silenced" doesn't possess the master of cinema feel that "Memories of Murder" has, nor does it have the first mover advantage in its story, but "Silenced" is able to deliver the same (if not more) type of jolt to the viewer which is really saying something.

Some criticism I had for the film were 2 scenes felt just too graphic and a few other times the movie seemed to carry a far too simpleton feel, but in hindsight I'm guessing both of these points originated from the filmmaker's desire to have maximum impact with the largest group possible. In that case, the filmmaker got his wish. While walking out of the theater I did feel energized from having watched something so moving and also filled with fear & anger at just how wicked some parts of society can become.

Performance wise, I thought Gong Yoo was good and Jung Yu-Mi was her usual great self. There was a final scene with Gong Yoo holding a bible in the middle of the street that didn't move me as much as I thought the scene wanted. Maybe I was just too exhausted from having witnessed humanity at its darkest hour prior to that. The movie also featured large amounts of court-room drama in the second half which I really enjoyed.

"Silenced" has already brought in a lot of people into the theaters in South Korea and also opened a lot of eyes to the injustices that occurred in South Korea just a few years ago (2005). I think "Silenced" is a film that will likely leave you in a state that only a few others films probably can. Be prepare to be moved when you watch it.
31 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Maybe the Best Movie I have Seen - From Any Country
rpannier3 October 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Gang In-ho takes a job working at a school for the hearing impaired in Gwangju. The movie opens with him driving to the school (and having an accident) about the same time as a young boy from the school commits suicide by walking in front of a train. From almost the beginning of his time at the school, he notices that something seems out of kilter. The school seems almost dark and unfeeling. The students not particularly friendly and one teacher is just damned mean. The movie focuses on two sisters, one of whom is especially stand-offish and the other, unfriendly and with issues about eating and their brother who seems to be bloodied and bruised worse every time he comes to class.

We eventually learn that the two girls are being abused physically and sexually by the Principal and the Asst Principal with the knowledge of one female teacher, the security guard, a local police officer and at least one staff member (who is abusing the boy both physically and sexually)

The teacher enlists the help of Seo Yu-jin, a human rights activist to help the children (and him) Initially they find little support for their cause. The police are totally disinterested in what Yu-jin tells them. Partially because here in Korea making the establishment look bad is not something people do readily and partially because the police officer is a fairly high ranking figure within the department. Finally, they turn to YTN News. And a reporter does an interview with the children that is seen on TV throughout Korea. The police reluctantly spring into action and arrest the principal, asst principal and the teacher -- no one else. The movie then moves onto the second trial. The children are 'raped' again, this time by members of the establishment.

The Superintendent for Public Instruction and the defense lawyer try to bribe the teacher into ending the case. When he refuses, they pay off the aged and mentally feeble grandmother of the children. The local evangelical community rallies to the defense of the principal. The prosecutor seems to be on the side of justice, but in the end, it appears he left the children hanging out to dry.

The movie is extremely graphic and painful. The rape scenes are not glossed over and the physical abuse of the oldest brother is difficult to watch. But more painful, is the end of the trial where the audience is left frustrated, angry and saddened by the way these three children (and their dead brother) are left with nothing even remotely resembling justice. What makes this hard to take is that, while the movie is based on the events, the events still happened and they were as horrid as the movie describes. And were it not for the book and this movie some of these people would have continued with their lives as if nothing had happened. A definite 10.
48 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
One of the most potent film ever seen.
ajit210625 June 2012
"Silenced..." as the title suggests, is a powerful film about a mute and deaf school in Gwangju (South Korea).

In 2005 Kang In-ho arrives at a school where children are deaf, but quickly realizes that something is wrong, as children were cloistered in a kind of autism. The reason is simple; they are suffering from pain through twin-principals and other teachers. Kang In-ho, first was blind towards the horrible acts, however, he wakes up very quickly and puts his life in the background to devote him entirely to these children in the deepest distress.

Written and directed by filmmaker Dong-hyuk Hwang, who runs his second coil after My Father (2007), based on the novel by Jee-young Cong taking Novel in one hand and camera in the other, Hwang Dong-hyuk takes us into a hell where cruelty is watchword. Men who abuse children are already a disgrace, but when equipped with a handicap that prevents them to express them while we pass this stage to speak only to be demonic. Moreover, work is in addition to killing these demons, exposing South Korea where levels of justice are rotten to the point that despite overwhelming evidence, everyone comes out innocent or at worst a slight slap on the wrist. Such injustice deserved to talk about it, and if the literature does not always express them on a large scale, the cinema can more easily, and in 2011 the film has been a blow, pushing the government to close the school and start a new trial.

Hwang Dong-hyuk, who directs his cast with strength and power, conveys a strong message with an eye opener. We can feel the players involved, everyone is in the place and nobody is ever too much, especially children, crying for truth, despite their silence, but the look says a lot about the work of management. No melodramatic pathos, not only the accuracy enhanced by fluid narration and exciting, equally divided between face to face with the horror and the trial, or rather mock trial. The director also quite unsettling talent to film scenes touching, working the image at the point of giving an atmosphere of morbid poetry returning the stomach (although almost everything is hidden), to the Unlike scenes about bullying that they go into bestiality at the lowest.

Silenced is a work that takes you to the gut, but also a masterpiece at all levels, sad, very sad, because during filming (like writing a book) hopelessness was most certainly in the spirit all, nobody is expecting that the film can shake rotten legal foundation at this point to the bone. The arrival of this film is welcome, but it remains a work paradoxically awful cinematic should play a social role, rape, torture, and death stories of children who have so far had very little impact. We think Hwang Dong-hyuk has done considerable work, but we also think these children whose childhood or life, were stolen.

The story is very centered and never leaves its intention, as I said earlier it is based on the true story, we can feel the sufferings of the characters.

This is a take on the human with animal instinct and the actions will shake the base of humanity.

Recommended to everyone who can digest the kinky truth.

9/10
23 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Good vs Evil In The Real World. . . An Oscar Worthy Film!
gbjay13 December 2012
While the Story, the Theme is reprehensible, the Art in Film-making; being able to articulate emotions, actions, reactions, in a fashion that others --viewers -- not associated will feel, be stirred, outraged by the monstrous behavior, is the hallmark of an excellent production!

Having been orphaned as a child, I know all too well the horrors, cover-ups, lies, and willful deceit that insidious practitioners of corruption perform, and how the tentacles of their evil deeds navigate and manipulate. The Director, Writer, Actors, Cinematographers and entire Production company have done a fine job of crafting in a way that eliminates the language barrier, and reaches into the minds, and hearts of their audience. Ten out of Ten Stars for motion picture perfection... --GBJ
19 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Powerful and compelling
findwilliams28 September 2013
I recently became a fan of Yoo Gong and followed the links to this film, unlike anything I expected but so intense that I found myself yelling at the screen during certain scenes. Yoo Gong's performance caused one of those reactions, when he snapped and went after the jerk in the hall and I gave a shout and a fist pump. Then all I could do was watch and shrink from the madness that ensued. Too real, too raw, particularly if you are a parent. Still I'm glad the horrifying acts of the evildoers came to light, even if they weren't punished in the way I wished. A huge thank you to the writer and to those who acted to make the film. Change begins with awareness.
17 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Where is justice? - Movie too powerful
Alan_H428 March 2015
This movie is incredibly powerful, at some points i couldn't hold my tears.

The movie has portrayed true events in a masterfully done way. The cinematography/atmosphere and the music are superb.

This movie really made me sad and angry at the world at the same time. At some points in the movie i wished i could be there and take a gun and take justice in to my own hands.It portraits the true nature of how evil and disgusting human beings can be. The sheer fact that the system and those who "abide" the law are corrupt, and still manage not to give a damn about what happened to those children, is beyond my understanding.The movie got me frustrated at many points and i just wanted to punch the protagonist in the face for not taking justice in to his own hands. You see evil in front of you and you see that the majority of the people running the system, the laws are bad and corrupt, and you think by yourself, why not punish all those evil bastards? and i don't care how it is done, as long as they get punished.

At some point one gets the realization that there is no hope in this world. Our society is run by sociopaths and psychopaths. It shows that money can do anything, and that human life and a child's innocence means nothing to those in power. I'm really angry after watching this movie and so sad at the same time... i can't keep getting this movie out of my head.

This movie deserves an Oscar and should be seen by everyone!

8.8/10
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's not tears...
emilkruse-6569515 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
... it's hate overflowing my body. This movie is a good as it is gets. It is rare that I want to grab a movie villain's neck and strangle him but in this case, I don't care what else I'll see the principals and the teacher in. They'll always be the manipulative child abusers I have just witnessed.

This movie has simply left me shocked which is rare. I had no problem watching A Serbian Film but this movie had one specific scene that made me gag. The bathroom scene with Min-soo's little brother. I had to rewatch to be sure it was just a doll. But as soon as I noticed the "doll" move I was so close to throw up. That is something I have never seen in ANY movie! Though it was disturbing I must give a standing ovation to the actors in that scene. How brave of them to put themselves in that kind of scenario.

Speaking of actors, can you get any better child actors?! Jesus Christ on the cross, these kids are so good, I would not be surprised if I was watching a documentary.

Defintely a good watch... if you have the stomach for it. Make sure to be hydrated though, otherwise the tears will dry you out.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Silenced Review: Left me silent, thinking, and sad for long.
Prashast_Singh2 June 2017
Movie: Silenced (18)

Rating: 4.75/5

If you're into watching realistic movies, then you're bound to like it. SILENCED/THE CRUCIBLE is an effective & realistic drama feature that appeals because of the sincerity towards the film by its actors and the justice done to the script by the director. Such strong content- oriented films can definitely change the society and it's not a spoiler, it did. To find out more, search about it on Internet. SILENCED is by no means an ordinary film: it's a film which questions South Korean society, as well as the people of the world as humans, too.

I don't think it would be right to tell what the film is about since that can be found out easily. But, wait. Why don't you simply see the film and recommend it to others? This is a realistic film, and the word is enough for you to understand what kind of a film it is. The topic is what is being commonly raised in our Indian movies too, but from a totally different perspective. I think this is the first of its kind. The film is made in a way that you'll end up rooting for the lead characters, their efforts and the young victims. I was indeed shocked to see how far can the devilish nature of humans go. Some scenes, rather many scenes might be, by no means an easy watch. But I support the director's reason for adding these realistic scenes: to make us feel angry, and I not just felt angry, but also happy that he succeeded in making us emote.

SILENCED is a film which can end up raising hot debates and talks, and it would be a surprise if one doesn't end up liking the film. The film is a perfect example of films that can change the society, the country and eventually, the world. Even though I'm not a South Korean, I ended up liking this film very much. What happens in this film happens in India almost daily, but still it was refreshing to see such a realistic film from South Korea, the country from where we get terrific films everywhere.

Technically too, this film is brilliant. I recommend catching it on Blu- ray. The dialogues are powerful. Gong Yoo once again proves himself and I don't need to say why. Jung Yu-mi is not just pretty, but a talented actress too. You can see it from her performance. The child artists surprise you with their acts, since you don't expect kids normally to do such a dark film. They all give terrific performances, eventually making you feel their pain. The pain in the torturous violence can be felt, and is thus not meant to entertain you. The cinematography is excellent. Visuals are excellent. The music supports the film and the editing is great as the film doesn't bore you for even a second.

SILENCED is a very, very powerful film which deserves to be seen. Sadly I can't recommend it for kids, since they would be saddened but I recommend it to people around 15 and above to watch it. Such films don't intend to entertain you only, but also to make you aware and alert. It won't be right to call it an enjoyable film, but it's definitely thought-provoking, and at times, entertaining too.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Silenced : It was very, very unfair to these molested kids
forlornnesssickness14 June 2014
Warning: Spoilers
What happened to the kids is something you hear from the media with disbelieving eyes. We usually ask ourselves; how could the people commit such horrible deeds? Can that really happen in our society? Though the movie is the fiction based on the bestseller novel written by Gong Jee- young, the novel itself was based on the real-life incident reported by the South Korean media in 2005. As depicted in the movie, it drew lots of attention from the people at that time, and there was the trial for this heinous crime later – but that was not the end of the story and there are still scars remained.

When we meet In-ho(Gong Yoo) for the first time, he is coming to the local area named Mujin as the new art teacher of the boarding school for the deaf students. While his daughter is taken care of by his mother in Seoul(his wife was dead), he lives alone in some shabby apartment. He does not particularly like his new job, but he needs a job for earning the money for his sick daughter. When the principle and the administration supervisor, the principle's twin brother(both are played by Jang Gwang), demand In-ho to pay the considerable amount of money as the contribution for "school development fund" on his first day, he accepts their demand without question. It is not right thing to do, but he has no choice if he wants to keep his job.

However, it turns out that is not the only thing he has to deal with while working at this school. He sees one of the teachers savagely beating one of his students in the teachers' office while other teachers ignore the abuse being committed right in front of them. At one night, he hears a strange sound from the ladies' room when he is about to leave. He tries to find out who is behind the bathroom door, but he is soon interrupted by the night guard, who assures him that nothing happens. Later, he witnesses the other teacher abusing the other student with the washing machine at the basement – while the washing machine is turned on.

If you have some knowledge about the South Korean society, you will probably have some good idea about what will happen next. In-ho and Yu- jin want these disgusting people to be arrested, but, as shown in his expensive office, the principle is a well-respected member of the local society. He is also an elder of the local church(that means we will see some unpleasant side of Korean Christians), and he has some powerful connections to the local authorities. On the day when he comes to the office for the giving the money for the school development fund, In-ho happens to see a local cop stopping by the school for his money. Even when they try to report this crime to the other local government officials, they ignore them with bureaucratic indifference while saying it is not their job due to the jurisdiction rule.

Eventually, after the kids' story goes out on TV, the principle and others are quickly arrested and the trial soon follows, but In-ho and Yu-jin find themselves more helpless as the time goes by. The kids are willing to testify what happened to them, and there are some evidences to support their testimonies, but it is possible that their abusers will not be properly punished in the end. The counsel for the accused, a former law official, is well-connected to judges and prosecutors; as a custom inside the South Korean justice system, they give some advantages to him because it is his first trial after leaving his office. The kids' parents are poor or disabled, so they can be easily persuaded to withdraw the suit on the behalf of their children. They even approach to In-ho, who has been in financially difficult situation.

The director Hwang Dong-hyeock wisely does not hurry his story. While providing the good atmosphere with the hazy fog covering the town, he effectively conveys the frustration inside the story. Though his character is rather bland and passive, Gong Yoo does a passable job as an ordinary man who tries to do the right thing while knowing that there is little he can do for the abused kids. Jeong Yu-mi is trapped in her flat character who mostly functions as the mouthpiece of the story, but she does as much as she can.

The movie is not free from its flaws. Despite its good intention, it sometimes stumbles with a heavy-handed approach. While the villains are played effectively by good actors, they are just mean and despicable in one-dimensional way. They seem to come from the other movie whenever confronting the other characters. The court scenes have some awkwardness although it is less stiff than other South Korean movies featuring the court scenes. The finale is overlong and a little too melodramatic while emphasizing the characters' bitterness they have to face at the end of their struggle.

Nevertheless, "Silenced" has enough power to draw you into its anger, and you will identify with its indignation toward the unfairness in South Korean society. As reflected in the epilogue in the movie, the abusers were only sentenced to light punishment, and they did not even go to the jail. How could they let that happen? Will such a horrible thing happen again? Sad thing is, it is really hard for us to prevent the world from changing ourselves, let alone change the world.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The Greatest South Korean Movie I've Seen to Date
keren_boy_ii10 March 2018
If you were asked on how to make a movie out of a real event, then this is how it's done. The real events were so cruel, yet this movie is able to explain them in such a way that it's not disgusting without misleading the message they want to tell. I've only seen very few South Korean movie, but out of those few this one is definitely the very best.

In fact, since this movie later sparked a national protest against the punishment for rapist, this could be one of those movie in the entire world that has a great social impact. For me personally, I felt the sadness, anger and disappointment in the faces of those children. It's like I wanna protest too now!!

I always like to compare this movie to the Japanese movie titled Nobody Knows / Dare Mo Shiranai. Although they don't bear similar plot, both are actually based loosely on a true event. Howeve, Nobody Knows seems to tell the story in a too soft way. Dogani instead is a super great story telling of the actual event.

AWESOME MOVIE!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Recommended in every way!
diaju_vampprincess25 November 2018
Warning: Spoilers
You can not not to cry when watching this movie. What can be worse than harassment and violence to the orphaned and disabled-children done by the teachers and the principal of their own school? As far as i know, teachers are their parents at school, to teach, lead, guide and protect them. But these people even worse and disgusting than a pile of shyt.

Yes, the movie is based on a novel, but the novel itself is based on true story that happened in Gwangju Inhwa School in South Korea in early 2000s, which makes this movie is more heartbreaking. All the horrible things in this movie did happen, probably worse, and only the tip of the iceberg for what happens in the real world.

As for the review of the movie, it is a bit slow at the beginning. A lot of silence moments, but that's usual in a drama movie, right? But the story is gripping and well-written, the acting is convincing and captivating, i even find it uncomfortable seeing the child actors to play such harrowing graphic scenes that makes me worried about the children's mental health. The lead male character, named In-ho, makes me a bit upset because he's being so passive (and stupid!), even when he sees his coworker beats a child terribly. Probably to bond the viewer's emotion, to make the viewer upset and finally feel the satisfaction of releasing rage when In-ho hits one of the molester and sues them. And there is where the real struggle begins. There are some missing plots, but probably cut because the movie will be very long if it isn't, but don't worry, it will be explained in the end. The movie contains a lot of shocking scenes that shiver me to the spine and breaks me to tears.

The sad truth is the world is full with corrupted law enforcers, and this movie describes it very clearly that justice only happened for rich people, and we live in a cruel and filth world like that.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
a harrowing and emotionally exhausting movie
aminifatimaaa25 March 2019
Silenced is a mixing pot of emotions; one full of hope, resentment, depression but ultimately injustice. There are many films made to impress viewers but this one is among the few, not just to impress you, but to deeply disturb you. It makes you crave for nothing but human dignity and fairness. The film had me stunned with astonishing performances especially the three brilliant child actors who perfectly portrayed their characters. Silenced is a bold piece of modern Korean cinema that should be seen by everyone.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
When true art contributee to positive changes.
mouisr27 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
"Silenced" or "Do-ga-ni" is a south korean drama movie released in 22 September 2011, directed by Hwang Dong-Hyuk, and adapted from his novel "the crucibles", starring Gong Yoo and Jung Yu-Mi. The movie is based on true events that happened in "Mujin" a city in South Korea, exactly at a school for hearing impaired, where deaf children were sexually assaulted by their teachers and principals in 2004. Kang In Ho (Gong Yoo) is a newly appointed teacher in a school for hearing impaired in Mujin, where he faced the shocking truth that the children were sexually and physically abused by their teachers,after noticing their fear and weird behaviour. He decides with the help of a human rights activist "Seo Yoo-jin" (Jung Yu-Mi) to defend the children's rights , but they realized that the principals and even the police are involved in this case. The judge was bribed, and after a long fight in the court room, the opressed children didn't get their rights and the faculty members got a very light sentence. In my modest opinion, I consider the movie "Silenced" as one of the best touching, powerful movies that I had never watched, though the end is heartbreaking, but in the reality, this movie had a big impact , it created a real debate in South Korea, which caused the reopening of the case and punishing the teachers and everyone who was involved and escaped the law. Also,new laws were enacted to protect children's rights. This movie shows the real goal of art, that is exposing the truth and contributing to positive changes. I advise everyone to watch this incredible movie.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The fact that peope don't know about this movie is frustrating
youthshallow15 April 2018
Without spoiling anything, let's just say if you hate bad people who live amongst you and look like normal normal, healthy people, then this is the movie for you.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A true-to-life story of physical and sexual abuse in Korean schools.
e-539769 December 2017
Were Silenced not based on fact, its unchecked depiction of corporal and sexual abuse in Korean school for the deaf could be construed as sensational, manipulative, even sadistic. As it were, the polished manner in which director-screenwriter Hwang Dong-hyuk adopts mainstream genre conventions to develop ambiance, suspense, and calculated twists propel the story to an incendiary and compelling conclusion. Although the film ultimately achieves its function to expose deep-rooted and far-reaching social injustice, its visceral representation of harrowing and morally repugnant scenes remains unnerving and questionable. But the film belongs to the child actors, who transcend the controversial subject by conveying such a complex combination of pain, confusion and resilience one instantly roots for them. A court scene where Yeon-du outwits an intimidating lawyer by turning her hearing impairment into an advantage is an unabashedly uplifting moment.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Painfully True Event That Must be Watched
Geeta35222 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Excellent, Excellent, Excellent! I am a new found fan of Gong Yoo (Goblin) and find his performances in most of his movies to be outstanding and memorable. He did not disappoint me when I finally purchased a copy of Silenced (2011) since it isn't available in the USA online or even through Raukuten/Viki network. This film is a fictionalized version of an actual ongoing tragedy that took place at a school for Deaf children in South Korean. Without revealing too much about the story, let it be said that the gross indifference, coverup, hypocrisy, and injustice portrayed in the film will move you to tears and then to anger. The stellar performances by Gong Yoo, Jung Yu Mi, and the child actors will linger in your mind long after the movie credits fade from your screen. Kudos to everyone associated with this sad but needful film. Be sure to have a box of tissues near by; you will definitely need them.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Definitely not for children!
paulclaassen19 June 2019
Wow, what a well made and disturbing film. The film sends a very powerful message and also effectively illustrates manipulation, bribery, and abuse of power, believing money can right all wrongs.

Although the film is a bit slow moving, it was never boring. I did, however, find the protagonist Kang In-ho (Yoo Gong) a bit too passive. Seo Yoo-jin was a much stronger character, portrayed by Yu-mi Jung - who did a very good job. The child actors were also good and I enjoyed their back stories, as well. The film is sexually graphic at times (involving children) and definitely not suitable for a young audience.

Based on fact, this is a very disturbing film and the reality of the case is cringe worthy. At the time the film was made, the actual case was still in progress, so the true fate of all involved is not exactly known. As it is, this was not the ending I expected.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great Korean Film
socratesadamo17 May 2019
SILENCED tells the shocking true story of students at a school for the deaf and the abuse they endured there, as well as its aftermath. The film unfolds in a perfect way and leaves the viewer constantly on the edge of their seat.

Part of what makes this film so good is the fact that it's a true story. I'm sure that certain events were probably changed for the sake of structure and flow, but that doesn't make it any less believable. Highly recommend.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Disturbing story that needs to be told
vikanabila14 May 2019
This film being wrapped in really heartbreaking musical and scoring accompaniment, making this film more dark. Include many scene of violence that occur in deaf children very clearly that will makes you really uncomfortable. I thought the acting was commendable considering the tough, awkward working conditions. Childs actor were very amazing, even they were acted as tuna rungu they can deliver the story very well. The same goes to antagonis actors and phrotagonis actors. The antagonis really makes you wanna punch him and yell along the movie he is truly terrifying; icy, ruthless and completely unsympathetic towards his students. I would describe this as a oppressed movie that makes me emotionally depressed, The film itself was definitely worth sitting through from start to finish but I personally would not watching this film twice because this movie is brutally heartbreking and sad, silenced is not a film that one will quickly forget. Even less the story of silenced is based on true story, it really breaks my heart everytime I imagine those childs is being treated like that in their real life. My final review is this movie is one of the sickest movies I have probably ever come across, and yet ... it is watchable -- highly watchable. I really recommend this movie to you all that have interest on child sexual abused issue, its very blow your mind and making you feel sorry towards the victim.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A powerful display of a harsh reality.
atekasiddiq20 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
No other movie highlights the issues on sexual abuse as Silenced does. It's almost astonishing to know that due to this movie, they reopened the case and passed the "Dogani Law" reinforcing harsh punishments for the offenders.

The movie displays the horrors in the most truest way possible. The script, each dialogue plays with your emotions like never before. And to know that this was based on a true incident makes it even more chilling to know how cruel certain people can be and to what extent they would go to try to save themselves. It was quite emotional for me and it will definitely make me see the world through another lens, to be more vigilant and kind because I somehow connect with the characters if the storyline connects to mine. This movie was beautiful not in the way they portray the abuse, but to show how the children can overcome such horror and that there are a few people who would give their lives to fight for justice.

The movie ends with a beautiful quote where Seo Yoo-jin says that "we fight not to change the world but to not let the world change you" and I think that's gonna resonate with me for quite a while.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Mohammad ali khatatba .
am-somory18 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The most descriptive word of this film is that it is really painful, some scenes I could not even continue. It is very difficult for a human being to see all this tragedy. I hope that the evil will end in children, especially those with special needs and orphans, It needs real knights from all over the world like Inho, and Sauyo Jin. What I liked most about the film was the actors' performance of the roles, they were more than wonderful and especially (yoo gong).
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed