Steven Universe: The Movie (TV Movie 2019) Poster

(2019 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
70 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
As a HUGE Steven Universe fan, I enjoyed it but I'm kinda disappointed
maxglen3 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Now before you get out your pitchforks and torches let me explain... I don't think this movie really brought anything new to the table. We got a new fusion which was great don't get me wrong but a lot of the film was them trying to get there memories back and as a result it felt kind of like a "Steven Universe Greatest Hits". the music is wonderful as per SU standard and the animation is brilliant but Spinel's story is really the only new thing here and it comes around and is wrapped up very quickly with no sign of having any effect on the show going forward. Even the town is back to normal by the end. I think it's worth the watch but it's no Change Your Mind where they were paying off 5 seasons of buildup. It's just kind of it's own thing but not at the same time because 80% of it was as I said a sort of recap. I was personally just hoping for something new and we didn't really get it in my eyes.
44 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
BELIEVE IN STEVEN!
Bulldog17212 September 2019
This movie was just flat-out AMAZING! It followed along with the series finale very well and it brought us the most heartwarming story that Cartoon Network has made in a good while!!!

While i say that this really ends the Renaissance for Cartoon Network, Steven Universe: The Movie really was an Amazing story filled with Laughter, Drama, Heart and soul. It really made me feel like the show ended off with a great ending and it really is one of those movies that can be described as a fun time!

Hate to see this show go away. But the movie itself, AWESOME AND AMAZING!!! Cartoon Network needs more material like this instead of Teen Titans GO!

But take it from a guy who studies animation as an art form, Steven Universe's movie really has my sincere recommendation! I hope that we can all BELIEVE IN STEVEN.........
37 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Musical Masterpiece
SweetSoundP0N33 September 2019
It's everything you know about Steven Universe and it's plethora of creative characters and ingenious writing, but stretched to an hour and thirty minutes. Songs that go through various genres, animation that is as smooth as butter and very pleasing to the eyes, important and universal messages & to top it all off the immersive and powerful voice acting. The top moments are the emotional songs and the relatable villain. If you're a fan of the series, story-driven cartoons or anime you will highly enjoy this movie!
29 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Happily Ever After
marvelman-481523 September 2019
This movie is so important! It's a message of love, hope, and most importantly friendship! A true masterpiece!
36 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Don't read if you don't want a critique of your favorite show.
prankt5 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This review is subjective, don't get too emotional if you don't like what I have to say, its just my opinion.

I'm no critic, not by any stretch of the imagination, but I feel like I have to say something about this movie. I've watched Steven Universe since it first premiered, and it only gets worse as you get older. There's a lot of reasons to complain about the show, from it's normalization of space Nazis who have killed trillions of people, to it's awful animation. Just look it up on youtube and you will find many in depth reviews that can do a much better job at criticizing it than me. The movie shows promise of making Steven Universe good again, or at least as good as it can be. Lets start out with the good.

As always, the music in Steven Universe is very good, and helps set the tone of all the scenes. It's basically a musical, since most of the major scenes are guided by the music. "Other friends" is an amazing track, speaking of which lets get to the character introduced with that track. The villain is amazing as well. After the flop that was the diamonds, I was expecting Spinel to be the same. Surprisingly though, she is a very good character and makes a great villain who actually deserves to be redeemed. Her entrance is the best scene in the movie, hands down. Great music, great animation and choreography, just all around fantastic. After this however, she falls from her pedestal. While she's her happy go lucky self, she is relegated to a background character, following Steven around while he attempts to bring his friends back. Once she heads back to the garden, she picks up again. Her backstory is sad and actually makes you feel really sorry for her, as one of the many, many people who Pink Diamond screwed over. Her rationalization of Steven betraying her makes sense after all she's gone through, and the final battle with Steven is fun and action packed. The way she moves around is extremely fun and bouncy, providing a different style of fighting from what we're used to, just a breath of fresh air. She is by far the best character in the movie, and I would be glad to see her later in the series.

One big thing that the movie improves on from the show is the animation. I don't know who they got to animate this movie, but it greatly improves it from the show. The action scenes stand out above all else. You'd have to watch them yourselves to see how great they are, like Spinel's entrance fight. I hope the rest of the series looks like this, because that's one of its biggest flaws. As for the other characters, not much has changed except Steven. Steven is now older, and that's really it. He's still the same light hearted kid we all know and hate. His whole thing at the end where he says he has to keep changing and nothing can stay the same forever is a nice little message, but isn't anything ground breaking.

The voice acting and singing is the same as always, good. That's as far as it goes, except for Spinel. Sarah Stiles did a phenomenal job voice acting this crazy and erratic character. Maybe it's because i'm so used to Steven sounding like a squeaker who you meet on 360, but he sounds worse.

Now for the bad. The story is mediocre at best. We have a big macguffin that's going to destroy the planet, we have to stop it. It's at its worst when Steven has to try and bring back his friends, and its at its best when we are focusing on Spinel. She isn't anything new really, but her character really carries the scenes focusing on her, and the whole movie really. She's another person Steven needs to redeem, who wants to destroy the earth, blah blah blah. I'm just glad she actually deserves to be redeemed unlike *cough* the diamonds *cough*. The story does it what it needs to and nothing more.

Now for the really bad. Except there isn't any really. There's a lot more I could go into, like character design, the morals, character development, ect. ect. But I can some most of that up with 1 sentence. It's all mostly average, except for Spinel. Overall nothing is bad or anything, it's just mediocre. Spinel really carries this all the way. If the rest of the movie rose to meet her character, it would be a 8 or 9. Unfortunately, it relies on many things the show has already done. You should give this a watch if you love the show or have hope for it to be good again, like me.
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
CREWNIVERSE IMPRESSED ME... AGAIN!
tomassalazartrivino3 September 2019
No words. I LOVE THIS MOVIE. I thought it wasn't going to be that great when I found out it was going to be a musical, but it's soooo well done and yet so emotive. I LOVE CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT!! Also, this movie made me realize that there are still some things that can be done with the show, so I hope we get another season.

An excellent, emotive, really powerful movie. I love it. I'd watch again.
26 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wow..... WHERE DO I BEGIN!!
honeylemonspider3 September 2019
This Is Awesome FREE OF SPOILERS!

This is a beautiful story and it is amazing I am speechless would recommend to the world we all need to hear this!
22 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I liked it.
rroke3 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
It was a nice movie. I really liked all of the call backs to the show in the film. I really like the animation they use for the main antagonist. She reminds me of a mixture of Luffy from One Piece, Harley Quinn, and one of the Cupheads. I really hope they do another season one day to answer one of my biggest questions. Who made the Diamonds!? We know the machines made gems but who made the Diamonds? Otherwise I really liked the movie it had it flaues too like rose/pink diamond. When she leave to go to earth she leaves that gem for 6000 years is just heartbreaking. Still see the movie its pretty funny too.
22 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You will adore it!
cody-793073 September 2019
There is not a moment in this movie that doesn't matter! Every second counts! Every single song is memorable and the animation is simply stunning!
24 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
IT WAS AMAZING! PROBABLY MY FAVORITE MOVIE YET
youssefabbas-233213 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Where do I even start? So this movie was so great! I really enjoyed seeing it. And the trailer really fooled us all! We thought the plot was like Steven and his friends fighting Spinel (the unknown pink gem) for the entire movie! But no, It was mostly Steven having to bring his memories back to his friends, and spinel of course. AND WE ALSO LEARNED FROM THIS MOVIE THAT PINK DIAMOND IS A TRAITOROUS JERK. She left Spinel in the garden, I felt so bad for her. Okay overall this movie was amazing! I couldn't have done it better if I was a writer/director. I liked how the trailer fooled us all.

The problem is that there is too much singing! Like every 10 seconds there is singing. It gets annoying!
20 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Wonderful Treat
aidanratesmovies3 September 2019
A magical, emotional, and by far entertaining adventure that is bound to please all fans of the t.v. show and plenty of those who have hardly watched it. The voice talents in the film shine greater than ever, taking the characters not only to completely other levels we have never seen before, but also truly encaptivating to believe it is so. The animation is fantastic, and the film is full of all new songs that are bound to get stuck in your head. The film takes the approach of a musical rather than a standard animated film, which while the t.v. show does contain many musical elements, made me wonder if it would be a good fit altogether. Watching it however, proved all my doubts wrong. The music in Steven Universe, both the show and the film, is truly the heart of what makes it so important, and that is never clearer than in this film. As for my problems with it, the film does seem to drag a bit once the true plot starts, and at times can feel a little formulaic, but nothing overall to truly ruin the film. All in all, the film is everything Steven Universe fans can ask for, and is certainly a rewatchable treat for all of those who wanted it to be. My Rating: 9.75/10
12 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It's good but falls short of the show's standards
morgan-davies-13 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I love the show and I was pleased with how the last season ended, and was thrilled to hear that a movie was being made. However, the end result just kinda falls short of what I was expecting.

I loved the songs throughout the whole show and the songs featured in the movie are some of the franchise's best, but there are too many to the point where the dialogue in between loses any impact because it's interrupted with another song.

Spinel is a mixed bag of a character. She showed good promise as a villain and her personality is likeable for a goofy villain, and it's obvious that she's modelled after 1930s cartoons, but her redemption arc is too fast and the motivations behind her actions are a little weak and unjustified. Also, her "default" setting was funny for a bit but ended up getting really annoying.

This might be controversial but I didn't like the story. I loved the opening sequence showing all the characters and whatnot but when they were all reverted back to their "default" settings, my eyes rolled and hoped it was just a short gag but it persisted for the entire movie so there was no character progression in any of the main cast, which was disappointing to see. I'm especially disappointed by the lack of screen time for Connie as the relationship between her and Steven, whether platonic or romantic, had potential to be expanded but she was only featured for a handful of minutes.

The characters in general just felt a bit off to me. Steven seemed way too serious and stiff, as opposed to being easygoing and goofy but also focused and able to rise to the occasion. Sure, it could be maturation of the character but he was just too goody-goody in this. Also, the new fusion was great but I was sad that there was only Greg/Steven and a short feature of Opal.

Overall, the film was decent enough if you don't think about it for too long and I think the fans of the show are gonna be divided in their opinions. This review sounds like I hated it, but it's because I hold the show in high regard, I'm critiquing it so harshly.

Pros:
  • Great songs
  • Good new character design for Steven
  • Spinel's animation and creative use of her abilities
  • Cool to see the new gems integrating into life on Earth


Cons:
  • Not much character progression
  • Characters feel robotic and stiff
  • Story was uninspired
  • Climax fizzles out
  • Felt rushed
16 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I think sometimes the fans forget this is a childrens show
dushamidear4 September 2019
I really loved it. I would have loved it more if there was more plot development for the show overall, and if a few things had happened differently. But the target audience is literally kids, not 25 year olds, so I'm not going to hold the things that I feel could be better against the show. I bet kids absolutely adored it, and that's who it's for.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Unsatisfying ending
lilpudentater4 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The movie was great but the just random ending was just like they just pulled it out of the air do everything turned out ok without any real work it's like they wrote themselves into a hole and needed a way out....
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing, heart felt, and beautiful
kalimcquirt3 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
For those reviewing "too much singing," this was literally a musical. The music was absolutely amazing, you can tell it was composed by a huge team of professionals. The soundtrack is everything I expected from a Steven Universe musical.

The villain was also, so well done. Her design, her animation/physics, her backstory was all so well done I loved her from the beginning. A lot of "new villain intros" in series' can be dull, especially if there's been so many, but Spinel got right in on such a unique and fun way.

I even loved the plot which delved even deeper into Pink Diamond's past and all the mistakes she's made to leave for Steven to deal with.
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A movie to remember
robertochoa484 September 2019
This is definitely one of my most favorite movies in a long time.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
More please.
neverends7 September 2019
More. Please. So positive, beautiful, musical. This show helped me raise my kids. Made all of us better people. We all need more of this.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Amazing for the fans, perhaps just alright for everyone else.
althric10 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
As a die-hard Steven Universe fan, I adore this movie. I feel like it achieved exactly what the crew wanted to do, especially in terms of presentation and the direction the story has taken.

As someone who really doesn't like musicals, I was pleasantly surprised with this one. I can't say for certain if the composition of these songs is decent, with me not being a music person, but I can certainly say I enjoyed most of them. Some of them aren't as good as others, but it's appreciated how motifs are re-incorporated from the show for different characters to set different tones.

The stakes don't really feel threatening, especially when an end-of-the-world scenario has already been done in the show and was treated with the same amount of urgency. Personally, the B-story involving Steven trying to fix the Gems after they lose all their memory seems like a much more interesting conflict, which unfortunately is solved quite quickly for the most part. It seemed more thematically relevant to have the main conflict be focused on this plot line, especially considering one of the main themes of the film is change and how far these characters have come. The movie itself seems to acknowledge how unimportant the world-ending machine is based on how quickly all that gets wrapped up.

That being said, the themes are my favourite part of the movie. Once again, Steven Universe understands character development and speaks to the audience with important life lessons. A movie spin-off of a series that premiered six years ago is the perfect way to present themes of change and progression, both in the sense of how much of your life has changed leading up to the present and how it will always continue to do so, sometimes for the worse. I'm sure this speaks to people of all ages and it's a lovely reminder of why Steven Universe can be so important to a lot of people.

If there's one negative to be said, I can confidently say that fundamentally, the Steven Universe crew struggle with pacing. It's been a frequent complaint among fans and unfortunately, the film suffers from it as well. This links back to the two main conflicts presented in the film; the apocalypse-level crisis and the plot with the Gems. It feels like they had to juggle both of these plot threads, and the one I found interesting almost felt like it was shoved to the side at times so we could get back to what the movie thinks is the main conflict.

Overall, however, I feel like the good far outweighs the bad. At the end of the day, this movie deserves its success. Once again I'm completely enthralled by the world of Steven Universe and I'm glad it exists. I'm glad there's a movie spin-off of a mainstream show where conflicts that carry themes of change, self discovery, sexuality and identity can be solved without a bombastic cartoon battle but with characters learning to move on and repair themselves as people. A Cartoon Network TV movie has never felt so genuine. For fans, it's beautiful, and it feels like this was made with the same intent as something like Avengers: Endgame. It's fan service, but it has a point outside of just being that.

New viewers may not be able to enjoy it on the same level as fans who have five seasons worth of lore built up behind it, but for the intended audience, this needs to be seen.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Truth
nvanche3 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was a very gratifying fulfillment to the overall arcing storyline that is Steven Universe. While predictable at times the theme throughout almost the entire series has been love, understanding, and change. Each character has been emotionally, or physically scarred somehow, and each character has in their own way had to overcome their personal grief. Whether that grief is done by themselves or helped by another I think it is a very relate-able topic. Another thing that this movie and Steven Universe in general touches on is that even the most perfect, got it all together type of people (like pink diamond) have created scars and hurt people. Whether through ignorance or intentionally Steven points out that no one is perfect BUT and this is done in the movie each person has the chance to use those imperfections, those tough life lessons you've learned to change. In life you have two options, change or don't. One path leads to love and understanding those people you consider different around you and the other leads to continual fear, hate, and self derogation. The entire series Steven has had to live up to the shadow of who his mother 'was' and in the end learned that she wasn't all she was cracked up to be. That being said he also has a chance to look back at himself and see who he used to be and who he is now. In this movie Steven doesn't blame Spinel (sp) for her feelings. He doesn't ask her to just get over it, or try to be happy. Steven even against his own bodies protest relates with the movies villain. It is a good metaphor for the lack of mental health understanding in this day and age's society. What steven does is he relates to the emotion, understands her grief, and instead of allowing her to wallow in it, instead reminds Spinel that 'SHE' can use those feelings and change her way of thinking. It isn't about forgetting the pain, but about not giving up on her future. Spinel doesn't deserve to live the rest of her life in turmoil, and sometimes people in our own lives in real life need to be reminded that its okay to let go. While steven universe isn't the cure for all aliments in our modern day, you have to admit this show has opened up an entire generation to better understanding mental health, better acceptance to others around us, and even better acceptance to ourselves. This movie ties in a lot of the story lines broad themes and in a catchy tune. If you are looking for a series to help someone who is struggling, or even yourself, this series, and movie is a wonderful tale of bravery, love, understanding, and compassion. 10/10
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
wut?
buih-477313 September 2019
Uhhh.... so this movie, is, uhhh. It's good. not bad in anyway, it's got that classical Steven Universe charm, and its wonderfully animated, but theres just something about it.

First of all, too much singing. I like musicals, i like Steven Universe, and i mostly like the songs in Steven Universe. But sometimes, there's just too much of a good thing. There was a point in the movie, where less than ten seconds after a song ended, A NEW ONE BEGAN! then after that, 20 seconds, and A THIRD SONG!

Spinel is a great villain, but her arch is all over the place, it packed plenty of emotion, and Rebecca Sugars strong writing shines through, but her character simply lacks coherence.

Third. it is very obvious that this movie was written by like 17 people. count the credits, 8 people made the story, then 13 wrote and storyboarded it, which makes the movie less consitent, both in tone and quality.

Overall a fun and satisfying movie, but it is flawed in many ways.

6/10
16 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing!!
nickolasmascary2 September 2019
I loved the movie it was a perfect spinoff of Steven Universe the TV show. It's just like a musical but animated, never seen anything like it! It's a nice movie that almost every family can watch. I'm glad I watched it and I hope you will to.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Another amazing thing from Steven Universe
emminet3 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is truly amazing. From the villain Spinel, to the growth and reiteration of character traits and flaws we've grown to know and love through 5 seasons, this is truly the culmination of years of work. The plot is amazing, it builds upon every season and how we've gotten to know the characters. The themes of growth, acception, and the fact that anyone can grow for the better is truly are truly amazing and not usually discussed in cartoons. The animation of Spinel truly reflects how she is portrayed in the movie. She's like an older animation type. She's old and no one uses her anymore. This is a truly amazingly thought out movie, no detail feels unused in the plot or insignificant. Lastly, the songs are what you'd expect from this show, that they are wonderful. Each song is masterfully made and truly fits the plot. Every voice is beautiful and the songs sound beautiful.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Too much music, good villain and story though
technusgirl5 September 2019
I really liked the story line, you feel really bad for the villian, Spinel at some point and it really casts a shadow on Pink Diamond. Spinel actually makes for a pretty good villain and reminds me of early 1920s cartoons. The ending was pretty good and brought some good closure. However there was just too much singing for my taste. It felt more like a musical than a movie.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great story and great movie
aranzamartinez-862995 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Loved it! I rarely like shows that comes out with a movie. Usually, the movies don't connect with the show. This movie however did connect with the show. Including more details about Rose, Steven and gems. Spinels character love it! Super different, cartoony and her voice and funky music fits the character! Perfect. The songs she tells shows a deeper meaning to it. Love the new weapon, idea of restarting, Steven is growing, and the diamond and gems! This movie is sooo was well thought through! There's some people in the world how are left behind or befriended and they're affected! Geez I love this movie
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
BEST MOVIE EVER!
zakirabatoolmail4 September 2019
It was awesome :) I loved it sooo much! It was emotional The animation was beautiful And the songs were Awesome

It was the best movie EVAAAAAR I recommend watching this! :)
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed