The Imposter (2008) Poster

(2008)

User Reviews

Review this title
9 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
The Imposter inspired my critical thinking skills & challenge me personally to "be real"
timothycwilliams3 June 2009
Normally I'm not a critical thinker when it comes to movies. I just like them or I don't. However, The Imposter caused be to think critically about film making and I found the film to be an amazing finished product.

Also, I really appreciated the challenge and message the film communicated. "Be real with yourself and those around you and that Jesus is the only way you will be able to be "real" at all." And yet this "realness" challenge comes across as so real, sometimes painful and leaves you with the unknown future. Real indeed.

I hope as many church members as possible watch the movie with their church, with leadership expecting to have hearts broken by God's Spirit and lives set on His path, through the movie's message. This is what I personally experienced.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent movie!
kendracox1 June 2009
I really loved this movie! So good to see quality films that focus on the value systems that I hold to, without sacrificing entertainment. This is solid Christian film-making. I enjoyed that I could watch an entertaining movie that captured my attention and I didn't have to worry about my kids being in the same room. But at the same time, it dealt with real life scenarios that I could relate to and understand as opposed to being light "Christian" topics. We need more of this in the film industry.

Very well written and directed. The characters are believable and you find yourself engrossed in the story line. Looking forward to more like this from Serendipitous!
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Good try, but needs some editing
daisyclover11 March 2010
As a longtime dc talk and Kevin Max fan, I really, really wanted to like this film. "Christian movies" have long had a reputation for being very corny but I had hoped that this would be the exception.

The Imposter's message is an important one, but some of the scenes are so incredibly awkward to watch. Many of them go on for too long and could have benefited from cutting. At a couple points in the film, there were full music videos with the "Grand Design" band belting out their rock message. Were they really needed to show the angst and despair of the lead character, Johnny? I would say no and it would have made the film tighter and more focused.

I believe that Kevin Max did the best that he could with the script he was given. His acting is fine, but the voice overs are monotone and unnecessary. And the very, very numerous slow motion bits thrown in, add very little to the quality and emotional impact of the movie.

I want the The Imposter to do well, but just wish it could be re-edited so that the message of forgiveness and redemption would reach a broader audience.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good production value
W_Scott_Smith1 June 2009
Haven't seen too many Christian films that I wouldn't call: 1) heavy-handed, or 2) downright cheesy, but this is one of them.

"The Imposter" isn't really an evangelistic film for the non-believer, but instead asks an important question for today...is "Christian" media, especially music, shining the light of Christ to the world, or is it simply reflecting what the world is already doing and just slapping the label "Christian" on it so it will appeal to a certain demographic? Are we really walking as Christ believers or are we just going through the motions, pretending to be something we're not? Production values are first rate. Filmmaker Daniel Millican shows a definite flair for directing music videos. In fact, I would have loved to see more videos interspersed through the whole production, especially the second act, which is the only part of the movie that seemed to bog down a bit for me.

Although the caliber of acting is usually a real shortcoming in most independent Christian films I've seen, "The Imposter" pleasantly surprised me again. Kevin Max is able to carry the film as Johnny C, the prodigal lead singer for the Christian band 'Grand Design.' Of course, being a big-time Kansas fan in high school, the real thrill for me was getting to see former band member Kerry Livgren in the film. I would have bought the film just for the new rendition of "Carry On My Wayward Son" at the end credits. Talk about a tingly feeling going up and down my leg!
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A movie for Christians
WinnD523 February 2009
It seems to me there are two main points to this movie...

First, this isn't really a movie to lead the unbeliever to Christ, it's more about pointing out to Christians perhaps the maim problem we often run into in trying reach out to the world, ourselves. We are all called to be Christ-like, but we all fall short and wind up being "Imposters" at some point.

Secondly, as the film points out, heavy handedly and repeatedly, the point at which the sinner comes to Christ is NOT the end of the journey, it's just the beginning. Many painful trials await.

I am to old school to be familiar with Kevin Max. He does a good job with the new version of "Carry on Wayward Son", and his acting is okay.

Kerry Livgren is way more my speed. He does a solid job as the "Proff", though the character isn't to much of a stretch from the man himself as I perceive him.

All in all I'd call it a decent DVD sermon with some random music videos thrown in, the one at the credits being the best. (Guess what? I'm old school biased!)
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great story
midgetfeet1 April 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Kevin Max's vocals are amazing as he portrays a "Christian" artist that doesn't live the life he proclaims in music. The serious subjects of drug abuse and adultery may make this movie suitable for older children (not quite appropriate for younger children). As stated by Kevin Max in narrating the movie, it isn't the typical Christian movie. While we all love the story of the prodigal son, sometimes life isn't that easy (while the Lord welcomes us with open arms, our families are not usually as forgiving). This movie shows us that sometimes we have to work for our redemption and it doesn't always work out the way we expect, but if your focus is on the Lord and not on your reward...your redemption is available. Add the talent of Jeff Deyo and the strong presence of Kerry Livgren, and enjoy.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Review of "The Imposter"
mike-higgins-116 February 2010
I'm glad to see that the movie is finally coming out on DVD. I hope it does well. I saw an article in a local paper a couple of years ago about the filming in the Ft.Worth, Texas area and, since I have always been a dctalk and KANSAS fan. It was shown at some local theaters about a year or so ago and we took our youth group. I thought it was well made and the acting was pretty good and believable. Our youth group kids liked it for #1-the Christian rock music and #2-that it's like real life where everything doesn't come out perfect and that God is with us even when we mess up. This is a great youth movie. Not knowing for sure but I am wondering if the producers of "To Save a Life" saw it before doing their movie because both movies deal with real life stuff. I hope Christian movies keep going that route. Kids need that. You need to buy or rent The Imposter to see what I mean.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
No magic fix
bkoganbing13 June 2016
The usual run of Christian evangelical films is that the protagonist is really down on his luck through a series of bad choices. That's certainly true here with Kevin Max playing a Christian Rock singer who has lost it all and is practically a derelict. Most of all he's lost his wife Arianne Martin and he'd like to put what they had back together again. That's not about to happen any time soon.

The main thing with The Imposter is that unlike so many other of these evangelical films there's no magic Jesus fix. The title comes from the idea that Max is indeed an imposter, mouthing the words, but not really getting the meaning.

If Max wants to get it back together it's a process which makes The Imposter a lot different than most of the films of this genre. I give the creators of this film an A for effort and for conveying that message to the audience.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Movie Number 4
michael085924 March 2010
Warning: Spoilers
This is movie number 4 in the Daniel Millican collection and it is his best one yet. From The Keyman to Striking Range Daniel Millican was pretty consistent and even though growth is evident throughout his first three. This fourth Feature Shines. It is amazing compared to his first three.

We can clearly tell that he had a different camera crew, and did some very amazing things with color correction, special effects and the sunlight.

The incorporation of music videos was very unique. I don't see it that much in movies. Casting was very good considering most of it was stunt casting and the acting was convincing. Nice to see Popeye again almost is reminiscent of a sequel to the Keyman or at least a spin off. And I am looking forward to seeing how Millican fits the Oprah somewhere in Rising Stars.

Very cool opening title sequence. All of Millicans films have very interesting title sequences but this one is the most eye catching.

The story is very interesting and it kept my girl friends interest. She really liked it.

The quality of this film is a huge leap for Millican.

Good job.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed