No Good Deed (2014) Poster

(I) (2014)

User Reviews

Review this title
94 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
A Half-Baked, Woman-In-Jeopardy, Home Invasion Thriller
zardoz-1322 September 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Idris Elba and Taraji P. Henson have squandered their considerable thespian talents on "No Good Deed," a half-baked, woman-in-jeopardy, home invasion thriller that springs few surprises during its ephemeral 84-minutes. Ironically, Elba and Henson shared credit as executive producers, but they didn't serve themselves adequately enough with this mediocre but atmospheric crime drama. Despite some genuinely suspenseful moments in this PG-13 rated tale, veteran television director Sam Miller and "96 Minutes" scenarist Aimee Lagos ask us to believe that a former lawyer who dealt with cases concerning violence against women would behave as naïvely as Henson's hare-brained heroine does. A suburban housewife and mother with two children, one of whom is an infant, Terri Granger quit her job as a prosecutor who represented battered women only to become a battered woman. The conduct of Henson's damsel-in-distress will make your jaw drop in sheer disbelief. It is difficult to believe that a woman, who once prosecuted vicious felons like the criminal Elba plays with such chilling intensity, could behave in such a foolhardy fashion. Less back-story with regard to Henson's Terri Granger would have been better than more. Had she simply been little more than a housewife, her actions would have been more credible. Meantime, Elba is suitably menacing as a charismatic but ruthless predator. Early on, a parole board member describes Elba's serial killer character as a "malignant narcissist." Naturally, Miller and Lagos amass all the surefire suspense elements as well as the clichés to heighten the experience. Of course, movies like "No Good Deed" dispense with realism as readily as they exploit the artifice designed to make you squeeze your fists with white-knuckled tenacity. The robust cast and the nerve-racking predicaments that their characters wind up in are the kind of fodder that inflames audiences.

"No Good Deed" opens with Colin Evans (Idris Elba of "Prometheus") appearing before a Tennessee parole board. Authorities believe Colin murdered five women, but they have no evidence to convict him for any of those heinous crimes. Instead, they have managed to bust him for manslaughter. During a brawl in a bar, he killed an adversary. Since then Colin has served five years in the big house, and he touts his record as an exemplary inmate who taught other inmates how to read. Nevertheless, a skeptical parole board refuses to accommodate him. While he is being hauled back to prison, Colin disarms one guard and then murders both of them. You'd think that prison officials would have assigned more competent cops to guard him, but then we wouldn't have "No Good Deed." Later, Colin tracks down a former girlfriend, Alexis (Kate del Castillo of "Bordertown"), and strangles her in a fit of jealous rage in her own house after she lies to him about flirting with another man at an Atlanta restaurant. Colin appropriates her vehicle, but he crashes it during a noisy thunderstorm. Despite from his inferior driving skills, Colin qualifies as a dangerous but resourceful villain with no qualms about murder most foul. The same cannot be said for our heroine.

Terri Granger (Taraji P. Henson of CBS-TV's "Person of Interest") finds herself at home alone with her two children, young daughter Ryan (newcomer Mirage Moonschein) and a baby boy Sam, after her husband Jeffrey (Henry Simmons of "Taxi") takes a trip to visit his ailing father. Since Jeffrey is leaving her, Terri has invited her closest friend, Meg (Leslie Bibb of "Iron Man"), to spend the evening with her. They plan to treat it like a girl's night out. Colin stumbles onto Terri's front porch with a cut on his temple, and our heroine literally lets him have the run of her house! Colin does everything that he can to lull Terri into a false sense of security. Terri even cleans up the cut on Colin's temple. Of course, the familiarity with which she receives this stranger is hopelessly absurd. Meg flirts with Colin as he lies to them about himself. Unfortunately, Colin grows impatient with Meg when Terri is out of the room and gives her the same treatment that he gave his girlfriend. At this point, Colin brandishes a pistol and forces Terri to pack her kids into their car and give him a ride. Later, during their ride, Terri flashes her high beams at a policeman. Incredibly enough, Colin doesn't notice this act, and the cop pulls them over. The cop asks Terri to step out of her car. Terri has every opportunity to explain her predicament, but she fears that Colin will kill her infant son. This makes you wonder why Terri put herself in such a predicament. Impatiently, Colin takes matters into his own hands before Terri can do anything else to sabotage his plans.

Veteran television director Sam Miller has a knack for staging action, and he makes this implausible hostage thriller look exciting. Ultimately, everything boils down to a one-on-one fight between Terri and Colin. They struggle for possession of Colin's automatic pistol in a darkened room at another house. Essentially, this is a David and Goliath bout. Nevertheless, desperation turns Terri into a superior adversary, and their fight is a down and dirty match. Inevitably, just when she thinks she has Colin down for the count, he pulls a "Halloween" and catches a second wind. Nothing about "No Good Deed" except its big twist reveal in the final scene is groundbreaking. Sure, that surprise at the end will make you turn your head, but it constitutes more of a cheat than a coincidence because there is no way that you can see it coming. Again, Terri's lack of common sense puts her at risk more than anything skillful that Colin did. "No Good Deed" lives up to its title. Interestingly enough, the studio that produced this lackluster thriller—Screen Gems—had so little faith in it that they delayed its release for two years.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Formulaic, but not awful.
urbanlegend2326 June 2016
"No Good Deed" isn't a bad home invasion thriller, but it's completely unremarkable, and merely satisfied with fitting a standard studio woman-in-peril mould. It's not difficult to tell where the events are all leading right from the beginning.

To its credit, the performances from Idris Elba, Taraji P. Henson and Leslie Bibb are decent, and the film manages one strong suspense sequence early on (Elba's first encounter with his ex-girlfriend after he leaves prison). There's also one mildly surprising twist in the final third, but its not enough to save a tepid, predictable middle section.

"Deed" is a film is enjoyed best as mindless entertainment on a rainy, stormy night (like the one in the film), with the proviso that you expect a film that trots along an utterly formulaic, seen-it-before path.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good Movie
bbickley13-921-5866414 September 2014
Idris Elba was the man, as a psychotic woman hating murderer who escapes jail and through a series of events, cross paths with Terri, played by Taraji P. Henson, who's was in a troubled marriage and vulnerable to the killer's charms.

It Reminded me of the 1986 movie, Extremities with Farrah Fawcett as the female victim being taken hostage by a criminal looking to steal her "goodies"

I thought No good deed was a lot more cleaver than most movies of this kind. In certain places, it has to fall into line of genre's plot (woman alone in the house without her man, then a scary bad boy comes to the door and charms his way into the lonely women's house), but the movie surprised me by putting a little ore substance into the female victim, by making her life more interesting than usual, and it helps having an Oscar nominee like Ms. Hensen play the role. A fact that was not used to advertise the movie as much as it should have. Definitely a better played out Victim than I've seen before.

A decent plot and a great thriller. I recommend giving it a shot.
30 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
What it's supposed to be - very entertaining
vettworx22 January 2015
I read a lot of reviews before watching, and truly was surprised as this movie was MUCH better than the detractors let on. The acting is great, the storyline, though part of a formulaic genre, is well thought out and moves at a great pace, the dynamic of action/release/suspense/reveal is well timed, and unless you're unbelievably difficult to entertain, you'll not want to be interrupted during any part of this film. Are there plot holes? We debated this and decided it's truly up to your point of view, but the events are actually all completely plausible. Summarily, unless you go into movies for the sole intent of picking them apart and finding things to not like, I guarantee you will be surprised, uncomfortable, freaked out, worried, excited, and ultimately entertained by No Good Deed.
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Very typical outcome...
Omar_innis22 September 2014
This movie had no substance, it was one of the worst I have to say I've seen so for in 2014. The storyline had a whole lot of holes, I can't make sense out of nonsense. Poorly done, love Taraji though so I rated solely on her. I have to give credit though for trying to put together a thriller, but all of these are always the same ending, only watched because the wife wanted to, without her this movie would have never gotten my time at all. If this is your kind of thriller, don't let my comment stop you from enjoying it. Those were just my thoughts on it. Idris alba, and Taraji Henson , love them great actors wasted energy however for them.
21 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Pretty Decent Film
cattjones12 September 2014
The story portrayed in this film is pretty much spelled out in the trailer. Crazy escaped convict terrorizes a woman and her kids. That's pretty much it, but there is a nasty little twist in the story that I did not see coming (although I did have a feeling). You know…. When you ask yourself "surely it isn't this" and come to find out …. Oh yes, it is. I have to give Colin (Indris Elba) a lot of credit for playing it super cool to make his way into the house. Although you knew he was the "bad" guy who is eventually going to snap, you kind of find yourself liking him for a little while (with his fine self). Terri (Taraji P. Henson) was a relatively smart women who made some serious errors at the beginning of the film, but had I not known in advance what was going to happen, I probably would not have thought that she did anything wrong. She was just trying to be nice and do the right thing. Meg (Leslie Bibb) is Terri's best friend and she drove home the point that no one knows you better than your best friend. At first I thought that she was going to be a little ditzy, but she proved me wrong. Jeffrey (Henry Simmons) is Terri's husband who does not seemed to be vested in the relationship. This is very apparent right from the beginning. I went to the 2nd showing on the day the film was released and I have to say that the theater was pretty well populated. The one thing that I have to say about seeing a film with a diverse crowd is that folks talk (out loud) to the people on the screen (myself included). Toward the end of the film I heard myself saying "how does she think that's going to work" and then immediately after that I said "why does he think that worked"…... you'll see what I mean when you go to see it. Other than that, there are three reasons why I liked this film…., the great lead characters, the consistent flow of the film and finally the whole story was told in around 90 minutes. This is director Sam Miller's first attempt at a widely distributed feature film and I think that he did a pretty good job. I would recommend it to a friend.
27 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
OMG don't waste your cash here!
tblaeducation27 September 2014
Look here is the skinny on this flick. It is so predictable I found myself saying out loud (but quietly) what was going to happen next. I mean really people can't these Hollywood money men find some better quality movies to get behind to finance. Let's not forget this movie as all the rest are a business. The business of INVESTING cash to produce a movie with the hopes you will spend your entertainment dollars seeing it so it makes them millions in profit. Don't let them make money on this one or we will never get them to stop producing trash and fooling us into thinking it's worth the price of a ticket and $15.00 popcorn. Plot plot plot help me find something entertaining about this movie that we don't know is going to happen before it happens. The acting is average and if an academy award ever makes it to this movie it will be because somebody paid somebody! Don't waste your money on this film you will be disappointed. Go see Denzel instead!!!! :-)
31 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A predictable, cliché filled eye roller.
MontyBurns196919 December 2014
Warning: Spoilers
WHY do they make movies like this?? I'll admit that sometimes I just like to watch a movie with a simple plot but this one was BAD. Take every cliché you can think of, roll them into 1 and you've got "No Good Deed." If this was billed as a comedy/thriller movie parody it would have been funny but otherwise, emotionless. Here are just a few of the predictable scenes from this movie (inserting SPOILER here would be a paradox).

1. Ominous thunder throughout suspenseful scenes.

2. Ditzy/sex crazed best friend used for fodder.

3. 5 foot something female fending off a 6 foot something male with random objects laying around the house.

4. Convict locked up tight with shackles taking over a transport van.

5. Female temporarily knocks out the bad guy during a struggle, then turns and runs upstairs.

And those are just off the top of my head, the bottom line is to go clean your house, water your lawn, or have a nap rather than waste your time with this one.
12 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A Black Version of a White Thriller
ghost_dog8615 September 2014
If they can make 'em for white people, then I guess they can make 'em for black people too. The "em" I am referring to is of course B-movie thrillers, which also falls into the category of: horror/date night fluff. In that same vein, "No Good Deed" is also predictable fluff; like, killer in the house and the girl runs upstairs, kind of predictable fluff. But I can't deny that I was fairly entertained by "No Good Deed"; even as all logic (ALL LOGIC) flew out the window about 20 minutes in, when (on a dark and stormy night) a black woman lets a strange black man into her home and offers him a change of clothes. Come on now; that would never happen.

From the trailers alone "No Good Deed" stunk of a Tyler Perry production; an insensitive black husband, his supremely intelligent yet shockingly under-appreciated black wife, and a man with anger management issues who is noticeably darker than the rest of the cast. Even as the film began, everything about it had the markings of something pretty "basic". An escaped convict (Idris Elba) with a history of violence towards women, harasses a woman (Taraji P. Henson) who is conveniently home alone. Yes, there is a twist at the end that is a bit too clever for this premise, but aside from that, the structure of "No Good Deed" is quite similar to films we've all seen before; only this time targeted at an African American audience, with Henson playing the part of the dumb blond…that is, until she says: "ENOUGH!" That said, the only thing which separates a "basic" movie from a watchable movie with a basic premise, is the filmmaker's execution and the actors involved.

While it is somewhat curious as to why Elba would star in a movie like this at this point in his career (and also hold a producer credit) for how one dimensional his character is, he does sell it with a performance that is brutally and relentlessly intimidating. As for the supporting cast, it is what it is. Henson screams when she is supposed to and acts sassy when Idris gives her just a bit too much lip. The script also contains more than enough "urban" attitude, which, along with Elba's menacing presence going toe to toe with Henson's "I'm Every Woman" performance, gives audiences those yell at the screen moments they paid to see.

The direction from Sam Miller is really what makes this movie what it is, as he simply does what he is asked to do, delivering a surprisingly high amount of tension throughout…and nothing more. Now, I don't want to heap too much praise on Miller's work, since what he has made is simply the cinematic equivalent of a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. But there is something to be said for a well-executed peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

Final Thought: At the end of the day "No Good Deed" may only work to reinforce the of stereotype of the "angry black man", but due to a good hour of well-constructed, tension driven sequences, followed by a few chase sequences, I fail to see how anybody wouldn't find this experience entertaining on some B-movie level. At the very least, "No Good Deed" is far far FAR more entertaining than the latest Kevin Hart movie or the annual "Tyler Perry Presents: Black People Acting a Fool" production.
24 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A fun thriller
bestactress-114 September 2014
Even after having watched the trailer you'll be in for lots of surprises. There were a few things I didn't see coming, subtle twists and turns which caught me off guard. Idris and Taraji have great chemistry on screen, you want to watch them and you don't get bored watching them.

I love to see films with black people in them, which have nothing to do with race or where race isn't even mentioned once. You literally could have placed any one from any ethnic background in any of those characters and it would have worked.

This movie re-enforced to me that Taraji and Idris are really good actors, I got my money's worth. I went to see the movie at the Grove where there are lots of tourists and people from all over the country, who have normal reactions to what they see on the screen. The audience as a whole cared a lot about Taraji's character, they cheered for her when she was winning and they had natural human responses that were real, and so at the end of the day, that says to me all the people involved in making this movie did their job. Seeing the film there got me avoiding the jaded Hollywood movie "experts" on cinema with their snobby intellectual bully b.s, I was with regular people at a movie theater, the reason actors make movies to begin with, the people who are funding our industry with their hard earned dollars, not movie critics who go the movies for intellectual stimulation instead of reading a freaking book. You're gonna like Taraji's bff, she has a great moment with Idris that has everyone who has a best friend going "YOU TELL IT."

I personally love to go see a movie and turn off my brain and enjoy myself and you get to do this with this movie, it kept my attention from beginning to end. Go see it, worth your money!
17 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Stupid does not begin to describe with how bad No Good Deed really is!
RforFilm16 September 2014
As a little boy growing up in a suburban home, my parents always reminded me about the dangers of strangers and letting them into your home. When I asked if I should let them in if their hurt, I was still told no as I would have no idea if the individual in question was lying about calling for help. For a kid of seven, this seemed very harsh as I thought we were supposed to help others whenever they needed us. The goody-two-shoes probably would have asked first before letting them in to use a phone. As luck would have it, door to door folks never graced our porch before we moved onto a vineyard. Now that I'm a twenty-something, I thank my parents for that lesson.

I understand now about letting strangers because appearances can be deceiving. It's not that I tell everyone from girl scouts to Mormons to scram, but you need to consider you're the outcome before you act. Another instance occurred when I was in college when I heard my dorm door knock when a shady looking student claimed to have left their phone at home and need to use mine for a second. He sounded legitimate, but he looked like a drug user, given his filthy clothes and his constant scratching to the face. Another lesson on strangers is given in No Good Deed.

Convicted felon Colin Evans (played by Idris Elba) makes his case for a release after serving five years for manslaughter, but the board denies him his freedom. His ride back is cut short when he kills the lone guard and driver (you'd think these guys would have more guards) and escapes. He finds his girlfriend Alexis and tries to talk her into coming with him, only to find that she's been unfaithful. This results in the film's first kill.

Outside of Atlanta, young mother Terri Granger (played by Taraji P. Henson) is watching her daughter Ryan and baby Sam alone as her husband has gone for a weekend vacation. Her best friend Meg suggests a girl's night during the impending thunderstorm (code for obvious symbolism). The rain comes along with Colin at the front door, claiming the he just needs a phone after crashing a truck. The all too trusting Terri lets the shadowy-man in to dry up and make chitchat. What starts as a friendly conversation becomes a deadly game of cat and mouse.

What pains me about No Good Deed is that there is nothing original. No new characters, no new setting, no new serial killer, and no new weapons. There's nothing in the story that surprises us. There's nothing about Colin that separates him from cardboard cutout killers. There's nothing about Terri that makes her any stronger then any other stock scared woman character. The conversations the characters have are nothing of interest unless wealthy suburban problems excite you. The chases through darkness are a dime a dozen compared to the hundreds of other burglar in the house scenario. Even the ending doesn't seem to imply any change within these characters.

No Good Deed may be bad (and I mean awful), but carries the worse distinction of being boring. Even a running time of eighty-two minutes seems too long here. Watching the grandfather clock in my parents home would have been more exciting then this. Watching this movie is like looking at a board game you've played a dozen times before, yet you play anyway because there's at least one more persons whose not familiar. Stupid does not even begin to describe the actions that happen and once the climax is ready to go, I just don't care any more.

I'll give this two open doors out of ten. I really like Idris Elba and is angers me that his acting profession was a waste of thought. I hope that director Sam Miller is next in line for some guillotine that can put his film career out of misery.
17 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good Movie
tumultfitness12 June 2015
This was a very good movie. I don't understand what most of the reviewers are talking about. It has everything that ALL of these kinds of movies have with a little more action and strength from the main female character. In fact, in most movies where you are sitting at home wishing the victim would do certain things, she does them all. There is a lot of good acting by the cast as well. Idris is always a great actor and he does not disappoint here. Most thrillers are predictable; there's a bad guy and a good guy and they duke it out to see who wins, so those complaining about there here must not watch a lot of movies. It was good and I would recommend it.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
No Good Part
matthewssilverhammer19 September 2014
A thriller movie's number one job is to be thrilling. Someone must've told the makers of NGD that passionate yelling between well-dressed yuppies on top of melodramatic score swells can pass as thrilling. Instead of excitement and scares, NGD gives us artlessly directed stiffness that only manages to be shockingly unpleasant. It's the kind of forgettable, mindless dreck that completely lacks identity or personality. Sure it's mercifully short, but it's even more mercilessly ugly. (WARNING: bad pun coming) All in all, No Good Deed has no good part. Elba plays an escaped murderer who wreaks havoc on Henson's family by tricking his way into their home. Lucky for Elba's character, there's not a single sharp knife in the drawer of characters he encounters. He uses his powers of clichéd dialogue and lazily-written coincidences to get whatever he wants, which is…unclear, to say the least. We know he's a "bad guy", but why? And what is his end goal? Motivations take a back seat in NGD, with the focus instead on predictable thriller beats, harlequin-novel style plotting, and a twist that is far from earned. Elba and Henson are both formidable screen presences, and it would normally be a gift to see them work together. Unfortunately to call their NGD characters one-dimensional is giving them one too many dimensions, unless pure sociopath and complete moron are dimensions. They're characters are purely there to force a hackneyed and dangerous message: all men are evil. Go see Guardians or Turtles again, but do all you can to stay away from this mid-budget Lifetime Channel movie.

http://movietownmovieclub.wix.com/coleandmatt
13 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
HONEY, I'M HOME
nogodnomasters18 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Colin Evans (Idris Elba) convicted of manslaughter did not get his parole because he is a psychopathic Narcissist. He does manage to escape into the poorly developed subplot of housewife Terri (Taraji P. Henson) and former DA. Her husband is gone. Colin has anger management and hydroplaning issues as he expectantly glides into the house of Terri, as we await the home hostage plot to kick-in...something that took way too long.

Terri is no shrinking violet and goes "Ray Rice" all over her captor with formulaic results.

The film takes place in the Atlanta area. There was nothing really different to the formula other than that the main cast is African-American, proving that you don't have to be white to make an unoriginal film.

Parental Guidance: F-bomb. No sex or nudity
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Person of non-Interest
Dr_Sagan21 December 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This a very common "Oh No! Don't do that" thriller. The kind of movie that its characters are asking for trouble and the audience goes "Oh No! Don't let him in" etc.

We've seen it before, and unfortunately "No Good Deed {goes unpunished}" (you see the effort for a moral here?) is pretty common indeed.

Idris Elba plays the charismatic (?) villain who escapes from prison after he denied parole and ends up in Taraji P Nelson's home during a heavy storm supposedly asking for help after his car crashed or something. There is a small twist at the end, but as a piece of entertainment this movie fails to intrigue with its uninspiring script and wastes the talent of its main actors.

Overall: You can pass that with no regret. It's a sub-par dull thriller.

.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Great Actors,Poor Concept and Execution
erinsm16 September 2014
Warning: Spoilers
The only reason I went to see No Good Deed was because my girlfriend asked me to join her and her sister for a movie night to give them some girl time. I personally found the storyline to have fantastic actors I loved, but an extremely poor execution. Colin Hayes (Idris Elba) is a convict who is serving time for manslaughter. Deemed unfit for parole due to his narcissism and sociopathic tendencies during his five year hearing, Hayes charms the driver and guard on his way back to prison, kills them and escapes. Meanwhile, Terri Granger (Taraji P. Henson), a former lawyer who is now a stay at home mom of two, is preparing for her husband to leave on a business trip. Colin's run from the cops leads him to his ex fiancée, Alexis, whom he violently kills after she denies being unfaithful to him, and, through a series of then-unexplained circumstances, Colin finds his way to Terri's home, just before her friend Meg arrives to keep her company while her husband is away. The film jumps between story lines quite a bit and features a very convincing performance by Elba, but Henson's Terri is written in an incredibly weak, naive and borderline stupid manner. Terri's friend Meg (Leslie Bibb) is a stereotypical white-girl-attracted-to-black-man, in an easily throwaway role as one of Hayes' victims. Most intriguing is the twist that led Colin to find Terri: his ex fiancée was having an affair with her husband. The ending does redeem the film to a point, but overall, it's a cheesy, unimpressive, cheap thrill.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Better than expected
phd_travel17 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
This thriller is actually quite a lot better than expected. Liked the way things tied up together. Doesn't always happen in this kind of thriller but here it does.

Idris Elba is a charismatic lead villain and he may seem more of a hero than a villain at first but that is part of the story. Taraji shows an interesting transformation from naive bored housewife to woman who fights back. A couple of formula elements can't be avoided in this thriller eg the best friend and the cop. There is a twist in the race of the cast here with black leads and white supporting cast.

Ignore the negative reviews, its surprisingly good.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Elba delivers
movies-by-db20 March 2015
Sure, I might have seen films with comparable story lines, we all probably have, but it still has it's own originality and a great performance absolutely nailed by Idris Elba.

All that Hollywood does is steal and rip off. Even (especially) our favourite wonder child Taranatino does it all the time. It's the way this is done that can make a film stand out. This, combined with plenty of atmosphere and solid performances all round make an entertaining and sometimes pretty tense watch.

I liked it, but must admit I'm a big fan of Elba's work so I am slightly biased. Just for his performance alone this is well worth a watch 7/10
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Never let strangers in your house...
deloudelouvain26 February 2015
I just saw the movie and I had a good time watching it.It's a decent thriller about an escaped psychotic convict played by Idris Elba. He did a good job with his role. The other main character is a woman (Terry) played by Taraji P. Henson that tries to help a man out. The story is entertaining enough to watch without getting bored. There are enough twists in the plot not to lose your interest in the movie. I don't get why so much people dislike this movie because let's be honest there are way much worse thrillers then this one. Okay it's not the greatest thriller ever but it's certainly watchable without being annoyed. Well at least to me it was.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Exceptional movie Despite the ratings
alycia-woods15 September 2014
This was a good movie despite the low ratings but then again you have people who literally haven't seen the movie yet rate it. Don't go by what you hear including from myself but just go and see the movie yourself. In the beginning it was a little dull but the movie picked up well. There was a twist on the movie that I honestly would have never figured it out until the movie got closer to the end. It was refreshing to see a good movie given to a dominant African American cast. Something new from Hollywood is always good and refreshing. We need more suspense movies with people of color (not just black, but blacks included). Rather than what we've been getting over the last past decades. I love both Taraji and Idris and I know that they did an excellent job.
9 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good Deeds Really Never Go Unpunished
briand646513 September 2014
Saw No Good Deed starring Taraji P. Henson and Idris Elba at AMC Theatres last night! "Terri" played by Henson is a devoted house wife and mother of two who resides in Atlanta, Georgia and appears to be unhappy in her marriage. "Terri's" husband played by Henry Simmons goes on a getaway vacation to celebrate his father's birthday leaving his own family behind, but promises "Terri" he'll take some vacation time with her after he returns.

"Colin," who is played by Elba shows up at "Terri's" door acting as a charming man asking to use her telephone after wrecking a stolen car, but is really an escaped dangerous convict seeking revenge in this twisted thriller. "Terri" lets him use the phone and gets a little too friendly and personal with him, but soon learns that "no good deed goes unpunished." She finds herself fighting for survival when "Colin" invades her home, kidnaps her, and terrorizes her family. Crazy movie! Suspenseful, thrilling, edge of your seat kind of film! My cinema score is 8.5/10! Go see it! ‪#‎maverickradio‬™
9 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Unintentionally Funny
rrice713 September 2014
I'm pretty sure this is not what watchers expected, but the poor decisions that led to the ultimate fate of the characters were comical. I know this is supposed to be a suspense film, but the "twist" or "unravel" is far from shocking and a bit disappointing. The acting was okay, the story line could have undoubtedly been better, but I would think that I'd be more than happy to see this on DVD months later vs paying almost $23 for a theater run. If you're on the fence, I'd say climb back to your side and wait to rent on DVD, you won't be missing anything by waiting. I'd even go as far to say you won't be missing much by passing all together...I think the hype was more exciting than the movie itself.
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I am shocked that this movie has such a low rating!
powell-yendi24 September 2014
This movie has everything a movie-goer could possibly ask for. It is entertaining, suspenseful, funny, and charming. What more could a person ask for? Idris Elba is so hot and Taraji Henson plays such a convincing, lonely housewife. I wish the movie was a little longer but it was worth every minute and every dollar. There is a substantial amount of violence so I would not say this is a must-see for the faint of heart. The setting is also very dark throughout most of the movie which is, in my opinion, a bad idea when the leading roles are played by African-Americans. Nevertheless, I would watch it again. It was not only exciting, but it is realistic, so it sends a good message. Bravo to the writer/director.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Best Attempt
simccrady15 September 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I read the reviews before I went to see this movie and against better judgment I saw it anyway. I love Taraji and Idris and wanted to believe that somehow it was not as bad as I read - it was. What a waste $35 (that included popcorn and a drink). From the very beginning the movie was not believable.Many of the decisions Terri (Taraji) makes with Colin (Idris) is ridiculous even for a "not so bright" person. Then when she announces what her profession is it becomes even that much more preposterous. The twist loses all credibility because the movie drifts along every movie cliché imaginable and then eventually it comes to an uneventful end. I was really sad to see two outstanding actors accepting a script and putting forth their best attempt to make something pliable out of a really bad movie. I would have believed this was a Tyler Perry movie except no man saves the woman in the end.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Seen it before, and seen it better.
thedukeofmovietown14 September 2014
I happened to catch NO GOOD DEED yesterday. This movie, directed by Sam Miller, stars Taraji P. Henson and Idris Elba in a classic retelling of the age old scenario of putting a doe eyed woman in a house alone with a psycho killer.

Let me start out on a positive note by saying that Taraji P. Henson does a good job of emoting true fear in this and Idris Elba's character's intellectual psychosis is built up in an interesting way that leaves the audience tense wondering which is worse, what he plans to do or what his frustration will drive him to do. The camera work here is alright too. That being said, the main thing that really drags this movie down is the fact that we've seen it so many times! Whether it be 1967's Wait Until Dark or 1979's When A Stranger Calls (or in it's 2006 remake for that matter), or even the opening scene of Scream, that classic slasher send up of 1996, we've seen it and at this point we all know what to expect. There's running, screaming, kicking, stabbing, jump scares. Pretty much every trope in the book is here even the obligatory plot twist and while that may be OK for movies like Texas Chainsaw Massacre or P2 or (95% of) High Tension, this movie doesn't try to be inventive in any way. It's straight-up and by the numbers and in effect, it's amazingly stale. I can't say that I recommend it but if you really want to see it, like if you're a die hard Idris Elba fan or something, do yourself a favor and catch it on TNT some Sunday afternoon a couple years from now, then switch over to football after about 45 minutes because you'll likely be bored. No Good Deed gets a 2...out of 5.
8 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed