Once Fallen (2010) Poster

(2010)

User Reviews

Review this title
15 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
A slice of life film with very good acting and a solid plot
ultimt318 September 2010
This film receiving a 3.6/10 is unfathomable to me. The acting is superb and the plot develops very well. This film is about a family and their close knit friends having to live with the hard choices they make, and the price they pay for those choices. There is real emotion to this film and the characters are developed extremely well. It has elements of film noir in its gritty and detailed depiction of characters with rough edges and all but that really adds to this film's power. Ed Harris does not disappoint in his role as the deeply flawed yet caring father, who puts everything on the line for his son over and over again (not wanting to spoil anything, that is all I will say about that). An excellent film, well worth watching.
27 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Gritty, Raw, Well-Acted Film
gradyharp11 November 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Ash Adams, wrote, directed, produced and acted in this very raw story of a family challenged by a life of crime in San Pedro, California. While the film has some brittle edges, editing flaws that disturb the flow of the story, the acting is so fine that these flaws become minor. It is a small budget film populated with some of the finest actors in the business and the result makes for a film that deserves more attention than it received in the theater.

Chance (Brian Presley, in a career changing role) has been released from five years in prison for a crime in which he took the blame for a number of his friends and family. Upon release he discovers that his ex-girlfriend Kat (Alison Eastwood) gave birth to their son August while Chance was in jail. Kat promptly walks out on Chance and August, leaving Chance to parent a child he didn't even know he fathered. Chance's friend Beat (Chad Lindberg) is a damaged man, having witnessed with Chance the brutal slaughter of a man by Chance's father Liam (Ed Harris), a man who has been in prison since and has become the leader of the Aryan Brotherhood. Beat has a debt that must be paid and pleads with Chance to do one more Cocaine sale for dirty cop Rath (Ash Adams) to free himself from that debt and get on with life. Chance wants to turn his life around, tries to pay off Beat's debt by participating in a knuckle fight for the operator Eddie (Peter Weller), but when he loses the fight all bets are off. Chance visits his blind aunt Rose (Amy Madigan) and her friend Sue (Sharon Gless) and Rose insists Chance visit his father Liam in the jail. Chance also becomes attached to a friend of Kat's named Pearl (Taraji P. Henson) and Pearl helps Chance to find fatherhood with August and a relationship with her. From all of these setups come encounters that alter the story with realistic views of the corruption of San Pedro as well as a coming together of Chance and his father whose turbulent family history is revealed at the end of the film.

The cast is excellent: Ed Harris, Amy Madigan, Taraji P. Henson, Peter Weller, Ash Adams, Chad Lindberg and especially Brian Presley give high quality performances as do the supporting cast members. This little film may be tough and raw, but the underlying importance of family is strong and well worth attention from a wider audience.

Grady Harp
14 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very hard hitting stuff!
willyg8112 September 2010
This was a great movie. The main character Chance was very believable as well as captivating. Ed Harris as always gave a very deep performance as Chance's father. Tajiri Henson (Hustle & Flow), Amy Madigan (Gone baby Gone), Ash Adams & Peter Weller (Robo Cop) all gave strong supporting performances. Ash Adams i the director, writer and has a good role in this movie. I watched "Once Fallen" 2 days ago and plan to watch it again. It has been on my mind since I watched it. I'm not sure why it has some low ratings, but it did not stop me from enjoying this very well made film. I honestly would have rated it between a 6 and a 7 but since a lot of people that I don't believe watched the film gave it low ratings I gave it a 10 to help it out. For your info, this movie is in the style of "American History X". Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoy this movie.
39 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Independent film
HJHankamer14 November 2010
If you're a fan of independent film do yourself a favor and see Once Fallen. I've seen countless low budget films and this is one of the best I've seen. Writer/Director/Actor, Ash Adams should be applauded for putting together such a stellar cast with a budget of only $650,000. And his performance as a dirty cop is both captivating and terrifying. Once Fallen is a crime drama with a very touching theme about fathers and sons at the center. The strong performances of the cast adds to the raw emotion of the film. Watch the Blu-ray version so you can appreciate how good this film looks. This film deserves more attention!
18 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Great opportunity - just missed
KnatLouie17 November 2011
This film is about a young man, Chance (Brian Presley - Borderland), who has a lot of problems with his life, that he must overcome.

His father Liam, (Ed Harris) is currently in prison for beating a man to death, and has been elected head of the Aryan Nation, which gives him certain privileges, but also some obligations that he must fulfill.

Chance's best friend Beat (Chad Lindberg - The Fast and the Furious) has a lot of psychological problems, and is currently involved with a notorious drug-dealer, Rath (Ash Adams - Lionheart), who also happens to be a crooked cop, and doesn't take no for an answer.

Apart from these problems, Chance has just found out that his ex-girlfriend Kat, (Alison Eastwood - Tightrope) has been raising his child while he was in jail, but now decides to split and leave the kid with him, all the while Rath is hassling him, Beat, and Liam.

Chance gets some help from his old pal, bar-owner Eddie (Peter Weller - RoboCop), who in return expects Chance to do some street-fighting for him. Random fights is the only job Chance can get, apart from dealing drugs, but as he now has a young son to raise, and recently finds new love in Pearl (Taraji P. Henson - Hustle & Flow), who just happens to be black - something Liam's fellow Aryan brothers certainly doesn't approve of, and they send their number two, Sonny (Peter Greene - Pulp Fiction) to tell him about it in person.

The thing about this film that makes it fall beneath the cracks of goodness, is the sheer lack of common sense. For starters, it doesn't make any sense, that: 1) Liam became the head of the Aryan nation, but doesn't seem very well-liked by ANY of the other Aryans. 2) Chance's girlfriend just leaving her son with him - an almost complete stranger - after raising the kid for 5 years! 3) The part about Rath ending the way it did - made NO sense whatsoever.

In the end, it all just feels like the story could've gone in SO many other directions, which would've been better. And the producers had an all-star stellar cast of character-actors, which they didn't use for anything at all!

I mean, the movie has Richard Tyson (Kindergarten Cop), Antonio Vargas (Starsky & Hutch), Jesse D. Goins (RoboCop), Sticky Fingaz (Onyx), Rance Howard (Ed Wood), and Steve friggin' Railsback (Lifeforce), and a LOT of other great character-actors, but they're all just completely WASTED in this production, only half of them getting any lines, and the rest just appearing in a few minutes with hardly any screen-time at all... it makes no sense, not to use any of them for anything.. why not just cast some random unknowns instead?

I felt like a good opportunity was missed here. Some of the points came across well, but mostly it was just wasted.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
entertaining enough but nothing to write home about
phaenomenalbert22 November 2010
I am giving a rather low rating for a movie that is, shot for a low budget of $650000 in only a few weeks, surprisingly well made. I'll try my best to explain why, without spoiling any aspect of the story:

the movie starts out strong as the main character Chance, a drug dealer released from prison after five years is trying hard to change his live for the better. what's not to like about this beginning? Chance is likable (and cute) enough, no surprise here: we want him to succeed but we almost instantly sense that chances for Chance are slim!

the more the story evolves and presents its challenges to our "hero to be", the more all the characters are evolving into rather overdone caricatures, loaded with stereotypes ...

Writer/Producer/Director/Actor Adams meant well but in the end only manages to deliver a well executed movie with an o.k. story but totally lacking convincing characters. This, however is only my personal opinion and should not keep anyone from watching the movie.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
All the ingredients I like baked into a tasteless pie.
tsujigiri0015 April 2011
I should have liked this movie. It has so many elements that I normally enjoy: Ed Harris, prison drama and action, criminal brotherhood, and it's an indie film (which I tend to prefer to large studio movies).

Unfortunately, all of these elements were combined very poorly. The result is on par with a made-for-TV movie or, at best, some crappy Dean Cain or Casper Van Diem movie shown at 3am on TNT ("Starship Troopers" excluded, of course).

And though I feel like 2/10 is a harsh score (especially for a low-budget indie film), every time I reconsider the score my mind flashes to many poorly written, poorly acted, poorly directed scenes that are burned into my memory. It's a bad movie; 2/10 is fair.
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Budget of $650,000
DoNotTrustImdb22 November 2010
It is refreshing to see a low budget film like this out doing lot's and lot's of big name actor films of late. The story is solid, goes along at a good pace, acting is good (due to a well picked cast). A solid 8 out of 10 and a hell of a lot better film than some of the over rated B grade crap that I have seen coming from the over paid Hollywood production line for some time. Watch it as it is worth a view.

It is refreshing to see a low budget film like this out doing lot's and lot's of big name actor films of late. The story is solid, goes along at a good pace, acting is good (due to a well picked cast). A solid 8 out of 10 and a hell of a lot better film than some of the over rated B grade crap that I have seen coming from the over paid Hollywood production line for some time. Watch it as it is worth a view.
7 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
human touch
p_hytych21 November 2011
So, it's not perfect, but almost perfect it is. I mean there is nothing about I love it or I hate it. Just very good film. I picked up this piece because I like Ed Harris very much - one of my favorite. He didn't disappoint me again. And the rest of acting was equally good - almost brilliant. Everything is OK - music, shooting, story, action, feelings, space for viewers to muse about relations and such. I wonder why so many people give relatively bad rating, it's just very nice movie. I admit - this is no review, just reaction to undeserved underrating. Give it a chance if you are not eager to watch big Hollywood blasts and chases but realistic story of people on the edge of society, but still part of it.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
More worse then the room
martinziegler19 April 2019
Bad acting, bad story, bad characters. Omg. I want my wasted time back.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Once Fallen is one of worst movies I have ever seen.
Cypherdude31 December 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I have seen a LOT of movies, more than I'm going to admit here. There have been turkeys and there have been hits. However, I really must strain to remember a movie as bad as this one. Clichéd in multiple ways, boring, it was terrible. On rare occasions, in order to get through a movie, I set my DVD player to 1.2x speed which is what I did in Once Fallen. Once Fallen is one of worst movies I have ever seen. I can't believe Ed Harris would participate in this bomb.

Don't waste your time with Once Fallen. If you want to see a great prison film, the best I ever saw was The Shawshank Redemption (1994). Nothing comes close to it. Escape from Alcatraz (1979) starring Clint Eastwood is also good. If you want to see Ed Harris in a better film, ANYTHING else is better.
7 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Director Ash Adms pulls it off...
fotobiz7 December 2010
This film with a budget of only $650,000 Writer/Director/Actor Ash Adams should be applauded for putting together such a stellar cast and really pulled it off. If you're a fan of independent film do yourself a favor and see Once Fallen. The acting is superb and the plot develops very well. This film is about a family and their close knit friends having to live with the hard choices they make, and the price they pay for those choices. I've seen countless low budget films and this is one of the best I've ever seen. His performance playing a dirty cop is both captivating and terrifying. Once Fallen is a crime drama with a very touching relationship between fathers and sons. The strong performances of the cast adds to the raw emotion of the film. Watch the Blu-ray version so you can appreciate how good this film looks. This film deserves more attention!
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great acting, with a great ending.
kevinlangille-209-43504510 November 2011
I think this movie is under-rated. Unfortunately, I checked the IMDb rating before I watched the movie and watched it with the expectation of being disappointed. However, as the movie progressed the acting and plot surprised me. It was well worth watching, and is a movie that I will remember as being great.

Many of the characters are difficult to like or relate to. The profanity was a turn-off for me. However, it told an interesting story without resorting to cheap sentimentality. If people are expecting a typical Hollywood style blockbuster then they will be disappointed. I thought it was a realistic portrayal of shady characters who are difficult to like but did a good job of developing the characters throughout the movie. In the end, a few characters go from being unlikable degenerates to heroes.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Made for TV. 3/10
leonblackwood26 December 2014
Review: I'm usually a fan of Ed Harris's work, but I found this movie quite weak and the storyline pretty boring. It seemed like it was made for TV and you don't really get to see why Ed Harris is so feared in jail. You also don't get to see what happened to the corrupt cop after all of his evil doings and the ending was corny. I now know why I hadn't heard anything about the film before it came came because it's one of those low budget films that will be forgotten, even though there were some decent actors in it. The only watchable factor is that you want to see what happens to the main character whose trying to go straight, but apart from that, I didn't find it that interesting. Disappointing!

Round-Up: At the age of 64, Ed Harris is still churning out movies with great performances. From Pain & Gain to a brief role in Gravity, he still makes some decent movies but a lot of them go straight to DVD. He has a unique, cool way of acting which is great to watch but he has made some bad choices of late. I was surprised to see Sharon Glees, who used to play Cagney in Cagney & Lacey, but she only had a small role without much lines. I think that everyone thought that she would have been a bigger star than she was. As for this movie, it started off well and the storyline looked promising, but it went downhill after the main character came out of prison. 

I recommend this movie to people who are into their drama/crime movies about a guy who comes out of prison and tries to go straight, now that he has to look after his 5 year old boy, but he keeps on getting pulled in the wrong direction. 3/10
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Indie Crime-Drama
OliveNymph8 May 2019
I love this movie. It's about family , hard choices and struggling to find a better path. Anyone who's ever had a dark or troubled past can relate to Chance's struggle.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed