The Doctors (TV Series 2008– ) Poster

(2008– )

User Reviews

Review this title
19 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
At least as much misinformation as information - are these real doctors?
LeonardOsborneKael8 August 2011
Warning: Spoilers
So, among the usual health tips, what have THE DOCTORS given us so far? A lot of silly live demos - including one in which a black volunteer from the audience was humiliated by a skincare guru smearing white goo all over his face. Then there was the time a couple wondered how their baby's eye color could be different from theirs. Now here's a great question that I'm sure has haunted marriages down through the ages and probably has been the cause of much needless suspicion! A perfect chance for Dr. Travis to explain how dominant traits (brown eyes) and recessive traits (light or blue eyes) interact. He could have finally explained to the public how two brown-eyed parents can easily produce a blue-eyed child. He could have also explained that brown eyes simply have more melanin (pigment) than light eyes and he could have pointed out that, in many individuals, pigment appears in eyes and hair later in childhood. We got none of the above. He simply observed that one parent had flecks of brown in his eyes and therefore could pass that on genetically.

Okay, it's daytime TV - so keep it simple, fast, and program for the lowest IQ possible, right? Cast your regulars and guest doctors on their likability and their Hollywood good looks. So what if your hottie Dr. Lisa has a tendency toward whininess and crankiness. I'll never forget the time she casually referred to plastic surgeon Dr. Andrew as "The plastic guy over there." Plastic surgeon Dr. Andrew seems to think he's also automatically a dermatologist but seems to know next to nothing about dark circles under the eyes, simply putting them down to "Mediterranean origin" or allergies. It would have been helpful to viewers if he had explained that the "Mediterranean origin" dark circles are the brown genetic ones that result from pigmentation. The effective treatment for these consists of lightening creams or bleaching agents. And the blue/red pigmentation is almost always due to ruptured capillaries; it's treated with entirely different preparations. Just knowing that distinction - the brown vs. the blue/red would have been helpful to a lot of people.

Another dismal failure was the remote segment that was supposed to inform us as to whether we should drink bottled water or tap water. We hear a lot from the tap water side - including that they test their water every 24 hours. If they had bothered to consult anyone from the bottled water side (a glaring omission) they would have found out that bottled water companies test EVERY HOUR. This is a medical program but they never bother to mention that most who drink tap water are now drinking a percentage of "reprocessed" waste water. Much to the surprise of modern science, traces of antibiotics and other prescription drugs which are routinely flushed down the toilet (the standard medical method of disposal) are being ingested by tap water drinkers. Shouldn't a drinking water quality segment on a show called THE DOCTORS at least mention this? The bacteriologist who finds a high level of bacteria in one sample of bottled water doesn't bother to mention whether this is a harmful bacteria or what symptoms (if any) it might produce. Other things that should have come up would be trihalomethanes which are only produced in piped tap water and the more effective and chlorine-free ozonation process which all bottled water companies must use to purify their water.

The worst thing I've seen yet is Dr. Lisa in Chicago, drooling over and raving about what she authoritatively calls "healthy" hot dogs. Two of the four hot dogs she raves about are regular beef hot dogs which are WAY too high in saturated fat and sodium. Even the turkey dog is relatively high in saturated fat and sodium and low in nutrition. "SELF" magazine's online nutrition guide gives turkey dogs 1.5 out of 5 stars for healthfulness. According to Dr. Lisa, "healthy sauerkraut" and simple vegetable garnishes like tomatoes apparently transform the hot dog into a health food. She exaggerates the vitamin and fiber content of sauerkraut, which is on the low side and she somehow forgets all about its huge sugar and sodium content. In an era when black people suffer from diabetes and heart disease at staggering rates and in which legislation has had to be invoked to prevent more fast food restaurants from opening in black neighborhoods this is just what we need: a black M.D. telling the world how healthy hot dogs are. At the close of the segment we see all the other docs happily chewing away on hot dogs as well! I'm suspicious - was the hot dog segment a product placement deal? Are people paying for the chance to have a doctor pitch their product? There have been a slew of questionable products promoted on the show with the doctors saying they "might work". Well, just when did supposed professionals in the medical field stop waiting for scientific proof? I have to ask again - are these real doctors? The producers of this show are asleep at the wheel. Do they not know how to do elementary research on the net? Doesn't anyone know that nutrition levels of foods are easily checked with official USDA charts? Do the "doctors" not know basic genetics? Do they not care at all about accuracy or dispensing accurate information? Or are they simply hungry to break into the media field at any cost?
16 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad advice & untrue statements presented as fact can result in people getting hurt
ZNickey25 March 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I do not normally review talk shows, but I came across this show when they presented what I feel is an incredible twist of facts for a show that uses the term "doctor" in the title and is not a drama or comedy series. As I have much respect for those in the medical profession, I do not think this is fair to all of the good health professionals out there, and unsound medical advice can result in harm. The purpose of my review is simple: to warn others that this is probably a waste of time and that taking this advice without discussing it with your capable doctor is not advisable.

More or less, the claim was that one should not use the Magic Eraser products (white 'foam' products from 3M, Mr. Clean, and others) to clean one's skin because they can cause chemical burns and some contain formaldehyde. Instead, they recommended using concentrated lemon juice and baking soda to rub on your skin. Certainly, not using Magic Eraser products on skin is advisable...these are not skin care products and they are not marketed for that purpose. You can find them in the cleaning aisles...not the skin care aisles.

Here's the issue...the "chemical burns" they are speaking of are generally not chemical burns at all. Rather, they are generally a combination of abrasive burns and sometimes allergic reactions in the huge majority of instances (and obviously when you have an abrasive burn even mild chemicals will cause additional inflammation.) If you look at the pH of these magic eraser products, the pH is a mild base and while strong enough to cause mild chemical burns over very extended exposure to extremely delicate skin, most hand soap is a stronger basic. I may be completely wrong in my expectations, but I expect a doctor to understand the pH scale and the differences between an abrasive and a chemical burn.

Additionally, the reference to formaldehyde is either a scare tactic or just poor research. These products do not contain concentrated formalin, and the MSDS that is verified by government agencies prove this. I read this years ago and was worried about the health of those in my house...looking through the MSDS sheets, I realized that this was not the case. The formalin levels in these things are lower than is in most (healthy) air. Let me put this another way...Formaldehyde-Melamine-Sodium Bisulfite Copolymer is NOT formaldehyde, and the MSDS for the Mr. Clean product is a "1" indicating "slight health risk", and a huge portion of the cleaning products we use are rated the same or higher.

Now, it is worth noting that both 3M and Mr. Clean did NOT put proper warnings on their products when they were first released. A main mechanism of the cleaning actions of these products is through abrasion (i.e., by removing top layers of the material it is rubbed against)...and therefore, these products can cause abrasive burns on bare skin, especially on more delicate areas (like the face or arms versus the thicker skin on the base of the palms.) These products now contain more accurate warnings (both about skin and use on delicate materials that abrasive products will damage/ruin.)

Finally, recommending the usage of concentrated lemon and baking soda on skin seems like a questionable alternative given they are recommending a product that may potentially cause significant irritation, which is what the discussion is trying to avoid. They also failed to mention how citrus on skin + sun can result in severe chemical burns, and when using citrus on the skin this should not be overlooked.

A few seconds after, they discussed how there is "controversy" as to the benefit of mouthwash containing alcohol due to alcohol having the potential to act as a carcinogen. While this is partially true, the fact that they mentioned that side of the argument but completely ignored the large amount of (longitudinal) data that suggests antiseptic mouthwash is beneficial to long-term oral health concerns me greatly. That is not a one-sided argument because their is a lot of data to contradict the point they conveyed, and it is still an ongoing debate. If only one side of this argument is going to be discussed, it shouldn't be mentioned at all.

I honestly could not watch more of the show from there because I feel the way information is being presented is not fair and objective but rather one-sided. Regardless of whether it is the writers or presenters at fault, it's not fair to viewers, it's not fair to ethical doctors, and it's not sound advice that takes reputable sources into account. A show of this type (that is, a non-fiction show) needs to do more research before presenting information to ensure they are not just relaying what is on urban myth sites; otherwise someone could get hurt! So I recommend that ANY advice presented here be viewed with strong skepticism prior to accepting it as fact or of sound judgment.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Pathetic Infomercial
ctiiniraq7 February 2017
This sorry excuse of a television show is nothing more than a drawn-out infomercial.

Listen and watch "doctors" who are nothing more than hacks and sell- outs promote products and services throughout their entire show. They shamelessly pick people with illnesses or conditions that will allow them the opportunity to promote their favorite companies and products.

All one needs to do is watch one episode to see the sad and pathetic ramblings of sell-outs trying to trick you into going out to purchase their junk endorsements. The first few episodes were, at least, slightly helpful and offered useful medical "advice". The sad state of this program quickly evolved into those sell-outs reverting to their true nature of cut-rate car salesmen.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Rarely any useful medical info given - don't waste an hour on this!
brooke5324 September 2015
I'm only wasting the time to post this review so you don't waste your time watching the show.

During the entire hour, there might be one or two somewhat interesting and helpful stories but most segments are for shock value, concerning extremely rare diseases or horrible things that have happened to a guest for us to gawk at like an accident on the side of the highway. Almost every episode includes some poor soul with severely decayed teeth, but if you don't watch the show religiously for months on end, you'll never get to see the amazing transformation when the dental services were offered for free. Or some other poor sap with maggots in his ear. You get the gist.

It's very "tabloidish" and voyeuristic. They include many things that have nothing to do with medicine such as celebrity news, and tips on fashion and applying makeup. A great deal of time is spent on issues that are barely medical ones, such as cosmetic procedures. The show has a lot of fillers such as long promos before every commercial break to let us know what's coming up. Often, the clip shown is not even seen in the story! If you were to record it and edit out all the fluff, there would be less than 20 minutes of actual show left.

The hosts shout a lot, constantly talk over each other, and interrupt each other, which is extremely annoying. They act like total goofs, not like doctors. Dr. Ordin is the most redundant host, and it's hard to take him seriously with that fake tan.

There is a reason why this ridiculous show has received mostly very negative reviews in here. Instead of repeating the same complaints, just read the other reviews!
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Biased show
rndiadem1 April 2015
I started watching this program and went to their website. I read a few more shows of theirs online and posted some factual, tasteful, polite comments. They were taken down! One specific comment from someone that ONLY consisted of name calling and personal attacks was left up for all to read. Yes, I read their guidelines, they can decide to post whatever they want to, and not post whatever they don't. That said, they CHOSE to post some guys hateful comment over my tactful, polite, and factual comment. That speaks volumes about their character. They have the BULLY PULPIT and they know how to use it!

Never trust someone who'd see you silenced!
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Stupidest. Show. Ever.
dubyajay30 September 2009
The 'doctors' have no charisma. They seem to be reading from a book and have no interaction with real people. It seems as if they look at each other more than the audience or the camera which gives the impression that they are hoping one of the other doctors agree with what they are saying. THis is really silly, because they are clearly reading from a script. The topics are remedial at best, no new information and no personal stories of people who experience what the are talking about. Dr. Oz covered all this stuff years ago.

All that being said, the show would be OK with all these shortcomings if the 'doctors' had any personality, panache or even were nice to look at. But, alas, it lacks all of these things and no substance in content, to boot.

This show sucks at best.
21 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not one of my favorite shows.
mm-3920 January 2012
Warning: Spoilers
My wife watches "The doctors" and I do not like the show. There is some positives in the show where the viewer learns about certain conditions and medical advice. What burns my burrito is the drama mixed with medicine. I hate the mix for it makes medicine look unprofessional. "The Doctors" always brings into the show drama of either sexual and or bizarre. Some of the discussions I would rather not hear. The show loses my interest. I think the show may turn people into hypochondriacs. I like the nutrition side of it. The show also may cause people to have anxiety about their health. It might be just as bad as looking up conditions on the internet and then worrying that you have that condition. I give "The Doctors" a five out of ten.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Just don't get it
nitedrive739 October 2009
This show puzzles me.I wonder what makes people mail and get tickets to be on the show simply for discussing sometimes extremely private matters INSTEAD of asking their own doctor.In private. This phenomena kind of both scare and fascinate me.Are we so anxious for TV and other media to confirm our existence today? Do the people who ask The Doctors questions lack medical insurance so this is their only chance to get some medical advice? Don't think so.They seem to be well-dressed middle-class people,sometimes verging on hysterical(especially the worried moms),but seemingly fairly well-educated and bourgeoise.

Alas,this show hasn't got a lot of potential.If you've seen one episode,you pretty much get it.Asking your own doctor seems a whole lot easier in the long run.
11 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is a must-see show for people to learn about the newest Therapies in medicine this is a must-see show to learn all the newest Therapies in medicine this is a must-see sho
asktvnurse9 February 2019
The information in this show could save your life they have Specialists from all over the world doing miracle treatments
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Medical Information Show
zsenorsock17 September 2010
This show won the Emmy for Best Informational Talk Show, and deservedly show. It dishes out medical information in a conversational and easy to understand manner along with occasional splashes of humor. The doctors all seem very passionate about what they do and the information they convey. Dr. Stork is the show's hunky emergency room surgeon that has all the young audience girls breathing hard, Dr.Sears is the playful pediatrician, Dr. Ordon is the slickly dressed old plastic surgeon with a naughty sense of humor and Dr. Masterson is the show's OBGYN (and incidentally quite the hotty). As a daytime TV show, it mostly handles women's health issues and dispenses tips and demonstrates how a number of medical procedures are done in precise, interesting ways. Their "Hot Headlines" section of the show focuses on the latest in stories in medicine and health. Not for everyone but very good at what they do. From the people who created the "Dr. Phil" show.
7 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
I like The Doctors
Petra_Huber24 September 2019
I like The Doctors. Good TV Series. Keep it on. Keep it on. Keep it on.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible show
nmchassykowrld17 January 2019
Horrible show that perpetuates the things that are wrong with society. Provides a ton of misinformation for individuals that are using their PhDs to influence people. Shallow. Superficial. Ignorant. Poorly written. Awful. Should be uplifting and helpful instead of shaming and hurtful.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Tabloid television
pseudonymforcl9 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
How can this be on since 2015? Simply put it is like reading the covers on the tabloids at the check out line in the grocery store. All the "pretty" doctors (if they really are doctors, mostly talk about total crap that is either very rare or off the wall. It seems to hit a topic people can relate to occaisionally but it seems like it is trying to make people think they may be sick.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Green Coffee weight loss scam
lucymichael1 July 2016
Are the creators and producers of The Doctors aware that if you google 'green coffee weight loss pills' a website of the show appears, it looks like an official show website, however, whatever the user clicks on they are automatically redirected to a order page for these pills. I fell for the scam, try this wonderful weight loss discovery that really works. They even claim the actress from the hit show Mike and Molly had used it and lost so much weight that the show is being cancelled. That may be the only part of the whole scam that is true. First of all it doesn't work and I am ashamed to admit that I fell for it. They offer to let you try it free for 30 days, for only shipping costs. I was very careful to read the fine print which stated, I was required to cancel within 2 weeks of receipt of my free trial or my account would be placed on an auto shipment and payment. The day I received my product, I got right on the phone and canceled. I explained I wanted to try it first and if it worked I would call. Not only did they hit my account with $136.00 which put me into an overdraft of $60 with my bank, I spent 2 days fighting with them to have my money returned. This company is a scam. I can't believe they can get away with this consumer fraud. I was finally able to receive back all but $45.11, I was never sent any more product because of the overdraft but they still kept that money, when I demanded them to justify how they believed they were entitled to keep the money when I had not received anymore product and so how was this not considered theft, they could not give me an answer. I had to fight to get back what I did and called so many times they have blocked my phone number. I'm only sharing this shame so no one else falls for this scam which is also I consider theft.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best health show ever
nikki897586217 April 2017
This show is very informative and well worth the watch. The doctors are so giving and really care about their guests. They talk on all types of health related subjects. They even take the time to speak about rare syndromes and diseases that people may not normally know anything about. They give a lot of advice to help you stay healthy.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Opiod/Fentanyl Addiction killing billions of Americans!!!!!!
rishelpat26 October 2017
Hysterical, anti-opiate television shows seem to be the big thing these days. I've noticed that not ONE anti-opiate testimonial TV show ever bothers to speak to people like myself, who are chronic pain patients. I have a pain management plan that utilizes aquatherapy, massage therapy, mindfullness, and physical therapy, along with opiate pain killers. It's called a "multidisciplinary" approach to chronic, intractable pain. Does anyone besides my doctor(s) and myself care whether or not I'm able to take care of my elderly inlaws, or even more important, my autistic son? Somehow I don't think so, as I never see issues such as these addressed. When was the last time anyone mentioned that fentanyl has been used recently as pain medication for pediatric cancer patients who can't keep food down after chemo, and can't keep pain medication down either? Of course it's flavored, yet it helped to save my nephew's life. Tell both sides of the story. Ususally there's another side to the "ratings only" story. Tell it! Be honest, and let people think for themselves!
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Clapping/Hollow
annbhv16 July 2019
Why is it that this is the only program that sounds hollow when the audience claps? Dr Phil show doesn't have the hollow sound. It's always there, every single show.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
I was on this show
fonzihaley11 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I just want to know the episode it was, I was barely shown for some reason even though they even filmed me by myself at some point they cut me out of all the filming. It was an episode where an African American family (my foster family) had a "dirty" car and they told us that it had ecoli in it, and they gave my foster moms twins new car seats.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The cast is awful .
mountainwomannn23 February 2019
I just can't get by the topics, or the lame cast.. they are all annoying to listen to and watch. i'd rather watch paint dry.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed