Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance (2011) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
349 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
A mindless CGI-fest that's so bad it's kind of funny.
lnvicta29 April 2015
Okay, I'm a Nic Cage fanboy. Let's get that out of the way. I'll watch anything the guy does no matter how terrible the reviews are, and sometimes I'll be pleasantly surprised, as was the case with "Seeking Justice", "Drive Angry", and "Kiss of Death". The guy has some hidden gems in his career. Is Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance one of them? Hell no.

The first Ghost Rider was campy and stupid, but it was a watchable popcorn action movie and it had Eva Mendes (hence, watchable). Spirit of Vengeance is just stupid. Everything about it is stupid. No part of this movie is fleshed out and none of it is interesting. It throws you right into the action with no exposition. It's just a bunch of things happening on screen oozing with CGI to make up for the complete lack of substance. You can tell this is the same guy that directed Crank: the difference is that movie didn't need any substance because the premise was so fun. This movie just pisses on Ghost Rider's origin (literally) and expects you to enjoy watching sh*t blow up for the sake of sh*t blowing up. The writing in this movie is especially horrendous; did they hire a 10 year old to do the screenplay? It sure as hell seems like it.

So you may be asking yourself, "why give it a 4/10 if it's so awful?" Well, I'm a sucker for laughably bad movies and this definitely qualifies. I mean, the dialogue alone tries to take itself seriously but ends up providing really good unintentional laughs. But I'll be fair, not all of this movie sucks.

Nicolas Cage is always enjoyable to watch. You can tell he's invested in the role, and his dedication really holds this movie together. Idris Elba is also in this movie for some reason and he's great in anything, even if his character is completely throwaway. The other acting is serviceable I guess. You can't really blame any actors here because it's obvious the filmmakers wanted it to be a massive CGI-fest with stupid dialogue to lead action sequence A to action sequence B. To their credit, the CGI in this movie is pretty cool. Ghost Rider looks badass, the visuals in the big set pieces are nice to look at, and if you have no interest in the story you can definitely shut your brain off and enjoy the insanity happening on screen.

So in a nutshell, you don't need to see this movie. You really don't. Not even the great Nicolas Cage is enough to hold this piece of trash together. But if you're really stoned or just want to see cool sh*t on screen for an hour and a half and there's literally nothing else to watch, go ahead and knock yourself out with Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance. You may find a new B-movie comedy classic.
97 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Harmless fun!
Donatien318 March 2012
At first glance, 'Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance' seems like an unnecessary sequel, another example of Hollywood mining old ideas and slapping the 3D label on it for a higher ticket price.

When viewed in right 'spirit', GR:SOV is a bit of harmless fun, a mindless superhero/action film where you can turn your brain off and relax. It's a nice antidote to the slew of overly serious superhero films.

Set in Eastern Europe, the plot is an unoriginal demon-possession story (done far better in the Omen franchise), with young Danny (Fergus Riordan) being chosen by Roarke (Cirian Hinds) to carry his evil legacy. On the proviso that he's rid of his curse, Ghost Rider/Johnny Blaze (Nic Cage) agrees to help Danny's mother Nadya (the absolutely stunning Violante Placido) save her boy.

Probably the highlight of the film is Nic Cage, who unashamedly hams it up. Sometimes it's fun to watch someone play a bad role with gusto and no shame. That's exactly what Cage does, and you know he's having a ball. More power to him.

This is complemented by some cool special effects, again they're cheesy, but a film about a demoniacally possessed daredevil with a flaming body and skull doesn't have to worry too much about realism.

Yes, GR:SOV is a bad film compared to 'Iron Man', 'Thor' and 'Captain America', but its good fun and a bit of escapism. If you go into it with the right attitude, you'll probably like it. Sometimes we need to stop taking films so seriously and enjoy them as they were intended.
39 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Visually Entertaining!
g-bodyl4 August 2013
I don't know what to make of Ghost Rider: The Spirit of Vengeance. I know it's laughably bad, but I couldn't help being entertained. The first film was actually a decent, enjoyable film, but the sequel is more campy and has a different tone. The story is very dumb, compared to the first film. But the visuals are excellent. I loved the look of the Ghost Rider and his charred skull.

Neveldine and Taylor's film brings about the return of the Ghost Rider. Johnny Blaze has been hiding out in the remote parts of Europe, but he returns when the Church recruits his help to help protect a boy, whom has the Devil after him so he can use the boy's body.

Nic Cage delivers another over-the-top performance as Johnny Blaze and despite some amusing moments, it did get old and stale after awhile. Idris Elba does a good job as the Church guy and Ciarin Hinds is decent as the Devil.

Overall, this is a over-the-top superhero film that doesn't deserve widespread hate, but still is pretty bad. But what I mean by bad is the film is "good" bad. I found it somewhat entertaining and a nice way to spend an hour and a half. The story/script is just plain silly, but the visuals are very good. I rate this film 7/10.
25 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Loved the first Ghost Rider, this one was TERRIBLE
solutionpw20 February 2012
I was real excited about a sequel to Ghost Rider. I liked the first one. I was very disappointed. Everything is horrible about this movie. The plot, the writing, the acting, and especially the special effects. In the first move, the flaming skull was sharp, the bike was great, the riders expressions were great. In this movie, the flaming bike looked broken down, the skull wasn't sharp, and the jacket charred. The chain never lit up on fire either. And the penance stare was different. He didn't say look into my eyes or anything. Not to mention again that the writing and the plot were garbage. Don't waste your money on this one. 3d can't help this stink pot. Wait for cable.
202 out of 308 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What a waste!
dayspring-297-89658719 February 2012
Having grown up with many of the comic book super heroes, I have been delighted to see so many of them becoming movies now, and look forward to each one. The whole Marvel series has been enjoyable for the most part. Ghost Rider (both of them) have been total disappointments.

The first Ghost Rider was poor, so I figured this one could only go up. Wow, was I wrong! The acting and plot in this one was SO poor, I was ready to walk out within 10 minutes. I decided to be fair...maybe things would improve. Well, I'll never get that hour and a half of my life back again.

I've seen some pretty cheesy B movies before. They can even be fun But I expect the quality of these to be so much more. It wasn't, and there was nothing fun about it. This one will never reach the acclaim it could have....it will fittingly go down in flames as nothing more than a poorly done B movie.

I've seen better acting out of most middle school and high school productions! Even the special affects were substandard for a movie of this type.

Don't waste your time with this one. Don't even bother with buying a DVD when they come out. Your money is worth more than seeing this movie even once.
165 out of 260 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Worst movie I've seen in a LONG time
deny-966-23703719 February 2012
Seems anyone can be a movie producer / director / screen writer these days. One of the worst stories I've ever seen in a movie, crippled by awful directing and poor acting even from Nicolas Cage, of whom I happen to be a fan. The movie is a complete disaster from beginning to end, failing to capture the spectator because of a weak storyline, bad timing and management of tension and viewer expectations, and action sequences that besides not having the impact the film maker wishes they had, look pretentious and anti-climatic.

About the lines written for the characters, all I can say is: if *I* was invited to work in this movie as an actor (and I'm not an actor by any stretch of the imagination), I'd still be embarrassed to say them and ashamed that other people would watch me doing it.

The fight scenes are not believable at all, seems like people are waiting to be punched in the face, shot or whatever it is that's going on at any given moment. The reasons given for the outcome of any conflict in the movie seem like the ones a child would come up with while playing with his little friends.

I went to see the movie in a 3D "XD" (Extreme Digital) movie theater and even that didn't compensate enough how bad the movie is that I wouldn't be anxious to get out by 3/4ths into watching it.

Now here's something I definitely don't get, how can Stan Lee let such a horrible, horrible, horrible abomination like this thing be released under the Marvel name?
123 out of 193 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Such a promising subject such a disappointment
parrisjim19 February 2012
The ghost rider has the potential to be one of the coolest and most successful franchises today,Ghost rider is so iconic and so much can be done with him,the problem is morons are making the films.

The film has several styles that never really gell,It tries humor but fails,Halfway though the movie it literally starts making fun of itself..and its not funny.I felt like they were saying haha we got your money.

The over used Prophecy child theme,The fish eye 1970's lens used to death and poor effect..the home computer cgi..

If you rent this one day in redbox you'll want your dollar back,If i ever see the director I'll ask for my money back and shame him for taking something that could be so cool and just dropping the ball,he should be banned from making films for 2 years for this one.

I hope one day someone with imagination and talent takes on a ghost rider film and finally does it justice.
108 out of 170 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A Marvel film far under the average
yamaguchi-victor18 February 2012
The first Ghost Rider was already a disappointment – compared to other Marvel adaptations to the cinema, it was far under the average. Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance, however, is even worse. It didn't even look like a big Hollywood production – the special effects and the action sequences were sometimes absurd going to the ridiculous. It looked like a low budget film – a poor visual with only one or two exciting scenes - if I can call them exciting.

Then, there is the plot issue. Those 'blockbusters' are not supposed to have a story with philosophical meanings as they are made aiming pure entertainment, but this one actually didn't even have a story. It was totally redundant, silly and cliché – actually kind of ambiguous because the characters were not well explained or explored - things seemed too much up in the air leading the audience to nowhere.

Nicolas Cage also didn't help at all as he was not convincing on what he was doing. But, we can't put all the blame on him – the character was already badly written by the screenwriters who didn't know how to make him interesting. The Ghost Rider is not the conventional superhero – he has an obscure personality. So, where is this aspect on the story? Where is the true nature of the Marvel superheroes? In this film, there isn't any.

What surprises me most is the fact that this film coasted $75 million and no one knew how to make a good use of this big budget. It was a total waste of money and time – not only for the audience, but for the actors too. A superhero movie that promises more than it really has to offer. If you didn't like the first film, you'll probably hate this one.
137 out of 219 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Stay Away from this movie
wgeddings17 February 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I liked the first Ghost Rider and collected comic books for years. I say that to let the reader know that I am also a fan of comic book movies normally and am not a stickler about a movie sticking to comic book canon. My problems with this movie have nothing to do with it being a comic book movie.

The special effects in the movie are very bad. I saw it in 2D since I do not like 3D but I do not believe that makes a difference. The new version of the burning skull is much worse than the original. Now, there is tons of smoke most of the time and it is hard to see anything. Like watching polar bears have a milk fight in a blizzard but in black instead of white. The excess smoke and a skull that sometimes blazes but often is just impossible to see in the smoke combine to remove some of the "cool" factor of Ghost Rider. In addition, the motorcycle and costume that were cool in the first one are gone. Replaced with a motorcycle that is hard to see (hello smoke) most of the time and when you can see it, it is basically an old motorcycle on fire. Not the awesome chrome and blazes chopper you would expect. The outfit is old leather that appears to be melting when you can see it through the smoke. I suppose that would be fine if you are going for more of a rotted zombie look but that is not Ghost Rider.

One of the main bad guys appears to be one of the ghost twins from the Matrix films and is about as interesting although he does have a cool power that the actor does a good job of appearing to enjoy. Sadly, he is on the screen far too seldom and is far too often in GR's smoke.

Which brings me to the acting. Normally, I like Nicholas Cage but here he is different. His face is chunkier and he has replaced acting with turning his head sideways. Apparently, someone told him that instead of snappy patter or doing cool things, he would appear so much more menacing if he started just turning his head sideways. So he does it A LOT! As GR, he barely talks except for a few very poor one liners that are akin to Arnold's "I let him go" in Commando.

In case the poor acting, distracting special effects and poor story are not enough, they also added annoying camera work. At times it has the hand-held shaky method so wonderfully annoying and at other times the director falls in love with closeups that add to confusion when you want to see what is going on.

In the first Ghost Rider, he could throw fire, he could use a Pennance (or Soul stare) Gaze. He could defy gravity with his awesome chopper. He made quips and was a hero. They did away with all of that and replaced it with....Nic Cage turning his head sideways. I know that he does gaze at a bad guy but although some might claim that is the Pennance Gaze, nothing seems to happen.

Finally, just in case all of the aforementioned was not enough, they made sure to have lots of people talking with odd accents to help make sure the mumbled dialog was harder to understand. An awful movie that I have 2 stars only because of my respect for comic book movies in general and I am glad someone tried to make a sequel. If only they would give the rights back to Marvel and let us get a decent Ghost Rider movie again.
97 out of 161 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Wild sequel
Wuchakk8 September 2013
The first Ghost Rider film from 2007 was fairly faithful to the comic. When Ghost Rider came out in 1972 it was more of a general idea than a fully fleshed-out premise. This was clear as the stories changed from writer to writer and one artist to another. Ideas were added as the years progressed, like the "penance stare" and Blaze's growing awareness of the former angel of justice Zarathos. The book was canceled in 1983 after a ten-year run. In 1990 a new version of Ghost Rider was introduced with a different character and it ran eight years.

The first film was an amalgam of the ideas presented in these two series, mostly the first, and struck me as the comic-book come to life. Really, the only thing that was disappointing (other than Cage being too long in the tooth for the role of Johnny Blaze) was the villain, Blackheart, who was seriously scary in the comics, but fairly bland in the movie and looking totally different.

"Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance" (2012) is a worthy follow-up with Nicolas Cage returning as Johnny Blaze. The story switches to Europe and, more specifically, Romania and Turkey, where the film was shot.

This time the devil is played by Ciarán Hinds, rather than Peter Fonda, which isn't a big deal considering Satan could presumably take different physical forms. The devil's main minion is played by Johnny Whitworth, a different character than Blackheart from the original, albeit similar. The hot female is Violante Placido, who's arguably better than Eva Mendes. Another positive is the rockin' soundtrack.

I don't mind the story switching to Europe since the locations are excellent, particularly the amazing cave-monastery, but there are other changes that I'm not so crazy about, like the charred biker jacket of the Ghost Rider, but this is just a matter of taste; I simply prefer the cool "costume" as opposed to the dirtbag biker look. A more significant negative is the overactive camera that's annoying and draws attention to itself. I can't wait for this "hip" fad to pass.

BOTTOM LINE: "Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance" is a quality sequel that interestingly fleshes out the nature of the spirit that possesses Johnny blaze (I'd say more, but I don't want to spoil it). People who claim the film's more "serious" and "faithful" to the comic are off the mark. It has the same quasi-serious, cartoony-horror vibe as the first film, with glimpses of humor. As radical as the first movie was (in a comic booky way), this one ups the ante and is the better for it. Unfortunately it's marred by the hyperactive camera and quick editing.

The film runs 96 minutes.

GRADE: B
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The Spirit of Vengeance Rides Again
ksj87028 June 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I was pleasantly surprised by Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance, which is to say that I didn't hate it. Well, I didn't actually hate the original Ghost Rider from 2007 (itself based on an occasionally popular Marvel comic book), but aside from some neat special effects that film was pretty mediocre and I figured the sequel would be even worse. Imagine my shock when I found myself actually enjoying Spirit of Vengeance. While hardly extraordinary, the new movie is surprisingly fun.

Nicolas Cage is back as Johnny Blaze, the one-time stunt-rider now possessed by an evil spirit that transforms the unfortunate Blaze into an unstoppable beast with a thing for fiery motorcycles and a flaming skull instead of a head. Blaze is now cruising the backstreets of Eastern Europe, doing everything he can to keep the Ghost Rider at bay and himself out of harm's way. But trouble has a way of finding Blaze, and when a mysterious man named Moreau (Idris Elba) brings Blaze the strange story of a special boy on the run from the Devil (played with wicked aplomb by the great Ciarán Hinds), the haunted maverick can't turn him down…especially since Moreau promises to cure Blaze of his little problem when the boy is safe and the crisis averted. So Blaze lets the Ghost Rider come alive once again, just in time to save the kid and his mom (the gorgeous Violante Placido) from a batch of thugs. But of course, the trouble—for Blaze, for Moreau, for the boy and his mother—is just beginning.

While the script is hardly anything deep or profound, it is well-paced and often surprisingly witty. The script has a pleasant, self-deprecating humor underlying it all, and the various performers all seem to enjoy going along with the outlandish plot. Cage, who is a fan of comics in real life, is well-cast as Blaze, and captures the character's conflicting emotions with expert ease. Not many modern actors play villains better than Hinds, and Placido is surely on track to become one of the most sought-after actresses in the business with her rare combination of melancholy beauty and on screen intensity. There's also an unexpected but welcome role for Christopher Lambert of Highlander fame…though he's nearly unrecognizable beneath a scrawl of tattoos.

Special effects are outstanding, and there are a number of out-of-this world action scenes that are major crowd-pleasing moments. The Ghost Rider himself is a fearsome spectacle, and his every appearance brings with it the gleeful anticipation that one of the movie's numerous baddies is going to get his much-deserved punishment in an especially painful—and spectacular—fashion. Best of all, the script touches on the idea that we all have our inner demons to wrestle with, which is all too true, and there is even the hint that the Spirit of Vengeance is perhaps redeemable, and that somewhere deep inside even the Rider might yet harbor Good.

In a way you can't enjoy Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance if you're looking for too much, but it's not bad and at times even becomes quite good. If you're a fan of the old comic book then this is a must-see, and even general action fans probably won't regret throwing down the cash for it if they get in the right spirit of things…the Spirit of Vengeance, that is!
14 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Proper Ghost rider!
tumbledown42010 March 2012
Proper Ghost rider! Nicolas Cage, actually played the part well. Bit loopy when needed. pseudo daddy for the rest of the time, sort of worked! I really like the fact that this film has tried to be more like the Graphic Novel & less like the original film. Moral, immoral & fun. The CGI style is perfect for a boy/angel/demon with a flaming skull riding on a motorcycle & killing folk(in an admittedly, sometimes pointlessly staring at people for a really long time, sort of way). I have honestly never seen flames & the whole burning monsters & things done so well!

Please, just switch off Hollywood review mode, Ignore the first films existence & enjoy!
34 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A great movie for those who just enjoy fun movies
learsfool3 June 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Okay, first things first. I like movies that challenge my brain a bit, but I do not expect it, because I can watch the twenty most mind blowing movies you can come you can up with more amazing insight reading twenty pages of a Benford or Baxter book.

That leaves wrenching heart strings and an enjoyable ride, and this movie is the latter.

*spoilers*

Lots of people complain about the 'Nic Cage Crazy', this is the first movie I've seen it belongs. Remember there are THREE entities, they just don't mention the Angel of Justice gone insane until late. . the scenes where we get the Nic Cage Crazy (esp. the informant) are ones where he's being more good, I presume this is actually the Angel of Justice more than Johnny Blaze or the Rider, which completely changes the complexion of those scenes for me. Otherwise they'd have been more negative.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It's all mindless entertainment but it's still entertainment!
Hellmant1 May 2012
'GHOST RIDER: SPIRIT OF VENGEANCE': Three Stars (Out of Five)

Nicolas Cage returns to play Johnny Blaze, also known as 'Ghost Rider', the superhero antihero from Marvel Comics. It's a sequel to the 2007 hit film. This one is directed by Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylor (the team that brought us two 'CRANK' films and 'GAMER'). It was written by Scott Gimple, Seth Hoffman and David S. Goyer (who's written several B superhero films). The movie isn't really much better or worse than the original, which I thought was passable entertainment, not great but not bad either.

In this film Johnny Blaze is hiding out in Eastern Europe when he's contacted by a Monk named Moreau (Idris Elba) who tells him a plot to take possession of a young boy's body. The devil is currently using the human form of a man named Roarke (Ciaran Hinds), who Blaze previously made a deal with and cursed himself with the 'Ghost Rider' monster inside him. Moreau tells him that if he saves the boy, Danny (Fergus Riordan), he could rid himself of the 'Rider' permanently. So Blaze makes it his mission to protect Danny and his mother Nadya (Violante Placido), who are on the run from Roarke's men.

The movie is so bad it's good. It's definitely more 'out there' than the original but it also has even less structure. Cage hams it up even worse than usual but is still, like always, likable. It's all mindless entertainment but it's still entertainment.

Watch our movie review show 'MOVIE TALK' at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N_lBzdmfUfA
18 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A movie to watch...
mihai_banu29 April 2012
well it's not like the first one but it's interesting to be seen...and it'll be more interesting to see a 3rd movie from this series...yes the effects are weak and the casting could've been better as always Nicholas Cage knows what he's doing but come on let's be serious other actors from this movie are way out of line... and then there is the place of the movie. Yes, Romania well it's not as they described it...but who cares in this days... the scenario could have been way better, the movie it's not intriguing actors are not as they used to be in the first one Final words: A good movie that could have been way better
19 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Could've been waaaay better
tjjavier17 February 2012
Judging from the mood of the theater I was in, the consensus of this film was "...."

Yep, the pacing and storytelling of the film was so bad that it's actually hard to appreciate the plot, and even the action scenes. The otherwise simple plot becomes a task and even a bore to follow due to the bad editing and pace of the story. Things that are supposed to hit home through a joke, or a "Wow!" action scene, fail to do so either because you've gotten lost in all the distractions the film throws at you, or you just merely lost interest due to the lackluster story telling.

It's quite a shame in my opinion that there were many scenes that were supposed to evoke emotion, that just did not. It's hard to comprehend how these scenes fail, when in the back of your head, you actually know that in another occasion, that scene should've been really bad-ass, or really funny. Better editing and better character development would've made the movie easier to follow, and would've given meaning to all the great visuals and occasional funniness the film has.

Now how does it compare to the first? Dare I say Apples and Oranges? The first was coherent and easy to understand but way too cheesy and campy (lacked action too), while this one was heavy and slow with a lot of zany visuals and camera work. Both seem to want to achieve completely different results from an audience that it's actually difficult to say which one's better.

If you're looking for great eye-candy, and whack visuals, then Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance delivers. As a complete entertainment experience though, it falls flat.
52 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Nicolas Rage
billygoat107118 February 2012
The biggest problem of the first Ghost Rider movie is it doesn't have enough riding, no action, and it focuses more to the romance between Johnny Blaze and Roxanne. Which isn't really the main appeal. In this film, it gets focused to the plot. Unfortunately, the story is weak and the script has its awkwardness scattered. Thankfully, there's Nicolas Cage who's spicing things up with his crazy insane performance. This is probably one of his craziest performance since Bad Lieutenant. Also, there's the Crank directors, Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylor, using their shaky camera and directing style. It fits to the film. Some people may be disappointed but if you're in for some crazy Nicolas Cage and some crazy action then you're going to enjoy this.

It doesn't look like a sequel though. The flashback of Johnny Blaze's deal is different from the first movie. The only thing that stays here is Nicolas Cage. Everything else is new. Well, the story is pretty weak. The plot is little. The whole film is just chasing and protecting a boy. But chasing is what's best in a Ghost Rider film. More riding and less brooding. Though, there are some brooding but mostly is riding. But stories are still important in films and that is the main flaw of this. The script is awkward. With awkward dialogue and awkward moments.

The best parts goes to Nicolas Cage. This may not be the same performance from the first film but this new Blaze is more entertaining and ridiculously hilarious. With more ridiculous is the directing. Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylor uses a lot of their trademarks and gives plenty of insanity in some scenes. There's a perfect chemistry between their directing and Nicolas Cage's rage. Feels like it's one of the trippiest films I have ever seen. The action is quite ridiculous. With its well shot shaky camera and its non-stop booming. These things feels right for this film. Yes, flaming awesome and disintegrating bad guys. Do the most ridiculous things with the power.

Aside from Cage, Idris Elba and John Whitworth are both fun and awesome. Ciarán Hinds is like Danny Houston. Even in the single glance, you know he could be a dangerous bad guy. And here, he is a threatening one. The CGI is obvious. The new skull design of Ghost Rider looks more awesome than the first one. The camera is shaky but it's well shot and made the action more exciting even in 2D.

Some people might get disappointed if they expect something bigger. But the action is bigger but the plot is just little. The people who likes Nicolas Cage and Neveldine/Taylor will enjoy this a lot. Or someone who wants to see something ridiculously insane. It's hard to take this film so seriously. It's just hilarious and fun. Let me say that it's a crazy version of last year's Priest but with better action scenes and there's a nut main hero than a bland one. It's short, it's dumb, but has its enjoyment. There's an easy advice to watch this film: Watch it for Nicolas Cage.
63 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fun 80s style movie
wdllofzepia30 April 2015
I am not sure what movie the people who blast this watched, but I don't think it was this one. While it isn't a 10/10 movie or....I don't know, Blade Runner or something, it is a fun action movie. The acting is good, there is some very fine camera work, editing sound design etc are all good. Not perfect, but they are good. I particularly enjoyed the special effects which, most of them, were AAA quality.

There were some funny moments too, I laughed in a couple occasions.

As for the story...it's a movie about Ghost Rider, a guy who signed a contract with the Devil and has a Jeckyll and Hyde persona...kind of. It's no masterpiece, but how could it be?

All in all a good movie. Plus it has Christopher Lambert for a short part which is always a good thing for me. I am rating this not as a movie which "should" be, but what it is. A fun, very 80s like, action movie.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Spirit of Vengeance: charred, but not hot
joker-41 March 2013
The fact that Ghost Rider is a b-comicbook character at best should bring no surprise that a movie of said character would be of similar ilk. GHOST RIDER: SPIRIT OF VENGEANCE is the ultimate b-movie complete with b-grade actors (welcome back to the silver screen Christopher Lambert), a generic plot (the only way for the devil's power to survive is by taking over the young body of his progeny), lots of guns, a villainous threat whose true evil power is the insane amount of cliché dialogue, and a feisty damsel in distress. Yet movies like these always have a way of capturing a little of that comicbook magic empowering their young-ish fanboy fanbase with elements of cool.

This sequel finds Nic Cage hiding out from the world – and his curse – in Eastern Europe where he rambles about evil as his eyeballs bug out of their sockets. When not being a true-to-life documentary showcase, Cage reprises his role as the quirky and sometimes-demonic Johnny Blaze who gets thrown into action alongside the always-hip Idris Elba, who is apparently the go-to guy for comicbook actions films – this being his third.

Gone is the forced romance from the first film. Instead, directors Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylor focus on Blaze's anguish and a cure for his curse. The directors also get clever with the Rider's look giving him a simple, charred look like he's been on the grill for a week too long, adding to the anguish. Their choppy editing and shaky camera work lend to the Nu Metal look that is very chic in Hot Topic.

Unfortunately, the film's simplistic plot gets too convoluted degrading further into the typical you've-seen-it-a-million-times-before shoot 'em up and highway chase scene. Ghost Rider's dialogue is kept to a minimum as much as Cage's is not – but he never gets to truly cut loose into a- quality action, even though it appeared that the f/x budget would allow such, and, surprisingly, doesn't get a lot of face time. And a Ghost Rider film without Ghost Rider, is just another bravura performance of Cage's body language.

GHOST RIDER: SPIRIT OF VENGEANCE offers a fun, but not all-together great, look at property that has the potential to be so much hotter.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Mediocre at Best
chrsbrs4721 February 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Let's get something straight first: I absolutely LOVE terrible movies. The way I view movies is that if they manage to get SOME kind of reaction out of me, be it good or bad, it succeeds in a its ultimate goal— to get to the viewer. This can be achieved even in the most awful of films, as I even managed to get enjoyment out of such train wrecks as Sharktopus and Tommy Wiseau's infamous classic, The Room. Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance, on the other hand, is the worst kind of movie to me; it's not that it's terrible, it's just..... bad. I had absolutely no reaction after coming out of the theater. The closest thing to an emotion I felt was the regret of wasting 12 dollars on it (I had missed the 2D viewing because of a miscommunication with my brother) They had tried to stay truer to the source material this time, but when your predecessor has already retcon'd your story to hell, there's no point. the jokes were just lame, and it seems that the new makers (who unsurprisingly worked on Crank) read the comics, but didn't watch the first movie. I went into this theater expecting a typical Nic Cage film, and even by those standards I was underwhelmed. He felt like he was only in, say, 2 minutes of the movie even though he was clearly in nearly every scene. Even the special effects seemed, off, with the rider's head jerking about every time he tried to move. it was clear that they tried to fix what was wrong wit the first movie, but all in all, it was just..... bad
44 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Comic book film - not an action film
adamDRMay14 July 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I think there is an awful lot of hate for this film and it is not really warranted . I think the film struggled to explain its story and the story telling could have been better ... as an action film it is a little slow and disjointed ...but as a comic book film as a comic book fan i really liked it .

So many comic book films fail because they try and reinvent the character and have them do things for the sake of the film the original comic book character would never do .... take for example the terrible Toby McQuire spider-man films - no humour no internal monologue - just teenage angst ....

But this film for me gets the essence of the comic book which is what you really want it to ... Sure the effects are limited . I actually like the ghost Rider look in this over the original film but the darkness effect of Roarke in his demon form is weak and I think filmmakers went overboard with the 3D effects But as for the feel of the film i think they got it about right - Ghost rider was an odd, dark and twisted comic book . It was unlike the other Marvel series where light and dark was easy to distinguish and the good guys always prosper - in Ghost Rider it was about vengeance not justice and as long as the evil got punished there was no care for anyone else... and that was what they were trying to get at in Ghost Riders depiction ....

As a stand alone film - even as a sequel it does a poor job of story telling, but if you go into this knowing something about the characters as a comic book fan then you are not going to be disappointed ...
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
this is a top movie....just what the comic fans needed
reaper187832 April 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Am i the only person in the world who loved this film? i don't know what people are complaining about? its a film about a guy with a flaming skull for a head that sucks the souls from bad guys.

i loved the action and thought it was good that it did not try to over complicate the story line. the one thing i hated with the first movie was the Roxanne storyline that is gone. i like how it told you everything you needed to know with out trying to sound smarter than it really is, like Thor and Ironman 2 (not that they were horrible films), this is just like the comics its good simple fun and strait to the point just like it should be.

the ghost rider looks awesome he could not look any better.
19 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Don't expect a drama; expect loads of cool action!
This is one of the better action/superhero movies I have seen in a long time. It is not nearly as predictable and "by the book" as most films are today, and the action scenes are really well done and fun to watch.

It is true that this is not the movie you should watch if you are looking for a good Drama with in depth character relations and such, but hey, if that's what you're expecting, take a look at the cover next time you're about to watch a movie! This movie has a plot which allows a lot of action, so expect action!

For a cool action movie with visual effects pleasing to the eye, this is a 10 for me.
15 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Darker, grittier, a step up from part one...
paul_haakonsen24 March 2012
First of all I have to say that I wasn't particularly much of a fan of the first "Ghost Rider" movie, and much less fan of Nicolas Cage. But still, I decided to sit down and watch "Ghost Rider 2: Spirit of Vengeance" of out sheer boredom.

Let it be said that "Ghost Rider 2: Spirit of Vengeance" is actually much better than the first movie. There is a much darker touch and feel to part 2. The movie is more brutal and visual, and you get to see a more violent side to the rider.

Storywise, well then I think the movie was halting, because it was a sort of a weird hybrid mix of "Ghost Rider" and "Rosemary's Baby". It wasn't bad, don't get me wrong, however, it was just something of a cliché. Nothing surprisingly new or inventive here.

The effects and CGI though, were top notch. I liked what I saw and I was thoroughly entertained. I especially like the pyrotechnics and the smoke effects.

"Ghost Rider 2: Spirit of Vengeance" had a good enough group of actors together. However, in my opinion, the movie was carried by Idris Elba (playing Moreau) and Johnny Whitworth (playing Ray Carrigan). What happened to the Ray character was really awesome. I am not familiar with the "Ghost Rider" comic books, so I have no idea whether or not that character is from the pages, but he was still cool and had really interesting powers.

For a Marvel movie, then "Ghost Rider 2: Spirit of Vengeance" was actually a surprise for me. Especially because I am not too keen on men in spandex tights running around with super powers. "Ghost Rider 2: Spirit of Vengeance" was darker, grittier and for a more mature audience.

One thing that I just had to shake my head in disbelief at was the in-you-face-lame raised finger morals with the "an illegal download" and the "crime doesn't pay" comments in the movie. Wow, could it get any more of a cliché? The "illegal download" comment was funny though, but it was not really at place in the intro.
15 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
You Either 'Get It' Or You Don't!
gurochuck17 February 2012
I saw a sneak preview of this movie w/ somewhat 'curious' expectations. This is mainly because of the style of 'Crank' directors Neveldine/Taylor. Being a fan of the Ghost Rider comic book, I was a bit disappointed in the original film as I found it a bit flat. However I gave it a bit of a pass because I knew that 'Daredevil' director Mark Steven Johnson's style was simply not suited for this type of subject matter. So whenever I watch that installment I can't help but feel a bit torn because although I didn't care for GR1 overall, I have to admit that there were aspects of it that I can appreciate.

But after watching GR: Spirit of Vengeance I was very refreshed and impressed. They gave it more of a 'cult film' feel which I thought was PERFECT for this project. Neveldine/Taylor seem to never be scared to take risks w/ going outside the box of contemporary filmmaking and GR:SOV is a true testament of that. Since I can relate this feeling w/ the one I got when I first saw Lexi Alexander's "Punisher: War Zone" I strongly anticipate that this film is gonna take a beating from the masses. But I don't care because IMHO, the mainstream nowadays apparently have no idea of original thought and much of their opinions are spoon-fed to them by corporate media.

Also what helped make this work is the performance of all the actors, ESPECIALLY NIC CAGE! I admit I had my doubts about him reprising the Johnny Blaze character but it's quite evident he was in tune w/ the directors' vision. SOV (like PWZ) is clearly a 'love-it-or-hate-it' movie which works for me because since movies like this don't rack up at the box office and tend to be viewed as commercial flops, they come out on home releases pretty quick at very reasonable prices (w/ extras to boot). IMO this film will make most of its money on DVD/blue-ray sales.

Not wanting to spoil it for anybody, all I can say is if you go see GR:SOV, "try" to have an open mind. Otherwise you might just be setting yourself up to be disappointed w/ no fault being that of the movie. The only reason I didn't give this a higher rating is because I thought it was a bit short (1:36) and I admit I'm a bit torn because perhaps it may have been best not to draw it out.

Chalk up another 'underground hit' for Marvel Knights!!!
92 out of 169 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed