The Silence of Bees (2008) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
119 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A terrific short film
aentity-129 October 2008
Silence of the Bees is a thought provoking, emotionally charged film. It's beautifully written and the characters are very strong and real. Jim Beaver and Sharon Garnier did an excellent job portraying the intense relationship between a father and daughter struggling to know each other and come to terms with their own life choices. It made me reexamine my own relationship with my father. Also you have to give the filmmakers a lot of credit for making a film of this quality with little money. From what I know about the making of it, they were able to utilize great talent because of close friendships which says a lot about the cast and crew. These folks really believe in this project. A tour DE force, haunting and unforgettable. I can't wait for the full length film. I'd recommend the Silence of the Bees to everyone.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Powerfully dramatic in an artful way.
pmremmele25 October 2008
Silence of Bees is a powerful short film that packs an emotional wallop through the performances of the two leads. As I watched the film, I couldn't help but be reminded of the universal struggle between parents and their children. Sharon Garnier is raw and completely open on the screen. Jim Beaver's sardonic portrayal of an alcoholic writer is both an archetype and uniquely individual. The camera work and the editing are flawless. This is real gem of a film. No tricks, no artifice, just pure cinema in an old fashion sense. This film is a testimonial to the idea that simple, pure and profound emotions ultimately have more impact than superficial, contrived plot devices. It deserves to be seen.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The Silence of Bees worth watching
cathy_colt22 May 2012
The Silence of Bees was a great short film. Jim Beaver and Sharon Garnier did a great job capturing the emotion of a troubled father/daughter relationship. It was clear that they didn't know or understand each other very well. Father/daughter relationships can be so complicated and if not portrayed properly can come across as fake and over acted, but that's not the case here.

I do wish the movie could have been longer. I found myself wanting more backstory about Alex's mom and in her past and present relationships. I wanted to know more about Parker and what made him the way he was. I want to know what the relationship was like between Alex and her dad before her mom went away.

I love the story about how this movie was made. The budget was small and the actors did the movie as favors of the directors. They loved the script and wanted to be a part of the film.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Short Film!
lovely_lyss21 May 2012
The preview clip somewhat does pull me into the picture. As I watched the preview, I felt like I could see what was happening in the time before the preview and I wanted to know what was going to happen after it ended.

The Actors: Jim Beaver is a stage, film, television actor, playwright, screenwriter, and film historian. He is perhaps most familiar to worldwide audiences as 'Ellsworth'... the gruff, tenderhearted prospector in the HBO series Deadwood. This role won him a Screen Actors Guild Award nomination.

Sharon Garnier appears in a wide range of television and film projects, including HBO's Deadwood and WB's Jack & Bobby. Her primary work is in the realm of independent film and theatre. Sharon's recent film portrayal as Alex McKenzie in the independent short film The Silence of Bees found attention in several international film festivals.

The Writers: Joanna Perry-Folino, Screenwriter and Producer Joanna is the Executive Producer of Into The Fire Film and Theatrical Productions, LLC. She is a playwright, screenwriter, librettist as well as a producer. Her short film, The Silence of Bees, (based on the prologue to her stage play of the same title) won the prestigious Accolade Film Award in 2008, an Aloha Accolade from the Honolulu International Film Festival in 2009 and was screened at the Southeast New England Film Festival, The Kodak Screening Room in Los Angeles by Women in Film in April 2009, at the Urban Suburban Film Festival in Philadelphia and The Naperville Independent Film Festival in Illinois where it is an Official Selection. Also the producer of the film!

The Director: Andrew J. Traister's recent production of Waiting For Godot at A Noise Within in Glendale, California, was chosen as a Los Angeles Times Critics Choice. Andrew directed The Actors Playpen's inaugural productions of Lolita and Road To Nirvana in Hollywood. He has directed at The Old Globe Theatre, Alaska Repertory Theatre, Arizona Theatre Company, Actors Theatre of Phoenix, Milwaukee Repertory Theatre, Intiman Theatre, Tacoma Actors Guild, Geva Theatre, Oregon Shakespeare Festival, San Diego Repertory Theatre and many more companies across the country.

I liked: The location; the location was really pretty and gave a different spin on the film. The actors/actresses; super into their rolls, felt like they were their character & the relationship between them was great. It was a good short film & I do not have anything really to say negatively.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Review
imbored200221 May 2012
Warning: Spoilers
The Silence of Bees is an emotionally charged film that almost anyone can relate to when it comes to the struggle between parents and their children throughout life. The characters had a lot of depth and Sharon and Jim really brought them to life. The film has wonderful sound and the cinematography was fantastic, you could tell at every angel how the characters were feeling and the use of close-ups', and medium shots were great. The music was fitting for the film and on point. The only thing I didn't care for were the shots with low lighting, it made things hard to see at times. Other than that the film was great and I would recommend it to watch.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Review of film
jannelmachado5 December 2011
The Silence of Bees is a short, 17 minute film that successfully portrays the movies plot and storyline. Being a short movie, The Silence of Bees gets right to the point and does an okay job at including everything the audience wants to see. For me, the movie consisted of many good characteristics, but with the good comes bad. On the other hand, the only negative thing I can think of would be choice of music. The music used for scenes didn't match up to what I was expecting to hear. Overall, I enjoyed this short film and its way of fulfilling many aspects in a short amount of time. I am glad I was able to see this movie through the drama course I am in, because if it wasn't for the class I would have never seen this.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Thoughts
krystalyna4154 December 2011
Warning: Spoilers
The Silence of Bees started off OK with the showing of the time setting, but I didn't think the lighting of the sun setting and the next close up shot of the leaves and a bee went together. The shot with the bee looked much brighter than it should have.

Sharon Garnier plays a perfect Alex because she has the right uptight look and conflicting emotions between Alex's father, Parker, played by Jim Beaver, who also played his character well. The father-daughter relationship seemed very real. In the beginning, Alex seems like she no longer cares to be living with her father and responds to her father's questions in a tight way, but towards the end, she begins to feel more appreciated and loved by her father.

Because this was a very short film (17 minutes), I felt it left me with many unanswered questions, but I also believe there was enough depth to the two characters that made the film watchable and not boring.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Review of The Silence of Bees
vicsadreamer6 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
The preview definitely pulled me in. The ocean and the sunset looked beautiful and the candles and plants in the yard created a relaxing ambiance. Of the two characters I liked the dad right off the bat. He seemed chill. The girl seemed really upset and looked unhappy and I was curious to know why she was that way. Key Players: • Jim Beaver (Actor) - Jim has appeared in Deadwood and played a prospector named Ellsworth. Jim is a film historian among other things. • Sharon Garnier (Actress) – Sharon has also appeared in Deadwood. She was primarily working in theatre at the time of Silence of the Bees release. • Joanna Perry-Folino (Writer) – Joanna is a member of many groups and organizations involving film, television, theatre, and radio. She has produced over 15 plays in the SF bay area. • Andrew J. Traister (Director) – Andrew has been a teacher of theatre and has directed at numerous locations across the country. Review:

The ambiance created on screen was very fitting with the location and emotional conversation happening between father and daughter. Jim was excellent as Parker. His chill demeanor and relaxed attitude seemed genuine. He is spot on with his facial expressions matching his sarcastic attitude. You can tell he is a veteran actor. The exchanges between Parker and Alex seem real and not forced. When Alex gets emotional after reading the note from her dad it made me get teary eyed. It was a moving scene. You could feel the love between them although it isn't said outright. I thought this film was excellent. It had some funny parts (Parker) and had just enough to pull at your heartstrings. I loved the set. All the candles spread about cast a nice glow over this bonding moment between father and daughter. The one criticism I do have is about the rabbit stew. It looked like it was a couple of cans of Campbell's soup poured into a pot. It did not look appetizing and when Parker said "Not bad." like he enjoyed it, I just didn't believe him. It would have been better if they just chopped up real carrots, potatoes, celery, and an onion along with water and a stew packet. It would probably cost the same but just look so much better. I was also bummed that I couldn't hear the party next door (It was in the screenplay but didn't seem to be in the film). It would have added a bit to the emotional feeling. Having a party going on next door while you're having a more serious conversation would make it seem that much more intense.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The Silence of Bees Well Done
best_cali_girl4 December 2016
After watching the trailer, I did not feel pulled to the film. The trailer seemed a bit too choppy and the lighting made it seem very tiring along with the music as well. Fortunately, the actual film itself made up for that. I personally believe that the writing was set up really well. The language used was not necessarily difficult nor lengthy, it was very simple and to the point. But sometimes, the characters had a back story to their words, so the audience was left questioned which made it all the more intriguing. A downside to the film would probably be the lighting, it just seemed to have an extremely warm shade to it, so it made the film feel tiring even if everything else seemed well done.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Emotionally Provoking!
tianssaidmontgomery4 December 2016
After watching the film, "The Silence of Bees" I felt the screenplay for the film came to life and the preview clip, or trailer for the matter, didn't do it quite just when watching the full picture. There's so much to the film that really can't be explained in such a short clip because the film is already short in my opinion. The actors of this film were Sharon Garner who played the role of Alex and Jim Beaver who played the role of Parker, Alex's father. Sharon was born in San Francisco, California and could be best known for her roles in Deadwood, alongside Beaver, and Reminder. Jim Beaver is famously known for his role on Supernatural as Bobbie Singer, Deadwood, and Better Call Saul. The director of this film Andrew Traister who is best known for his of "The Silence of Bees" (2008) and "The Track" (2008). Lastly, the writer of this film is Joanna Perry-Folino, a full time drama professor at Los Medanos College who has spent multiple years writing and producing award winning films. She was an executive producer for the documentary Within Reach (2012). The documentary won an award for third most influential film for social change in America alongside her film The Silence of Bees (2008) who won multiple awards including Accolade Film Award in 2008 and was screened at Cannes Short Film Corner in 2009. All came together to deliver a very heartwarming and compelling short film. The films strength was the acting. The actors did a wonderful job of conveying the emotion behind their conflict or slightly strained relationship. I really liked their usage of pauses and even the little things like Alex looking down a lot in the beginning of their talk showed how uncomfortable she was at first when talking to Parker, her father. The actors easily conveyed their emotions of trying to connect with each other after such a long time of not really easily being able to communicate with each other. The actress who played Alex, Sharon Garner, did a wonderful job of conveying her passion when discussing her writing or lack thereof and it really sold me on the idea that she felt heavily for it. Her speaking to her father really truly made me tear up and I could honestly believe it was real for a few moments. Even though the film is short, 17 minutes, it does a great job of delivering such a heartfelt moment between father and daughter to the audience. I think one of its weaknesses was just the time of the film. I wanted more, I wanted to know more about them and I wanted to explore more on their relationship with each other and why it became so strained in the beginning. That's really the only negative thing I can think of when reviewing this film and it's the only downside to it. It's a great short film though. I was amazed about how easily it was for the characters to really get me emotionally involved in such a small amount of time. I really liked the strange dynamic of the two characters and wish I could know more about them. I would love to just sit down and psychoanalyze the heck out of their relationship. In such a small amount of time you really get a sense of how they are feeling and what they are going through so I really liked it a lot. The lighting in the film was great two, nicely lit and not to dark like what I expected. Also some of the shots are just filled with amazing scenic views of the island they are on. Truly one of a kind.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Very Good Warning: Spoilers
I enjoyed this short film. I think that the awkward tension between both characters was displayed perfectly by both Beaver and Garnier. I enjoyed all the aspects of the film. The set design was excellent and the sound and music was awesome. I probably would have varied up the camera work a little bit and not used quite as many close ups but the feel of the film was not interrupted by that. Overall. that was a very good film.

The story line was also very effortless and easy to follow. You could really see the awkwardness between the characters. The actors chosen for this film were chosen well.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Well written
k-116663 December 2016
After watching the short film I think the greatest parts were from the writing and from Jim Beaver. I think it was well written. Jim was exactly how I imagined Parker being. I think he was the greatest strength from film. I think it might have been because of Sharon Garnier but I didn't feel the connection between Parker and Alex. I could feel that Sharon was acting but as for Jim I really felt that he was really in his role.I do think this film really showcased what it

is like for a father daughter with a troubled relationship

I wasn't a fan of the lighting but I thought the directing was really great.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Reviews
renteriacarina3 December 2016
The Silence of Bees was a great short film, it really dug deep into the relationship of a father and a daughter. What I enjoyed about this film were the actors, the pain and non-verbal quest that were being displayed allowed the audience to sympathize and understand the pain that they were going through. However, the lighting of this film was dark and while there was some good depth to the characters the lighting was not doing the setting any justice. Overall, this film was striving to show a deep relationship in a family and they were successful in doing that. I would recommend this short for anyone, but also for someone looking to explore depth in characters.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
The Silence of Bees Review
pospisiljordan3 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I have not seen many short films so I am unfamiliar with the sort of standards these films need to meet in order to be categorized as "successful". Having said that, I strongly believe that The Silence of the Bees (2008) is a decent film and well written! Even though it appears that the budget for this film was small, the cast and crew did a beautiful job with the completion of this film given the resources that they had. I did not know who Jim Beaver or Sharon Garnier were until I researched more about them. I think I would have chosen a different female lead for the role of Alex but regardless, I think they both did a nice job at portraying a complicated father/daughter relationship. For the most part, they both showed the right amounts of emotion; I think that Sharon Garnier was a little too over dramatic sometimes but both still did a good job at making their roles believable. The story itself left me hanging because I wish I could have seen a little more backstory on these characters lives including Alex's mother and her previous boyfriend, Harry. I think it would have been interesting to have seen snippets of the show or at least the episode Alex's father was talking about so that I could better understand why he believes Harry did a poor job at depicting Alex. I also would have liked to have learned how and why Alex and her father's relationship is so strained and what kind of man Alex's father was before her mother left. Even though I would have liked to have seen more of the history between these two characters, I still feel that I got a good enough idea of who they are and how they contribute to the overall story.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Captures the relationship between a stubborn father and daughter
capplegatewilliams3 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
The Silence of Bees does a fantastic job portraying the often times rocky and frustrating relationship between a parent and child. Considering it is a short film, the characters go on an emotional journey together and many viewers will be able to connect with the characters on this level. Both actors leave the viewer with a memorable performance, and leave you wanting to know how the story of their tumultuous relationship ends. The screenplay is very well done, and I would recommend this short film to anyone who wants to be moved. It left me remembering that life is short and wanting to tell my own parents how much I love them.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Well Done
jinxed133 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I really felt that the acting and writing were excellent in this short film. Jim Beaver really stood out with his performance and gave this character depth. Sharon Garnier did a wonderful job portraying this strained relationship with her father. I felt the ending could have been done differently though, I didn't like the slow motion, dreamy feel of it, but overall, I really enjoyed it and wish there was more. It would be nice to dive deeper into both these characters as well as the other ones mentioned in it. It was all done on a very small budget but came out very well and has one a couple awards which are well deserved in my opinion.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great short that explores a messy father daughter relationship!!!
jordanguardamagni2 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I would encourage everyone to watch the preview first, and if you like it than you will love this short film. The film features two actors (Sharon Garner and Jim Beaver) who have had a colorful career in both TV and movies, and it seems both have valued theater acting which shows in the film. Producers/directors/writers (Joanna Perry-Folino, P Kelly and Andrew Traister) simply wanted to tell a story, a strong resonating story of a family divided by differences that are actually similarities. This is a nationwide epidemic, and in this film it really showcases the unfortunate life of many broken families. The film "The Silence of Bee's) really lived up to its name. This short was able to showcase a lifelong disconnect between a father and daughter, but the death of a family member and similarities bring them together. Although they both have a hard time reconnecting it seems that both are connecting, not face to face, but soul to soul. One thing this film did not lack was substance, it is a deep 17minute drama that is an accurate display of a disconnected family. Thankfully the acting in this film was fantastic and extremely realistic allowing us to connect with the characters. Overall the film was very well put together, gave us a resonating story and was an accurate portrayal of a common problem to say the least.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Silence of Bees
unbelievablylisa5 December 2015
The preview clip does pull you in, it makes you wonder what they're even discussing and the relevance to the story.

The actors are Jim Beaver who plays Parker. He is an American actor who is known for playing in the TV series Supernatural and Deadwood. And the other actress is Sharon Garnier who is also an American actress known for Deadwood and a couple of other TV shows. The fact that she has no photo in her IMDb profile, makes me think she's not so well known.

The writer and executive producer is Joanna Perry-Folino who is a producer, performer, screenwriter and playwright. And also a professor at Los Medanos College.

The director is Andrew Traister who is an actor and director.

Some strengths of the film were how beautiful the cinematography was, especially at the beginning and at the end. They did a great job at capturing the feelings and emotion that the film was trying to show. Another strength was Jim Beaver's performance as Parker. I think he did an amazing job and matched almost exactly as I envisioned in my head Parker's character.

One weakness I think would be some of Sharon Garnier's performance, while she played the part fairly well. I felt that some scenes where there was an emotion to express, she lacked that expression.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Silence of Bees Review
candyamaldonado5 December 2015
Who knew there was so much to be said about the silence of bees. However, in itself that statement says a lot about silent and subtle pain both literally and metaphorically. The Silence of Bees follows Parker Lam and Alex McKenzie. A father and his daughter on the mend from daily struggles and a family's history. Alex is leaving her father's residence in Barbados to return to her career as a nurse in Flint, Michigan. The loss of her mother, her broken family, and choice to run away from her father's bestowed destiny has led her to this place. The two of them have unspoken words despite the unbroken bond the two of them share for one another. The dialogue between the two characters is direct and contains a lot of subtext exposed through references of past events that still linger. After watching the film, something about it seems off, but I can't put my finger on it. I think it's a combination of acting technique and editing. However, where the film is weak in some areas it is strong in others. I think at the end of the day the script was well written and could be executed in a more convincing and compelling way so the characters and story really resonate with the audience. I was surprised to find that the two actors had appeared on the same series in the past and may have possibly worked together because the comfort level between the character's relationship didn't really translate. In addition to writing, I really enjoyed the cinematography and filming of The Silence of Bees. I liked the images and back story created by different close ups of Alex and long shots of the Caribbean. Overall, I really liked The Silence of Bees and appreciated the approach this particular group of collaborators chose.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Review for The Silence of Bees
binkyknib4 December 2015
I feel the preview does pull me in by setting the tone. From the clips we can see Alex and Parker talking and almost arguing at some points. The background music does a good job making the preview seem to be dramatic and intriguing. The actor, Jim Beaver, is also a playwright, screenwriter, and film historian. He has won a Screen Actors Guild Award nomination for his role in the HBO series Deadwood. The actress, Sharon Garnier, has also appeared in Deadwood. The Silence of Bees role has earned her attention is a couple of international film festivals. The writer is Joanna Perry-Folino. Perry-Folino is the Executive Producer of Into The Fire Film and Theatrical Productions. LLC. Perry-Folino has produced over 15 plays in the San Francisco area. While being the screen writer of The Silence of Bees, she was also the producer of the film. Some of the strengths of the film are its cinematography and the actor Jim Beaver. The cinematography captures the actors and location to fit the emotional part of the story. Jim Beaver also contributed to the strength of the film. He portrayed Parker perfectly; an old man who drinks, writes, and isolates himself from everyone else. The weakness of the film was the actress, Sharon Garnier. Garnier's crying was pretty convincing, but other than that, her lines were flat and stiff. It seemed as if she was forcing the lines out. Overall, I enjoyed the short film and really appreciated the cinematography.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A must-watch
sheetal_chand4 December 2015
Watching the preview pulled me into watching the film. The small snippets of the conversation between the father and daughter made me want to see more of it. The cinematography was another thing I really enjoyed. The view of the island, the sunset, flowers in the patio, the bees buzzing around - was all so beautiful. The film was short and simple, but very interesting and nicely written.

Actors

Jim Beaver as Parker Lam

Born August 12, 1950 American stage, film, and television actor, playwright,screenwriter, and film historian Famous for his role in the TV show Supernatural and Deadwood His performance in The Silence of Bees won him the Best Actor Award at the 2010 New York Film and Video Festival Sharon Garnier as Alex McKenzie

Born in 1974 in San Francisco, California, USA Known for her work on Deadwood (2004), Help Me, Oprah (2005) and Reminder (2007) Writer

Joanna Perry-Folino

Born 20 August 1960, Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA Professor, producer, performer, playwright and screenwriter Working on the development of new pieces in a variety of genres including film, stage, storytelling and photography. Writer for The Huffington Post. Producers

Joanna Perry-Folipo

P. Kelley

Cinematographer and producer Director

Andrew Traister

An actor and director Known for The Afikomen (2013), The Track(2007) and The Silence of Bees (2008)

Strengths

The cinematography was exceptional. Everything fell in place - from the aerial view of the island, dim lightning, to the bees buzzing around the flowers. The script was really good. There is no over dramatization of the father-daughter relationship. Sounded realistic. The actors were very good at their job. I liked Parker's character. He is a natural actor Weaknesses

Not many themes, except for love, commitment and friendship Not many symbolic items or actions. Overall, an amazing short film. If you are not into short films, this one will definitely change your mind. All of Joanna Perry- Folipo's work is exceptional, but this film takes the cake.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great short film with much emotion
rokug2 December 2015
Warning: Spoilers
After reading the script, the film felt much longer than I anticipated. I think this is due to the highly emotional dialogue and pauses between the two. The film shines light on a very important life lesson. Many times we want to strive in the footsteps of our parents. Often times we do this out of love. But when we don't, sometimes its hard to realize that we choose a different path because we are afraid that we wont live up to what our parents are or were. And having a love for them, we never want to disappoint them. In the film, we can see the struggle for Alex and Parker to find common ground and express their feelings for one another. Even though the respect, love, admiration and appreciation between the two is apparent in dialouge and non-verbal cues, we never hear them express these feelings aloud. Personally I think this is far too true unfortunately now a days. Somedays we think we're too old or professional or cool to express our feelings and emotions. Sometimes we don't want to hear it from others because we are afraid of the awkwardness that may rise. The message given from the film is enough to give it a watch. That combined with the dialouge, the lighting, music, and scenery are even more reason that this film deserves a view and all the awards to which it has been credited with.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Deep
dacannonz15 May 2015
The Silence of the Bees was a different look for the a movie and but packed with substance for a short film. The trailer already tells the viewer this is an ordinary daughter and pop conversation. This being a short film and having the trailer only being around two minutes long the title of the movie does not come into play during the impressive trail. Upon watching the short film you see a broken bond repaired as each of the two characters use the professions they love to soothe old wounds created to each other. The title comes into play as the Stinging of the bee was the closure and solution between the struggling relationship of father and daughter.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Silence of Bees -- Great Cinematography
valerieluna-010009 May 2015
Warning: Spoilers
The Silence of Bees can be described in many ways but personally I would describe it as having passionate cinematography. The way the film was made emphasizes the work that went into this movie. Starting with the actors, I was able to clearly tell the emotions that the actors were trying to portray through the screen. The close up shots of both Alex and Parker clearly show the depth that these actors went to make these characters their own and bring out real emotions through them. The scenery as well, at times I could feel it pulling me in, as did the scene of the beach shot, and the shots where both father and daughter were talking. These shots of father and daughter were so captivating, they showed their emotions with so much sensibility, making sure to capture Alex and Parker's faces with a close up shot of their faces – this method gave the viewer the opportunity to truly understand just what was going on with the character. The Silence of Bees is a true work of art that makes one feel for the characters, and makes one emphasize especially for the character of Alex who seemed like she never truly could have a conversation with her father.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
This movie was a shocker.
ohdangkrys8 December 2014
Going into this movie I really didn't think that it was going to be a good film. Yet, this movie came with a great story line and emotion to back it up. If you are looking for a film that draws you in and leaves you telling yourself, "Was that it? I want more." This would be a good film to watch. Because I feel that it did just that for me. I personally would like to see maybe a spin off from this film explaining what happens after this film and if anything is done from this film. It really was touching to see someone of Parker's nature come out of his shell and soften up. It's a twist that was quite enjoyable. There two personalities together could not have been placed anymore perfectly. As well as the idea behind 'The Silence of the Bees' it was a great interpretation.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed