Wild Target (2010) Poster

(2010)

User Reviews

Review this title
87 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
An interesting and entertaining comedy.
danielkratky20 June 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed this film and found the story to be original and funny throughout. Emily Blunt plays an extremely sexy con-artist who crosses paths with an up-tight Bill Nighy playing a professional assassin hired to kill her.

The characters are likable and well-cast. Bill Nighy and Emily Blunt strike up a modern day love-story that is unconventional and yet somehow totally believable. The family bond that is established with Rupert Grint as the adopted son worked very well and was charming.

If you want to see something different, interesting and funny then I really recommend giving this film a chance.
98 out of 118 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An understated British comedy
Harry_Keane29 June 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed this film and thought it was very entertaining. True, there were only a few laugh-out-loud moments, but it kept me chuckling away for most of the 90-odd minutes. I thought Bill Nighy's performance was spot-on and Eileen Atkins' role gave her plenty of scope for comedy moments. Rupert Everett and Gregor Fisher worked well together, and Martin Freeman was very good as Dixon. Although the plot was simple, the film was reminiscent of a lot of British comedies from the Sixties and Seventies, which was probably why I enjoyed it so much. It was also good to see something that wasn't shot in America and didn't follow the stereotypical plot lines that most American films seem to have as a matter of course.
75 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliantly Funny
soffe1234520 June 2010
Well, in contrast to the first review, i felt that this was a hilariously funny attribute to the British film industry. With continuous amusing modern slap stick humour throughout.

I had been looking forward to the release of this film for a while, and it was far better than i had ever expected. The cinema was packed and everyone was laughing throughout the entire film, which in my experience is very rare.

There is an incredible cast containing many well known British actors/ actresses, overall a must see film.

Looking forward to the DVD release. Thank you. x
97 out of 122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Top Quality!
stueey20 June 2010
If your taste is really obvious commercial and/or big budget comedies then this might not be for you but if you have a soft spot for classic British comedies that are a bit quirky, don't try to hard then this should definitely be up your street.

It has an excellent cast that all play their characters perfectly although very typically.

Rupert Everett is predictably his usual self as is Bill Nighy but both quite excellently so.

I've seen a couple of negative reviews of this movie but it needs to be emphasised that it's not a mass market comedy. The story is great and the timing of some of the jokes is absolutely perfect.

This is actually one of the few films I'd like to own a copy of when it's released.
72 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Quirky, smart and typically Nighy
GrowMagicBeans22 June 2010
I ended up seeing this title in one of those frustrating moments where my main choice of feature was either on at the wrong time, had not even been released yet or my friends just flatly did not want to see the same things as I, and so we ended up going to Wild Target as an inoffensive compromise. I was expecting it to be real cheesy and void of humour, especially after having seen the trailer. I was pleasantly surprised!

Okay, when one goes to the cinema with such low expectations, they can only but move in one direction, but nevertheless I have to commend the movie on several points. I thought all the one-liners would have been used up in the trailer (and those that I had seen had seemed tacky at best) but I guess the movie isn't about one-liners. Rather then relying on half cocked jokes, it pulls itself onto its own two feet using situational comedy, which gives it a real British flavour. I heard it compared to the humour of the old Earling Studio movies, which seems like a nice comparison. Actually, on doing a little research, I found that the original story came from a French movie (Cible émouvante, 1993). It's easy to tell from the zany characters, offbeat humour and introspective look on life that it was originally French in theme, but as a story it translates nicely onto a typically British backdrop.

Basically Victor Maynard, a cold hearted hit-man played by Bill Nighy (great performance as always - he's legend!) is a middle aged unmarried killing professional who is beginning to loose his touch. This becomes no more obvious when he fails to make a hit on the sensually beautiful Rose (Emily Blunt). Things start to get complicated for Victor when he finds, not only has he lost the killer instinct, but he also starts protecting her from the men sent to finish the job.

I'm not sure about the Rupert Grint character of Tony. He seems the most out of place in my opinion. I suppose Tony was added to feed in a further dynamic between Victor and Rose and their growing relationship, but for me, this relationship triangle was either not developed fully or just failed outright. Maybe it held more credence in the original French story, but in the English version at least, Tony really does feel like the spare tire as his presence seems unnecessary and the character's attributes hammy. By far the weakest link the movie.

Quirky and light hearted; it may only be a lighter shade of grey rather then a full blown black comedy (12A Cert in Ireland), but still a pleasant surprise if you come to stumble upon it.
47 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Hilarious, refreshing, intelligent and surprisingly touching. One of a kind.
jamiemarks-121 June 2010
Wild Target is the ultimate British black comedy, which makes a refreshing change from all the Hollywood movie's right now.This is hilarious throughout with laughs going to all the cast. Billy Nighy, Emily Blunt and Rupert Grint give terrific performances with superb support from Martin Freeman, Gregory Fisher and Eileen Atkins who make the most of their time on the screen.

There is a lovely chemistry of romance between Blunt and Nighy and you care about the characters and that's what makes this movie so intelligent, though they commit crimes like Nighy is an assassin and has killed people and Blunt is a thief, the audience can remained attached enough to laugh at their predicament but at the same time care about the characters and what happens to them as Nighy falls for Blunt and at the same time they and Grint become like a family, and that is difficult to pull off, but this film does it tremendously. It's also surprisingly touching in places as the transition from romance to drama to comedy is handled seamlessly blending lovely together. The story though basic is good enough and the script is structured beautifully with sharpness and wit embedded within. A terrific British comedy that is one of a kind. It deserves all the praise it has and will receive and judging by the 7.8 IMDb rating it has been given I'd say the praise is high. It's a rating well deserved
48 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
My 336th Review: Excellent remake - and the funniest movie in its genre since Shooting Fish
intelearts27 August 2010
For those who haven't seen Ciblé Émovante from 1993 do. But Wild Target is seriously a tremendous remake.

Very very funny and just plain good fun - this harks back to the golden age of British comedies, sidesteps (in the main) Guy Ritchie and goes for that same vibe that Shooting Fish had.

The plot of the buttoned-down assassin and the kooky girl and the guy who gets involved by mistake is a vehicle to hang some great lines and situations on; let's just say it involves art forgery, hired guns, kleptomania, and Snowy the Cat. Brilliant stuff. Bill Nighy does his usual comic timing to perfection and he and Emily Blunt, along with the two Ruperts, Grint and Everett, bring a real sense of fun to this. Well supported and very well directed there's not much to complain about here - it's just a great comedy and taken as that you could do much worse.

Honestly, we haven't laughed or just flat out enjoyed a film this much in a long time - it's got a wonderful vibe to it that just makes watching it fun - and after all it's nice to get back to some good old fashioned killing without all the pizazz....

Highly recommended if you like British comedies, do try to get to see the french original, it's a corker, but this, this one is going in my collection....
37 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An unforgettable Foot Massage !
RainbowCastel27 August 2010
What can I add to a great British comedy more than other's reviews? Well, it was fresh, fun, a touch of sexiness and simply fun. (I said it twice?)

We were 11 and if we were in US, I think we could file for a 3rd grade murder by suffocation! It was an instance in the movie when Bill Nighy said, "May I do your other foot!".

I can tell you guys that, 7 of my friends choked instantly on the buttered pop-corns and I, as the only person in the row, tears in the eyes, still breathing, had to take care of them all.

Coughing, tears in the eyes hitting their backs! Lucky we were not thrown out of the theater!

It is a fresh, British humor, Classy and Cool movie. Give it a try.
51 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Interesting and thoroughly enjoyable
thecockneyconnection20 June 2010
While others seem to have found the film a letdown, I found it quite the opposite, expecting it to be an overly quirky and trying too hard to be different, a flaw with many smaller British and independent film today. Wild Target stuck to old formulas. this is not a criticism this film is not trying to be as serious as Leon instead it was enjoyable because you knew what was going to happen all along really the joy was the bedlam that gets you there. Its slapstick and camp and just plain silly.

I agree with danielkratky, it is a silly love story that despite your better judgement is in the end believable you just have to be willing to Wild target is a short film and to expect it to develop the characters beyond what is done is not needed, there's the good, the bad and the gormless and because of this it lulls you along with a nice wistful story of murder and mayhem rapt in some good over the top acting from everyone.

Grint whom I loath as Ron in harry potter made good in this film, despite still playing the slightly clueless tag-along.

if you want a serious look at a hit-man changing his life then go and watch The American or by Leon on DVD.

(solid_simon may i suggest that you were the only person in the screening hence the lack of laughter)
37 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Funny, if morally compromised
neil-47624 June 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Victor Maynard (Bill Nighy) is a 50-odd, fastidious, austere hit-man. He is commissioned to kill Rose (Emily Blunt) who has just conned art collector Ferguson (Rupert Everett) with a forged painting. While in pursuit of her, Victor becomes intrigued by the fact that her entire life is simply loaded with unthinking theft, and he not only fails to kill her but is instrumental in saving her life from another attempted hit (in which he is helped by innocent bystander and homeless orphan Tony (Rupert Grint). The three go on the run and gradually Rose brings some joie de vivre into Victor's life and she, in turn, comes to see something lovable in him.

This highly improbable film works, and it works because the two main actors (Nighy playing the driest of dry old sticks, and Blunt playing an amoral but good-hearted free spirit) deliver their parts with the utmost conviction. The script is gently humorous rather than laugh-out-loud funny, but a smile hit my face very early on and seldom left it.

Rupert Grint gets a bit more to do than simply be Ron Weasley after having left school, but is otherwise fairly disposable. Martin Freeman showcases some splendidly unlikely teeth. Emily Blunt plays much more attractively than she has in any other film I've seen her in, and takes part in a foot massage scene with Nighy which is, frankly, the most sensuous scene I've seen on screen for a long time.

The movie was made by the same production company which made A Bunch Of Amateurs a couple of years ago and, notwithstanding the subject matter, it has a similar feel to it. But deduct a point for a title which is so bland as to be meaningless.

I thoroughly enjoyed it, as did the (mature) audience who were in the cinema at my viewing.
14 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Quirky But Worh Seeing
snodge20 June 2010
To me this was a classic and quirky British farce. If it had been been 1958 and in black and white, it would have been in it's place but in 2010 it was slightly odd. That said, I enjoyed the film and would recommend seeing it. The star of the film was certainly Rupert Grint who provided some of the best comedy moments, and Dame Eileen Atkins was a disappointment after her stellar performance in Psychoville. Some of the plot lines were predictable and could be seen coming, but in a way that added to the charm of the film. And it's always nice to see a proper British film as opposed to the ones we just make so well for Hollywood!
20 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Stupendous acting from all casts, brilliant comedy, must see of the year
IwillNOTmarryYou15 December 2010
I rarely review films, but buckle your seatbelts, I'm gonna take a shot.

The chemistry between the middle aged Bill Nighy and the sexy Emily Blunt surpuses any on screen couple. The story was unpredictable and hilariously funny, of course if Adam Sandler is your preference in comedy, and if you're American, then I'm sorry but this won't be your cup of tea. If you drink tea. Which you won't, if you don't like this movie.

Rupert Grint was a pleasant surprise, stepping slightly out of his comfort zone as Ronald Weasly to deliver a good supporting performance.

Overall just like my review, a 9.7/10
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I love it!
eve-m36017 July 2014
This is my favourite movie! I think the actors made an incredible job and the director too. I have to say, I envy a lot Emily's wardrobe in this movie, thumbs up to the stylist! She's always wearing something different and original. The best thing about this movie is the different characters and their outstanding personalities. They each have a very different and uncommon way of thinking, they're authentic in everything they do! The songs in the movie are also very British which helps to create a good atmosphere in the motion picture. Perhaps the fact that most of the actors are well-know and famous British actors makes the movie an absolute must-Watch!
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not 'wild',but certainly a lot of fun
studioAT7 July 2015
Wild Target isn't a great movie, I think the other reviews on this site and elsewhere prove that. BUT, I actually really enjoyed it.

Having directed 'The Whole Nine Yards' Jonathon Lynn knows about how to make a good black comedy work,and he is helped by the fact he has the brilliant Bill Nighy in the lead role. Nighy has played this type of role before (and since) and manages to make his really warm to this contract killer in a way that other actors wouldn't be. He carries the film at times with his dry humour.

It is also nice to see Rupert Grint do comedy and he has some nice moments of interaction with Nighy in amongst all of the madness that you'd expect from a farcical comedy.

The real revelation for me was Emily Blunt. She manages to be funny, sexy and vulnerable in the role of Rose and even though I can't say the script is always water tight, she manages to find the heart in every scene.

Although the film doesn't seem to know whether it's a family comedy or darker it is a fun one to watch. Ignore the negative reviews and give it a chance.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Real Charmer
rube242411 March 2011
WILD TARGET is a savory stew of a film that really delivers. Mix one part Ealing Comedy, one part Alec Guiness/ Clifton Webb, one part Roadrunner cartoon, one part French farce and.....well you get the picture. And what a picture it is!!

Absolutely everything works in this film from the hilarious screenplay to the facile direction and editing to the wonderful acting. Ah, the acting. Bill Nighy gives one of the best performances of his terrific career, Emily Blunt goes from annoying to adorable and Rupert Grint shows himself as an excellent comic actor.

This film is a joy from beginning to end; perfect for a rainy Sunday or anytime you need hearty laughs, plentiful chuckles and a pick-me-up from the troubles of the day. Ten out of ten for me for this real charmer.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Smart, Funny Movie!!
PhantomAgony21 November 2010
It is incredibly refreshing in this day and age to come across a comedy that doesn't rely on bathroom/sex humor, dropping curse words or stupid humor for laughs but actually presents an intelligent, smart, witty film with a great premise and even better character dynamic.

Wild Target is a clean cut, hysterical movie that is about an accomplished hit-man (Bill Nighy) who has been hired to take out a beautiful con-woman after she's outed for an art scam (Emily Blunt) but ends up becoming her protector instead. Rupert Grint plays the lovable role of Tony who ends up getting caught in the hijinks when he's in the wrong place at the right time - the dynamic between the 3 lead characters (played by Blunt, Nighy & Grint) is nothing short of entertainment. They become a sort of pseudo family unit that provides adorable moments and of course, laughs.

Eileen Atkins plays the hit-man's (Nighy)supportive mother who is proud of all the people her son has killed. Afterall, he was just following in his Father's (her husband's) footsteps and expects her son to produce a child that will take over the family business.

Martin Freeman plays the new hit-man hired to take out Blunt's character once Nighy, the original hit-man, becomes her protector and botches the job.

This movie is a great film that offers up genuine comedy throughout its entirety. My only gripe is that it was just an hour and a half long because I could have easily watched the 3 leads interact for another hour.

9/10 & I recommend this film to anyone who wants a good laugh and a smart movie.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I was laughing hard the entire time and it's a fell good movie till the end. Watch it, it's truly worth it.
saadgkhan27 August 2010
WILD TARGET – CATCH IT ( B+ ) Wild Target is quirky little fun; I had great time watching it. It was really funny and hilarious. I always love smart movies where the characters are not trying to be funny but the situation and dialogues make it funny. Bill Nighy as a Hit Man is amazing, it was so good to see him under play the character and bring the smartness and sharpness to it. Emily Blunt is so radiant, the moment she comes on the screen the whole screen just light up. I truly love her and this time she was really hilarious. She looks gorgeous as always and her chemistry with Bill Nighy and Rupert Grint is startling. Rupert Grint is breaking off the Harry Porter fantasy genre and it's the right type of role for him. He was funny and completes the wacky trio. Rupert Everett and his team were good. Overall I was laughing hard the entire time and it's a fell good movie till the end. Watch it, it's truly worth it.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Perfect aim
synevy24 December 2011
Most British crime/ comedy films are full of quick takes, occasional twists and turns, precision and attention to detail, in my opinion. I'd put Wild Target amongst the movies that represent that kind of style.

Bill Nighy brings up some classy-ness to his character. A well trained assassin who thinks it's time to retire but that doesn't happen as easy as he'd wish. What's been happening for quite a time now is that very very good and young actors are coming up the big screen surface. Emily Blunt is one of them and does a pretty good job as the attractive thief. Rupert Grint's supporting role is fresh, funny, more mature and just a little bit different that the one we've gotten used to in Harry Potter.

Of course i can't leave out the music. Beautiful tunes of all kinds in addition to the sunny scenery of Isle of Man. Not a great movie hit, as far as the plot concerns, but it was a fun film to watch.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent Acting
graestella12 September 2010
From all concerned. Bill Nighy was fantastic and Emily Blunt was a suitably sexy foil to his outdated chic. Stirling support too from the usual ensemble cast of British supporting stars. This kept me amused on a long flight when 3 other films, I won't even mention, to avoid promoting them one iota, bored me rigid. Yes it was pretty corny but it doesn't pretend to be anything else. Two of the other films were US made RomComs. How predictable they are and how badly directed, really stood out badly when compared against this well crafted piece of work. Also predictable I don't recall seeing this advertised anywhere. But not for accidentally finding it on an airline I would never have discovered it.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Pointless and Forced
complications12324 April 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Not that the premise sounded original, I decided to give this film a shot one morning. A hit man falls for his target and in the process has a strange sort of awakening while forming the family he never had time for in his younger days. The actors all do a fine job but the script is so aimless and ill thought that this quickly becomes unwatchable. At first I was expecting a dark comedy with a modicum of violence but after the first act it's something else entirely, some sort of sickening love story with a message about family that no one can relate to.

There's about three things going on here besides the main story; Victor's crisis of self, his relationship with Rose, and his mentorship of Tony. This would be difficult for all but the most of astute of film makers to competently put together and outright fails in Wild Target, even if it is meant to be a comedy. From the get go there's so much focus placed on Victor's lack of a mate as well as his lack of a successor that once the three main characters show up on screen together it's painfully obvious where the story is headed. The issue is that the "how" involved in this process is dull and uninspired. The "why" is so thin that I'm left scratching my head over what exactly these three are doing in this strange configuration. To be brief, this arrangement is never developed. There's not a lick of characterization to suggest why the three of them have the need to form this familial unit so quickly. Sure, the circumstances give reason to the formation of the unit but there's never any believable or fleshed out reasoning for the persistence and continuation of this "family" and the roles that each adopt.

The relationship between Rose and Victor is perhaps one of the worst on screen couples I've ever seen. She goes from hate to love literally over a foot massage and the chemistry just isn't there. Again, there's so little character development beyond "Victor needs a wife" that the relationship isn't convincing. Not once did I root for them to get together nor did I feel any joy when they did. There was no heart or passion or any connection with the audience. Nonetheless, it was quite obvious the two would end up discussing his weight from the very first few minutes of the film.

Perhaps more outrageous than this mess of a love story is the forced inclusion of Tony, the homeless nobody who wants to find his place in the world and get a little bit of love. Where the necessity for this story element arose from is bewildering. He serves no place except for another good guy with a gun and his dynamic as an adopted apprentice is fuzzy at best. Moreover his extension into the familial unit as the child is stretching reality entirely too far. It is so difficult to understand his role in any realistic context that I'm left feeling disconnected and consequently see his position as confusing, bizarre, and trivial.

Wild Target is about as close to nonsense as any film I've seen. It gets a 2 only because the technical aspects of film making were tolerable. I'm not sure where all the positivity for this film is coming from; those describing it as "hilarious" must not have been as distracted as I was by the lack of cohesion and motivation.
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A wonderful farce
buzzbruin5 November 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I saw this film because my wife didn't want to see the film about the Hiker who cuts off his arm. I knew nothing about yet it was a great surprise. I belly laughed and laughed out loud constantly It has a superb cast right down to the smallest character, just like the old wonderful Brit comedies. It moves at a brisk pace and is not too long. It is underplayed by the cast to a superb degree. It is about a stone cold hit man who has inherited the job from his father. He is also criticized by this mother. There is no real violence. A lot of people are killed but the results are not shown. It reminds me of the great farces of the 30s and 40s. who ever wrote this film is a real talent and the writing is dead on. One of the big surprise of my film life. It is in release only in independent or art houses, but don't miss it!!
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
funny, entertaining, fresh, and hilarious
faradums4 November 2010
I really enjoyed this movie. Everyone should watch this movie.

The story was about professional killer who's ordered to kill a thief girl. Simple story with brilliant wrap up. Full of laughs. I laughed many times, I guess. Their expressions were very funny. And of course I can say Bill Nighy, Emily Blunt, and Rupert Grint acted very well. Also Rupert Everett, Martin Freeman, Gregor Fisher, and Eileen Atkins.

I know Rupert Grint from Harry Potter. But since I don't like Harry Potter, so I don't really watch it. But I can say he did very well for this one. I guess he would have a great future career, especially in comedy.

This definitely would be one of the most favorite movies on my list. I watched this many times.

Funny, entertaining, fresh, and hilarious. Go watch the movie. Worth seeing.

And they had nice movie soundtracks BTW :-)
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good Rom-Com
merylmatt26 February 2015
Yes, there are silly moments in this film. Expect some clichés and of course the plot is predictable. While not usually a fan of this genre, I enjoyed Wild Targets.

Emily Blunt is sexy, funny and witty, pulls off her character of a con-artist very well.

Bill Nighy is uptight, OCD, understated and funny. Rupert Grint is daft, clueless, naive but still manages to be funny as the third wheel between Emily and Bill.

Great DVD Movie for a couples night out, no graphic violence (there are quite a few murders, but no blood).
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
'Wild' Target
robinski3415 September 2013
Nice little British movie about art forgery, swindling and assassination, all good fun, with a strong cast. Bill Nighy is likable as ever, although convincingly cold-blooded at the requisite moments; Emily Blunt is suitably infuriating and adorable in equal measure; and Rupert Grint cements his Brit Pack credentials, although I'd like to see him in a more serious and 'gritty' role. There isn't much for Martin Freeman (nice teeth); Rupert Everett (nice stubble) or Gregor Fisher to do, but it's good to see them nonetheless. It all feels a bit rushed to me, and the end comes on very suddenly and is all a bit too convenient, leaving a sense that it could have been more substantial and interesting given a bit more effort on the storyline, enjoyable enough though if you have a forgiving nature, definitely worth a look.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Loved it, but not entirely sure why.
MBunge30 May 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I don't know if it was Bill Nighy's self-possession, Emily Blunt's kittenish radiance, the way it brightened up the dark humor or what, but I loved Wild Target. From its opening murder to its closing comedic invocation of serial killer pathology, I was thoroughly amused and entertained. Part of it has to be that there are plenty of jokes and that they flow out of the established personalities of the characters, two things which surprisingly few comedies achieve. Part of it has to be the marvelously light touch that director Jonathan Lynn brings to the proceedings. Maybe part of it was I happened to be in the right mood for this film's charms. Whatever the reason, this was one of the more fun times I've had recently watching a movie.

Victor Maynard (Bill Nighy) is a very British hit-man who, as his infirm mother (Eileen Atkins) reminds him, is getting a bit on in years to still be single and childless. After all, Victor should have someone to hand the family business to as Victor's assassin father did to him. When a beautifully reckless thief named Rose (Emily Blunt) scams 800,000 pounds out of the menacingly cultured Ferguson (Rupert Everett) for a forged painting, Victor is called in to take her out. Happenstance prevents Victor from killing her until he's fallen completely under the spell of her audacious, oblivious approach to life. When Ferguson tries to have Rose killed by someone else, Victor saves her and the two of them get tangled up with an aimless lad named Tony (Rupert Grint), who demonstrates a surprising talent for violence and catches Victor's eye as the apprentice he's never had. The three of them try to lie low but find they're almost as big a problem for each other as the hired killers Ferguson sets on their trail.

If you pinned me down, I'd have to credit Wild Target with a near perfect beginning which not only established the tone of its story but also accomplished that oft neglected feat of giving the audience a reason to care about its main character. With twin scenes of Victor practicing his French on the way to a defenestration and then sparing the life of the parrot eye witness to another killing, the viewer is clued in to the absurdity of the plot and encouraged to suspend disbelief about the morality of a professional murderer. Seeing Victor kill two people without remorse and then balk at dispatching a defenseless animal is the hook the audience needs to grab onto Victor and establish a connection with him. So many filmmakers automatically assume that connection with the main character exists and their films founder because of it.

Nighy is delightful in his portrayal of a proper English gentleman who happens to kill people for a living. It's a role that invites caricature but Nighy gives Victor a grounding in reality, or as close as is appropriate for the tone of this motion picture. Blunt is damn near irresistible playing a woman with all the chaotic appeal of adolescent narcissism but without completely ignoring the aggravating aspects of such a personality. They're absolutely great together, particularly with the interplay of Rose's unfettered sexuality with Victor's more rarefied appreciation of her.

And then the relationship between Victor and Tony compliments things so well. It exists independent of Rose and has its own funny dimension of deception and confusion. Victor's inability to distinguish between a fatherly affection for Tony and possibly latent homosexuality, and Tony's unashamed reaction to his consternation, is wonderfully insightful of modern masculinity.

I'll admit that Rose gets a bit too stupid at the end and the movie leans a little too hard on the "family vibe" thinly built around Rose, Victor and Tony in a scene that's way too plainly melodramatic for the rest of the film. Those minor deficiencies come too late in the game to spoil anything, however.

Wild Target was fun to watch. I'm not entirely sure why, but maybe that's part of the fun.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed