Homeland (TV Series 2011– ) Poster

(2011– )

User Reviews

Review this title
448 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
From 8 to 5 (forcing story to stay centered soley on Carrie has been its downfall)
tim_s_wiley9 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The first 3 to 4 seasons are great(8+). After 4 episodes in on season 1 the characters sink into their roles and viewers get a feel for characters/story and become vested. Somewhere beyond season 4th season the show kinda declines into sporadic strategic misfiring that is just indicative to a lack of insight as to what the hardcore fans enjoyed about the series.

The show was built to be anchored around 2 characters (Carrie & Saul)... That's what made it soar in the beginning, but its also the show's biggest anchor and impediment.

Additional characters organically develop in this series like Brody & Quinn, and others that become powerful enough characters that draw viewers just as deep if not deeper than the planned formula of Saul/Carrie. This not only spices the show up but it relieves viewer fatigue of watching Carrier repeatedly go through her issues over and over in order to achieve interested dramatic effect.

These two major characters became critical and grew to carry this series to very new heights. Then the writers/produces irresponsibly ignore what these two characters brought to the show and it just seems writing/direction is forcefully introduced to steer the focus back to Carrie/Saul. And its very intrusive to the cohesiveness of the story and definitely leaves the audience feeling the show is become more artificial.

The other issue is that by removing both these characters the show is now VOID of any really "Good guys" leading characters... As time goes viewers learn both Brady & Quinn are the shows only seriously "good guys" on the show... They care and have a code of ethics way higher than Carrie or Saul. They are not perfect but have overwhelmingly redeeming qualities that make up for the bad. However, events really bring you to despise both Carrie and Saul for who they are. Viewers learn there is no loyalty and they both are ready to risk/do via force or manipulation to other good people under an illusion the risk is worth the reward...

They still personally believe they are good and do good overall but at their core nothing is sacred to accomplish what they need at all costs... and in the end both characters become sellouts to their own needs or masking it under many times very thin veil of country needs when it really was only for their personal interests.

I think the writers had a good formula here but they are now seemingly forced to keep the story rooted in Carrie and Saul and that has left the show void of a real hero people can identify with as they could with Brody / Quinn...

And the ridiculous writing on the demise of Quinn from the poisoning forward is amateurish at best and just shows the show is misfiring and not quite aware of what they fan base enjoyed about the program. Acting is super solid across the board... the only issue is maintaining the stories organic continuity and balance set aside some obvious cheese with Quinns repeated demises, and how they amateurly let a double agent station chief in Berlin run amuck in active operations even after they know she's a snowden level traiter and weakly convinces Dar Adal of otherwise... Hit a real cheese point there.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
With Brody Lost the Direction Lost....
prismatic_1929 November 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I have been a huge fan of "Homeland" and despite the fact that Homeland throughout its seasons have been depicting my home country (Pakistan) as a prehistoric barbaric state, i admired the twists and resilience of characters. But with Brody killed in Iran, it appears as if their is not much left in the show.

The direction in 4th season kind of blew my mind. I mean they could just fly in to Islamabad and shoot their episode, instead of creating a lame Islamabad somewhere in Washington's suburbs. Their are no rickshaws in Islamabad. The Washroom is not called Paakhana. Coffee House is not called "Chaiwalla". Their is no ISlamabad Bazaar in Islamabad. People don't use Urdu and neither understand it in Waziristan agency and thousands of other hilariously lame things. The Homeland team could do some research before airing this ill-crafted season. I am sorry but these are the facts.

The drone queen Miss Carrie gets out of her mind on the death of an American but she hardly gives a **** when she kills 40 tribal kids and women in a drone strikes... with such paradoxes i don't know what the homeland team want to prove.
55 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Intriguing Drama with an immensely talented cast.
aks559212 October 2011
If you wanted to see a gripping thriller with incredible characters, you have come to the perfect place. 'Homeland' is the new Showtime Drama that entertains you throughout and never lets you go, thus succeeding in slipping in some really unexpected twists in the plot. With writers who've previously written for '24', the show does look inspired when it comes to keeping the audience in the dark.

The show is blessed with a small but amazing cast whose performance is worth every penny. Claire Danes plays an intense CIA analyst who believes that recently recovered P.O.W. (Damian Lewis) is plotting to attack America. Her character is unstable and makes it hard for the audience to believe her which adds to the beauty of the script. Damian Lewis, on the other hand, plays the 'guy in uniform' with ease as he did splendidly in 'Band of Brothers'. The show hasn't revealed much about Damian's character and I have a feeling they wouldn't do that any time soon, since it keeps the suspense going.

The pilot was top-notch and certainly the best that premiered this fall. If the show continues to be intriguing and maintains the high quality of the pilot, it can surely be a genius.

10 stars at least for now.
264 out of 388 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Too much drama
gdaskalou-3251620 December 2017
The series started so nice and until the 5th season was pretty good. You had thrill and action and drama ... but season 6 ... omg no!!! And also for the love of god ... please can we stop seeing Claire Danes crying in every single episode almost ????
38 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent!
deloudelouvain17 February 2015
It goes beyond my comprehension that people hate this show. They must all be American brainwashed patriots. Seriously get over it, it's just a show and it's a good one. I absolutely love this show, the actors are all very believable in their roles, the storyline is exceptional, full of twists that keeps you on the edge of your seat during the whole show. At the end of every episode I already want to watch the next one as soon as possible. Everything that you think happens in real life when you think about CIA, espionage, terrorists and so on passes the register. Conspiracies, paranoia, double-crossing, betrayal, false promises etc. Clair Danes puts down a brilliant performance playing an unstable CIA analyst. To me the whole series is full of action and suspense. One of the best series!
70 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A brilliant first season leaves me pining for more.
endemoniada-119 December 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Wow, yeah, so a lot of people watched the final episode and thought the show sucked. Maybe they're right, a lot of them also seem to share the same problems with it, from the ending being disappointing to it being a "propaganda show" AGAINST the USA.

First of all, whatever the political aspirations of the show's creators, this is a fantastically solid, well-acted and directed first season of a show that feels like what 24 should have been from the start. Tight-knit, down-to-earth suspense with an actually realistic premise. As for the supposed "propaganda", it's time the people in the US hear what the rest of the world has been thinking for a decade now. No, really, we actually don't think it's absolutely ridiculous that 10 years of retaliatory wars in the Middle East will spawn some kind of blowback. This show explores what we've all been thinking, but American patriotism makes it shameful to admit. I find that incredibly strong and encouraging, and it makes me watch it not because I hate American, but because I enjoy and appreciate truth.

As for the acting, I sincerely hope Claire Danes will receive proper recognition. Especially in the last few episodes towards the end, her performance has been among the strongest on TV in years. Lately, only Brian Cranston's amazing tour-de-force in Breaking Bad has topped it. Damian Lewis, too, delivers like I've rarely seen. Far from the caricatures of Muslim terrorists Americans apparently would like to see, he sincerely and convincingly acts out the role of the man who is emotionally sure of what he wants, but not brainwashed enough to think is the absolute only way to achieve it. Desperation can make anyone rationalize their goals, but not always be enough for that final push.

Now I eagerly await the second season, amid the angry and upset cries of all the people who can only accept fantasy that supports their own, real homeland.
151 out of 230 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Slow and formulaic
a1_andy_115 November 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Homeland has been receiving rave reviews and I can't see why. It's predictable, corny and incredibly slow at times. Our lead character is a troubled, stubborn, renegade agent who constantly disobeys her Superiors (she also can't stop shouting). This formula has been used in every buddy cop show ever made. Not to mention shows like The Shield, 24, etc. Although this time I found myself siding with the villain. Clare Danes makes for a very annoying and unlikeable Jack Bauer clone who over acts every scene with the same three facial expressions.

The middle east is portrayed in the usual black and white over the top Hollywood style. Then comes the slow pacing, with hollow characters going through predictable motions the viewer has too much time to realise not enough effort went into the story. 24 got away with insane plot holes because it was so fast paced, the viewer is on a roller-coaster ride.

Damian Lewis is a good actor but he has nothing to work with here. As is Mandy Patinkin, their talent is wasted on this shoddy 24 clone.
197 out of 320 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
If CIA operates anything like HOMELAND we're doomed!
gingerdog4314 January 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Sounds interesting until you watch it, and if you're like me you tend to pick it's bones like turkey on Thanksgiving. Carrie has an affair with Brody to get closer to gathering information, but she actually falls for him, then has a nervous breakdown & acts all jittery & crazy. Yet she's still allowed to be in charge & hold her rank in the CIA while crying at every drop of a hat? Puleeeese! And the Brody character is not only titled an American hero, but he's a Congressman scouted to be the Vice President's running mate. That in itself would be a lot on his plate, but where does he find time to plot terrorist activities, stay abreast of military & presidential affairs, while hiding from press who usually dog any political appointee, and sneak off from his wife & kids while running off to meet Carrie for weekends in little cabins in the woods? Puleeeese! Mandy Pantikin co-stars as Saul,whose been with the CIA 35 years. He trained Carrie & placed her in the field, and though not her boss anymore, he's still protective of her & she looks to him as a mentor. However, she rarely takes his advice these days & constantly runs off on tangents which, in real life, would either get her killed or most likely stripped of rank & fired. I really like Pantikin but sad to see him take on a role of such a complacent character. Give him some spit & fire! Puleeeeese!! I'm bored with it now & probably will drop it altogether. Hopefully before the next time (otherwise pretty) Claire Danes' cry face freezes that way...
73 out of 112 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Writers from kindergarten?
acana7916 April 2017
To sum up: Don't watch Homeland anymore.

Season six again fails in every way to live of to the complex and intriguing story telling we're used to from season 1-3 of Homeland. I feel that the story is written by first-timers with a target audience of the mental age of 7.

The main plot of season 6 is good, but for some strange reason we're forced to watch side stories that are so far from relevant to the main story it actually hurts watching them. It just builds up frustrations that doesn't go away. Also, the key characters behaves ridiculously unprofessional giving their line of work and the communication between them is so poor you wonder if they're simply children dressed up as grownups. I wonder why the actors agree to such stupid scripts in the first place, as they are so wonderfully good at what they do?

It fails so hard at telling the story that at the end of episode 12 you just realized you waisted 12 hours of your life for nothing. Viewers are left with an unsatisfying end that explains absolutely nothing, and the use of story telling throughout the episodes is so poor you simply wonder if they thought it was going to go on for 100 episodes = we have time..? And no, it's most definitely not the way to gear up for another season. There is nothing remotely professional about doing that. It just screams: I don't know what to write but we have a contract for a few more seasons so let's just write stuff.

The fact that people actually get paid for producing this crap is just unbelievable.

Stay way and watch something else.
60 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This series has become a spoof of itself.
VGilliganXFiles327 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Headline says it all. Watching it continue to worsen with every season is literally like pulling your own teeth. Claire D has become cringeworthy to watch - her cry face is the worst of any actor or actress I can think of... Should have ended season 5 with her and Quinn retiring and getting together; instead, they just keep s******g out season after season, worse than the one previous. What is even happening right now?

Carrie is a loon. Saul (I love Mandy but he refuses to actually embrace projects that compliment his abilities) is boring us to tears by doing absolutely nothing. The entire arc of the last two seasons is somehow about Alex Jones, Hilary Clinton, Barrack and Trump all rolled into one... The actor playing Alex Jones is horrendous. I'm sorry, but no one cares about your political statement - we watch fiction to unplug from the world, and to be entertained. Homeland has become an hour long reminder of how terribly moronic humans, fans and hollywood are. No thank you. Next.
58 out of 89 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Yet Another Propaganda Production
moussazalzala29 October 2017
Do you belong to the kind of people who think they are knowledgeable but in reality they are simple minded who gets manipulated easily by propaganda and untruthful media?

Do you believe in political and religious matters without doing enough investigation?

Do you suck in checking the reliability of sources?

Do you get horny when you hear the term "American Dream"?

If the answer for all the 4 questions is yes, then this series is guaranteed to be great for you. The only problem is that if you belong to this kind of people, you won't know it. Besides, it is clear that the writer of the story didn't do the slightest research which is unneeded due to the nature of most of the series fans.

First, never in the history of humanity, has Hezbollah and AL-Qaeda worked together. Al-Qaeda existed in the first place to annihilate Hezbollah and their followers. The war that is going on in Syria was most of the time between AL-Qaeda and Hezbollah. The war that took place recently in Lebanon was between AL-Qaeda and Hezbollah. The history between the 2 sides is full with nothing but war.

Second, Hamra street in Lebanon is a beautiful and touristic town. It is not what they showed in this series. Hezbollah control is none in this area, none. Even the areas where Hezbollah has presence are too far away from Hamra. The chance of seeing a gun in this town is too rare. This town is only controlled by Lebanese general security. It's even rare to see a hand fight in this area.

Third, Lebanese don't speak Arabic like the rest of the Arabs. That's a known fact to anyone who did a few seconds search on google about this. Lebanon speak an accent which uses informal Arabic, little to none formal Arabic, and a mishmash of English and French which make the Lebanese accent a bit difficult to understand for other Arabs. The accent spoken by the actors who are supposed to be Lebanese in this series is not even close to Lebanese.

Forth, the Lebanese you showed in the series are not even a close presentation of Lebanese neither in the way they dress, speak, nor look like.

In the end, not every one who liked this series is like I described. So in conclusion, good and enjoyable series to watch during lunch for those who are just looking for adrenaline moments regardless of their beliefs. But epic and legendary for those who belong to the category I just described.
23 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It was once good.
jtaylor-5810019 February 2018
The current season's plot is absurd and hackneyed with poor writing and acting. The show runners and writers obviously believed Hillary would win, but when she didn't they were left scrambling and it shows in the mess that is this season.

It has lost its entertainment value, but that often happens with series that lasted longer than they should have. Dexter and True Blood are also examples of this phenomenon.
66 out of 103 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Why am I watching this?
nguon-vincent5 November 2012
Warning: Spoilers
  • Overstretched plot - VERY unlikeable characters (especially the main character) - So many useless scenes - Not enough story-driven - Plot-holes - Unrealistic fiction


What appeared to be a great idea on paper: "a POW has been turned" is becoming a dramatic soap opera... I was expecting something 24-like because of the writers but nothing is common, no action, no twists, no cliffhangers, no nothing. I hate Carrie, Saul, Brody's wife, I kinda like Brody (props to his daughter's acting) who is supposed to be the bad guy... who apparently is going to be led straight to the VP office.

I don't even know why I'm watching but I think I will stop soon if nothing happens. I started because of the hype, but I shouldn't have.

The only thing I like about this show is that you can start watching and do something else on the side you wont miss a lot.

And finally: WHY WOULD YOU F*** SOMEONE YOU THOUGHT COULD BE A TERRORIST???
194 out of 325 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Powerful, sophisticated drama
kkay311 December 2011
Who said American television couldn't produce an edgy, compelling drama that captivates an audience? Homeland is spell-binding, packed with enough twists and turns to keep even a seasoned mystery writer wondering. Superb acting and a script that manages to avoid the usual clichés. Kudos to the writers! I found myself debating the civil liberties vs. national security issues that are so artfully posed each week.Claire Danes, Damien Lewis and Mandy Patinkin inhabit their characters.The producers also refrained from populating the cast with impossibly beautiful people who are unlikely candidates for clandestine operatives. The performances are nuanced and exquisitely wrought.They raise serious questions about the sacrifices both personal and physical that are required in the world of espionage, and the political consequences of using "heroes" for cynical ends. This show and its ensemble cast are MUSTS for Emmy recognition.
185 out of 310 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It was sooo good and then it went downhill
pearson-maxmissy-victori27 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The show was so good for the first three seasons. It had me on the edge of my seat and I could not stop watching. Then season 4 was just so boring. Carrie completely changed. Not carring about her family AND EVEN HER OWN DAUGHTER. It was just very disappointing because it used to be so good.
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
An annoyingly stupid depiction...
kabir-malik-564-92093724 December 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Annoying characters, meaningless drama and absolutely no attention to detail.

This show would have you believe that the major CIA operations are based on the whims and fancies of an out of control, emotionally unstable over grown child. What a joke! The whole series is characterized by painful stupidity and unbelievable laxness on the part of both terrorists and CIA operatives.

There is one scene where a terrorist lies down ON TOP of the backseat of a car with a blanket over himself and the driver never notices. Even when she is stopped at a police check point by a cop with a torch (security for the vice president) no one notices anything!!! Really?

In addition to all the stupidity, the show is also borderline offensive to Arabs.

I wish I had not bought the whole damn season on amazon.

THE WIRE still reigns supreme as (by far) the best drama ever.... ...is there no one else?
88 out of 144 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
good but really nothing that extraordinary
nanofcb27 September 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Mmm I think that the shows starts good but after that they just overstretched the story with just unexplained twists.

the good part extends from the pilot to the 6/7 episode, after that parking lot sex it just goes stupidly wrong. I mean how the hell a CIA agent will go out and sleep with somebody she's suspecting to be a freaking terrorist FFS and how does a trained CIA agent believes the words of someone that just admitted to her face that he was lying, oh just because she fell in love with him, yeah you heard right, a CIA Agent fell in love with the man she was convinced he was a terrorist just a few days ago.

Oh and please,to the writers of this show and others in general, stop using the "bipolar" thing just to solve your plot writing issues, it's really getting old and lame.

Not talking about the disappointing ending, Overstretched Plot is Freaking OVERSTRETCHED. Don't believe the hype.
125 out of 210 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
USED TO BE the best show on television.
ringheidie12 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I cant believe we had to wait two years for this, its so disappointing. The casting, the acting, the story line, the whole thing just fell apart. Its like watching a tired rerun with present day politics. As if we dont get enough of that crammed down our throats. Serious boo for casting.
41 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Am I the only one who HATES this show?
richwgriffin-227-17663525 September 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I guess I am the only one who absolutely hates this show. I've watched 3 episodes only (it's all I could bear to watch) - dull, boring, poorly acted (Danes and Lewis won Emmys for their - ahem - performances?). The pacing is deadly - it's also remarkably visually flat. And what is the point of this show? A complete waste of time. I am curious as to what others think the politics of this show is? What is the P.O.V.? I know others love this show so it may be just a case of my disliking where others are at psychologically at this dangerous time in history. I don't like a single one of the characters on this show! Also, less than 3 million people watch this show? (That's 3 million more than should, LOL!). O.K., only 1 star for this piece of junk!
192 out of 334 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Decent show spoiled by too many errors
devindran3 February 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Any show that sets itself out as a 'real world' scenario should at least make some attempt to get its story straight.

Throughout the whole season, there were so many 'mistakes' that made me just want to stop watching.

*spoilers* E.g. 1. FBI raids into a dark building and shoots without thinking. There were people doing morning prayers in that building. Why would it be pitch black again?

2. A good explanation was given by Brody about the requirements of the faith to cleanse their hands and feet. Yet when he was praying with the son of the terrorist, both of them were wearing shoes INSIDE the house while praying.

3. Why does his wife keep calling him Brody?

4. Vice president is coming just days after a bomb explosion, and security is tight, but ONLY on the day of the event? I guess the police must think that terrorists don't actually attempt to sneak in the night before. I have shitty police here, but even they manage to shine a spotlight at the rear seat of my car for any given check.

5. Guy confesses to you that he's been lying about EVERYTHING he told (under oath?). 1 minute later you find out his most recent story about his partner dying is totally not true. Your decision? Totally drop any doubt you may have about him since you now love him.

This is one of those few shows where I was actually rooting for Brody to blow himself and everyone in that room up just because the good guys are such bumbling idiots.
67 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Thought Provoking Television
JoeC3458 August 2013
If you want to watch some inane shoot em up show about terrorism where America can do no wrong and always kills the enemy, there are plenty of those available. However if you want a more in depth look at the causalities of terrorist attacks and the people that devote their lives to preventing them, then Homeland is a show for you.

One thing that has bothered me for years in shows like 24 is the stereotypical views that they promote about the non-traditional Americans such as Muslims. Every single Islamic member that is shown in shows like 24 ends up having some ties to terrorism and is inherently evil. It doesn't stop there though, any deviation of what is thought to be the ideal American lifestyle leads to trouble in such single minded simplistic shows, but I digress.

This is a review about Homeland which is a surprisingly good entertainment. It starts with Carrie Mathison (Claire Danes in an astonishing performance) learning that an American POW has been turned and is now working for a terrorist organization. Later when an American POW, Gunnery Sergeant Nicolas Brody (Damian Lewis), is rescued she starts to think that he may have been the one she was warned about.

WIthout any proof or any real probable cause, she opens an investigation and begins tracking his movements to see if anything raises suspicions. Another bothersome thing about many other shows is the way the lead characters of those shows someone has the audacity and ability to flout both federal and state laws without any repercussions. Homeland does not let any of it's characters get off so easy. If any character is in the wrong in any way they are appropriately chastised for it. In addition to Claire Danes and Damian Lewis awards worthy performances, Mandy Patinkin's performance as upper level CIA officer and Carrie Mathison's mentor is phenomenal.

Not wanting to give away to much of this amazing plot I will end this review here. However I will say that even though the first few episodes of season one are a little slow, it is to be expected since automatically leading into the action is a good way to turn an astute brilliantly crafted show into another asinine action filled debacle.
66 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Ridiculous!!! Producers should apologies to Lebanese people!
chadys17 October 2012
I watched the first season of Homeland and I absolutely loved it. Couldn't wait to start the second season, but unfortunately, it started in Beirut! The scenes that the producers are projecting about Beirut is absolutely ridiculous!! It's far from the truth and makes me sick to even see our beloved capital portrayed in this disgusting manner ! It was misrepresentation at its most outrageous!!!

"The cars were those ancient and ropy Mercedes from central casting, but the reality is that there are probably more Porsche Cayennes per capita in Beirut than there are in Stuttgart.

Beirut airport looked like it was teleported to El Salvador, while the CIA's Carrie Mathison, played by Claire Danes, felt compelled to wear a hijab.

Yes, all the clichés were rolled out to ensure that Lebanon was portrayed as a hostile, western-hating and conservative Arab country. Why? Because that was the vibe the show's producers wanted."

The producers of the show should issue an official apology to Lebanon and its people for tarnishing the image of our capital! !

Hamra street is one of the main bloodlines of Beirut, full of restaurants, pubs and nightclubs, probably more than times square or union square. Terrorists don't run around shooting people and meeting hezbollah in the middle of Hamra street, portrayed as one small alley with very old peugeot cars parkes sideways. it's a shame producers don't spend a little more time researching a place before tarnishing the image of a country, just like that...
62 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Flawless TV
GaiaOnlyKnows26 December 2011
This series is truly great television. On every single level it works and the judgemental aspect of my brain can only give up finding something to criticise. First of all the show deals with the subject of terrorism in a very mature way, there is no ideology behind the script and every perspective is treated fairly. The characters have a real depth rarely seen on screen which is backed up by a lot of very solid acting. Indeed, the conflicting elements to the central characters which makes the show so great would unlikely be pulled off without actors of the calibre of Claire Danes, Damian Lewis, Mandy Patinkin and Morena Baccarin (also particular kudos to the daughter played by Morgan Saylor - one to watch out for in the future). Not only do you watch these characters go through some truly weird and strained circumstances, you really feel it too. The story also has a depth and complexity to it that has only been seen in shows such as The Wire, Lost, The Sopranos and Generation Kill. There are no plot holes that distract from the often quite tense narrative and despite what you think of the overall subject I would be surprised if this show didn't totally suck you in. This is a very real, well thought out and well executed show. Two big thumbs up to everyone involved. For everybody else - go watch it.
145 out of 253 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Really nothing to recommend
skyflyer712 November 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I've watched only the first five episodes so far, and i'm starting to think that's enough. I hoped this series would be pretty good. Although, so far i've felt totally disappointed with it. I didn't have high expectations of it but i had hoped it would at least be moderately entertaining. The show is entirely made up of unlikeable characters. Literally all the main characters are annoying. The CIA agent is a completely unbelievable character that makes it virtually impossible to suspend your disbelief and get into the (weak) story. Her part is poorly acted and scripted and is probably the biggest turn-off of the series for me. Sergeant Brody is so dull, boring and often (again) unlikeable i am left not caring if he's turned or not, which seems to be the supposed mystery of the whole thing. There's very little story so far. It seems like every now and again, one of the main characters will start speaking Arabic (as if that in itself implicates them as a possible terrorist) which seems to be trying to serve as a "twist" to draw the series out. What seems to have been forgotten is you can't "twist" a story that isn't there yet! That said, anyone who thought Lost was good will probably think this is too, being seemingly of the same formula. I notice others compare Homeland unfavourably to 24. Personally, i'm not a fan of 24. but i can see why fans of that wouldn't like this. There's zero action in Homeland. I can only imagine the most paranoid and xenophobic of viewers really getting into this (which is probably why it won awards). I only gave this 3 rather than zero because i haven't seen it all. As my flatmates are watching it, i'll prob sit in and catch some more and update this review if need be.
65 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst series ever.
grm00927 December 2014
Warning: Spoilers
The first season left me looking forward to the second. By the end of the second, the plot has become so preposterous and so idiotic, I'm sorry I wasted my time watching any of it. The plot meanders here and there, people get killed, accidents happen, here and there, and to what end? The answer is to keep the show going mindlessly for another season or two. I'm finished. Every American character is a government employee, except for wives and children. Every Muslim is a terrorist. The worst part of the series is the fact that whoever wrote the script obviously had no idea where he was going to go at the start. This has to be (I hope) the nadir of Claire Danes' acting career where she repeats the same horrible affectations-mouth quivering between grimace and grin, and an idiotic wide-eyed look where her corneas become dots in the middle of the whites of her eyes. I'll chalk that up to incompetent directing. The main characters- Carrie and Brody- are deeply despicable, amoral characters who have the same predictable conversations feeding each others' delusions over and over again. The worst part of it is that the producers of this pretentious garbage seem to expect that the viewers have forgotten all about their deeds and have somehow transformed them into sympathetic characters. There isn't a moment of irony, or self-reflection in the entire series. I do think I see a look in Mandy Patinkin's face where he's thinking "This turkey's even worse than Criminal Minds." Go and watch The Assets and see how it's done when it's done really well.
52 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed