Beverly Hills Chihuahua 2 (Video 2011) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
9 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
Straight to DVD sequel can't hold a candle to brilliant, Chihuahua #1
Turfseer9 April 2011
Warning: Spoilers
For those of you who loved Beverly Hills Chihuahua (including myself), I am sad to report that Beverly Hills Chihuahua 2 is not a worthy sequel to its enormously entertaining predecessor. Obviously patched together rather quickly to capitalize on the success of Chihuahua #1, BHC2 is a straight to DVD concoction. All the actors have been replaced except for George Lopez who reprises the voice of Papi. Also missing are stars Jaime Lee Curtis, who had a short but effective role as the dog loving businesswoman, Aunt Viv, and Drew Barrymore who had the starring (voice) role as Chloe.

BHC2 begins right away with the wedding of Papi and Chloe. A few months later Chloe gives birth to a brood of five pups, four girls and a boy. Chloe's owner, Rachel and her mother Aunt Viv, are off on a trip to the Amazon rain forest and have even lesser roles here than in the original 'Chihuahua'. The audience is further short-changed when Delgado, the German Shepard former police dog, is relegated to a supporting role as he attempts to locate his long lost 'sons' who are now police dogs for LAPD.

It takes a very long time before we break into 'Act 2' in BHC2 and that occurs when Sam and his parents (the Cortez's) are faced with losing the family home. While BHC1 had a menacing and realistic drug cartel member as an antagonist (coupled with his equally scary canine counterpart, 'El Diablo'), all BHC2 can muster up is a buffoonish bank executive, entrusted with taking possession of the Cortez family home.

Sam needs to come up with $50K cash so they decide to enter a prestigious dog show. Somehow, the dogs are allowed to enter the contest without any investigation into their pedigree. It's only after Papi ends up winning (by arranging flower petals into the shape of a heart) that it finally occurs to the stuffy lead judge, that Papi isn't a full pedigree. Papi is disqualified and Sam is back to square one, trying to figure out how to get the cash to prevent foreclosure of their home.

The 'dark moment' at the end of the Second Act occurs when the puppies follow Delgado who's still looking for his long lost sons. Sam, Papi and Chloe are frantic that the little ones are now lost. The puppies end up in duffel bags containing stolen cash, carried by criminals who have just robbed a bank. Papi's brother, Pedro, finds a cap belonging to the one of the robbers and the scent leads the dogs to a bread factory, where they rescue the puppies and chase the robbers out, into the arms of the police.

Unlike BHC1, which had an extremely inventive plot and all kinds of interesting characters and production numbers (remember that wonderful 'Aztec warrior' Chihauhau dance?), BHC2 is simply a formulaic Disney second-rate comedy. While BHC1 was full of laugh out loud jokes, BHC2 simply expects us to laugh merely by offering up a bunch of talking dogs without the wit of the original. For those who haven't seen BHC1, please pick up a copy; and try to forget the sequel!
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
More Chihuahuas!!
Wolford1 February 2011
I liked the original Beverly Hills Chihuahua well enough. It certainly wasn't spectacular, but it was OK. I remember saying at the time: "It needs more chihuahuas." Beverly Hills Chihuahua 2 answers my request. Chloe and Papi are back with a litter of puppies. They have some really cute adventures and save the day with chihuahua can-do. The film is quick too, with an 84 minute run time. It is a nice little kids movie. The dogs are cute as buttons, which I think is the point of these movies. My 12 year old enjoyed that. I did as well. I think adults will like it too as long as they remember that it is a Disney children's movie about talking dogs. Unfortunately, Drew Barrymore does not return as the voice of Chloe.
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Simply Splendid Family Comedy
rannynm7 July 2011
Beverly Hills Chihuahua 2 is an irresistible Disney comedy with tons of adventure that is perfect for the entire family! It is directed by Alex Zamm and written by Dannah Feinglass, Danielle Schneider, and Jeffrey Bushell.

Beverly Hills Chihuahua 2 is about two newlywed Chihuahuas named Papi and Chloe who start a family. Chloe gives birth to 5 impetuous and reckless puppies, but the pups soon get their act together when they find out their human owners have trouble paying off the mortgages for their house. The dogs decide to enter the Beverly Hills dog show in hope for the $50,000 prize to help their owners keep the house, but unfortunately, the dogs do not win. However, a bank robbery occurs and the pups decide to stop the crime. Their mischievousness leads them to capturing the robbers and saving the day, but will this good deed be enough to stop the bank from foreclosing their human owners' house? The voice over of the movie is excellent. The dogs' voices fit their personalities well and the voice over contains a lot of emotion. For example, Delgado (voiced over by Miguel Ferrer) who is a sleuthhound, had a husky voice which matched well with his appearance as well as his role in the movie. Papi's voice also adjusted well to things that were going on in the movie. For example, when he told his pups nightly bedtime stories, his voice would become low in pitch and he would sound mysterious.

The movie is also very comical. I found myself giggling in almost every scene! This movie overall is exhilarating and it contains heartwarming messages such as "true love is worth any risk," "love fearlessly, and help others share their hearts as well," "family is about who you love, not just who you are born to," "we are stronger together than we are alone," and "stick by your loved ones, even in hard times." The message "stick by your loved ones, even in hard times," is perhaps the most significant message in the movie because Papi's entire family as well as his owners' family tried their best to prevent the bank from foreclosing their home.

I would recommend this movie to ages 6 and up. Beverly Hills Chihuahua 2 is a splendid family film, but if director Alex Zamm created more suspense while the dogs were enjoying their escapades, the movie would have created a bigger impact on the audience and hence, become more captivating. Nevertheless, all in all, this film is perfect for anyone who wants to watch a humorous entertaining adventure about talking dogs!

Reviewed by Gabriella Chu, KIDS FIRST! Film Critic (age 14)
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Bow Wow Wow! What an adorable flick, I would have paid money to see it at the theaters but it went straight to DVD
inkblot1129 December 2011
Papi (voice of George Lopez), a chihuahua belonging to a gardener, and Chloe, who belongs to rich Beverly Hills businesswoman Aunt Viv (Susan Blakely) get married! This after they fell in love in BHC 1. Soon, they have a family of 5 darling little puppies, too. Meanwhile, Aunt Viv's niece and the gardener have also fallen in love but there may be complications. So, no ring yet. The gardener decides to take the whole family of chihuahua's to his parents' home in Mexico, so they can meet the pack and so he can get advice on affairs of the heart. While they are there, unhappy news arrives at once. The parents are going to lose their long-held family home unless they can pay the back mortgage payments. The pair got behind when the father was injured and unable to do his landscaping job. What are they going to do? In fact, before long, the whole caboodle are thrown out, due to the puppies creating havoc on the house and the loan officer. Everyone troops back to the USA and Aunt Viv's home to think. Fortunately, there is a dog show in Beverly Hills that week and the prize money would get back the Mexican house! Can Papi or Chloe win? Also, they once again meet up with Delgado, a friend from the first film, who needs the huahuas help as well. Will things work out? Of course! Bow Wow Wow, what a darling film! This viewer loved the first one and found this one equally fun. Some of the cast members have changed but, thankfully, Lopez is still here to do a great Papi. Also, French Stewart, Emily Osment, Morgan Fairchild and others lend their talents, too. The scenery is wonderful, as are the costumes, photography, script and sure direction. My advice? Turn any down-in-the-dumps-day into a great one by renting or buying this lovely film!
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Good, but lacking after the first one
burgundyvixen13 March 2011
Warning: Spoilers
The movie is cute but i was really disappointed that they changed out actors like that. And though it really is a heartwarming little movie, it still lacks a lot compared to the first one. A lot less action than the first and minus a ton of detail to the story line, but with the way they portrayed Pedro, I'm willing to overlook it somewhat because they didn't make him out to be a big bad dog like most people already see them as. Has a predictable ending, though a good one. Would loved to have had more filler to the movie though. Felt as if they spent most of the planning on the beginning of the movie and the talent show while rushing the rest of the movie. The conflict with the missing puppies is all of a few minutes and seems too easily solved, even for a family movie.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Amazing movie
cao2222 February 2011
I bought the Blue-ray combo pack and it is definitely worth it. It is a fun filled comedy even better than the original. Even though the idea of talking chihuahua's might be a little weird to adults it is a heartfelt story that the whole family will love. I would recommend it to any movie lover looking for a good movie to have fun with. At 83 minutes it is the perfect size for kids and adults alike. Even though a sequel was a doubt at first i would not be surprised if this became a classic. Although there are some sad scenes the children will laugh all day long. Finally the chihuahua puppies make a great new addition to the series. I hope you watch it!
8 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
PeChiLvr speaks for everyone
pechilvr2 February 2011
Warning: Spoilers
OK the Chihuahuas and the movie overall get a 10. But I gave it a 7 because I really liked the actors from the 1st movie. I happen to love both movies but the voices and personalities matched and won over in the 1st movie. I am especially disappointed with the Pug's voice over and I'm not exactly impressed with the actors in the lead roles as Sam and Rachel.

Thank Goodness for the adorable Chihuahuas!! and for the overall concept of the movie and I hope they make a III and IV and keep it going! We all know how much the world loves Chihuahuas! That's why I've watched #1 at least 100 times with my grandson Sumner and we probably will watch #2 another 100 times and pray there's a Pt.3...LOL
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
All of the actors are different except George lopez
elliekimball30 March 2018
They changed the actor/actress for the aunt, the niece, papis owner, and Chloe! That's 3/4 of the main characters and they act like nothing happened! The movie is a good movie still but i just couldn't get over the fact that all actors but one were changed
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fun nonsense
cekadah22 December 2013
Fun - Silly - but fun

Just a silly movie about Chihuahua parents raising their pups to be honest citizens.

Not a movie to 'think' about but just the right level of fluff to keep human parents and children entertained for awhile.

Good guys & bad guys keep the story going.

There really isn't much a review can say about this type of flick -- you have to be the sort of person that likes movies with talking dogs on a sleuthing mission that turns out to be most positive.

Give it a look for very light weight entertainment!
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed